Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Tilden Hotel

4.0 out of 5.0

Tilden Hotel

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Boutique hotel near the Tenderloin District in San Francisco. Good water pressure. Easy check-in. Terrible Cafe service. OK (but very loud and hipster) bar. Not my favorite. Not the worst.

Easy check-in and convenient location to restaurants, sites, and underground metro. You can even travel from the airport via BART and walk from the station.

Great hotel and central location to reach nearby sites and metro

Great hotel with attention to detail. Would absolutely recommended.

Thank you for an early check in! Great location in down town SF, near good restaurants and museums.

No central heating and no extra blanket in room. Had to call desk for a blanket and space heater. Wanted to pay cash for my room and was not allowed to do that.

A nice hotel, clean and comfortable. The location is just on the edge of a slightly seedy part of town, but it’s not too bad.

Nice redone hotel, not the best neighborhood but cool cafe and bar inside.

Great stay. Staff were accomodating and responsive to our needs during the stay. The location is also central to everything making it so much more convenient. The only thing I wish the hotel had is A/C in the room. Luckily, the weather was cool and the ceiling fan was sufficient.

Not a four star hotel. Very rough neighborhood. Not a room with view. Old fixtures. Bathroom needs maintenance. One elevator for entire hotel with capacity of two people with luggage. Flippant valet.

Hotel lobby is clean, good looking (decor), very welcoming and comfortable. Adjacent coffee shop and bar are nice; odd hours, but coffee was excellent and cocktails were great. The toughest aspect of this stay was the location (Tenderloin). The homeless situation is the worst I have seen to date. The streets are filthy and the persons on the street near the hotel were quite aggressive towards us and other passersby. There isn't a bellman or anyone out front of the hotel to present authority or to reassure guests that they are safe once in the vicinity of the hotel. The hotel is walkable to all transportation, Union Square, Chinatown, SOMA, etc. - that's all great. But, getting through the difficult scenarios presented on the streets on your way to those places should be noted and something guests are prepared for.

It was a very pretty hotel, in a convenient part of town for the festival we were attending (at Civic Center). A little pricey for what it was -- the room was quite small -- but very clean and with very nice amenities. Due to no fault of the hotel, the neighborhood is a bit noisy, so it was hard to get a restful night's sleep. Still, again, a super modern and pretty hotel, easy to get to, comfortable bed.

This is like on the border of the nice part and ghetto part of SF, from what I experienced. The hotel itself though is very nice and I would definitely stay here again for the value. The gentlemen at the front desk were more than helpful with valet and check-in, and they even let me check in early after explaining to them that I was early for a wedding. To that gentleman whose name I unfortunately can’t recall, thank you so much!

They charged a mandatory $24 per day amenities charge and there were no amenities beyond a cup of coffee and wifi in the room. You were credited $10 per day, that had to be used in the Bar/Restaurant that did not open till 2:00 pm, and the staff in the bar was exceptionally rude.

Not a 4star hotel. Pictures have a great “snap chat” like filter. Room was dated and had an old plumbing smell. Great shampoos and conditioners , decent late night meal at Douglas. Great staff.

Too much homelessness in the area and rooms are poorly upgraded.

Despite being in a less than ideal location the hotel was a notch or two above the area. It was a pleasant surprise.

Very small rooms, older building. One small elevator that a luggage cart would not fit on. One elevator for guests and staff. The bathrooms are very small and the tub was slow to drain and almost full after one shower. No A/C either and you can open windows, but no draft into the room due to the U shape building.

In expensive San Francisco Tilden Hotel offers excellent value for the money. The building is old but well maintained. Cleanliness and room care are excellent. Front desk staff are well informed and eager to please. Breakfast is not included but we were directed to nearby places which offered variety, quality and quick service at a modest price. I would be pleased to use Tilden again when in San Francisco.

345 Taylor St San Francisco CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Westfield San Francisco Centre and Asian Art Museum of San Francisco
  • Onsite dining
  • WiFi in rooms and public areas (fees apply)
  • Business center

Located in Downtown San Francisco, Tilden Hotel is a leisurely stroll from popular sights such as Westfield San Francisco Centre and Asian Art Museum of San Francisco. This 118-room, 4-star hotel has in-room conveniences like MP3 docks, coffee makers, and flat-screen TVs. Located centrally in San Francisco, it's also close to Lombard Street and Pier 39.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find WiFi and 42-inch a flat-screen TV with cable channels. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include an MP3 dock, a coffee maker, and a ceiling fan.


Property features

Guests of Tilden Hotel enjoy access to WiFi in public areas, 2 meeting rooms, and a business center. Valet parking is available for USD 49.00 per day, and there's also limo/town car service. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, a garden, and a gift shop.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 1 Queen Bed

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Junior Suite

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Tilden Hotel

Everyone (30) Couples (1)
3
Everyone

Boutique hotel near the Tenderloin District in San Francisco. Good water pressure. Easy check-in. Terrible Cafe service. OK (but very loud and hipster) bar. Not my favorite. Not the worst.

By , from Riverside, California on Nov 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 22, 2018

Hello Jeff, Not sure what encounter caused our wonderful cafe staff to cause a terrible service experience for you. We would love to hear the specifics so we can remain consistent with our service.

5
Everyone

Easy check-in and convenient location to restaurants, sites, and underground metro. You can even travel from the airport via BART and walk from the station.

By on Nov 17, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 17, 2018

Thank you for a splendid review!

5
Everyone

Great hotel and central location to reach nearby sites and metro

By , from San Diego on Nov 11, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 16, 2018

Thank you for a great feedback!

5
Everyone

Great hotel with attention to detail. Would absolutely recommended.

By on Nov 10, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 16, 2018

Thank you so much!

5
Everyone

Thank you for an early check in! Great location in down town SF, near good restaurants and museums.

By , from Honolulu on Nov 2, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 6, 2018

Thank you!

3
Everyone

No central heating and no extra blanket in room. Had to call desk for a blanket and space heater. Wanted to pay cash for my room and was not allowed to do that.

By , from San Jose on Sep 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 19, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We do provide extra blankets in all the rooms and I'm sorry that you were not able to locate it in the closet. As a security and efficiency measure, we do not accept cash as is stated online. We hope you enjoyed your time in the city.

4
Everyone

A nice hotel, clean and comfortable. The location is just on the edge of a slightly seedy part of town, but it’s not too bad.

By on Sep 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 18, 2018

Thank you for your feedback on the room cleanliness and comfort! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

5
Everyone

By on Aug 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 20, 2018

Thank you

4
Everyone

Nice redone hotel, not the best neighborhood but cool cafe and bar inside.

By on Aug 10, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 13, 2018

Thank you for your kind feedback.

4
Everyone

Great stay. Staff were accomodating and responsive to our needs during the stay. The location is also central to everything making it so much more convenient. The only thing I wish the hotel had is A/C in the room. Luckily, the weather was cool and the ceiling fan was sufficient.

By on Jun 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 29, 2018

We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope you return to this wonderful place in the future