Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

It doubles as a residence hotel, so take note of that. Room was reasonably clean. Hard to pin down, but the place gives off a negative vibe, noise from adjacent rooms was distinct. Positive: when I arrived, the AC unit and hair dryer both were broken. I informed the front desk at 8 a.m., and both had been replaced by the time I returned to the room in the evening, so points for quick service there. The place has a "run down" feel, and definitely not worth the price point. It would compare to a Motel 6, but with long-term renters.

Close to eateries.

Needs carpeting throughout. Needs painting. Dining options nearby. Convenient location.

Let break it down to pros and cons. Pros: Check-in and check-Out. Close to near by restaurants. Friendly staff Cons: * Very “Dirty” carpet. * Very loud air conditioner as every time it was on, it woke me up. * Bed was bad - every time I turned, the springs made noises to the point it woke me up. * Toilet seat wiggled as I sat down and stood up. Not bolted correctly. I was afraid it would break. I think the room needs a major renovation at least they need to replace the mattress, carpet, air conditioner, and rebolt the toilet seat.

The property was rather dated it was OK but our room was located near noisy families which was not pleasant when you’re trying to get rest I asked the hotel staff to put us in a quiet spot and obviously it didn’t work out that way. The location is good as far as getting to everything that you need like La Jolla beaches or Coronado beaches

Good for the $

I don’t recommend this Hotel. I booked Superior 2 double beds with stove top but the room we stay didn’t have the stove top. Everything old. The shower curtain had a small torn, the door lock was hard to use and TV was not working etc.

I arrived at the property a little late. There was no parking. I parked on the street in the back of the hotel. Walking through the parking lot to get to the front there were people smoking marijuana and cigarettes right next to the No Smoking anything on premise sign. Walking over to the check in window more people smoking next to a No Smoking sign. The staff at check in did nothing. I was with my 8yr old son. We were exhausted so just grabbed our key. Walked down the hall wall to our room where there were holes in the wall and chipping paint everywhere. The room wreaked of cigarette smoke. I turned on the air and opened the window, only to get more smoke from people outside inside. It was ridiculous. The next morning we checked out early i couldn't stay there. We walked out to our car to find some random guy looking in our car and then leaning on the side while we were walking up.

No WiFi for 3 days - carpet in my room was disgustingly dirty - no housekeeping

Roach poop in the Air conditioner. Roach on the sidewalk outside my door.

At check in I was told that the room I booked and paid for was not available which was a renovated room with a single queen bed. I was told the only rooms left were with two beds and I asked why the room I had booked and paid for was unavailable, they had no answer for me. I asked if I could have a room with a single queen bed and after checking again I was given room 409. Sadly this room needed work. Three lights had no working bulbs, the tv that was mounted on the wall was not hanging properly and being held up by duct tape. The bed was very springy and not comfortable at all. The only good thing about the room was the water pressure and the hot water. The room did have a fridge and microwave but did not have a coffee maker. Definitely not worth 80 plus bucks. I have stayed here plenty of times but I think this was my last stay at this place.

I’ve stayed here in the past but this time was different I was in room 116, kind of a corner room in the front of the building. The problem with this particular room is the smoke that enters the room from the people that stand out front smoking and the state law is not enforced sadly. My second issue with the room was that a WIC card was found under what I thought was clean towels In the bathroom along with 3 hair ties. I just decided to use my own personal towel. Between midnight and 1am I was woken up by a leaf blower, not sure if it was the hotel that was being serviced or the strip mall across the street. When I drove through the parking lot around to the back it appeared as if there was some sort of transaction happening I can’t say drug because I don’t know for sure but it seemed shady.

The room I was given was a corner room the was off the Main Street. It was noisy all night long sadly

The property is more like a motel. There were lots of people hanging out in the parking lot, presumably drinking in the back. We stayed in a “renovated room” but the bedding & pillows were uncomfortable, the towels were small & thin, and the bathtub actually did not drain all the way. There was water in the bathtub our whole trip. I would not stay here again.

Staff is pleasant, room are not very clean or well kept. The room we got had spiderwebs on the ceiling and I saw a cockroach going on the wall

Clairemont Mesa Blvd San Diego CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Laundry facilities

Located in Clairemont, California Suites Hotel is within a 10-minute drive of popular attractions such as Hotel Circle and Balboa Park. This 172-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Rooms

The 172 rooms are individually decorated and have an array of amenities, including microwaves, refrigerators, and free newspapers. 32-inch TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Hair dryers, ironing boards, and wardrobes or closets are also standard. Housekeeping is available once per stay.


Property features

California Suites Hotel offers an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and a spa tub. Free parking is included with your stay. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with luggage storage, dry cleaning/laundry, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include conference space, express check-out, and free newspapers.

Room options

Superior 2 Double Beds with Stove Top

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Superior Single Queen with Stove Top

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 3

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Renovated Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for California Suites Hotel

Everyone (34) Couples (6) Family (20)
3
Business Business

It doubles as a residence hotel, so take note of that. Room was reasonably clean. Hard to pin down, but the place gives off a negative vibe, noise from adjacent rooms was distinct. Positive: when I arrived, the AC unit and hair dryer both were broken. I informed the front desk at 8 a.m., and both had been replaced by the time I returned to the room in the evening, so points for quick service there. The place has a "run down" feel, and definitely not worth the price point. It would compare to a Motel 6, but with long-term renters.

By on May 12, 2022

Review comment responded on May 12, 2022

Please accept our apologies for the issues you had during your stay..

4
Everyone

Close to eateries.

By on Dec 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 14, 2021

Thank you for your comments.

4
Everyone

By on Nov 4, 2021

3
Everyone

Needs carpeting throughout. Needs painting. Dining options nearby. Convenient location.

By on Sep 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 14, 2021

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

2
Partner Couples Business Business

Let break it down to pros and cons. Pros: Check-in and check-Out. Close to near by restaurants. Friendly staff Cons: * Very “Dirty” carpet. * Very loud air conditioner as every time it was on, it woke me up. * Bed was bad - every time I turned, the springs made noises to the point it woke me up. * Toilet seat wiggled as I sat down and stood up. Not bolted correctly. I was afraid it would break. I think the room needs a major renovation at least they need to replace the mattress, carpet, air conditioner, and rebolt the toilet seat.

By , from Milpitas on Sep 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 14, 2021

Please accept our apologies for the issues you had during your stay.

1
Everyone

By on Aug 17, 2021

3
Friends

The property was rather dated it was OK but our room was located near noisy families which was not pleasant when you’re trying to get rest I asked the hotel staff to put us in a quiet spot and obviously it didn’t work out that way. The location is good as far as getting to everything that you need like La Jolla beaches or Coronado beaches

By on Aug 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 17, 2021

Please accept our apologies for the issues you had during your stay.

4
Family with small children

Good for the $

By on Jul 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2021

Thank you

1
Friends Business Business

I don’t recommend this Hotel. I booked Superior 2 double beds with stove top but the room we stay didn’t have the stove top. Everything old. The shower curtain had a small torn, the door lock was hard to use and TV was not working etc.

By on Jul 5, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 6, 2021

Please accept our apologies for the issues you had during your stay.

2
Everyone

By on Jul 2, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 13, 2021

Please accept our apologies for the issues you had during your stay.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-Diego-Hotels-California-Suites-Hotel.h40531-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Diego-Hotels-California-Suites-Hotel.h40531-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/San-Diego-Hotels-California-Suites-Hotel.h40531-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions