Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Not worth the money. Staff is rude. Everything is very confusing. Parking is not convenient. My partner and I were denied service at rooftop and lobby bar, both which entry and service were supposed to be guaranteed.

Very clean and comfortable. Great location we will come again!

Amazing style. Great look. Excellent location.

Amazing ! 10/10

Check in was impersonal, and there were such significant delays when you asked for help, that you had time to resolve it yourself. Despite a commitment to COVID protocols, many patrons walked the common areas without masks, and some weren’t even fully vaccinated. Also, the hotel fills quickly leaving you with a subpar takeout option (I ended up with an overpriced wilted salad :()

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous. Every space, lounge, common area was warm and inviting. Exquisitely designed. Sexy and upscale. I gave it 4 out of 5 because service was either a hit or miss. The gentleman who assisted with my check-in, and the young woman who assisted with my check-out were first rate. I attempted to get coffee pods delivered to my room to use with the coffee setup I'd ordered (I tipped the delivery person cash), and ended up having to call twice (told it would be sent "right up" both times), but ultimately gave up. It never came.

This hotel is our new go-to when planning a stay in Lower Manhattan. Close to all of the top restaurants and great shopping. Plus, the amenities at the property are A++

Liked everything! Will be returning soon. Great location.

Great access to all of the hotel’s amenities, including expedited entry to the rooftop bar and club downstairs, Public Arts, for hotel guests. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

The staff was very helpful and the hotel design and amenities were fabulous!

Rooms are very stuffy unless the AC is on full blast. Gym is suffocating in the basement.

This hotel was amazing! The room was perfect for a romantic getaway and the location was great for exploring the lower side of Manhattan. On top of that, the service by ALL of the staff at this property was awesome, true hospitality! Absolutely great experience and would definitely stay here again.

Chrystie St New York NY

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to New York University and 5th Avenue
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Nightclub

PUBLIC, an Ian Schrager hotel places you in Manhattan, within a leisurely stroll of popular sights such as New York University and 5th Avenue. This 367-room, 4-star hotel has a 24-hour gym along with free in-room WiFi and a nightclub.


Dining

Enjoy dining at one of 2 onsite restaurants including Popular, which specializes in Peruvian cuisine. You can get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/cafe. Full breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and Tempur-Pedic beds with Egyptian cotton sheets ensure a restful night. Refrigerators, free local calls, and laptop-compatible safes are also available.


Property features

Built in 2017, the brand new PUBLIC, an Ian Schrager hotel offers a nightclub, a 24-hour gym, and a rooftop terrace. Self parking is available for USD 40 per night. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, luggage storage, and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and express check-in.

Room options

Loft, View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Loft, View (Great View)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Loft

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for PUBLIC, an Ian Schrager hotel

Everyone (9) Couples (5) Family (2)
2
Partner Couples

Not worth the money. Staff is rude. Everything is very confusing. Parking is not convenient. My partner and I were denied service at rooftop and lobby bar, both which entry and service were supposed to be guaranteed.

By on Jun 27, 2022

5
Family

Very clean and comfortable. Great location we will come again!

By on Jun 15, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 15, 2022

So glad to hear you've enjoyed your time Nicole! We look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully soon!

5
Partner Couples

Amazing style. Great look. Excellent location.

By , from Cincinnati on Apr 16, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 18, 2022

Hi Angelo! So glad to know you've enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to share! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

5
Everyone

By on Feb 6, 2022

5
Partner Couples

Amazing ! 10/10

By on Jan 18, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 18, 2022

Hi Milaurie, we are thrilled to hear you had an amazing stay with us! Thank you so much for this great review and feedback. We cannot wait to welcome you back! Kira Drumm Director of PUBLIC Service and Experience

5
Everyone

By on Dec 18, 2021

3
Everyone

Check in was impersonal, and there were such significant delays when you asked for help, that you had time to resolve it yourself. Despite a commitment to COVID protocols, many patrons walked the common areas without masks, and some weren’t even fully vaccinated. Also, the hotel fills quickly leaving you with a subpar takeout option (I ended up with an overpriced wilted salad :()

By on Sep 5, 2021

5
Everyone

By on Aug 24, 2021

5
Everyone

By on Jul 20, 2021

5
Everyone

By on Jun 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 23, 2021

Thank you for the great rating! Kira Drumm Director of PUBLIC Service

PUBLIC, an Ian Schrager hotel

215 Chrystie St, New York, NY 10002
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/New-York-Hotels-PUBLIC,-an-Ian-Schrager-hotel.h17117062-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /New-York-Hotels-PUBLIC,-an-Ian-Schrager-hotel.h17117062-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/New-York-Hotels-PUBLIC,-an-Ian-Schrager-hotel.h17117062-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions