Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

DO YOUR HOMEWORK AND LOOK AT THE DETAILS FOR THIS PROPERTY - MUCH IS NOT EXPLAINED UNTIL YOU ARE THERE AND IT IS TOO LATE> My recent hotel stay was very disappointing. The property is huge to the point where it was too big. We were a party of 9 and we were separated in differing hotel buildings which would not be an issue except for the fact that after dinner my 82 year old mom had to wait 29 minutes for the golf cart to take us to the building. Ohh and the golf cart stops at 10PM so if you need to get to your building good luck walking in the dark. Also the elevators did not work in our building se we had to walk up everyday. There are parts of the resort that are very nice but those are ONLY for the Club members (something like a timeshare) the rest of the resort leaves a lot to be desired for. You basically are a second class citizen unless you do the Club membership and it is not a pleasant feeling. The employees are nice and friendly but the hotel iS NOT WORTH THE MONEY. Stay somewhere else on the strip and in a more centralized location if you really want to explore Cancun.

Friendly, polite and super organized. Enjoyed our stay to the fullest.

excellent place to just and relax

They did not have towel most of the

Nicely spread out resort.. a great beach area perfect for our kids to learn how to snorkel. Fun but not rowdy like Cancun hotels make it great for families

All inclusive, wildlife, beach, food, services are good

The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are plenty of choices of where to eat.

Peaceful place. Good food, great amenities, friendly staff. Love that xcaret park it literally waking distance! The beach/lagoon was beautiful and we got to meet Bambi! So convenient that they have on-site Covid testing and our consierge Siri Figueroa and the others were so accommodating and welcoming!... We look forward to exploring Barceló resorts more! Will recommend this resort to family and friends!!!

There are so many positives and negatives that I can say about our stay at this resort. Positives: The resort itself is very beautiful and fairly easy to navigate around. The food was also surprisingly good, especially the buffets, where we spent most of our meals. The buffet ranges from traditional dishes to "Americanized" dishes for all types of foodies. The staff in the restaurants were also super kind and accommodating to guest needs. Right outside of the restaurants are lots of souvenir shops and a really useful pharmacy for your lost or forgotten essentials. The rest of the resort includes a multitude of beach areas, swimming pools, nature, and archeological finds. Negatives: Once at the resort, you are not given a lot of information (if any wat all) about how the resort works, the 90 minute timeshare presentation, or what is "all inclusive". We were a little lost for about a day and a half just trying to read the maps around the resort. Second, the staff at the front desk was not always the nicest. At one point we asked for the front desk to call us a taxi, and they informed us that the call would cost 5 dollars a minute. Second, we asked to exchange money and were told we would need to wait 45 minutes to an hour. Additionally, the 90 minute timeshare is a joke and a waste of your vacation time. Finally, do not pay for the concierge service because they do not provide it during COVID, so you will waste your money. We learned this the hard way on our honeymoon.

This is a long over due review, I stayed here on 5/27-5/30/2021 and I loved the resort it was amazingly beautiful! So many things to do and the whole staff was extremely friendly and so helpful they made us feel like very important people, which was more than I expected, thank you to Reeshel Thompson who checked us in and made us feel welcomed! Thanks to our great and friendly driver Isaias Vera, who also gave us tips on what to do and was so helpful. Overall I loved it here and I am 100 percent staying here again! :)

I loved their private beach, their own entrances to excaret and the staff. The nature around you is beautiful. You’ll see iguanas, spider monkeys, and other species everywhere. The rooms were very clean and nicely furnished. The only thing is that because of covid, there’s not much to see or do at night and the food at the buffet could be much better. Choose the restaurants instead. However, I would recommend this resort to anyone.

This is the second time I’ve been here, just different after COVID-19. Bar and club not open and buffets and restaurants times changes and some closed during week. But the place and staff are amazing.

We loved our stay there, the property is surrounded with nature and sea. There are big pools everywhere in the property which are never overcrowded and there are plenty of trees and animals all around. It's unique in the sense that the habitations are in tune with nature, burried in it rather than destroying it.

Absolutely love this hotel. It’s our second stay here. Love looking out our balcony and seeing monkeys. The food could be better but wasn’t terrible. Love the convenience of walking to Xcaret Park.

Occidental at Xcaret was definitely a beautiful resort. It was clean, the pools are huge and the staff was very friendly and welcoming. Poolside entertainment was fun, and Alfredo from the swimup bar was the best! The quality of the food was a little too basic for my taste, wasn't the best food I've ever had, but certainly not the worst. If you are a picky eater, or have really high standards with food, then you might be disappointed. Other than the food, I have no real complaints about this resort. It's beautiful, huge, plenty of different locations to hang out and relax. The ruins and animals on the property are a plus for me. The views are absolutely breath taking. For a week long trip of relaxation, this hotel definitely served its purpose.

We really enjoyed our stay at Occidental Xcaret. We were there for 4 nights and loved it. The only complain we have is that the food at the main buffet was not great.

Carretera Federal 307, KM 282 Playa del Carmen QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Xcaret Eco Theme Park and Xplor Theme Park
  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Free uncovered self parking

Occidental at Xcaret Destination - All Inclusive places you within a mile (2 km) of popular attractions like Xcaret Eco Theme Park and Xplor Theme Park. This 765-room, 4-star property welcomes guests with 5 outdoor pools, 11 restaurants, and free self parking.


Dining

Free full breakfast is served each morning from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM. Relish the international cuisine at Le buffet, one of 11 onsite restaurants. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

The 765 air-conditioned accommodations feature balconies and afford space to spread out with a separate bedroom. 37-inch LED TVs come with cable channels. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Minibars, coffee makers, and free bottled water are also standard.


Property features

Built in 2016, the brand new Occidental at Xcaret Destination - All Inclusive features 5 outdoor pools, a nightclub, and a children's pool. There's free parking if you drive. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with securing valuables, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this all-inclusive property include a gym, outdoor tennis courts, and free WiFi in public areas.

Room options

Royal Suite (Level Unlimited Xcaret Xperience)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room (Concierge)

2 Double Beds | 1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Junior Suite (Unlimited Xcaret Xperience)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room

1 King Bed | 2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Occidental at Xcaret Destination - All Inclusive

Everyone (86) Couples (40) Family (50)
2
Family Family with small children

DO YOUR HOMEWORK AND LOOK AT THE DETAILS FOR THIS PROPERTY - MUCH IS NOT EXPLAINED UNTIL YOU ARE THERE AND IT IS TOO LATE> My recent hotel stay was very disappointing. The property is huge to the point where it was too big. We were a party of 9 and we were separated in differing hotel buildings which would not be an issue except for the fact that after dinner my 82 year old mom had to wait 29 minutes for the golf cart to take us to the building. Ohh and the golf cart stops at 10PM so if you need to get to your building good luck walking in the dark. Also the elevators did not work in our building se we had to walk up everyday. There are parts of the resort that are very nice but those are ONLY for the Club members (something like a timeshare) the rest of the resort leaves a lot to be desired for. You basically are a second class citizen unless you do the Club membership and it is not a pleasant feeling. The employees are nice and friendly but the hotel iS NOT WORTH THE MONEY. Stay somewhere else on the strip and in a more centralized location if you really want to explore Cancun.

By on Oct 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 22, 2021

Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback. We regret that our attempts to make your stay more enjoyable were unsuccessful, it is unfortunate to read that you did not receive the welcome feeling you were expecting. We hope, that despite this experience, you present us an opportunity to show you the level of service you have come to know and expect of our property. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Kind regards

5
Partner Couples

Friendly, polite and super organized. Enjoyed our stay to the fullest.

By on Oct 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 19, 2021

Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to share your feedback. It is wonderful to read that we met and exceeded your expectations. Our aim is to impress each and every one of our guests and I am happy to know that we succeeded in your case. We will be very happy to host your stay one more time. Kind regards.

5
Everyone

excellent place to just and relax

By on Oct 17, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 19, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the service and attention we offer to our guests. It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again. Regards.

3
Everyone

They did not have towel most of the

By on Aug 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 18, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your Occidental at Xcaret Destination experience. We have taken all your feedback on board and this will be used constructively to perfect our future guests’ experience. We are sorry if we could not fulfill your expectations but we appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction. I have noted all your comments and suggestions which we will constructively use to improve our services and facilities. It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again. Regards.

5
Family

Nicely spread out resort.. a great beach area perfect for our kids to learn how to snorkel. Fun but not rowdy like Cancun hotels make it great for families

By on Aug 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 9, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the service and attention we offer to our guests. It gives me a great pride to know that our staff are commended for their kindness and professionalism. I will share your comments with the team, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to our staff as we constantly strive to provide consistent quality of service to our guests. It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again. Regards.

5
Partner Couples

All inclusive, wildlife, beach, food, services are good

By on Aug 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 9, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the service and attention we offer to our guests. It gives me a great pride to know that our staff are commended for their kindness and professionalism. I will share your comments with the team, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to our staff as we constantly strive to provide consistent quality of service to our guests. It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again. Regards.

4
Family with small children

The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are plenty of choices of where to eat.

By on Aug 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 3, 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent experience at Occidental at Xcaret Destination. Our goal is to serve all our guests with the highest level of service and satisfaction. We are always concerned about guests’ wellbeing and strive to make their holiday an unforgettable experience. It gives me a great pride to know that our staffs are commended for their kindness and professionalism. We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction. It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again. Kind regards,

5
Everyone

By on Jul 20, 2021

5
Partner Couples

Peaceful place. Good food, great amenities, friendly staff. Love that xcaret park it literally waking distance! The beach/lagoon was beautiful and we got to meet Bambi! So convenient that they have on-site Covid testing and our consierge Siri Figueroa and the others were so accommodating and welcoming!... We look forward to exploring Barceló resorts more! Will recommend this resort to family and friends!!!

By on Jul 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 11, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is really important to read your comments, they boost us to get better and better. We are proud of our Staff, they are commited to make our guests feel at home in all details every day. We will be happy to host your stay one more time. Kind regards.

4
Partner Couples

There are so many positives and negatives that I can say about our stay at this resort. Positives: The resort itself is very beautiful and fairly easy to navigate around. The food was also surprisingly good, especially the buffets, where we spent most of our meals. The buffet ranges from traditional dishes to "Americanized" dishes for all types of foodies. The staff in the restaurants were also super kind and accommodating to guest needs. Right outside of the restaurants are lots of souvenir shops and a really useful pharmacy for your lost or forgotten essentials. The rest of the resort includes a multitude of beach areas, swimming pools, nature, and archeological finds. Negatives: Once at the resort, you are not given a lot of information (if any wat all) about how the resort works, the 90 minute timeshare presentation, or what is "all inclusive". We were a little lost for about a day and a half just trying to read the maps around the resort. Second, the staff at the front desk was not always the nicest. At one point we asked for the front desk to call us a taxi, and they informed us that the call would cost 5 dollars a minute. Second, we asked to exchange money and were told we would need to wait 45 minutes to an hour. Additionally, the 90 minute timeshare is a joke and a waste of your vacation time. Finally, do not pay for the concierge service because they do not provide it during COVID, so you will waste your money. We learned this the hard way on our honeymoon.

By on Jul 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 5, 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent experience at Occidental at Xcaret Destination. Our goal is to serve all our guests with the highest level of service and satisfaction. We are always concerned about guests’ wellbeing and strive to make their holiday an unforgettable experience. Please accept our apologies for not living up to your expectations and thank you so much for the taking the time to write this review as it give us the opportunity to improve. I’m very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at Occidental at Xcaret Destination. We pride ourselves on providing guests with amazing and memorable vacations, offering high quality service, and we regret that this is not what you experienced. Our guests’ satisfaction is our priority; therefore, we will review them with the Hotel Manager in order to avoid this incidents in the future. We hope you give us the chance to demonstrate you that our main goal is to create unforgettable experiences with a high quality service. Kind Regards.

Occidental at Xcaret Destination - All Inclusive

Carretera Federal 307, KM 282, Playa del Carmen, QROO 77710
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Occidental-at-Xcaret-Destination---All-Inclusive.h882765-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Occidental-at-Xcaret-Destination---All-Inclusive.h882765-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Occidental-at-Xcaret-Destination---All-Inclusive.h882765-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions