Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Empire Hotel

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

My stay was brief but enjoyable. The staff was welcoming and very service oriented.

From the first time I entered the staff treated me so very well it was a small town experience in a big city. My room was ready when I got there, always nice . I can't say enough good things about the experience.

Good location for an outdated hotel. Needs work. Computer station does not work - had to have the front desk print my boarding pass. However, the Empire is the only game in town for a reasonable hotel close to the met. opera.

Had an awesome stay, the night front desk guy, Rudy, was great. Love the location of the hotel. If you take the time to learn the subway system you can go anywhere you want. I recommend earplugs, the ppl that drive in New York love to use their car horns a lot Thank you had a great time

Absolutely no complaints. perfectly satisfied. I mean it.

The location is great, but the carpets in the hallway could be renewed. Rooms are okay. However, I was sorely disappointed by the misleading WiFi language. There is Free Wifi in public areas, bu they charge for internet in the rooms. The Platinum Orbitz status doesn't do anything at this hotel, it seems (no free wifi; no upgrade).

Super cute, trendy, clean and convenient. Great room for the price!!

I've stayed at the Empire several times. The staff is always friendly as can be. The location is excellent...next to Lincoln Center, a block away from Central Park for morning runs, very short walks to half a dozen subway lines. I try to take advantage of some of their great off-peak deals when possible. The addition of the workout room on the basement level is a nice touch...not the most elaborately fitted gym, but certainly enough to get in good basic weight training during a visit. About the only downside are the two restaurants in the same building. I've rarely had a good meal or good service at either, and am always shocked at the small size of servings. The lobby bar, on the other hand, is very nice. I'm not much of a Starbucks guy, but the one on the corner of the building is very nice for early morning coffee and the Times. Door men, front desk staff, chambermaids...all unfailingly polite and upbeat.

I've stayed at the empire many times, but never had such a Sam, beaten down room. Love the location, but no longer my go-to hotel.

Three nights, two mornings with no hot water. Hotel response at check out: apology. No compensation offered in the form of rate reduction or free future nights. At close to $500/night, pretty sure we can find a better alternative next time. Too bad: great location, great staff.

The hotel was a great location for me. The hotel staff was very friendly and my room was comfortable, neat, and clean.

Our room faced broadway and it was very loud. If you sleep past 7am - this is not the hotel for you. Room was also freezing. They finally brought a heater after three calls - on our last night :(. Everyone was really friendly.

Before booking this hotel I was a little scared because I kept reading other peoples review saying "rooms are too small." I went for the weekend with my boyfriend and yes the room was small but it was a perfect size for both of us what do you expect it's NYC, you're deff not going to get a penthouse size room. Only issue I had was the room did not have a long mirror. We stayed on the 1st floor and the view from our room was nice because we were able to see the water foundation from the Lincoln Center. Location was great! I'm a huge gossip girl fan! I enjoyed my stayed and would deff come back for another weekend getaway.

This Hotel is our favorite "Homebase" when we come to visit family. The staff are very friendly and helpful throughout the Hotel.

Excellent location with fabulous lounge and rooftop bar with amazing view. Staff were very friendly and assisted in directions around town when needed.

Hotel staff was nice, hotel lobby and rooftop is great. The rooms were however not as comfortable is lower priced hotels (450 us per night is overpriced, as if it was a luxury room). The bed didn't have a top sheet (comforter only). They said that was "how they did it". I asked housekeeping to remake the bed with a top sheet. They did remake bed but still forgot a top sheet. I asked again and just put it on ourselves.

We reserved a suite for a Bachelorette weekend along with a pool party at the hotel. I received a call from the hotel at 200 pm asking what time I would be there. I told them 245pm and they said ok. Check in was at 3pm. When we arrived, the guest who were staying in the room had not checked out. We waited in the lobby nearly two hours before they removed the guest luggage from the room. If check in was at 3, why wasn't it removed by then. They let us sit in the hallway with all of the bridesmaids with no comped drinks or food. It was also raining so the pool party was also cancelled. They wanted to accommodate by moving it to the hotel lobby. This was not what we paid for. It was elevator music in the lobby and guest checking in. There was no compensation made. They did refund us for the pool party but that should have been expected in the event of thunder and lightning.. We waited two hours to check in and all of the plans that day had to be pushed. It definitely ruined the brides weekend. They wanted us to get ready in the bathrooms or gym of the hotel. This is very poor service. We kept asking for updates and they had none. The bags should have been removed from the room and stored in the lobby until those guest returned. They gave us late checkout but that does not help when you have a series of events planned at certain times.

Very small bathroom the shower had half of a glass door and the water leaked out over the floor. Was told would have a view of Central Park, when there was no view but the street and the building across from it.

AC is super noisy and old, couldn't sleep. At check out they told me that they run out of the room which I booked. After I insisting on getting what I paid for, they found the room.

Positive impression from the start--from friendly folk at the door who helped with taxis and holding doors open to the desk to the service staff in the halls.

44 W 63rd St New York NY

Located in Upper West Side, Empire Hotel is adjacent to Lincoln Center and within a 15-minute walk of popular sights like Carnegie Hall. This 4-star hotel welcomes guests with 426 rooms and conveniences like an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and a rooftop terrace. Located in central New York, the hotel is also near Barney's and Broadway.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service. For your convenience, a buffet breakfast is served each morning for a fee.


All 426 air-conditioned rooms provide minibars, free newspapers, and laptop-compatible safes. Flat-screen TVs come with pay movies, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer free toiletries and bathrobes. Phones and desks are other standard amenities.

Rooms


At Empire Hotel, guests enjoy an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and a rooftop terrace. Valet parking is available for USD 60 per day, and there's also limo/town car service. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this boutique hotel include free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and a 24-hour business center.

Property features

Room options

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Superior Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Junior Suite, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Superior Double Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Empire Hotel

Everyone (23) Couples (117) Business (47) Family (64) Other (36) Friends (32)
4

great recommendation

Families

My stay was brief but enjoyable. The staff was welcoming and very service oriented.

By , from Memphis on May 20, 2017

5

great location next to lincoln center- well run

Everyone

From the first time I entered the staff treated me so very well it was a small town experience in a big city. My room was ready when I got there, always nice . I can't say enough good things about the experience.

By on May 3, 2017

Review comment responded on May 6, 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are happy to hear you loved your experience at the Empire. We hope to see you coming back soon! Warm regards,

3
Everyone

Good location for an outdated hotel. Needs work. Computer station does not work - had to have the front desk print my boarding pass. However, the Empire is the only game in town for a reasonable hotel close to the met. opera.

By on Mar 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 3, 2017

We appreciate you taking the time and writing this review about us. Thank you for highlighting our location in your feedback, however, we apologize for not meeting your standards with the decor and AC system. We would like to welcome you back to the Empire and accommodate in one of our Superior or Deluxe rooms as a complimentary upgrade from us to make your next visit more comfortable. Warm regards,

5
Everyone

Had an awesome stay, the night front desk guy, Rudy, was great. Love the location of the hotel. If you take the time to learn the subway system you can go anywhere you want. I recommend earplugs, the ppl that drive in New York love to use their car horns a lot Thank you had a great time

By , from C on Mar 20, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, Ken! We appreciate your compliments about the hotel and our front desk agent Rudy, he is great in assisting our guest with personalized service and attention. We hope to see you at the Empire soon again! Warm regards,

5

very centrally located.

Everyone

Absolutely no complaints. perfectly satisfied. I mean it.

By , from Piitsburgh, Pa on Mar 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 17, 2017

Thank you very much for your brief lovely feedback, Gene! Please do come back to stay with us again. We will make sure you have a great time always! Warm regards,

3

great location; "okay" quality

Everyone

The location is great, but the carpets in the hallway could be renewed. Rooms are okay. However, I was sorely disappointed by the misleading WiFi language. There is Free Wifi in public areas, bu they charge for internet in the rooms. The Platinum Orbitz status doesn't do anything at this hotel, it seems (no free wifi; no upgrade).

By on Dec 24, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 26, 2016

Thank you for taking your time and writing this review. We are glad to know you liked the location but sorry to hear our Wi-Fi policy disappointed you. We are still revisiting it but unfortunately it is a purchase in the room as of now. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope you will stay at the Empire again!

4

adorable chic little gem

Everyone

Super cute, trendy, clean and convenient. Great room for the price!!

By , from NJ on Dec 18, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 26, 2016

Thank you for your lovely review! We are happy to know that met all your expectations! Looking forward to seeing you at the Empire soon again.

4
Everyone

I've stayed at the Empire several times. The staff is always friendly as can be. The location is excellent...next to Lincoln Center, a block away from Central Park for morning runs, very short walks to half a dozen subway lines. I try to take advantage of some of their great off-peak deals when possible. The addition of the workout room on the basement level is a nice touch...not the most elaborately fitted gym, but certainly enough to get in good basic weight training during a visit. About the only downside are the two restaurants in the same building. I've rarely had a good meal or good service at either, and am always shocked at the small size of servings. The lobby bar, on the other hand, is very nice. I'm not much of a Starbucks guy, but the one on the corner of the building is very nice for early morning coffee and the Times. Door men, front desk staff, chambermaids...all unfailingly polite and upbeat.

By , from Boulder, CO on Dec 16, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 18, 2017

Thank you for the recent review and feedback. We strive to give out exceptional guest experiences with out customer service. It looks like we fell short when it came to the restaurants. It is always great to hear our staff leaving great impressions. We hope to be able to welcome you back in there bear future!

3

disappointing return

Everyone

I've stayed at the empire many times, but never had such a Sam, beaten down room. Love the location, but no longer my go-to hotel.

By , from Boston, MA on Dec 15, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 26, 2016

We apologize for the disappointment you experienced with your room. We would like to invite you back to the Empire hotel and reverse that last negative impression you had. Thank you for noting our location advantage. Thank you again for your feedback. We would love for you to come back especially since you are our repeat guest. Your opinion is crucial for us. Thank you.

1

at least the y probably had hot water

Everyone

Three nights, two mornings with no hot water. Hotel response at check out: apology. No compensation offered in the form of rate reduction or free future nights. At close to $500/night, pretty sure we can find a better alternative next time. Too bad: great location, great staff.

By , from Palm Harbor, FL on Dec 12, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 14, 2016

Thank you for taking your time and writing this. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Due to NYC Department of Buildings emergency work we did have service disruption. We would love to invite you back to our hotel and exceed all your expectations on the next visit: complimentary upgrade along with free breakfast and some other amenities we can offer will be granted. Thank you for acknowledging our staff and location. We again truly apologize for the experience you had.