Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Good view

VERY disappointed with our stay at this hotel! The two individuals that were working the front desk were very unprofessional and didn't have a clue as to how to fix a room key, nor how to change a reservation to another room. Had to go back downstairs FOUR (4) times as the room key would not work, only to find out that the room assigned and paid for, should NOT have been used as there was a problem maintenance was supposed to work. This took over 30 minutes to be reassigned a room. I asked if I could be compensated somehow as the room I paid for was now not available. The front desk manager threw his arms up in the air and said, "Nothing I can do for you." This is unacceptable. The two individuals working the front desk need to go back to hotel hospitality training 101 and learn how to appropriately handle hotel guests professionally. Room reassigned was dirty. Carpeting needs to be cleaned and maintenance needs to fix the missing ripped caulk on the sink and tub, working phone charging outlets, etc. Would NOT stay here again.

bathroom exhaust fan does not work and creates lingering musty smell. Parking garage also is not clean and smells of unattended garbage

Thanks

They decided not to have breakfast for customers when was told would be there

Rooms was cleaned staff was very nice. Food was great...the only thing about the hotel was a plumbing issue

Alarm was going off half the night when j tried to call front desk to find out what was going on they hung up on me.

The shuttle bus drivers had a lot of trouble getting us to and from our destinations. Did not take our numbers to call us nor used any type of gps to locate our destinations. We were displeased with the fact that parking was not free with our stay and we were not notified by the front desk agent when getting our parking pass. The rooms were so incredibly hot and there were no fans the thermostat said our room was 75 degrees with the heat set to 60. I had to crack the patio door in winter to cool it down not to mention is unsafe.

Right across the street from The Spirit Room. Great drinks, great food and always a wild live entertainment experience!

REALLY helpful when we had a change of plans and cut our visit short.

The staff was amazing! I didn't like the fact that there was no complimentary breakfast!

Smell in hallway off elevator on 4th floor. Luckily was not in our room, but did not dissipate. Clean but needs some updating.

Had an issue checking in the door cards were not activated which took forever to be remedied.

I booked my room 2 months in advance, I reserved a king bed. When I checked in they gave me a double twin bed. I asked for the room I reserved and the staff told me they over booked and that’s all that was available. I was on the 4th floor and the ball room was near the room, very loud music and thumping was going on until Midnight. Definitely not worth the hassle.

From the front desk folks to the housekeeping, bartenders, and shuttle driver, Rochester Plaza earned an A+ from me. Everyone was courteous, pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

The hotel was fine except there was only one operating elevator and the hotel seemed pretty full. The staff nice except housekeeping skipped my room on Saturday. The Rochester Plaza did not meet the standard I had hoped for on this trip.

My stay at the plaza hotel in Rochester ny was wonderful. I enjoyed the quick service and friendly attuide everyone had. One thing they could do better with is maybe haveing some sort of door stoppers because we ppl were going in and out of their rooms next to me, and they would shut, they were slamming shut and keeping me up. But other than that it was nice.

I was in the Rochester area to attend a funeral service for a friend. I did not get an opportunity to enjoy the surrounding area as it rained the entire time I was there. The staff was accommodating especially the person at the front desk during check in. The printer was not working in the lobby for convenience of printing boarding passes etc., however the staff on duty allowed me to get it done from someone's office. The room was dated but clean, an alarm clock would have been nice, and a working lamp at the desk would have been great. I did not bother the staff as i felt that all lamps in working condition would be at least a minimum standard for a room. There were renovations taking place in the lobby area.

The room was very smelly and damp. The bed was too springy. We ended up moving to another hotel. The hotel seems in poor shape, not very well taken care of.

State St Rochester NY

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Fitness center
  • Business center

Located in Downtown Rochester, Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, an IHG Hotel is within 2 miles (3 km) of popular attractions such as Blue Cross Arena and Rochester Riverside Convention Center. This 217-room, 3-star hotel has 2 restaurants along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and a gym.


Dining

Enjoy dining at River Club, one of 2 onsite restaurants. Quench your thirst with a drink at the bar/lounge. For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served for a fee on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

All 217 rooms feature microwaves, coffee makers, and phones. Guests can expect flat-screen TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Ironing boards and desks are other standard amenities.


Property features

Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, an IHG Hotel features a gym, free WiFi in public areas, and a conference center. Self parking is offered for USD 5 per day. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with luggage storage and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include a business center, a computer station, and express check-out.

Room options

Suite, 1 Bedroom

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room

1 King Bed | 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible (Hearing, Mobility Tub)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible (Hearing, Mobility Tub)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, an IHG Hotel

Everyone (4) Business (21) Couples (19) Family (12) Friends (3) Other (14)
1
Partner Couples

Good view

By on Jan 5, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 5, 2022

Dear Pancho, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. I would learn more about your stay so we can make improvements where needed. The pandemic did hit our industry very hard but our hotel business and staffing levels continue to improve every day. We are working diligently to offer our guests the service and product they expect from all IHG hotels. We will soon announce the details regarding our renovation plans and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience for you.

1
Partner Couples

VERY disappointed with our stay at this hotel! The two individuals that were working the front desk were very unprofessional and didn't have a clue as to how to fix a room key, nor how to change a reservation to another room. Had to go back downstairs FOUR (4) times as the room key would not work, only to find out that the room assigned and paid for, should NOT have been used as there was a problem maintenance was supposed to work. This took over 30 minutes to be reassigned a room. I asked if I could be compensated somehow as the room I paid for was now not available. The front desk manager threw his arms up in the air and said, "Nothing I can do for you." This is unacceptable. The two individuals working the front desk need to go back to hotel hospitality training 101 and learn how to appropriately handle hotel guests professionally. Room reassigned was dirty. Carpeting needs to be cleaned and maintenance needs to fix the missing ripped caulk on the sink and tub, working phone charging outlets, etc. Would NOT stay here again.

By on Nov 7, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 8, 2021

Hi Krystal, thank you for staying with us and I am deeply sorry about the issues you mentioned during your stay with us. Please give me a call at your earliest convenience as we would like more information on the room you were in and the time frame on which you had so many issues. Thank you so much!

4
Everyone

By on Oct 25, 2021

4
Partner Couples

bathroom exhaust fan does not work and creates lingering musty smell. Parking garage also is not clean and smells of unattended garbage

By on Sep 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 13, 2021

Dear Saqib, Thank you for notifying us of your recent stay. We are disappointed to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations and we apologize for the issues you mentioned. I have notified our team members regarding your comments to have them addressed immediately. We hope that you give us the opportunity to host you again in the future.

5
Everyone

Thanks

By on Jul 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 18, 2021

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

3
Family with small children

They decided not to have breakfast for customers when was told would be there

By on May 13, 2021

Review comment responded on May 18, 2021

Hello, thank you for staying with us. We will reevaluate this situation and make sure we fix it for the future.

5
Partner Couples

Rooms was cleaned staff was very nice. Food was great...the only thing about the hotel was a plumbing issue

By on Apr 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 21, 2021

Thank you for staying with us! I will pass this feedback onto my engineering department to make sure this issue is resolved!

3
Family with small children Family

Alarm was going off half the night when j tried to call front desk to find out what was going on they hung up on me.

By on Apr 14, 2021

Review comment responded on May 3, 2021

Hello, unfortunately when the alarm is going off- it could be hectic at the front desk. I will pass this along to my team members to ensure this does not happen in the future.

2
Partner Couples Friends

The shuttle bus drivers had a lot of trouble getting us to and from our destinations. Did not take our numbers to call us nor used any type of gps to locate our destinations. We were displeased with the fact that parking was not free with our stay and we were not notified by the front desk agent when getting our parking pass. The rooms were so incredibly hot and there were no fans the thermostat said our room was 75 degrees with the heat set to 60. I had to crack the patio door in winter to cool it down not to mention is unsafe.

By on Jan 2, 2020

5
Business Business

Right across the street from The Spirit Room. Great drinks, great food and always a wild live entertainment experience!

By on Sep 24, 2019

Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, an IHG Hotel

70 State St, Rochester, NY 14614
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Rochester-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Rochester-Downtown,-an-IHG-Hotel.h16038-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Rochester-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Rochester-Downtown,-an-IHG-Hotel.h16038-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Rochester-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Rochester-Downtown,-an-IHG-Hotel.h16038-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions