Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

This message is in regards to the TERRIBLE experience my family and I had at your Hotel. We checked in on 4/26/18 at approximately 1700 hours after a long 5 hour plane ride to Sandos PlayaCar on a heavy rainy day. We checked in and given our room number which was located on the opposite side of the lobby, closer to the beach side (not my complaint). I asked for a map and umbrella as we were told it was a 7min walk. We were told no umbrellas were available and that they did not offer maps. I some what understood the umbrella situation as it was a rainy day but what I could not believe was the map situation. We arrived to the room and found that the toilet was clogged! That got fixed quick and soon after decided to shower and rest. The shower door was misaligned and nearly shattered as it closed. This was disappointing but ok so we decided to ignore this. It would soon get worst. On 4/27/18 at approximately 1600 hours we lost power and water services. No notice or updates were given to the Hotel clients. My wife and I were traveling with an infant. My wife was unable to use her medical brest pump as we had depended on basic services being available throughout the day. After waiting for multiple hours without basic services we directed ourselves to the guest services where it was a disaster, which was expected. We asked if the resort would be offering complimentary shuttle rides to a nearby area for basic services. The attendant asked her supervisor and we were denied. We as

The booking does not make clear where on the resort the rooms will be.

We, 2 adults, 1st time were staying in Sandos Playacar from 3/14/18 to 3/22/18 room 3817. This resort exceeded all our expectations- all employees are hardworking, nice people going above and beyond to make everybody's vacation enjoyable and memorable. Room and ALL facilities, pathways, grounds were spotless. Wide, white sand beach was cleaned of sea grass every morning, has enough shadow, beach lounges for everybody. There are daily activity on the beach and by the pool, entertainment team does not let you be bored. Water clear with no rocks, shells. However, there is a sandbar about 20 yards from the beach which creates waves and sometimes it is difficult to swim. Special thanks for a friendly, warm, professional service to: - Mauricio - reception, - Laura Maziere -concierge, - Priscila - room service, - Fernanda - maid, Breakfast and lunch served in a single buffet with limited choices and every day the same menu. Dinner restaurants are great expect for Brazilian. The best is Italian, thanks to chef Gonzalo Montiel who made this place extraordinary culinary experience and waitress Margarita Queme. Next is French- chefs Martiar, Rutilo, Waldo, manager - Vasti, waitress - Veronica. Also good is Mexican - waiter Antonio. We have to say that coffee house is as good as Starbucks, grapes, burritos are excellent snake next door. We loved SPA with sauna, steam room, jacuzzi. Evening shows are interesting and well professionally organized.

Great room (the junior suite with Jacuzzi) Great food. The swows at night are amazing.

We stayed at Sandos Playacar for 10 days and we will never be back. We have stayed 2 times there before an even though we knew there was a few inconveniences we still decided to go with a group of about 34 people family/friends for a wedding. Fernanda the person in charge of guests services was very accommodating to some of our request and others were not accepted. The staff is very attentive and kind but they lack proper training. If you don't pay for the premium bracelet you are treated like you don't belong there, we wanted to relax and the beach and this was not possible since the only area we were allowed in was super loud with music and entertainment staff speaking thru microphones. The brands of liquor that they served are terrible! Our room had a ocean view and it was on the second floor however we were woken up by loud noises constantly. We had arrange a family friend to have his driver pick us up and help with airport rides, be aware that there is only one taxi company in Playa del Carmen/Playacar and is run as a mob. There is a group of taxis at the entrance of the hotel blocking the way for private drivers and they gave us a hard time when they mistakenly thought our friend was an uber driver and threaten to take his plates and car, when we told the hotel staff and they did NOTHING and went hiding (we assume they get a commission from the taxi drivers since their rates are way higher than those in town).

Everything was great except our departure. We were there for a family wedding the bride and groom made all the arrangements for us thru family that lived in the area for our transportation from & to the airport. Coming to the hotel was no problem but when they came to pick up for our return the staff at the front gave our driver a very hard time. We were almost late for our plane, had to get the bride to come up to the door and explain they were NOT a private taxi but local family helping with transportation. Made for a very upsetting departure for us. May not return because of this. Glad it happened on our way out and not our arrival.

We stayed for about 7 days. The area where the hotel is in Playa car is very exclusive and private. It felt safe , but it also felt like being in the United States . Not Mexico at all . As far as the hotel , we didn't really like it that much . Beds were hard, and sagging on side where the only plug for phone was. Rooms smelled like mildew, and had black mold/mildew on walls in bathroom by tub. The rooms zupposedlt were the newest, but furniture was worn, and it looked like the room never saw days rest. Entertainment was not very good, more for kids, and very poor english. Adult club had no music at pool, and no entertainment on select club side of beach. Food was decent, and restaurants were pretty, and new. Beach was nice. There are a lot of sales people walking around trying to sell spa services and timeshares, and we even sat through a timeshare speech for over 2 hours. Overall, the people were very friendly that worked at the resort, much more friendly than they were in the Dominican Republic. Just the place was reallyboring. We are 30 and we don't like to party that much, but we were expecting to have some music on the beach or by the adult pool with a swim-up bar but it was so boring and dead, that it was almost depressing. Also, we got put in the family section, even after we tried to pay for an upgrade to another area, which I suppose isn't their fault if they are full, but beware, you can hear everything that happens in the rooms next to you.

I liked that Sandos had enough daily activities to choose from that I never got bored. I very much enjoyed the wide beach, with clear water and nothing underfoot. The grounds were very well maintained. Lots of variety in the buffet, as well as several small lunch venues, rotating dinner options, even a coffee shop! Housekeeping kept my room clean and tidy and were quick to bring me extra blankets and assistance with the room safe. If I were to go again, I'd upgrade to an ocean view room because the lay-out of the resort doesn't offer afford good pool/garden views. The sauna and steam rooms came in very useful during the few times it rained during my stay. Watch out for the time-share reps, they are persistent! The vendors on the beach were never pushy, and no matter what time of day, or location in the resort, I always felt safe.

Hotel is very nice. Staff are very friendly. No concern whatsoever about safety. Buffet was excellent. Wide variety of food and drinks available. Service is excellent.

Family of six had high expectations and experience surpassed all. (I think our American president should visit your resort see how wonderful your people are)

I'd say our one dissapointment is the staff. Guest services staff and check in are not good with the exception of Manuel (i think that was his name) and the supervisor. I would give them to the rest a good customer service training and empowerment. Be prepared for long waits for dinner, they do not have a cleaning table staff and rather use the same waiters to clear the tables. You will see empty tables inside and people waiting to be seated. We were told that the waiting time is because they offer a 7 course meal. I wiuld rather have 4 and not wait an hour to be seated. Food: Asiana restaurant was awesome. We went twice there. Good fried cheese, sushi, and miso soup. Gaucho was just ok. Asked for a medium cooked steak and I was given a well done piece. Empanadas de carne are ok. The salad, desserts and bread section is shared with the Brazilian restaurant. The italian restaurant is good, not great. They could cut the 7 course dinner to 4 or 5 at max. Breakfast buffett is great. You get everything you can ask for. Loved tge cochinita pibil and the enchiladas. Pool area is good and very close to the beach. Beach area is the best. Very family oriented.

The food in this Sandos hotel is great I was really pleased and the beach was amamzing so beautiful with really nice sand however the rooms are TERRIBLE when we got there it seem like didn’t change the sheets and I knew they didn’t clean the foods because there was a nasty q-tip and I left I left it there to see if you really do clean the floor when they clean and it was never picked up the whole stay we where there so they never cleaned like they should have. Also the NASTEST thing happens we got back for the beach and found a GIANT COCKROACH I was so disgusted. My husband called to front desk and they didn’t seem to care watch was really upsetting but I left it at that. Also there was a lot of mosquitoes in room horrible...there was moled all over the bathroom and shower and had water dripping for the calling. If your don’t care about the room condition this hotel is for you because everything else is great but the rooms ..they are terrifieing

Everything is great there!!! The buffet is great. Wide selection of restaurants you can choose from.

Excellent resort , all the comforts needed by anyone , plenty to do , close to city.

Even though the hotel was fully occupied, we were always served with a smile from their staff. It was my first time there and I can't wait to go back!

We went to celebrate my daughters 1st birthday. Stayed in the King with a pool view and it was great! Room was clean, everyone helped us around throughout our whole stay. This resort was in a great location, good food, and activities. The staff here found a way to make even the rainy days fun! I would recommend this resort and location to anyone. We will definitely be back one day! My daughter loved it and enjoyed every every bit of it. Thank you Sandos.

The hotel is very nice it has a private beach nice pools very clean all the employees are friendly food was good specially breakfast at the buffet.

Loved the live entertainment at night! And the beach was gorgeous!

Everything was great just the staff has to be more friendly, they never were rude just they look to serious.

This is our second stay. The beach is one of the best in cancun. Lots of chairs and palapas for shade. Need to have theme nights at buffet. Good coffee place. Food at ala cartes is ok, nothing great. Brazilian restaurant is good. Italian was ok.

Paseo Xaman-Ha Playa del Carmen QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located in Playacar within a mile (2 km) of Playacar Golf Club, Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive is within a few miles (5 km) of Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal. This 543-room, 4-star resort has 8 outdoor pools along with a full-service spa and 10 restaurants. It's on the beach and also close to Xcaret Eco Theme Park and Yucatek Divers.


Dining

This resort is home to 10 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

All 543 air-conditioned rooms feature free minibar items, balconies, and coffee makers. Guests can expect to find 32-inch plasma TVs with satellite channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Free bottled water, ceiling fans, and laptop-compatible safes are also standard.


Property features

Guests of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive have access to a full-service spa, 8 outdoor pools, and a nightclub. You can take advantage of free parking, along with an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for MXN 2100 per person one way. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this all-inclusive resort include a children's pool, a health club, and a spa tub.

Room options

Junior Suite

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 5

Superior Ocean Front Adults Only

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Junior Suite

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 5

Room (Affiliate)

Twin 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Everyone (28) Couples (33) Family (34) Friends (6)
2
Everyone

This message is in regards to the TERRIBLE experience my family and I had at your Hotel. We checked in on 4/26/18 at approximately 1700 hours after a long 5 hour plane ride to Sandos PlayaCar on a heavy rainy day. We checked in and given our room number which was located on the opposite side of the lobby, closer to the beach side (not my complaint). I asked for a map and umbrella as we were told it was a 7min walk. We were told no umbrellas were available and that they did not offer maps. I some what understood the umbrella situation as it was a rainy day but what I could not believe was the map situation. We arrived to the room and found that the toilet was clogged! That got fixed quick and soon after decided to shower and rest. The shower door was misaligned and nearly shattered as it closed. This was disappointing but ok so we decided to ignore this. It would soon get worst. On 4/27/18 at approximately 1600 hours we lost power and water services. No notice or updates were given to the Hotel clients. My wife and I were traveling with an infant. My wife was unable to use her medical brest pump as we had depended on basic services being available throughout the day. After waiting for multiple hours without basic services we directed ourselves to the guest services where it was a disaster, which was expected. We asked if the resort would be offering complimentary shuttle rides to a nearby area for basic services. The attendant asked her supervisor and we were denied. We as

By , from California on May 3, 2018

Review comment responded on May 7, 2018

Dear guest, I would like to deeply and sincerely thank you for sharing your valuable feedback and legitimate constructive criticism with us regarding your recent stay. I am so deeply sorry and would like to apologize to you and your family for the inconveniences you experienced as a result of the issues you detailed in your review. I can see that probably more than a lack of service or an attitude, the person who assisted you during the check in process did not properly explain to you why we did handed to our customers location maps, this undoubtedly gave you a wrong impression. At Sandos we do not provide our customers with the typical location maps which they use once or twice and usually end up all over the property, this as we are a sustainable company, so we offer every single room with a book directory in which there is a map of the entire resort, furthermore we have 21 huge location maps all over the property, that is meant to say that no matter where you find yourself at any given time, you will never walk a full minute without finding in front of you a huge map which will give you an idea as to where you are or areas you look for. I am also sorry to read of the inconsistencies regarding your room. Rest assured that we are reviewing our handling of the situation during that unfortunate contingency so that proper actions and improvements can be put in place aimed at making sure that similar events will and mistakes will never again be repeated. Our very best wishes to you and your family,

3

a beach too far

Everyone

The booking does not make clear where on the resort the rooms will be.

By on Apr 25, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 25, 2018

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Sandos Playacar to spend your vacations and for sharing your post. We are sorry to read that you were not able to have the information of the location of the room when you booked. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards,

5

excellent vacation at sandos

Everyone

We, 2 adults, 1st time were staying in Sandos Playacar from 3/14/18 to 3/22/18 room 3817. This resort exceeded all our expectations- all employees are hardworking, nice people going above and beyond to make everybody's vacation enjoyable and memorable. Room and ALL facilities, pathways, grounds were spotless. Wide, white sand beach was cleaned of sea grass every morning, has enough shadow, beach lounges for everybody. There are daily activity on the beach and by the pool, entertainment team does not let you be bored. Water clear with no rocks, shells. However, there is a sandbar about 20 yards from the beach which creates waves and sometimes it is difficult to swim. Special thanks for a friendly, warm, professional service to: - Mauricio - reception, - Laura Maziere -concierge, - Priscila - room service, - Fernanda - maid, Breakfast and lunch served in a single buffet with limited choices and every day the same menu. Dinner restaurants are great expect for Brazilian. The best is Italian, thanks to chef Gonzalo Montiel who made this place extraordinary culinary experience and waitress Margarita Queme. Next is French- chefs Martiar, Rutilo, Waldo, manager - Vasti, waitress - Veronica. Also good is Mexican - waiter Antonio. We have to say that coffee house is as good as Starbucks, grapes, burritos are excellent snake next door. We loved SPA with sauna, steam room, jacuzzi. Evening shows are interesting and well professionally organized.

By , from New York on Mar 25, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 26, 2018

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Sandos Playacar Beach Resort as your holiday destination and for sharing your opinion about your stay. It is great to read that you enjoyed our facilities and tht you left with such a positive impression about our staff. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with all the mentioned ones. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards,

5
Everyone

Great room (the junior suite with Jacuzzi) Great food. The swows at night are amazing.

By , from brooklyn, NY on Mar 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 15, 2018

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination and for sharing your opínion. We are glad to read you enjoyed your room, the food and shows. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards,

2

very dissapointing

Everyone

We stayed at Sandos Playacar for 10 days and we will never be back. We have stayed 2 times there before an even though we knew there was a few inconveniences we still decided to go with a group of about 34 people family/friends for a wedding. Fernanda the person in charge of guests services was very accommodating to some of our request and others were not accepted. The staff is very attentive and kind but they lack proper training. If you don't pay for the premium bracelet you are treated like you don't belong there, we wanted to relax and the beach and this was not possible since the only area we were allowed in was super loud with music and entertainment staff speaking thru microphones. The brands of liquor that they served are terrible! Our room had a ocean view and it was on the second floor however we were woken up by loud noises constantly. We had arrange a family friend to have his driver pick us up and help with airport rides, be aware that there is only one taxi company in Playa del Carmen/Playacar and is run as a mob. There is a group of taxis at the entrance of the hotel blocking the way for private drivers and they gave us a hard time when they mistakenly thought our friend was an uber driver and threaten to take his plates and car, when we told the hotel staff and they did NOTHING and went hiding (we assume they get a commission from the taxi drivers since their rates are way higher than those in town).

By , from New Jersey on Mar 8, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 15, 2018

Dear guest, I would like to thank you for the time you have invested in sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. We are sorry to know that your stay was not up to your expectations and you left our hotel with a poor impression due to the inconveniences you mention in your review. You can rest assured that your comments will be reviewed with the corresponding departments in order to take the necessary measures. Kind regards,

4
Everyone

Everything was great except our departure. We were there for a family wedding the bride and groom made all the arrangements for us thru family that lived in the area for our transportation from & to the airport. Coming to the hotel was no problem but when they came to pick up for our return the staff at the front gave our driver a very hard time. We were almost late for our plane, had to get the bride to come up to the door and explain they were NOT a private taxi but local family helping with transportation. Made for a very upsetting departure for us. May not return because of this. Glad it happened on our way out and not our arrival.

By on Feb 27, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 1, 2018

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and for taking the time to share your comments. We are really sorry to read that you had problems during your departure, you can be sure that we will verified this situation. We hope that you give us another opportunity in the future. Kind regards,

3

okay food, nice beach

Everyone

We stayed for about 7 days. The area where the hotel is in Playa car is very exclusive and private. It felt safe , but it also felt like being in the United States . Not Mexico at all . As far as the hotel , we didn't really like it that much . Beds were hard, and sagging on side where the only plug for phone was. Rooms smelled like mildew, and had black mold/mildew on walls in bathroom by tub. The rooms zupposedlt were the newest, but furniture was worn, and it looked like the room never saw days rest. Entertainment was not very good, more for kids, and very poor english. Adult club had no music at pool, and no entertainment on select club side of beach. Food was decent, and restaurants were pretty, and new. Beach was nice. There are a lot of sales people walking around trying to sell spa services and timeshares, and we even sat through a timeshare speech for over 2 hours. Overall, the people were very friendly that worked at the resort, much more friendly than they were in the Dominican Republic. Just the place was reallyboring. We are 30 and we don't like to party that much, but we were expecting to have some music on the beach or by the adult pool with a swim-up bar but it was so boring and dead, that it was almost depressing. Also, we got put in the family section, even after we tried to pay for an upgrade to another area, which I suppose isn't their fault if they are full, but beware, you can hear everything that happens in the rooms next to you.

By , from California on Jan 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 22, 2018

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Sandos Playacar Beach Resort as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share your feedback. It is regrettable to read that our hotel was not up to your expectations. You can be sure that we will keep working hard to improve all our services and facilities. Kind regards,

4
Everyone

I liked that Sandos had enough daily activities to choose from that I never got bored. I very much enjoyed the wide beach, with clear water and nothing underfoot. The grounds were very well maintained. Lots of variety in the buffet, as well as several small lunch venues, rotating dinner options, even a coffee shop! Housekeeping kept my room clean and tidy and were quick to bring me extra blankets and assistance with the room safe. If I were to go again, I'd upgrade to an ocean view room because the lay-out of the resort doesn't offer afford good pool/garden views. The sauna and steam rooms came in very useful during the few times it rained during my stay. Watch out for the time-share reps, they are persistent! The vendors on the beach were never pushy, and no matter what time of day, or location in the resort, I always felt safe.

By , from Marin County, CA on Jan 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 10, 2018

Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to hsare a detailed feedback about your recent stay with us. It is great to read you appreciated our beautiful beach, our entertainment program, the cleanliness and the sauna and steam rooms. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards,

5

very nice hotel by the beach!

Families

Hotel is very nice. Staff are very friendly. No concern whatsoever about safety. Buffet was excellent. Wide variety of food and drinks available. Service is excellent.

By , from Detroit on Jan 4, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 4, 2018

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Sandos Playacar Beach Resort to spend your vacations and for taking the time to share your experience. It is good to know you specially appreciated the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of the resort. We also appreciate your observations regarding the mini-golf, you can be sure we will take it into consideration. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards,

5

expectations

Everyone

Family of six had high expectations and experience surpassed all. (I think our American president should visit your resort see how wonderful your people are)

By , from minnesota on Jan 1, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 2, 2018

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about your recent stay at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. It is gratifying to read that your experience surpassed your expectations and that you specially enjoyed the attention of our staff. We will be looking forward to hosting you in the future. Kindest wishes,