Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Harbor Court Hotel

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Hotel had a beautiful view of the Bay provided your room is on that side. Was within walking distance to everything - Fisherman's Warf, pier 39, cable cars. Airport only 20-25 minutes away.

Great hotel. Great location! Stayed for 3 days 3 nights - No complaints whatsoever. They accommodated us quickly and easily with storing our luggage before check in time

The hotel is situated in a nice area. There are beautiful views of the harbor, but only if you pay more for the view, otherwise you can expect a room with a view of other room windows. The cost of parking at the hotel is outrageous! $60/day and they charge a $25 resort fee/day, so expect to pay $85/night on top of your room price!!! The rooms are clean, but tiny! And the reception area looks 'temporary.' It is very messy, with cords everywhere. There were carts of towels and linens sitting in the main doorway. It seems as though they are lacking the necessary space to run professionly.

My email to management below (because there was no-one at the desk during my checkout to provide this to verbally.) I was hoping to leave some feedback at checkout this morning, but the desk agent had to step away. This was my first visit to Harbor Court, and a number of items were a surprise/disappointment from the stay: 1. The air conditioner in my room does not work, only the fan but a/c never engages. The heat wasn't terrible but it would sure have been nice to get the humidity out of the room. 2. There is no blind on the bathroom window - right outside the shower and beside the toilet - with some type of outdoor lounge/tent area on the rooftop outside the window. 3. There is no lighting at the bathroom sink, and the sink/mirror is in a darker sunken cavity of the room, which makes it very difficult to shave in the morning. I can't imagine how a lady would prepare in the morning there with no light. 4. The motion sensor in the bathroom keeps turning off the light while a user is in the shower - not cool. 5. There is not enough light in the main room - just two floor lamps - one of which is on a motion sensor that keeps activating during the night every time I roll over in bed... 6. The new TV's aren't ready - nothing but static until I called the front desk for help.

The location was unbeatable and the staff was extremely helpful. From check-in to the time we picked up our bags (which they kept for us after check-out until we were ready to leave) they went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time.

Rooms were very nice. Location was great. Really like the lobby / gathering area the fireplace was very nice.

Although our room was small and had no view except other rooms and a noisy air conditioner/heating system just outside one of the windows, the hotel itself was great and the location was fabulous.

Awesome bay view and comfortable bed. Time to replace some features that are starting to look worn to keep the hotel as great as it's been for so many years.

Had sprung for a view room, arrived and was given room that turned out to have a lovely view of the air shaft. When complained was told there were no view rooms available. No apology, no offer to refund any $. They did move me to a view room for the next 2 nights which was pretty. Kinda downmarket for the price though. In retrospect, I should have stayed at the Omni for the same price and more luxury. It was just ok here.

Very comfortable, nice location on the Embarcadero. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed over night after a Giants game. OUTSTANDING STAFF! Rooms are a little small but very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The view of the bay bridge was amazing all night long.

The hotel is near most of the attractions and the staff is great

It's a little unsettling to have to ask at nearly 5pm to have your room cleaned only to have an annoyed staff ask if I just wanted new towels. The hotel has no real amenities and I just felt like every little thing had an additional cost. Upon checking out we had a odd experience with someone requesting to see the mini bar...I get that stuff is expensive but we didn't touch it and it was annoying.

Great location. Good for couples and singles. Ferry is nearby and great restaurants. Excellent for commuting to anywhere in city by public transit.

Hotel has a great location, excellent value, staff is always ready to help, the place is classy and eventhough you don't have breakfast included you usually have snacks and beverages available

We paid a few extra dollars to have the Bay Bridge view and it was well worth it. Spectacular!

The hotel had great service and a great location. The room seemed a little warn, but was comfortable and clean. The lobby was beautiful...and again the staff was outstanding!

Room was small but it was San Francisco lol..awesometi.e..hotel and staff were Wonderful

I have only great things to say about this hotel with the exception of their telephone service. I traveled from Toronto, ON, Canada to San Francisco for business and would have hoped local calling from the hotel was free. To my surprise and slight disappointment, it was not.

Room was small but comfortable. Staff was very helpful and accommodating.

165 Steuart St San Francisco CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Exploratorium
  • Onsite dining
  • Fitness center
  • 24-hour business center

Located in Downtown San Francisco within a short walk of Exploratorium, Harbor Court Hotel is within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights such as TransAmerica Pyramid. This 131-room, 4-star hotel welcomes guests with a restaurant, a fitness center, and a 24-hour business center. Pier 39 and Lombard Street are also near this San Francisco hotel.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

Harbor Court Hotel's 131 air-conditioned rooms provide iPod docks, refrigerators, and minibars. 37-inch LCD TVs come with cable channels and DVD players, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries, and beds sport Frette Italian sheets. Coffee makers, free weekday newspapers, and video-game consoles are other standard amenities.


Property features

At Harbor Court Hotel, guests have access to a fitness center, WiFi in public areas, and a 24-hour business center. Valet parking is USD 60.00 per night if you plan to drive, or hop aboard the shuttle from the hotel to the airport (available 24 hours) for USD 50 per vehicle. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this boutique hotel include coffee/tea in a common area, a fireplace in the lobby, and a porter/bellhop.

Room options

Room, 1 Double Bed

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 King Bed, View

King 1 | Sleeps 2

King Room & Hosted Wine Reception

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 Queen Bed, View

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Harbor Court Hotel

Everyone (10) Couples (18) Business (8) Family (6) Friends (1) Other (5)
5
Everyone

Hotel had a beautiful view of the Bay provided your room is on that side. Was within walking distance to everything - Fisherman's Warf, pier 39, cable cars. Airport only 20-25 minutes away.

By , from Palm Bay, FL on May 21, 2018

Review comment responded on May 21, 2018

Thank you for your feedback on our Bay view rooms (they are very popular). We are glad you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again,

5
Everyone

Great hotel. Great location! Stayed for 3 days 3 nights - No complaints whatsoever. They accommodated us quickly and easily with storing our luggage before check in time

By on Apr 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 20, 2018

Hi there, thank you so much for your 5 star review! Glad you enjoyed your stay!

3

nice location but $85 fees/day!!

Everyone

The hotel is situated in a nice area. There are beautiful views of the harbor, but only if you pay more for the view, otherwise you can expect a room with a view of other room windows. The cost of parking at the hotel is outrageous! $60/day and they charge a $25 resort fee/day, so expect to pay $85/night on top of your room price!!! The rooms are clean, but tiny! And the reception area looks 'temporary.' It is very messy, with cords everywhere. There were carts of towels and linens sitting in the main doorway. It seems as though they are lacking the necessary space to run professionly.

By on Apr 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 12, 2018

Hi there, thank you for your 3 star review. We have now completed our renovation and are no longer in the temporary reception area. We are looking into the other issues you had during your stay to see how we can improve in the future.

2
Everyone

My email to management below (because there was no-one at the desk during my checkout to provide this to verbally.) I was hoping to leave some feedback at checkout this morning, but the desk agent had to step away. This was my first visit to Harbor Court, and a number of items were a surprise/disappointment from the stay: 1. The air conditioner in my room does not work, only the fan but a/c never engages. The heat wasn't terrible but it would sure have been nice to get the humidity out of the room. 2. There is no blind on the bathroom window - right outside the shower and beside the toilet - with some type of outdoor lounge/tent area on the rooftop outside the window. 3. There is no lighting at the bathroom sink, and the sink/mirror is in a darker sunken cavity of the room, which makes it very difficult to shave in the morning. I can't imagine how a lady would prepare in the morning there with no light. 4. The motion sensor in the bathroom keeps turning off the light while a user is in the shower - not cool. 5. There is not enough light in the main room - just two floor lamps - one of which is on a motion sensor that keeps activating during the night every time I roll over in bed... 6. The new TV's aren't ready - nothing but static until I called the front desk for help.

By on Apr 2, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 5, 2018

Hi there, we apologize that your stay was less than you had hoped. We are looking into the issues you had during your stay to improve future service. Please let us know, if you have the time, which room you were staying in so that we can directly address the problems we had with your room.

5

great experience

Everyone

The location was unbeatable and the staff was extremely helpful. From check-in to the time we picked up our bags (which they kept for us after check-out until we were ready to leave) they went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time.

By , from Chicago on Nov 20, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 28, 2017

Scott, thank you for taking the time out of your day and giving us such a great rating. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us.

3
Everyone

Rooms were very nice. Location was great. Really like the lobby / gathering area the fireplace was very nice.

By , from Ohio on Oct 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 5, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Is there anything we could've done better to receive a 5 star rating?

4
Everyone

Although our room was small and had no view except other rooms and a noisy air conditioner/heating system just outside one of the windows, the hotel itself was great and the location was fabulous.

By , from Medford MA on Jun 29, 2017

4
Couples

Awesome bay view and comfortable bed. Time to replace some features that are starting to look worn to keep the hotel as great as it's been for so many years.

By on May 13, 2017

Review comment responded on May 18, 2017

The View is amazing isn't it. we are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback and will definitely be updating most of the furnishings soon.

3

good location

Everyone

Had sprung for a view room, arrived and was given room that turned out to have a lovely view of the air shaft. When complained was told there were no view rooms available. No apology, no offer to refund any $. They did move me to a view room for the next 2 nights which was pretty. Kinda downmarket for the price though. In retrospect, I should have stayed at the Omni for the same price and more luxury. It was just ok here.

By on Mar 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 3, 2017

I am so sorry to hear that there were issues during your stay. We will certainly work closer with Expedia to make sure any upgrades they offer are communicated to the hotel.

5

great hotel, great location

Everyone

Very comfortable, nice location on the Embarcadero. Very friendly and helpful staff.

By on Jan 23, 2017