Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Now Onyx Punta Cana All Inclusive

4.0 out of 5.0

Now Onyx Punta Cana All Inclusive

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

When I go on a PAID vacation, no freebies, deals, etc. and get harassed for a time share purchase it's kind of a downer. Now Onyx at Punta Cana is a time share pushing racket. Even when you tell them 'no' they persist. Once it's clear that you won't give in, the quality of service goes south quickly.

Nice hotel, close to the beach and several pools. Good food and good bartenders. The only complaint is the safe in our room was locked when we arrived. It was opened but we continued to have lockout problems. The staff is very honest, safe problem not the staff.

Great staff, plenty of good food and drink. The beach is clean with a sweeper always grooming the sand.

This place is beautiful!! The service and food was great

Now Onyx offers exclusive treatment, even to those who have reservations will be excluded until they get escorted in by security. We decided to reserve a room after being informed we would have to pay to attend our friends' wedding and leave after the reception. Our friend was not informed of this either, until a few weeks before their wedding and after we booked our beautiful tranquil B&B nearby. We walked with our backpacks along the beach and were not politely stopped while attempting to enter via the beach to check in. Despite informing security that we had a reservation, we were treated as if we were intruders, and made to wait with our bags on the beach until the supervisor came. Neither the staff nor the supervisor cared to look at our reservation, nor did they apologize for the treatment or the delay (we lost the time to prep for the wedding and ended up rushing to get ready on time for the ceremony) only being told that it was their policy we couldn't enter from the beach. Be warned if you intend to go to a wedding there without staying there. Perhaps an unique situation but worth noting. The resort is a resort like any if that is what you are looking for. Too much food, too much noise, too many people many pools. It is an expansive resort. There's much more to see beyond the resort life in DR. Not a good value for a one night stay, but if you have kids and don't ever want to leave the resort then this is the place for you! PS- the bar staff was great!

Would we stay here again? We typically avoid going to the same resort twice just because we want more experiences but, we would stay here again. The Now Onyx is a perfect family, couples, or singles hotel. The food was great and yes, predictable but I knew where to find the foods I wanted any time of day. Resort size – Smaller than the norm which is great for those with mobility issues. Everything is w/c accessible. Also, you can call for golf cart transport if needed. Breathless resort (adults only) is linked to Now Onyx so you get access there as well. Rooms – We opted to upgrade to the preferred club (PC) swim out rooms ahead of time via the eConcierge. I highly recommend doing this although they are not true swim out but direct pool access. We arrived to be whisked off to the PC desk with specialized attention. We were given amazing rooms next to the main pool within walking distance to beach, lobby, and restaurants. Double/full size beds were too comfortable. Easy to sleep in and take naps! Had tons of pillows (8) on my bed which made it even better. This was our first trip (out of more than 30) to Caribbean where our room was TOO cold. We requested extra blankets but kept it set at 20 C.

i totally recommend staying at this resort especially for families. The staff were AMAZING. I would like to give a special shoutout to Julia Aka Julia Roberts by the pool bar. Very friendly server and very attentive. The hotel is very new therefore everything about he resort is good so far. The only complaint I have is not a lot of selections of different foods in the buffet. The food in the buffet can feel very repetitive other than that, I really enjoyed my stay at the resort.

Excellent hotel, but should improve food...nice beach and have many pools!

Very nice hotel, beach is close, the service was pretty good. The buffet was very good, the other restaurants not so much. The room was nice, although the picture is misleading. When I booked a swim-up room I assumed it would be like on the picture, we would have our own pool. But I am guessing that picture is meant for the preferred club. Our room did have a pool right outside but it was long pool that was shared between us and our neighbors. Which is fine. Just a bit misleading. The room service was ok, although when we ordered breakfast one day, we were told it will be there in 20 min, we waited over 45 min. Also the first night that we got there, my husband's flip-flops went missing right from the patio area. Also, one day they had allowed vendors to come in and set up their tables around the hotel and that was very annoying, every time you were walking by, they all tried to sell you something and tried to put on necklaces on you and stuff. We did enjoy the performances every night. The drinks at the bars were decent. Overall, the hotel was pretty nice. I would still recommend it.

Clogged shower drain, heavy dust and humidity in the room, the food was at least acceptable

This resort caters more to families than adults. We were booked into the family side instead of the all-adult portion by our travel agent. As a result, our room was noisy being on the main pool side. We asked to be changed, but we did not receive any communication on this request. Our butler was inconsistent in his availability and did not seem to hand us off to someone else when he was off. We've stayed in many other resorts in Punta Cana and would recommend trying other places. The preferred club service level at this resort allows families with children in the clubs. Other resorts do not do this. Poolside service was spotty or nonexistant when there were activities going on at the main pool (which happens 75% of the time). Our room had dirty linen and damaged furniture that we pointed out on the first day but we it was not addressed. The restaurants are not all open every evening and the schedule is posted only outside the restaurants. We thought we had reservations made through our butler, but found out they weren't made and had no room. Overall, we would go elsewhere.

We stayed for 5 days at Now Onyx in the first week of May. We had a fantastic time. There was a giant storm 2 days before we got to the resort which was apparently devastating to the resorts. Resorts up and down the beach lost power, had no dinig services and had to drain their pools! You would have never known at Onyx. Everything was perfect. The resort is very clean and modern but at the same time it blends beautifully into the island. Our room was gorgeous. We upgraded into The Preferred Club and upgraded our room as well. The rooms were beautiful and clean. The only reason I did not give 5 stars was because though the rooms were not warm at all, they often felt damp. And twice I had to ask for Housekeeping to clean our room VERY LATE in the day. But the beds were comfy. They had great tech in the room. And the minibar was nice (it included candy and Pringles!) The service was wonderful here! Everyone was lovely. Our butler, Kyana, was fabulous. Also, by the Preferred Club pool the staff was great...especially Andres and Julia. The buffet had amazing choices with something for everyone. The best fresh juices...The restaurants were about standard for an all-inclusive (no complaints!) Also, the Preferred Club Lounges are a really nice touch and worth the upgrade.

I can't wait to go back! The resort was clean, the beaches were well maintained, the staff was friendly, the food was great (minus the room service meals...yuck), and the drinks never stopped! We upgraded to Preferred so we enjoyed premium drinks, private clubhouses with AC and butler service. We left right before spring break which is when it got packed!!

Not too big and not too small. Everyone's close to the beach. You have the quiet relaxing adult side and party kids side. The only thing that stunk is that the stairwell was in middle of building. So all the end rooms can't just walk down stairs on end. Had to walk to middle every time and then back around building. Food wasn't the best but the resort was!!

Well, let's start with the good stuff: the pools, lobby and beach look good and taken care of which is great. Also this area is extremely windy so it really got to us after a few days. If you are into kite surfing then that's the place for you, but you have to be pretty good at it as there are lots of reefs and corals. Now the bad stuff: the rooms are really small and smelly, the shower is overflowing, the tub on the balcony is leaking and most of all they are not that clean. For the 7 nights that we were they clean our room only once and the other times we had to ask them specifically to go do it. I couldn't believe it and I'm talking about the Preferred Section were we stayed. Now the food: the worst i had in the past 10 years that we are coming to DR. The same every day, the grill has only yucky hotdogs and burgers, nothing much is cooked in front of you like it used to be. Dinners especially were bad, with not much choice ( i am talking about the buffet restaurant since we have young kids that have no patience for the long waits in other restaurants). Now the entertainment: it was only one show that was nice , the belly dancing one and then nothing much, really boring. Also they had one night a band on the beach but not many people were there because the wind was crazy and it was cold. In theory is nice to dance on the beach but here it would have been a much better idea to have the band in the lobby area. I have to say that Breathless next door had awesome entertainment

The hotel was great, the staff at the hamburger place is excellent. The only issue that i have is that in the website they advertise that you have full access to the Hotel Breathless, but the employees at Breathless are not aware of this and believe that the full access is only from 6:00 pm onwards.

Playa Uvero Alto Punta Cana Provincia La Altagracia

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free valet and self parking
  • Onsite dining

Now Onyx Punta Cana All Inclusive places you 5.9 mi (9.5 km) from Macao Beach and 11.1 mi (17.8 km) from Hard Rock Golf Club at Cana Bay. This 502-room, 4-star resort welcomes business and leisure travelers with 5 outdoor pools, a full-service spa, and a casino. It's on the beach and also within a 30-minute drive of Iberostar Golf Course and Punta Blanca Golf Course.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is served each morning from 7 AM to 10:30 AM. This resort is home to 5 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 32-inch a flat-screen TV with cable channels. Beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers a rainfall showerhead, a hair dryer, and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a balcony or patio, an iPod dock, and a sitting area.


Property features

Now Onyx Punta Cana All Inclusive features a full-service spa, 5 outdoor pools, and a casino. You can take advantage of free valet parking if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with luggage storage and tours/tickets. Other amenities at this beach resort include a nightclub, a children's pool, and a health club.

Room options

Deluxe Junior Suite (Resort Access to Breathless Punta Cana)

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Preferred Club Jr. Suite Pool View King Bed VIP Concierge incl. & Access to Breathless

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Preferred Club Jr Suite Ocean View King Bed (VIP Concierge incl. & Access to Breathless)

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Preferred Club Jr. Suite Pool View Double Beds VIP Concierge incl. Access to Breathless

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Now Onyx Punta Cana All Inclusive

Everyone (17)
2
Everyone

When I go on a PAID vacation, no freebies, deals, etc. and get harassed for a time share purchase it's kind of a downer. Now Onyx at Punta Cana is a time share pushing racket. Even when you tell them 'no' they persist. Once it's clear that you won't give in, the quality of service goes south quickly.

By on Oct 26, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 2, 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing our resort. We strive to deliver a great time to all of our guests, and we deeply regret we could not meet your expectations this time. We apologize for the situation you went through with the Vacation Club Representatives. Attending to the presentation is optional to guests, and we do not support such kind of treatment in any way. We will share your report with the Club Manager, for the proper follow up with the Team. We remain at your disposal and we look forward to welcoming you again, to deliver a totally ‘Excelente’ time. Sincerely, Omar Saavedra Hotel Manager Now Onyx Punta Cana Resort & Spa

4
Everyone

By on Oct 14, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 15, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your rating. We remain at your service. Sunny regards, Omar Saavedra, General Manager, Now Onyx Punta Cana Resort & Spa

4
Everyone

Nice hotel, close to the beach and several pools. Good food and good bartenders. The only complaint is the safe in our room was locked when we arrived. It was opened but we continued to have lockout problems. The staff is very honest, safe problem not the staff.

By , from Davis, California USA on Sep 18, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 21, 2018

Dear Darlene, thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are happy to know that overall, you had a great time with us and you enjoyed our food & beverage offer and the friendly service from our team. On the other hand, please receive our apologies for the situation in your room. We will review it with our Team at the involved departments, and work to prevent a similar situation. Thank you for helping us to make it better, we hope to welcome you back to enjoy the improvements. Kind regards. Angel Holgado General Manager Now Onyx Punta Cana Resort & Spa

4
Everyone

Great staff, plenty of good food and drink. The beach is clean with a sweeper always grooming the sand.

By , from Davis, California on Sep 18, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 21, 2018

Dear Darlene, thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are happy to know that overall, you had a great time with us and you enjoyed our food & beverage offer and the friendly service from our team. It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back home anytime. Best regards. Angel Holgado General Manager Now Onyx Punta Cana Resort & Spa

5
Everyone

This place is beautiful!! The service and food was great

By , from ct on Jul 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 20, 2018

Dear luis, Thank you for staying with us and for your amazing review. It is good to know that you enjoyed your vacation with us, and that we could exceed your expectations with our food and our friendly service. Now Onyx Punta Cana is your home, and you are always welcome back. Kind regards, Angel Holgado General Manager Now Onyx Punta Cana Resort & Spa

1
Everyone

Now Onyx offers exclusive treatment, even to those who have reservations will be excluded until they get escorted in by security. We decided to reserve a room after being informed we would have to pay to attend our friends' wedding and leave after the reception. Our friend was not informed of this either, until a few weeks before their wedding and after we booked our beautiful tranquil B&B nearby. We walked with our backpacks along the beach and were not politely stopped while attempting to enter via the beach to check in. Despite informing security that we had a reservation, we were treated as if we were intruders, and made to wait with our bags on the beach until the supervisor came. Neither the staff nor the supervisor cared to look at our reservation, nor did they apologize for the treatment or the delay (we lost the time to prep for the wedding and ended up rushing to get ready on time for the ceremony) only being told that it was their policy we couldn't enter from the beach. Be warned if you intend to go to a wedding there without staying there. Perhaps an unique situation but worth noting. The resort is a resort like any if that is what you are looking for. Too much food, too much noise, too many people many pools. It is an expansive resort. There's much more to see beyond the resort life in DR. Not a good value for a one night stay, but if you have kids and don't ever want to leave the resort then this is the place for you! PS- the bar staff was great!

By , from NY, NY on Jun 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 4, 2018

Dear LastResort, Thank you for reviewing our resort. Please receive our apologies for the mishaps you experienced. Following our security protocols, we do not accept walk-ins through the beach. We regret any misunderstanding, and the time it took to straighten up the situation. We will reinforce the opportunity areas you have given us on our training sessions to prevent similar situations. The feedback from our guests allows us to deliver a better service, and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and delivering nothing but an ‘excelente’ time. Sincerely, Angel Holgado General Manager Now Onyx Punta Cana Resort & Spa

5
Everyone

Would we stay here again? We typically avoid going to the same resort twice just because we want more experiences but, we would stay here again. The Now Onyx is a perfect family, couples, or singles hotel. The food was great and yes, predictable but I knew where to find the foods I wanted any time of day. Resort size – Smaller than the norm which is great for those with mobility issues. Everything is w/c accessible. Also, you can call for golf cart transport if needed. Breathless resort (adults only) is linked to Now Onyx so you get access there as well. Rooms – We opted to upgrade to the preferred club (PC) swim out rooms ahead of time via the eConcierge. I highly recommend doing this although they are not true swim out but direct pool access. We arrived to be whisked off to the PC desk with specialized attention. We were given amazing rooms next to the main pool within walking distance to beach, lobby, and restaurants. Double/full size beds were too comfortable. Easy to sleep in and take naps! Had tons of pillows (8) on my bed which made it even better. This was our first trip (out of more than 30) to Caribbean where our room was TOO cold. We requested extra blankets but kept it set at 20 C.

By , from Madison, WI on May 25, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 1, 2018

Dear Cathy, Thank you for staying with us and for your amazing review. We love to know that you had 'Excelente' time, and that we could exceed your expectations, especially with our food and service at the Preferred Club. Now Onyx Punta Cana is your home, and you are always welcome back. Kind regards, Angel Holgado General Manager Now Onyx Punta Cana Resort & Spa

4

great stay

Everyone

i totally recommend staying at this resort especially for families. The staff were AMAZING. I would like to give a special shoutout to Julia Aka Julia Roberts by the pool bar. Very friendly server and very attentive. The hotel is very new therefore everything about he resort is good so far. The only complaint I have is not a lot of selections of different foods in the buffet. The food in the buffet can feel very repetitive other than that, I really enjoyed my stay at the resort.

By , from New York on Jan 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 9, 2018

Dear Rubi, Thank you for staying with us and for your amazing review. Please be sure we will recognize Julia Roberts for delivering a magnífico service to you. We are always ready to improve and we will have your heads up about our food options, into account. Best Regards, Angel Holgado Director General Now Onyx Punta Cana Resort & Spa

4

nice hotel

Everyone

Excellent hotel, but should improve food...nice beach and have many pools!

By on Nov 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 15, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you and for your review. We are glad to know that overall, you had a good time, and that we could exceed your expectations with most of our services. We are carrying out important enhancements in our food offer, you can be sure that we will have your input into account. We here remain at your disposal, and look forward to welcoming you back to anytime. Warm regards, Angel Holgado General Manager Now Onyx Punta Cana Resort & Spa

4

nice hotel!

Everyone

Very nice hotel, beach is close, the service was pretty good. The buffet was very good, the other restaurants not so much. The room was nice, although the picture is misleading. When I booked a swim-up room I assumed it would be like on the picture, we would have our own pool. But I am guessing that picture is meant for the preferred club. Our room did have a pool right outside but it was long pool that was shared between us and our neighbors. Which is fine. Just a bit misleading. The room service was ok, although when we ordered breakfast one day, we were told it will be there in 20 min, we waited over 45 min. Also the first night that we got there, my husband's flip-flops went missing right from the patio area. Also, one day they had allowed vendors to come in and set up their tables around the hotel and that was very annoying, every time you were walking by, they all tried to sell you something and tried to put on necklaces on you and stuff. We did enjoy the performances every night. The drinks at the bars were decent. Overall, the hotel was pretty nice. I would still recommend it.

By , from Colorado Springs CO on Sep 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 28, 2017

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you and for your review. We are glad that overall, you enjoyed our facilities, entertainment and service. We regret any mishap you may have experienced during your stay. Thanks for the heads-up, we remain at your disposal, and look forward to welcoming you back anytime.