Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This is an older property that has been renovated, but still shows some wear and tear. Food and drink was easily accessible and of good quality. Enjoyed interacting with hotel staff and other guests.

Resort was okay but food was seriously not the best especially dinner buffet it was the worst

Everything about our stay was amazing and the stafff is awesome

Resort is beautiful. Staff is friendly and cleaning crew is on top of things! They will clean and make up your bed throughout the day! Entertainment in the resort at night is fun as well! Was disappointed we couldn’t go on the beach because of the seaweed but the excursions we had planned during our stay made up for it. The only complaint I have is the food is horrible and drinks aren’t strong. Literally had to take shots to feel any type of buzz.

The staff is beyond helpful. Excellent customer service.

The property is small but absolutely gorgeous. We had an ocean view room which was a beautiful sight to wake up to each morning. The staff is friendly and the service is impeccable. The property has many animals that you will see on your walks to and from the different areas. The food was great as well. The only issues we had were the beach and ocean area. It is not pretty and smelled horrible. The party pool was not much of a party and the music needed to be seriously upgraded. Also the hotel seems to cater to a quieter low key crowd who enjoy staying to themselves, therefore the nighttime activities were pretty low key. A small nightclub for drinks and dancing would be a great addition to the property. Overall we found joy, peace and beauty in this property and our honeymoon there was amazing.

Food was okay, seaweed smell was horrible and beach not so much because of the seaweed. However the location and people were amazing!!

I was disappointed in this property for the following main reasons: (1) beach was basically 'un-swimmable' due to the massive seaweed issues; (2) very, very limited dining options and I do not feel this is properly represented by the resort; and finally, most importantly, (3) staff was accommodating to my food allergies as much as possible but there were NO gluten-free options at breakfast...I mean NONE for breakfast or any desserts. Sort of a bummer when you go on vacation and cannot have any dessert. :( We WILL NOT be going back.

They impress me every time! We stayed at Ocean Maya for the 3rd time in December 2021. Some of the staff remember us and make us feel like home. The resort is beautiful and food is very good. But, it's the staff that makes this resort stand out. Francisco does a great job to make our stay(s) enjoyable. Alfredo made sure we had everything we wanted. Each day, Tiger made our day at the lobby bar and Catalina at the front desk was helpful throughout our stay. I was also happy to see the beach cleaned up and we swam every day.

The worst beach and the worst service ever! I visit the Caribbean on a regular basis so trust me when I say this is the worst place to stay! Jersey has better beaches then this resort, the water is so murky and disgusting that no one ever wanted to get in. We were absolutely terrified by their aggressive and incompetent staff. They yell at their guests and roll their eyes any time anyone asks them about anything. They refused to let us cancel our massages 5 days head and threatened they would detain us at check out if we were to refuse to pay for the cancelled services. They refused to let us use the late check out we booked at check in because they didn't see it in the system right away and told us they would try to figure it out because they "couldn't listen to our voices anymore". They tried to charge us a day pass because our friend came to visit us at the resort and stayed with us for an hour; they approached us multiple times and chased us around the lobby until he left because we all felt so uncomfortable by them screaming that they are afraid he might try to get drinks at the bar for free (I know, ridiculous!) This was my third time in Mexico and I have never experienced such harassment by resort staff before, they would come up with problems every single day and make nasty comments about their guests in Spanish. It's such a shame that a 5 star resort like this employs such nasty people with severely underdeveloped communication skills, no wonder the place was empty.

Check in is tedious. Activities, shows and meals during weekdays are mediocre, however they get better towards weekends.

Loved the staff, pools, and restaurants however wish there was another breakfast option besides the buffet. Also room service ended at 6:00pm so that was a disappointment. Lunch buffet was amazing! We played a ton of pool and sand volleyball. The grounds and gardens were very beautiful. We would recommend this resort to others.

My husband and I decided to come here to celebrate our 10th anniversary when we arrived they made us wait forever at the lobby to do check in it literally took us 1hr. When you sit with them you pay for your stay and they charge you a $5 fee for beach cleaning. Then you are transferred to another stuff to listen to them trying to get you to buy a deal to visit other hotels. When arrived at our room there was a leaking on our bathroom ceiling which kept dripping on us when brushing our hair or teeth. Not to mention there was a night we got back sweating because it’s super hot and humid when we got to our room there was no water to shower apparently they were fixing a leaking and would take 2 hrs. Food was ok drinks were not that great by the pool.

I don’t think we’ll be back. The food was mediocre, the resort was average, the rooms were clean, but had a lot of maintenance issues, the service was below terrible. There was definitely a difference between friendliness/helpfulness between the day/night staff. The night staff wasn’t as friendly or helpful especially when we were having issues with our rooms. Room service was ridiculously long even with upgrading to the privilege. During the day, this is the first resort I’ve been to where the staff doesn’t walk around the pool or beach area to take drink orders. They don’t even offer a pool side grill, so it was an inconvenience to have to get dressed and go eat at one of their dining areas. The rooms were clean, but 3 out of 6 rooms our group were in had issues. 1 room, the AC wasn’t working when we got back at night. When staff was called upon to check, they refused to acknowledge that the room was hot even when walking into another room where it was blasting to compare. When asked for another room, they said they would be unable to move us into a new room and would have to wait until the morning. Another 2 of our rooms had issues with the key card not working. The red and green light that usually appear after inserting the keys wouldn’t even turn on. When letting the front desk know about our situation, we asked them to please check the locks instead of giving us new keys. The problem wasn’t solved and we ended up leaving our sliding doors open to enter.

Everything was wonderful, this is my third time there, and I would go back .

Great place to stay, and we definitely want to visit again! The staff were all fabulous! We loved sexi papi in entertainment and JoJo at the lobby bar! But everyone was so friendly and helpful with everything. Can’t wait to see you all again!

The resort was beautiful, staff was very friendly, will be back!

Omg we will stay at this Hotel again for sure the experience is as great everything was great the staff very nice and always helpful the food was Great everything was great

My overall experience was great. I didn't like that they pushed buying into their resorts so hard in the beginning and when you didn't buy some of them treated you differently. We had to ask several time for housekeeping the first few days but after that it was great. The person checking us out was rude but for the most part the staff was great. The entertainment staff was amazing. They always had stuff for us to do and they really did a great job keeping every person involved. I would stay here again in the future.

Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299 Playa del Carmen QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located within a mile (2 km) of Tres Rios Ecopark, Ocean Maya Royale All Inclusive Adults Only is within 3 miles (5 km) of Playa Xcalacoco. This 320-room, 4.5-star aparthotel welcomes business and leisure travelers with 2 outdoor pools, a full-service spa, and 5 restaurants.


Dining

There are multiple options for onsite dining with 5 restaurants, including La Hacienda, which specializes in international cuisine. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

Each apartment is air-conditioned and has an array of amenities, including a furnished balcony, a minibar, and a coffee maker. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and a 32-inch LCD TV with satellite channels. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a safe, an ironing board, and a desk.


Property features

Guests of Ocean Maya Royale All Inclusive Adults Only have access to a full-service spa, 2 outdoor pools, and a gym. There's free parking if you drive. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with concierge services, securing valuables, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this adults-only aparthotel include a sauna, free WiFi in public areas, and a spa tub.

Room options

Privilege Honeymoon Junior Suite

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Privilege Junior Suite Adults Only

2 Double Beds | 1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Privilege Honeymoon Maya Deluxe

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Maya Deluxe Garden View

2 Double Beds | 1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Ocean Maya Royale All Inclusive Adults Only

Everyone (48) Couples (41) Family (15)
4
Partner Couples

This is an older property that has been renovated, but still shows some wear and tear. Food and drink was easily accessible and of good quality. Enjoyed interacting with hotel staff and other guests.

By on Jul 2, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 3, 2022

Dear guest! We appreciate you took a moment to write us your experience in the resort. We hope to see you again. Warm regards.

4
Partner Couples Business Business

Resort was okay but food was seriously not the best especially dinner buffet it was the worst

By on Jun 14, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 15, 2022

Dear guest! Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you take a time to write us a comment which this will helps us to improve our quality and variety, we hope you have had an enjoyable stay with us,

5
Partner Couples

Everything about our stay was amazing and the stafff is awesome

By on Jun 12, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 13, 2022

Dear guest! Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again, we hope you have had an enjoyable stay with us

4
Partner Couples

Resort is beautiful. Staff is friendly and cleaning crew is on top of things! They will clean and make up your bed throughout the day! Entertainment in the resort at night is fun as well! Was disappointed we couldn’t go on the beach because of the seaweed but the excursions we had planned during our stay made up for it. The only complaint I have is the food is horrible and drinks aren’t strong. Literally had to take shots to feel any type of buzz.

By on May 31, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 11, 2022

Dear Darienne! Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you have took one moment to let us know how was yor stay with us, unfortunately the seaweed it's in all the Riviera Maya and it's a natural phenomenon and we cannot deal with that buut we do our effort to clean everyday the beach, we hope this couldn't made your stay unenjoyable

4
Partner Couples

The staff is beyond helpful. Excellent customer service.

By on May 29, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 11, 2022

Dear Maribel! Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate your time to write us a comment and we hope you have had an enjoyable stay with us.

4
Partner Couples

The property is small but absolutely gorgeous. We had an ocean view room which was a beautiful sight to wake up to each morning. The staff is friendly and the service is impeccable. The property has many animals that you will see on your walks to and from the different areas. The food was great as well. The only issues we had were the beach and ocean area. It is not pretty and smelled horrible. The party pool was not much of a party and the music needed to be seriously upgraded. Also the hotel seems to cater to a quieter low key crowd who enjoy staying to themselves, therefore the nighttime activities were pretty low key. A small nightclub for drinks and dancing would be a great addition to the property. Overall we found joy, peace and beauty in this property and our honeymoon there was amazing.

By , from Allen on Apr 29, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2022

Dear guest! Thank you for your feedback, we were glad having you in the hotel, unfortunately the seaweed it's a natural phenomenon but everyday we work in cleaning and picking them.

4
Partner Couples

Food was okay, seaweed smell was horrible and beach not so much because of the seaweed. However the location and people were amazing!!

By on Apr 21, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2022

Dear guest! Thank you for your feedback, we were glad having you in the hotel, unfortunately the seaweed it's a natural phenomenon but everyday we work in cleaning and picking them.

2
Partner Couples Friends

I was disappointed in this property for the following main reasons: (1) beach was basically 'un-swimmable' due to the massive seaweed issues; (2) very, very limited dining options and I do not feel this is properly represented by the resort; and finally, most importantly, (3) staff was accommodating to my food allergies as much as possible but there were NO gluten-free options at breakfast...I mean NONE for breakfast or any desserts. Sort of a bummer when you go on vacation and cannot have any dessert. :( We WILL NOT be going back.

By on Apr 15, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 16, 2022

Dear guest: We are very sorry about the seaweed, we are working averyday on that but it's the nature and we can't deal with that, about the food, in the buffet we have some stations gluten free, vegan station, we will improve the things that you disliked.

5
Partner Couples

They impress me every time! We stayed at Ocean Maya for the 3rd time in December 2021. Some of the staff remember us and make us feel like home. The resort is beautiful and food is very good. But, it's the staff that makes this resort stand out. Francisco does a great job to make our stay(s) enjoyable. Alfredo made sure we had everything we wanted. Each day, Tiger made our day at the lobby bar and Catalina at the front desk was helpful throughout our stay. I was also happy to see the beach cleaned up and we swam every day.

By on Dec 29, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 31, 2021

Dear Stephen, Thanks for share your experience with us, it is a pleasure to host you, see you next time!

1
Family

The worst beach and the worst service ever! I visit the Caribbean on a regular basis so trust me when I say this is the worst place to stay! Jersey has better beaches then this resort, the water is so murky and disgusting that no one ever wanted to get in. We were absolutely terrified by their aggressive and incompetent staff. They yell at their guests and roll their eyes any time anyone asks them about anything. They refused to let us cancel our massages 5 days head and threatened they would detain us at check out if we were to refuse to pay for the cancelled services. They refused to let us use the late check out we booked at check in because they didn't see it in the system right away and told us they would try to figure it out because they "couldn't listen to our voices anymore". They tried to charge us a day pass because our friend came to visit us at the resort and stayed with us for an hour; they approached us multiple times and chased us around the lobby until he left because we all felt so uncomfortable by them screaming that they are afraid he might try to get drinks at the bar for free (I know, ridiculous!) This was my third time in Mexico and I have never experienced such harassment by resort staff before, they would come up with problems every single day and make nasty comments about their guests in Spanish. It's such a shame that a 5 star resort like this employs such nasty people with severely underdeveloped communication skills, no wonder the place was empty.

By on Nov 29, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 7, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We regret not meeting your expectations in your visit to the complex, we will take every comment to work on it and offer a better service.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Ocean-Maya-Royale-All-Inclusive-Adults-Only.h913424-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Ocean-Maya-Royale-All-Inclusive-Adults-Only.h913424-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Ocean-Maya-Royale-All-Inclusive-Adults-Only.h913424-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions