Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Secrets Aura Cozumel - All Inclusive

4.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

We loved our stay at Secrets Aura. The staff is so welcoming and did everything they could to make our stay special. A special thanks to Nelly, Fernando Yam, Angel Matos, Capitan Joseph, Capitana Yuritza, Capitan Luis, Margarito and Marcos. We had a lovely ocean front room in the Preferred section. Everything worked perfectly. The food was delicious. We especially enjoyed our private dinner at La Cava (wine cellar). This was our 10th visit to Secrets Aura. It is our home away from home.

Beautiful Resort, the water is clean, clear, warm and inviting. I would say the food was good, not great, but good and there is plenty of it and lots of variety. You will not be sorry you went.Lots to do and see on the Island of Cozumel and the people are friendly too.

The hotel and beach were nice and there is decent snorkeling off of the pier. Staffs were very kind and attentive; however, do not expect fast service, they are on island time. The buffet is almost always open so you can easily receive a quick meal.

Good snorkeling right in front of hotel. Rocky beach in the water but offset by snorkeling. Food and experience at evening restaurants great. No quick food spots for lunch by pools. Overall, a great time.

Food was great ! Staff was good. Overall Cleanliness/Condition could have been a little better.

We joined friends for a birthday celebration, which was great fun. Choices for dining were not as extensive as we would have liked. Food was average to without flavor for the most part. Though they did prepare my steak to perfection at Oceana one night. I had requested a room away from the trees where many, many blackbirds perch themselves in for sunrise and sunset, as one of our friends recommended. I did not get that, so the birds, who were very loud and screechy-sounding work me between 5:30-6:30 every morning. The noise lasts for about 30-40 minutes. Very frustrating. Also, service lacked follow-through several times. We would call and ask for something simple, and it would never come. They say yes to everything, but do not deliver on everything. On the plus side, staff was very cordial. Armando the bartender was our favorite. I had an upset stomach from the ferry ride over, so Armando poured me a bit of Agavero on the rocks. Perfect cure to settle my stomach !

We have been to Secrets Aura a couple times and enjoy the location and outdoor amenities. The hotel itself is showing age so we've come to expect several calls to repair or replace items that are missing or broken. The most annoying point is the heavy sales efforts from staff and managers. We would prefer the hotel raise rates and eliminate their VIP members sales and "extras" (spa) daily selling pressure so guests can enjoy their vacations in peace. Be aware the $200 in Hotel Cash which you must claim at concierge is actually their strategy to sit you down for a 2 hour VIP Membership conversation. If you don't agree to meet with them, then the coupons can only be used in small increments (mostly $10 and $20) on items that are severely overpriced (Barefoot wine for $50 at restaurants?). If you do invest 2 hours listening the the VIP Membership offer, then you'll likely end up with $150 in value you can use for the spa or scuba with the hotel. We chose to decline their VIP Membership selling tactics.

All of all we have feelings,that rooms in our part of hotel definitely needs improvement.We don’t think that level of rooms was horrible,but it needs abdating.You have excellent groups of people who really taking care.Aspecially people who take care of entertainment.people like CAROLINA,JOSE,HUGO,AND,AND,AND are involved from morning to evening and they defenitelly know,what they are doing.

The atmosphere was amazing in this resort. All of the landscaping and fixtures were fantastic. We reserved a preferred room and with this being an Orbitz VIP hotel we were upgraded to an ocean front room which made our day! The view was awesome! The beach however was very rocky and definitely needed water shoes to go out in. We got some amazing pictures snorkeling of sting rays and other fish.

Amazing place I wish I would’ve stayed longer then 4 days. Food was great always quick with a good drink. Alejandra at Oceana restaurant was the best! I will be back for sure!

Great all-inclusive Resort with quality food and drink choices, but best of all is the great staff. Facilities need better maintenance and updating - more run down since Secrets took over the Aura.

Very great location. Amazing staff. Wonderful beach view

We payed for a ocean view. We walked on to the balcony to see a giant palm tree, no ocean.Try to to get another room, but that was even worse-view of someone else room. There was a wedding reception every night and the wedding music was play over top of the resort music.

Smelled like sewer, rats running around Buffett, pools very dirty, no activities,.

Had a blast especially with the entertainment staff. The best meals and everything else.

A couple of months late with review, but already booked our stay for November. The staff is excellent. Everyone really makes sure your taken care of. I would like the thank Luis and Liliana, and Santos, Joseph, Gaudencia and Ananias at Bordeaux for 2 spectacular nights.. I would also like to thank Lugo for a great dinner on the beach, and Jose at the pool bar. A special thank you to Mariana, you really go above and beyond. We had such a good time that we have to come back again for Thanksgiving and push off going to Costa Rica till 2018. Looking forward to seeing everyone.

This is our second time to Secrets Aura - we went 3 year prior. There are certainly high points and low points, just as there are to any all-inclusive. While the food is mostly average, the drinks are hit-or-miss depending on the bartender, and the service varies substantially, it is a good value overall. The rooms are average sized - ours stayed nice and cool, which was nice. They are pretty basic, but the mattresses were quite comfortable, and we had a swim-up, which was very nice. They could use some renovation (TV is small, but you don't really watch it that much; furniture has seen better days; nothing fancy about the mirror), but the bathrooms are always clean and quite nice. All-in, a good experience - and we always have a good time. Their beach is great, albeit the shallow water is rocky, but it makes for FANTASTIC snorkeling right off the resort. Between the neighboring Sunscape resort and the many restaurants, you have good selection. The sushi was actually quite good, and the French restaurant always has the best food. Food service always struggles and is just a bit off - but again, all good on average. Orders aren't always 100% right with room service, but if you're not too picky, you'll still be happy... Poolside service could use improvement, as it was a struggle to order food and drink at times, but if you tip well initially, your service ends-up being much better. :) We did a romantic beach dinner - worth the price - best food of the trip.

Secrets was amazing. From the moment we arrived, all of the staff treated us great. The food option were plenty and all the restaurants we used served delicious meals. I would ne remiss if I didn't mention the fabulous bars and bartenders! Recommend the Preffered Rooms, a little pricier but unbelievable accomodations!

Great all inclusive resort for adults only, food & restaurants...phenomenal. The staff was awesome in every place: from check-in to restaurants, to beach & pool service. Overall it was a great stay.

Four day trip, great spa, no lines for food, no reservations needed at any of the restaurants.

Carretera Costera Sur Km 12.99 Cozumel QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Paradise Beach
  • Free cooked-to-order breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free valet and self parking

Secrets Aura Cozumel - All Inclusive is a short stroll from Paradise Beach and Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park. This 266-room, 4.5-star resort welcomes business and leisure travelers with 3 outdoor pools, a full-service spa, and 5 restaurants. It's on the beach and also close to Mr. Sancho's Beach Club and Corona Beach.


Dining

Free cooked-to-order breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 7 AM to 11 AM. Get your fill of international cuisine for breakfast, lunch, or dinner at Windows, one of 5 onsite restaurants, or enjoy the ocean views at Barefoot Grill. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with 24-hour room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

All 266 air-conditioned accommodations feature sitting areas. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Select Comfort beds sport Egyptian cotton sheets and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. IPod docks, minibars, and coffee makers are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of Secrets Aura Cozumel - All Inclusive have access to a full-service spa, 3 outdoor pools, and a health club. Free valet and self parking are available, and there's also limo/town car service. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with dry cleaning/laundry and concierge services. Other amenities at this adults-only resort include an indoor tennis court, free WiFi in public areas, and 2 meeting rooms.

Guest reviews for Secrets Aura Cozumel - All Inclusive

Everyone (31) Couples (128) Family (12) Other (3) Friends (11)
5

great vacation in the sun

Everyone

We loved our stay at Secrets Aura. The staff is so welcoming and did everything they could to make our stay special. A special thanks to Nelly, Fernando Yam, Angel Matos, Capitan Joseph, Capitana Yuritza, Capitan Luis, Margarito and Marcos. We had a lovely ocean front room in the Preferred section. Everything worked perfectly. The food was delicious. We especially enjoyed our private dinner at La Cava (wine cellar). This was our 10th visit to Secrets Aura. It is our home away from home.

By , from South Dakota on Apr 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 21, 2018

Dear Pamela, It's our most pleasure to learn that your stay was a wonderful one while you were impressed with our service and facilities. We appreciate your gracious comments as it shows our consistency in maintaining the Secrets Resorts brand standards. Your feedback has been shared with the team as a motivation to keep up our work. I remain at your service Eduardo Betancourt

5
Everyone

Beautiful Resort, the water is clean, clear, warm and inviting. I would say the food was good, not great, but good and there is plenty of it and lots of variety. You will not be sorry you went.Lots to do and see on the Island of Cozumel and the people are friendly too.

By on Apr 11, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 14, 2018

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Secrets Aura Cozumel. I was delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service. We look forward to having the pleasure of having you back home in the near future. I remain at your service Eduardo Betancourt

5
Everyone

The hotel and beach were nice and there is decent snorkeling off of the pier. Staffs were very kind and attentive; however, do not expect fast service, they are on island time. The buffet is almost always open so you can easily receive a quick meal.

By , from Helena, MT on Apr 7, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 10, 2018

Dear Ms. Pamela, Thank you so much for your kind review. Your comments are very valuable since they help us to identify those areas where we still need to improve. We truly hope to be of service in the near future. Sincerely, Ulises Guzman General Manager

5

on the beach. good snorkeling in front of hotel.

Everyone

Good snorkeling right in front of hotel. Rocky beach in the water but offset by snorkeling. Food and experience at evening restaurants great. No quick food spots for lunch by pools. Overall, a great time.

By on Feb 8, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 21, 2018

Dear guest. Thank you so much for Your kind review. We are pleased to know you had a nice stay. We will be glad to share this with our staff to work on our quick food spots. I wonder if you heard about the Barefoot Grill by the Oceana Restaurant or the Coco Cafe by the Bordeaux Restaurant, these two places offer quick food. Please feel free to email me to uguzman@secretsresorts.com Once again thank you and we look forward to being of service again in the near future. Sincerely, Ulises Guzman / General Manager

5
Everyone

Food was great ! Staff was good. Overall Cleanliness/Condition could have been a little better.

By , from Colorado on Jan 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 26, 2018

Hello Mr. Mike Thank you for your words. Thank you for review us, this helps us to identify our highs and work in improving our other areas. We hope you can give us a second chance to offer you the vacation you deserve. I remain at your service. Eduardo Betancourt

3

ok hotel/resort

Everyone

We joined friends for a birthday celebration, which was great fun. Choices for dining were not as extensive as we would have liked. Food was average to without flavor for the most part. Though they did prepare my steak to perfection at Oceana one night. I had requested a room away from the trees where many, many blackbirds perch themselves in for sunrise and sunset, as one of our friends recommended. I did not get that, so the birds, who were very loud and screechy-sounding work me between 5:30-6:30 every morning. The noise lasts for about 30-40 minutes. Very frustrating. Also, service lacked follow-through several times. We would call and ask for something simple, and it would never come. They say yes to everything, but do not deliver on everything. On the plus side, staff was very cordial. Armando the bartender was our favorite. I had an upset stomach from the ferry ride over, so Armando poured me a bit of Agavero on the rocks. Perfect cure to settle my stomach !

By , from Denver, CO on Dec 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 27, 2018

Hello Mrs. Carol, Thank you for sharing your comments with us, I have forwarded this to our head department. As you know there are situations that we can not control. We hope you can visit us in a different season. I remain at your service. Eduardo Betancourt

3

3 star hotel with 5 star location

Couples

We have been to Secrets Aura a couple times and enjoy the location and outdoor amenities. The hotel itself is showing age so we've come to expect several calls to repair or replace items that are missing or broken. The most annoying point is the heavy sales efforts from staff and managers. We would prefer the hotel raise rates and eliminate their VIP members sales and "extras" (spa) daily selling pressure so guests can enjoy their vacations in peace. Be aware the $200 in Hotel Cash which you must claim at concierge is actually their strategy to sit you down for a 2 hour VIP Membership conversation. If you don't agree to meet with them, then the coupons can only be used in small increments (mostly $10 and $20) on items that are severely overpriced (Barefoot wine for $50 at restaurants?). If you do invest 2 hours listening the the VIP Membership offer, then you'll likely end up with $150 in value you can use for the spa or scuba with the hotel. We chose to decline their VIP Membership selling tactics.

By , from Denver on Dec 16, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 27, 2018

Hello Mr. John, Thank you for contacting us. We appreciate you could mention the opportunity areas you identified. We are also sharing your comments with the Uvc company to take the necessary actions. I remain at your service Eduardo Betancourt

3

we were very satisfied, practically with everythin

O.M.G no. Pets!

All of all we have feelings,that rooms in our part of hotel definitely needs improvement.We don’t think that level of rooms was horrible,but it needs abdating.You have excellent groups of people who really taking care.Aspecially people who take care of entertainment.people like CAROLINA,JOSE,HUGO,AND,AND,AND are involved from morning to evening and they defenitelly know,what they are doing.

By , from ARIZONA AND CANADA on Dec 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 27, 2018

Hello Mr. John, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are honored to have had the opportunity to serve you. Your comments about the team was motivating. We are going to continue working to improve all our areas. We hope you can visit us again. I remain at your service. Eduardo Betancourt

4

fantastic adults only resort!

Everyone

The atmosphere was amazing in this resort. All of the landscaping and fixtures were fantastic. We reserved a preferred room and with this being an Orbitz VIP hotel we were upgraded to an ocean front room which made our day! The view was awesome! The beach however was very rocky and definitely needed water shoes to go out in. We got some amazing pictures snorkeling of sting rays and other fish.

By , from Omaha, NE on Nov 9, 2017

5

wow

Everyone

Amazing place I wish I would’ve stayed longer then 4 days. Food was great always quick with a good drink. Alejandra at Oceana restaurant was the best! I will be back for sure!

By , from phoenix az on Oct 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 12, 2017

Hello Mrs. Mitch It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are going to continue doing our best. We hope to see you soon again. I remain at your service. Eduardo Betancourt