Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Barcelo Maya Beach - All Inclusive

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The rooms are not ready for check in time. Front desk is not very efficient, but staff in restaurants and buffet is excellent

My husband and I stayed at barcelo about 6 years ago with a group of friends booked through a travel agent. We enjoyed our time then but it was definitely in need of a little tlc. And honestly, the only thing that drew me back while looking on orbitz was my memories of the beach. It was and remains perfect. This stay I selected the premiere package. It was perfect! Ocean View room, champagne, updated rooms, room service, and comfy beds. This place is completely different from our first stay and we were so surprised.

They have many activities and the buffet is good it's very big hotel

Campus is really nice. There are many different amenities on site: shops, bowling alley, water park, games, outdoor areas and spa/fitness. These all exceeded our expectations. Everything was very clean and well maintained. The indoor staff was very helpful. The drawbacks are: impossible to get good service outside, specifically the pool bartenders seemed irritated if tips were not large enough. Making dinner reservations is awful and took 30 mins for 4 reservations and each had very little availability. The towel process was unnecessarily painful as well.

We had a wonderful week. A lot of choices of food, pools and beach.

Food was typical cold, supposed to be hot resort food. Couldn't find a taco anywhere on the resort. A few staff really nice. The majority shouldn't be in the hospitality business. We upgraded to premium and I still don't know what was premium? Rooms were stanky and everyday they forgot to do something. Barcelo Maya is a good resort to stay away from.

We get here and were no informed of the hours of the pool, bar, and snack bar by the pool. Here are the polices : 1. Snack bar closes at 630pm --- however they actually close at 615pm – unless you insist they will not allow you to get food. 2. The Pool closes at 8pm --- which makes no sense—should stay open late hurt r –at least 10pm. 3. The Pool bar closes at 7pm ---which makes no sense—should stay open at least as late as the pool is open. 4. The rooms-- The room flooring is made of tile that if it gets wet turns into a VERY dangerous situation. I suggest you put down towels down right after the family takes showers. My son slipped and himself on the rock hard tile. 4a. Getting to the other resorts that are attached is difficult. They have a bus that is supposed to run overy 15 minutes, but our experience was that if you saw it every 30 min you were lucky. 5. The internet ---it is terrible and works about 50% of the time. Further, if the maid takes your passcode card while cleaning the room; you have no recourse except to go an buy another one according to their rules. I had to escalate to the 2 nd level mgr to get a new one free of charge. Their rules are as follows—this is a rip-off 6. 1. Our Obligation 7. 1.1 We will try to make the Service available 24 hours a day; however we will not be liable if for any reason the Service is not available at any time. If you require any assistance, you should contact Reception or Guest Service Desk.

One little thing - you have to pay for internet. I'd rather pay in my package price. Little charges like I find very annoying.

Nice resort! Good food at the buffet and excellens

We liked the hotel but found it to be very noisy and housekeeping did not replace towels/wash clothes. The food was good, drinks were plenty. There is a fun mall and shopping area and the hotel staff was very friendly. Would recommend if you enjoy all inclusive option and/or are ok with noise.

Hotel destination is great. The property is located in great spot and the beach is beautiful. Landscape is well maintained. The food choices are pretty bad and staff is very unpleasant.would not go back

Paid for premium got a room in front of construction site, took them two days to change it. Food looks good but tastes terrible especially the quality of the meats. Food is the same every day at the buffet and there is restrictions for dining in the other restaurants, some you have to pay extra. Expect to wait too long for a drink or a refill because of limited bars and staf

Excellent hotel. Our second time. Will go again next year.

The hotel was great also the staff. The check-in procedure was cumbersome and took too much time especially after a long and tiring trip. We had to change out rooms in order to get the accommodations we reserved in July. This could not be done until the second night.

our vacation was excellent the location for this hotel its beautiful, clean and quiet, food was very good i loved that they have natural fresh juices of different fruits and the staff its always very kind and friendly ...you feel vey save and loved in Riviera Maya Mexico Love it ....

We have stayed at here 5 times. We love it. The food is fantastic. The grounds are clean and well maintained with plenty of beautiful plantings. The beach is beautiful When we have had enough sun we take in the shaded pools. We will be back again this year. Can not wait!!

Can't ask for more everything was amazing my best vacation trip so far for sure I'll be back next year

Stuff is not welcoming and rude. Barely saw smile on a face. Wifi horrible and if you not staying in premium gotta pay for Internet and still bad signal. Impossible to get in to restaurants, too many ppl limited seating. Unless u make reservations upon arrival for all stay, but there is a catch if u late for yr reservation than won't be seated. And no show extra charge. Feels like I heard words extra charge all our stay there. Overall enjoyed our trip, but will not be returning to Barcelo!!! P.s. Beach full of seaweed and no one ever tried to clean it... stayed there for a week.

My stay at the the Barcelo Maya Beach was just wonderful. The grounds were very well kept and food was good. The service was pleasant at the restaurants but could have been better at the bars especially when tipping extra. The hotel caters to mostly families traveling with kids and couples who are looking to just relax. Not a crazy party resort which was a good thing. The specialty restaurants were really good. I do recommend booking or upgrading once there a premium swim up room. The regular room we originally booked was great but boy the swim up is def worth it.

It was a great trip, i loved it and want to come again. Only complaint was the storm but that wasn't Barcelo fault. Another thing would be Wi-Fi, there was free wifi from 10am-12pm and that's it which was a bummer but forces you to stay away from your phone if you decide not to purchase wifi. Bowling and arcade was a ripoff but other than those it was a great resort I loved it so much!

Carr Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km 266.3 Xpu-Ha QROO

Barcelo Maya Beach - All Inclusive places you within a short walk of Cenote Cristalino and within a mile (2 km) of Bel Air Animal Park. This 630-room, 4-star hotel has 2 outdoor pools along with a full-service spa and a casino. It's on the beach and also close to Xpu-ha Beach and Chan Yu Yum.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free hot/cold buffet breakfast. Relish the international cuisine at Beach Buffet, one of 3 onsite restaurants. Order from 24-hour room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


All 630 air-conditioned rooms provide free minibar items, furnished balconies or patios, and sofa beds. 32-inch LCD TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Bathrooms offer rainfall showers, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include coffee makers, free bottled water, and ceiling fans.

Rooms


Barcelo Maya Beach - All Inclusive features a full-service spa, 2 outdoor pools, and a casino. There's free parking, and an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for USD 123 per vehicle one way. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with concierge services, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this all-inclusive hotel include a water park, a nightclub, and a children's pool.

Property features

Room options

Junior Suite Ocean Front Premium Level

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 5

Suite Ocean Front Premium Level

Twin 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Barcelo Maya Beach - All Inclusive

Everyone (13) Couples (474) Business (3) Family (472) Friends (117) Other (13)
4
Everyone

The rooms are not ready for check in time. Front desk is not very efficient, but staff in restaurants and buffet is excellent

By , from Pennsylvania on May 20, 2017

4

second stay

Everyone

My husband and I stayed at barcelo about 6 years ago with a group of friends booked through a travel agent. We enjoyed our time then but it was definitely in need of a little tlc. And honestly, the only thing that drew me back while looking on orbitz was my memories of the beach. It was and remains perfect. This stay I selected the premiere package. It was perfect! Ocean View room, champagne, updated rooms, room service, and comfy beds. This place is completely different from our first stay and we were so surprised.

By , from Okc on May 15, 2017

3

the room are very noisy and they are old

Everyone

They have many activities and the buffet is good it's very big hotel

By , from shanghai on May 9, 2017

4

really nice amenities

Everyone

Campus is really nice. There are many different amenities on site: shops, bowling alley, water park, games, outdoor areas and spa/fitness. These all exceeded our expectations. Everything was very clean and well maintained. The indoor staff was very helpful. The drawbacks are: impossible to get good service outside, specifically the pool bartenders seemed irritated if tips were not large enough. Making dinner reservations is awful and took 30 mins for 4 reservations and each had very little availability. The towel process was unnecessarily painful as well.

By on Apr 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 16, 2017

Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Barceló Maya Beach; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. Please be assured your comments regarding the service you received has been discussed with our Food & Beverage manager so as to prevent these kind of situations to reoccur in the future and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

5

ocean front premium room

Everyone

We had a wonderful week. A lot of choices of food, pools and beach.

By on Apr 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 8, 2017

Thank you very much for your kind comments, it will be a great pleasure to have you back on your next holidays Best regards

3

the good, the bad and the ugly

Everyone

Food was typical cold, supposed to be hot resort food. Couldn't find a taco anywhere on the resort. A few staff really nice. The majority shouldn't be in the hospitality business. We upgraded to premium and I still don't know what was premium? Rooms were stanky and everyday they forgot to do something. Barcelo Maya is a good resort to stay away from.

By , from Chicago on Apr 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 6, 2017

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing a review of Barceló Maya Beach. It does indeed sound from what you describe that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual standards of service; please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to make your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely

2

terrible service; value, and overall satisfaction

Everyone

We get here and were no informed of the hours of the pool, bar, and snack bar by the pool. Here are the polices : 1. Snack bar closes at 630pm --- however they actually close at 615pm – unless you insist they will not allow you to get food. 2. The Pool closes at 8pm --- which makes no sense—should stay open late hurt r –at least 10pm. 3. The Pool bar closes at 7pm ---which makes no sense—should stay open at least as late as the pool is open. 4. The rooms-- The room flooring is made of tile that if it gets wet turns into a VERY dangerous situation. I suggest you put down towels down right after the family takes showers. My son slipped and himself on the rock hard tile. 4a. Getting to the other resorts that are attached is difficult. They have a bus that is supposed to run overy 15 minutes, but our experience was that if you saw it every 30 min you were lucky. 5. The internet ---it is terrible and works about 50% of the time. Further, if the maid takes your passcode card while cleaning the room; you have no recourse except to go an buy another one according to their rules. I had to escalate to the 2 nd level mgr to get a new one free of charge. Their rules are as follows—this is a rip-off 6. 1. Our Obligation 7. 1.1 We will try to make the Service available 24 hours a day; however we will not be liable if for any reason the Service is not available at any time. If you require any assistance, you should contact Reception or Guest Service Desk.

By on Mar 20, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 22, 2017

Be so kind to let me know the room you were at! thank you Erika

5

great hotel, fantastic shows, awesome food.

Everyone

One little thing - you have to pay for internet. I'd rather pay in my package price. Little charges like I find very annoying.

By on Mar 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 17, 2017

Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to know you have spent a great time with us! Hope to have you back soon

4

great resort!

Everyone

Nice resort! Good food at the buffet and excellens

By , from NYC on Mar 7, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 12, 2017

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our Resort and will be great to have you back soon. Best regards

4

first time all inclusive traveler

Everyone

We liked the hotel but found it to be very noisy and housekeeping did not replace towels/wash clothes. The food was good, drinks were plenty. There is a fun mall and shopping area and the hotel staff was very friendly. Would recommend if you enjoy all inclusive option and/or are ok with noise.

By , from Utah on Feb 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 17, 2017

Dear Ms Lisa We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Barceló Maya Beach was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories. Sincerely