Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Pod 51

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Decided to try something different in midtown. Check-in was easy. People were very nice. Quick trip up the elevator. Since rooms are small, hallways look almost like a line of phone booths. Room was efficiently laid out - tight but everything you needed was there. You need to be organized and use the space efficiently as a result, however. Good shower, lots of hot water. Bed mostly comfortable. Small TV but fine for my purposes. Quite cost-effective for mid-town. Be prepared to walk. While this hotel is on 51st St, it is pretty far over on the east side, almost to 2d Avenue, so if you need to go over to Broadway or 6th Avenue, it is a hike. It is also a hike from Penn Station, not so much from Grand Central. I only had two complaints. First, the security seemed lax. It seemed that anyone could come in the front door and go right up on the elevator to any floor. For a hotel like this, that could be troublesome, and could be easily fixed by having someone attentive right at the elevator to deter outsiders. Second, the sink was aligned on a wall in the main room, but was not very deep front to back, and as a result, water kept splashing on the floor, which was carpeted. That was distasteful when you think about the number of times that must occur, day after day. If you want to spend $50 more a night, you can move up into the hotels with regular size rooms, but this is a pretty decent alternative for those on a budget who don't need to spread out.

Great hotel and it's location is awesome close to everything and subway.

I picked this hotel because it was cheap and in a good part of Manhattan. My expectations weren't super high, but they surprised me. The lobby was clean and while the hallways were quite dark, the room was bright. It was small, but I had enough room to move around an I comfortably could have shared with another person. I did have a room with a private bath and that was much appreciated. The bathroom was clean and a decent size. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and I would stay again.

experience was fine. no complaints though the room was smaller than I thought. It would have been ok for one person, not 2.

It was clean, perfect the only thing is it was cold in our room and the control for the heat didn't work but everything else wete excellent.

During busy waking hours there may be a wait for the "water closet" but no problems at off hours

The shower knob almost fell out of wall socket as I turned the water on. It was surprisingly small - found the halls a bit too dark so I was actually afraid. Had a one day conference in NY and did not realize that members could have stayed free at the meeting hotel. I had already booked Pod51 and when i learned about free stay - i tried to get refund from Pod51 and was unable to.

Very clean. The staff was friendly. We had some problems wiht the heather. The bathroom is so small that your feet have to stay out when you sit on the WC.

Check-in was ok, but I didn't like having to hand over my credit card (of which they took a mechanical imprint, like in the 1990s) for a pre-paid room. The room was ok at first glance, but the bathroom very cramped. Worst aspect: poorly heated with no thermostat or other means of increasing the temp. When I called the front desk, shivering at 1:30am, the person said, flatly, "we have an extra blanket down here." At 1:30am?? I just took a hot shower and put on three layers of cloting and wool socks and got back into bed

Great micro room for a day and night out! Great use of a small space!

I was happy to get a hotel at this location for the price I paid, however you get what you pay for. The room was clean but to compact to be comfortable in. A small concession opened in the lobby the day before I left so I wasn't able to take advantage of it. This seemed to be a good idea, without it the hotel didn't offer anything besides its location. I've never stayed at a hostel but I imagine it to be like this.

Room was good, comfortable, clean and what I expected for the low price however the main issue I did not give a good review on the Hotel Facilities rating is because of the noise level from other guests either being in the adjacent hallways or opening and closing room doors. Not very good sound proofing on the doors or attenuation in the hallways to buffer the noise. I had a hard time sleeping due to noise but the room and bed were very comfortable.

The hotel is really well located, but in my room I could not control the room temperature, so it was too cold at the beggining and to hot after they came to check it out, with no possibility of something in between. The staff of the hotel were friendly and helpful. Many restaurants around.

Had a great stay. The room was super comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly. Getting in and out of the building was simple. The location is great. Only two problems for me: 1) I like to to drive in NY and there is no daytime parking on this street or anywhere in the vicinity. Expensive parking garages are nearby as well as the Lexington Line. 2) The pillows were a bit too firm. Take your own if you prefer softer.

This hotel was within walking distance of everything I needed (including my meetings) for my short stay without being extremely expensive. The room was small, but had all the amenities needed, double bed, bathroom, desk, tv, etc. Check in and check out was easy with a bag valet and a taxi set up to take me back to the airport at a flat rate. The only issue I ran into was with temperature control. There was no way to control the temperature in the room and it was very hot, unfortunately, there was ongoing construction happening outside my window, so I was unable to open the window to get any fresh air and there were not portable fans at the front desk; however, it does look like they provide AC units in the summer (I was there in December).

Fun and odd hotel in good location. Small rooms but clean. Staff very helpful.

Nice, clean, well located, and inexpensive hotel in midtown.

Hotel is good value, well-located, helpful staff, basic cheerful furnishings, without amenities like coffee pot in room or free in lobby. I would stay there again.

The rooms are small but functional. Location is excellent, and Staff does a great job!

I had never stayed here before, nor any Pod property but i'd stay again. It was modern and fun in style, clean comfortable and affordable. I was not too sure about sharing a bathroom with strangers, but it was a just fine. They were single, private rooms, and were almost always available for use. Great concept!

230 E 51st St New York NY

Pod 51 places you in Midtown, within a leisurely stroll of popular sights such as Chrysler Building and Bloomingdale's. This 348-room, 3-star hotel has a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and a rooftop terrace. It's in central New York and also a short walk from Rockefeller Center and Grand Central Terminal.


Dining

You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge or visit the onsite restaurant for a bite to eat. Get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Start your day off with breakfast, available for a fee.


Pod 51's 348 air-conditioned rooms provide safes, phones, and desks. 27-inch LCD TVs come with digital channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds are dressed in premium bedding.

Rooms


Guests of Pod 51 enjoy a rooftop terrace, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. Self parking is available for USD 35 per night. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include free newspapers, a garden, and a porter/bellhop.

Property features

Room options

Single Room, 1 Twin Bed, Shared Bathroom

Twin 1 | Sleeps 1

Single Room, 1 Twin Bed, Private Bathroom

Twin 1 | Sleeps 1

Double Room, Private Bathroom

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Private Bathroom

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Pod 51

Everyone (30) Couples (46) Business (33) Students (1) Family (16) Other (46) Friends (17)
4

cost-effective nyc

Everyone

Decided to try something different in midtown. Check-in was easy. People were very nice. Quick trip up the elevator. Since rooms are small, hallways look almost like a line of phone booths. Room was efficiently laid out - tight but everything you needed was there. You need to be organized and use the space efficiently as a result, however. Good shower, lots of hot water. Bed mostly comfortable. Small TV but fine for my purposes. Quite cost-effective for mid-town. Be prepared to walk. While this hotel is on 51st St, it is pretty far over on the east side, almost to 2d Avenue, so if you need to go over to Broadway or 6th Avenue, it is a hike. It is also a hike from Penn Station, not so much from Grand Central. I only had two complaints. First, the security seemed lax. It seemed that anyone could come in the front door and go right up on the elevator to any floor. For a hotel like this, that could be troublesome, and could be easily fixed by having someone attentive right at the elevator to deter outsiders. Second, the sink was aligned on a wall in the main room, but was not very deep front to back, and as a result, water kept splashing on the floor, which was carpeted. That was distasteful when you think about the number of times that must occur, day after day. If you want to spend $50 more a night, you can move up into the hotels with regular size rooms, but this is a pretty decent alternative for those on a budget who don't need to spread out.

By , from upstate New York on May 17, 2017

5

central location. great hotel

Everyone

Great hotel and it's location is awesome close to everything and subway.

By on Apr 24, 2017

4

nice hotel close to shopping

Everyone

I picked this hotel because it was cheap and in a good part of Manhattan. My expectations weren't super high, but they surprised me. The lobby was clean and while the hallways were quite dark, the room was bright. It was small, but I had enough room to move around an I comfortably could have shared with another person. I did have a room with a private bath and that was much appreciated. The bathroom was clean and a decent size. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and I would stay again.

By , from Providence, RI on Apr 19, 2017

3

convenient t times square/broadway shows

Everyone

experience was fine. no complaints though the room was smaller than I thought. It would have been ok for one person, not 2.

By on Apr 8, 2017

4

perfect exactly what i needed

Everyone

It was clean, perfect the only thing is it was cold in our room and the control for the heat didn't work but everything else wete excellent.

By on Apr 4, 2017

5

really cute and modern essentials and no frills

Everyone

During busy waking hours there may be a wait for the "water closet" but no problems at off hours

By , from syracuse on Mar 25, 2017

2

not a fan of pod 51.

Everyone
Small but a bit overpriced

The shower knob almost fell out of wall socket as I turned the water on. It was surprisingly small - found the halls a bit too dark so I was actually afraid. Had a one day conference in NY and did not realize that members could have stayed free at the meeting hotel. I had already booked Pod51 and when i learned about free stay - i tried to get refund from Pod51 and was unable to.

By on Mar 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 27, 2017

Hello, thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that you were afraid of the hallway lighting. I will pass along your feedback. Please note that reservations made via a third party are subject to those cancellation policies and are beyond our control.

4

a surprise

Couples

Very clean. The staff was friendly. We had some problems wiht the heather. The bathroom is so small that your feet have to stay out when you sit on the WC.

By , from Miami on Mar 15, 2017

2

i was cold

Everyone

Check-in was ok, but I didn't like having to hand over my credit card (of which they took a mechanical imprint, like in the 1990s) for a pre-paid room. The room was ok at first glance, but the bathroom very cramped. Worst aspect: poorly heated with no thermostat or other means of increasing the temp. When I called the front desk, shivering at 1:30am, the person said, flatly, "we have an extra blanket down here." At 1:30am?? I just took a hot shower and put on three layers of cloting and wool socks and got back into bed

By , from Florence, Italy on Mar 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 27, 2017

Hello Alex, Like most hotels, we require a hold on a credit card for incidental charges. I'm sorry if this was not explained clearly at check-in. The temperature in each Pod is certainly adjustable, and I'm sorry you were not provided correct information. I will pass your feedback along, and I can assure you we will use it to improve. Thank you for your review.

4
Everyone

Great micro room for a day and night out! Great use of a small space!

By on Feb 12, 2017