Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hotel Whitcomb

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Don’t Stay Here. The area is very scary when it’s dark outside. The building itself is so old and everything inside including a room is old and dirty. The carpet is old and dirty. I couldn’t close the window in the bathroom and curtains in a room. Someone could see us sleeping. Wifi didn’t work at all. I called housekeeping and they transferred me to the internet company which is located in another state. Even though they said they reset the connection and maximized the signal I was unable to use internet. “Historic” doesn’t mean dirty. Such a shame.

After a hiccup with our room when we checked in, every thing went great. Kudos to the Hotel Manager who made everything right the next morning.

A little outdated, our bathroom needed some help for sure. For the price I expected better room quality.

Hotel is in a terrible location with all the drug addicts near by. Don't recommend walking at night. Breakfast at the Hotel restaurant was very bad, slow service and food was overcooked. We will not stay here again.

Old (landmark) hotel next to Dolby (where I was visiting). Staff very nice; room clean & quiet. Bathroom was horribly tiny. Area had l-o-t-s of homeless folks walking about. Bathroom & locale were only downsides to my stay there.

The lobby of hotel is beautiful. The rooms look historic, but electrical outlets arent updated. Bed is not comfortable.

nice upgrade on room when our original room had some difficulties with the bathroom.

Hotel was pretty old mattress and room floors made noises

Hard to take a shower with barely any light in the bathroom. We couldn't get to our floor on the elevator. There wasn't enough staff for checking, we waited very long to get to our room, after being on the road for a while, it wasn't pleasant. For the price, not worth it!

Amazing...I spent 3 nights and we had a wonderful experience

Charming historic hotel, nice restaurant, clean rooms. Parking fees were unexpected,$43 for 1 night.

nice lobby rooms ok neighborhood getting real rundown price fair for San Francisco I think you can do much better near the wharf

Centrally located with convenient access to BART, trains & buses so it was easy to get Moscone Convention Center, Fisherman’s Wharf, Chinatown, Golden Gate Park & SFO. Nice room & loved the historic nature of this Victorian hotel. Plus - Starbucks locates just off the lobby for your morning coffee.

Excellent location for sightseeing, terrible wifi--really, wifi did not work for more than 2 minutes on any of our devices for our week's stay, tiny room that did not fit the two extra cots we requested beforehand, and our room was next to the elevator which clanked all night long. Staff was pleasant and accommodating as much as possible. Homeless people outside on the street, but that's a city-wide problem that the hotel can't do much about. This hotel is right on the edge of the "not safe" area of the city, according to locals. Turning left out of the hotel is safer than turning right, mostly a concern at night than during the day.

Good location but lots of homeless people around. Hotel itself was classically nice but needed serious updating...no coffee makers in rooms, shower faucets barely hanging on to the wall, duct taped carpeting. Staff was very friendly and accommodating which helped make the stay tolerable.

1231 Market St San Francisco CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Asian Art Museum of San Francisco and Louise Davies Symphony Hall
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour fitness center

Located in Downtown San Francisco, Hotel Whitcomb is within a 5-minute walk of Asian Art Museum of San Francisco and within 15 minutes of other popular attractions like Louise Davies Symphony Hall. This 460-room, 3.5-star hotel has a restaurant along with conveniences like a 24-hour fitness center and free in-room WiFi. It's in central San Francisco and also close to Lombard Street and University of San Francisco.


Dining

Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning with cooked-to-order breakfast, available for a fee from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 37-inch an LCD TV with cable channels and pay movies. Beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a safe, a phone, and an ironing board.


Property features

Guests of Hotel Whitcomb enjoy a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and 7 meeting rooms. Valet parking is offered for USD 38.00 per night. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with tours or tickets, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this historic hotel include conference space, a computer station, and express check-in.

Room options

Superior Double Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Superior, One Queen Bed

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Double Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Hotel Whitcomb

Everyone (168) Business (105) Couples (146) Family (51) Other (75) Friends (51)
2
Everyone

By on Oct 17, 2018

5
Everyone

By on Oct 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 10, 2018

WOW, We are super pumped with your 5 star review, thank you, thank you, thank you. Kevin V/DOO

1
Everyone

Don’t Stay Here. The area is very scary when it’s dark outside. The building itself is so old and everything inside including a room is old and dirty. The carpet is old and dirty. I couldn’t close the window in the bathroom and curtains in a room. Someone could see us sleeping. Wifi didn’t work at all. I called housekeeping and they transferred me to the internet company which is located in another state. Even though they said they reset the connection and maximized the signal I was unable to use internet. “Historic” doesn’t mean dirty. Such a shame.

By , from Leonia, NJ on Oct 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 5, 2018

Hello Jihi, We are sorry you had challenges during your stay, all of our guest rooms have blackout liners in windows, thank you for your comments. Kevin V/DOO

4
Everyone

After a hiccup with our room when we checked in, every thing went great. Kudos to the Hotel Manager who made everything right the next morning.

By on Sep 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 1, 2018

thank you for staying and your comments. Kevin V/DOO

2
Everyone

By on Sep 22, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 27, 2018

Thank you for taking the time for your comments. Kevin V/DOO

4
Everyone

By on Sep 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 21, 2018

Thank and we appreciate your comments. Kevin V/DOO

3
Everyone

A little outdated, our bathroom needed some help for sure. For the price I expected better room quality.

By on Sep 17, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 17, 2018

Good day, We appreciate your review. Kevin V/DOO

2
Everyone

Hotel is in a terrible location with all the drug addicts near by. Don't recommend walking at night. Breakfast at the Hotel restaurant was very bad, slow service and food was overcooked. We will not stay here again.

By , from Central California on Sep 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 22, 2018

Hello George, We acknowledge your concerns and we thank you for your comments. Kevin V/DOO

3
Everyone

Old (landmark) hotel next to Dolby (where I was visiting). Staff very nice; room clean & quiet. Bathroom was horribly tiny. Area had l-o-t-s of homeless folks walking about. Bathroom & locale were only downsides to my stay there.

By , from USA on Sep 12, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 21, 2018

Hello I, Thank you for expressing your concerns, we are currently addressing each one mentioned, thank you for your comments. Kevin V/DOO

3
Everyone

By on Sep 12, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 17, 2018

Good day, We appreciate your review. Kevin V/DOO