Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Great location at Golden Gate Park and walking distance to many restaurants and UCSF Parnassus Campus. Staff was very friendly. Rooms are small (no couch/sitting area and a just tiny desk) but make sense with the history of the building.

I liked everything about this hotel, especially that it is located right across Golden Gate Park.

The location couldn't be better! Staff was friendly and accomodating.

Room was dirty/smelly to the point of disgusting, tiny room with an open window directly across from a city sanctioned tent encampment. Abandoned the reservation after the first night and found another hotel.

Great location, clean building, professional service.

Nice. Rooms fine. Clean. Friendly staff. Good morning breakfast. If you are a light sleeper, mornings tend to loud w/people leaving early & housekeeping.

A pleasure to stay here. Very clean and well decorated! Theme is a higher class hotel of a bygone/classic era and was quite refreshing. On the west edge of Golden Gate Park. Two blocks from Whole Foods and the #7 MUNI bus, and Walgreens is about 5 blocks away. Staff was extremely polite and friendly. Rooms do not have vents or A/C, so I asked if they had a fan and I was given a table fan with no hesitation. Room was pristine and mostly quiet. Nice linens and towels, although sheets are a bit coarse, but not uncomfortable. Water is neither hard nor too soft. Bed was nice quality. Pillows were plush. The door let's in a lot of light from the hallway and the TV has an illuminated logo that is probably brighter than a typical nightlight. TV offers many channels to choose from. Shower had good temp and pressure control. Toiletries were good quality. Breakfast was nice, offering an assortment of teas, cocoa, coffee, apple, and orange juice. Pastries and rolls offered, make your own waffle, hard-boiled eggs, bacon, sausage, and toast. Clean and well-kept dining area. Any inconveniences were overshadowed by the great service and other amenities. Absolutely would stay here again!

Staff friendly and helpful, loved the free afternoon tea and breakfast. Hotel was unique and charming. Would definitely stay there again.

Location is great. No fan in room. Need clearer instructions for do it yourself waffle iron

Nice place to stay near the Golden Gate Park. Free breakfast and afternoon tea

The Stanyan Park Hotel was awesome for my family of four. Great room and location. Breakfast was really great too.

Was staying here for a batchlerett party and had an awesome room that fit all 6 of us. the staff was very accommodating and helpful. The breakfast was ok but still got us got us up and ready for the day. I will definitely be back.

Staying at Stanyan was an excellent decision. The hotel is near to the pay parking garage, and many selection of restaurants at Haight Street. Although, few miles from downtown SF, it is somewhere in the middle of everything - Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Wharf, Union Square & easy access going to i-80 towards Oakland.

First time in San Francisco, not gonna lie the pictures looked better than what it is outside only because of construction. Was very satisfied with the staff and how clean it is. Beds are nice and comfy and rooms are very cute. Love the old feel as well and the Victorian look

The hotel is conveniently located, very friendly staff.

Good breakfast. Convenient location. You'll see a lot of homeless individuals. I went for a walk around the block and saw the mobile homeless outreach van nearby. Good to know that the city dedicates resources to a disadvantaged population.

old hotel and very clean and comfortable, the only thing I will suggest is to all a safety deposit box in rooms, when we are international travelers is nice to keep in a safe place passports and personal stuff.}aside from that the breakfast was excellent and staff was very nice. I will stay there again, it is an older bed and breakfast, but very comfortable

Great staff...very accomodating! Hotel is charming but is in need of a quality updating: new carpeting, bedding (including good mattresses), and bathrooms. Nice tea time in the afternoon, and manager's wine/cheese reception nightly during the week. Close to good restaurants and the Parnassus UCSF campus. Again...very caring staff!

Stanyan Street San Francisco CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Golden Gate Park and University of San Francisco
  • Free self-serve breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Business center

Located in Haight-Ashbury, Stanyan Park Hotel is adjacent to Golden Gate Park and within a 10-minute walk of other popular attractions like University of California San Francisco. This 36-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, a coffee shop/café, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free self-serve breakfast is served each morning from 7:00 AM to 10 AM. Get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café, or mingle with other guests at the free manager's reception.


Rooms

The 36 rooms are individually decorated and have an array of amenities, including iPod docks, full-sized refrigerators/freezers, and free newspapers. TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and pillow menus, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Other amenities include free long-distance calls, free local calls, and portable fans.


Property features

Guests of Stanyan Park Hotel enjoy access to free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and coffee in a common area. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with securing valuables, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this family-friendly hotel include a microwave in a common area, a computer station, and free newspapers.

Room options

Suite, Multiple Bedrooms

1 Queen Bed, 1 Twin Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 5

Family Suite, 1 Bedroom

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Suite, 2 Bedrooms

1 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 6

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Stanyan Park Hotel

Everyone (23) Couples (4) Family (2) Other (1)
5
Everyone

Great location at Golden Gate Park and walking distance to many restaurants and UCSF Parnassus Campus. Staff was very friendly. Rooms are small (no couch/sitting area and a just tiny desk) but make sense with the history of the building.

By on May 25, 2021

Review comment responded on May 25, 2021

Thank you for the great 5 star review. Hope your visit to San Francisco was just as enjoyable and appears you found our location a key component too. If you return, please contact us anytime or visit us online for our best HOT rate hotel program. Hope to see you again! Sincerely, Bill Engelhardt - General Manager

5
Everyone

I liked everything about this hotel, especially that it is located right across Golden Gate Park.

By on May 18, 2021

Review comment responded on May 25, 2021

Thank you for the great 5 star review. Hope your visit to San Francisco was just as enjoyable and appears you found our location a key component too. If you return, please contact us anytime or visit us online for our best HOT rate hotel program. Hope to see you again! Sincerely, Bill Engelhardt - General Manager

5
Partner Couples

The location couldn't be better! Staff was friendly and accomodating.

By on Apr 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 29, 2021

Thank you for the great review. Hope your visit to San Francisco was just as enjoyable too. If you return, please contact us anytime or visit us online for our best HOT rate hotel program. Hope to see you again! Sincerely, Bill Engelhardt - General Manager

2
Everyone

By on Dec 25, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 6, 2021

Thank you for the feedback. Sorry your visit was not either as expected or something else during your stay went awry? I hope your visit to San Francisco was just as enjoyable. If you return, please contact us anytime or visit us online for our best HOT rate hotel program. Regarding homeless shelters, the City of San Francisco is the host of some patrons but housing is now being arranged to clear them from our neighborhood. Hope to see you again! Sincerely, Bill Engelhardt - General Manager

1
Everyone

Room was dirty/smelly to the point of disgusting, tiny room with an open window directly across from a city sanctioned tent encampment. Abandoned the reservation after the first night and found another hotel.

By on Oct 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 28, 2020

Sorry to hear you did not like our location. The tent encampment you mentioned is controlled by the City of San Francisco and San Francisco Fire Department. It is contained, fenced, controlled and regulated to insure safety during Covid-19. Also if any issues, our San Francisco Police station which is DIRECTLY across the street from our hotel will support any disturbance or service calls.

4
Partner Couples

Great location, clean building, professional service.

By on Sep 14, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 28, 2020

Thank you for the feedback. Hope your visit to San Francisco was just as enjoyable too. Glad your stay was enjoyed and if you return, please contact us anytime or visit us online for best HOT rate programs. Hope to see you again! Sincerely, Bill Engelhardt - General Manager

5
Everyone

By on Sep 11, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 26, 2020

Thank you for the fabulous 10 out of 10 star rating. Hope your visit to San Francisco was just as enjoyable too. If you return, please contact us anytime or visit us online for best HOT rate programs. Hope to see you again! Sincerely, Bill Engelhardt - General Manager

4
Family

Nice. Rooms fine. Clean. Friendly staff. Good morning breakfast. If you are a light sleeper, mornings tend to loud w/people leaving early & housekeeping.

By on Jan 15, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 17, 2020

Thank you for the recent stay and review. Our hotel team as you noted tries to refrain from any noise prior to 9am but our hotel guests may leave or be noisy regardless. Our apologies if any sleep was lost. I do however hope you visit to San Francisco was enjoyable too. And, if you return, please contact us anytime or visit us online for best HOT rate programs. Hope to see you again! Sincerely, Bill Engelhardt - General Manager

5
Everyone

A pleasure to stay here. Very clean and well decorated! Theme is a higher class hotel of a bygone/classic era and was quite refreshing. On the west edge of Golden Gate Park. Two blocks from Whole Foods and the #7 MUNI bus, and Walgreens is about 5 blocks away. Staff was extremely polite and friendly. Rooms do not have vents or A/C, so I asked if they had a fan and I was given a table fan with no hesitation. Room was pristine and mostly quiet. Nice linens and towels, although sheets are a bit coarse, but not uncomfortable. Water is neither hard nor too soft. Bed was nice quality. Pillows were plush. The door let's in a lot of light from the hallway and the TV has an illuminated logo that is probably brighter than a typical nightlight. TV offers many channels to choose from. Shower had good temp and pressure control. Toiletries were good quality. Breakfast was nice, offering an assortment of teas, cocoa, coffee, apple, and orange juice. Pastries and rolls offered, make your own waffle, hard-boiled eggs, bacon, sausage, and toast. Clean and well-kept dining area. Any inconveniences were overshadowed by the great service and other amenities. Absolutely would stay here again!

By on Dec 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 6, 2019

Thank you for the great review 5 star rating. Hope you visit to San Francisco was just as enjoyable too. If you return, please contact us anytime or visit us online for best HOT rate programs. Hope to see you again! Sincerely, Bill Engelhardt - General Manager

5
Everyone

Staff friendly and helpful, loved the free afternoon tea and breakfast. Hotel was unique and charming. Would definitely stay there again.

By on Oct 21, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 21, 2019

Thank you for the great review 5 star 10 rating. Hope you visit to San Francisco was just as enjoyable too. If you return, please contact us anytime or visit us online for best HOT rate programs. Hope to see you again! Sincerely, Bill Engelhardt - General Manager

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Stanyan-Park-Hotel.h24363-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Francisco-Hotels-Stanyan-Park-Hotel.h24363-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Stanyan-Park-Hotel.h24363-p2.Hotel-Reviews