Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The hotel was nice the room was great. I was charged a fee of $50 for checking in early (before 4 pm). Not sure why if the room was ready. I was too tired to argue about it but it’s a pointless fee.

Receptionist didn't speak good English. Hard to understand her. Shower drain was clogged. Filled up while taking a shower. Slowly drained out.

Everything is good except for the fact that this hotel is undergoing remodeling.

Room was nice, why wasn't I notified that the place was under construction, terrible smell in lobby.

Why it was not disclosed that parking not available $70 charged extra for parking

There was construction that we were not told about in advance. So the outside area with fire pit was not available. There was not a door man to help with the he door when we arrived. The valet parking was not good. You could not call them to get your car. Instead you had to walk your ticket to them which is ridiculous.

I enjoyed my night here. I wish they offered continental breakfast.

The rooms were excellent, we would have liked to have known about the construction going on at the hotel before we booked it. We like to have a restaurant in the hotel we stay at.

Although the hotel itself wasn't bad and the kids loved the pool, there was major construction going on starting around 530 AM right outside our window. The windows are also paper thin and already sounded like they were open all night just with street noise. Needless to say, none of us got any sleep.

I had lost my wallet and the reception staff did not accommodate me since I booked with a 3rd party (orbitz) and he kept on asking for a credit card for a security deposit. He made no suggestions. Was very stressed about losing wallet and became more stressed when staff member was not willing to help or make suggestions. Luckily my coworker gave his cc. Overall hotel was under Contruction. My room had blue painters tape which was a sign of a damage area that needed to be fixed. I asked for a Motrin and the hotel pointed me to purchasing it of what would be 2 tablets which cost the hotel pennies. Disappointed that the hotel is nickel and diming people at a time of stress once again (headache in my case ).

Rooms were newly renovated and very nice. All the staff were friendly. They were doing construction on the exterior, so drive up was a little congested. Would definitely stay here again!!

The room was fine. Spacious and comfortable. What upset me about our stay was that they closed their coffee service at 10 am on a Sunday. No restuarant option. And nothing. Absolutely nothing open nearby. Staff basically shrugged and said too bad. Really pissed me off. Not ok for this caliber hotel. I will not return.

Staff were very helpful, our room was very very nice, newly renovated. It would have been great to have some glasses or something to drink out of or get ice with in our room, and happy hour should have started at 4 and included some snacks etc. so that the whole family could enjoy.

2nd St San Francisco CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Moscone Convention Center and San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Fitness center

Located in Downtown San Francisco, Marriott Courtyard San Francisco Downtown is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Moscone Convention Center and San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. This 410-room, 3.5-star hotel has a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and a fitness center.


Dining

Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. You can get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

Marriott Courtyard San Francisco Downtown's 410 rooms are soundproofed and provide refrigerators, coffee makers, and laptop-compatible safes. 32-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Video-game consoles, phones, and ironing boards are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of Marriott Courtyard San Francisco Downtown enjoy a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. Valet parking is offered for USD 70 per night. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with luggage storage, dry cleaning/laundry, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a business center, express check-in, and express check-out.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, City View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, City View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Marriott Courtyard San Francisco Downtown

Everyone (30) Family (11)
4
Everyone

The hotel was nice the room was great. I was charged a fee of $50 for checking in early (before 4 pm). Not sure why if the room was ready. I was too tired to argue about it but it’s a pointless fee.

By on Mar 13, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 14, 2020

Dear Guest, thank you for staying at the Courtyard San Francisco Downtown. We were happy to read how much you enjoyed our spacious and comfortable accommodations. We do have a charge for early check-in, and we regret your disappointment with this. We hope other than this you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

5
Everyone

By on Mar 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 4, 2020

Dear Guest, we are thrilled you had an excellent stay at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, and we appreciate the fantastic rating. It was our pleasure accommodating you, and we look forward to your next visit with us. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

5
Everyone

By on Mar 2, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 2, 2020

Dear Guest, we are delighted you had an outstanding stay at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown and that you loved all aspects of our hotel. Thank you for the excellent rating, and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

3
Family

Receptionist didn't speak good English. Hard to understand her. Shower drain was clogged. Filled up while taking a shower. Slowly drained out.

By on Feb 16, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 17, 2020

Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your review. Your total satisfaction is always our top priority; therefore, based on your review, we are disappointed we did not provide you with an exceptional stay. We are also sorry for the maintenance issue you experienced in the bathroom, and we wish we had the opportunity to address this while you were here as we would have done our best to ensure you were comfortable. We hope to have a future opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

4
Everyone

By on Jan 27, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 28, 2020

Dear Guest, we are glad you had a pleasant stay at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

4
Family

Everything is good except for the fact that this hotel is undergoing remodeling.

By on Dec 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 25, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for staying at the Courtyard San Francisco Downtown. We are happy to read you had a pleasant experience with us. We value your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

3
Family

Room was nice, why wasn't I notified that the place was under construction, terrible smell in lobby.

By on Nov 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 7, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel. We are glad you liked our accommodations and overall had a nice stay. However, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused due to our on-going remodeling. We will share your feedback appropriately to be more informative going forward, and we will follow up on your concern regarding the odor in the lobby to ensure we are well poised to serve you better during your next stay. Thank you again for your candid feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon for a much-improved experience. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

5
Everyone

By on Oct 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 7, 2019

Dear Guest, all of us at the Courtyard San Francisco Downtown appreciate your excellent rating. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and would love to see you again soon. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

4
Everyone

By on Sep 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 24, 2019

Dear Guest, on behalf of our staff, thank you for the nice rating. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

2
Family

Why it was not disclosed that parking not available $70 charged extra for parking

By on Sep 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 21, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for the review. We regret you were unaware of our parking fees. Please note the charges are published on our booking websites, so that our guests can be aware of the rates at the time of making reservations. We appreciate your business and hope you will choose us again. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

Marriott Courtyard San Francisco Downtown

299 2nd St, San Francisco, CA 94105
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Marriott-Courtyard-San-Francisco-Downtown.h693658-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Francisco-Hotels-Marriott-Courtyard-San-Francisco-Downtown.h693658-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Marriott-Courtyard-San-Francisco-Downtown.h693658-p2.Hotel-Reviews