Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Calista Organic Hotel

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Customer service was friendly and efficient...interior of room was small but looked modern. However, the window rattles, it provided no sound insulation so every bit of street noise can get in, the ceiling seems to be extremely thin because we can hear every footstep and even sounds from the TV of our upstairs neighbor. It was slightly chilly at night during our stay, but the radiator in our room didnt work

Welcoming check in, offered us cookies and apples and water. The room was nice, on the smaller side but it's San Francisco, you understand. The area is not bad despite what others say. We've stayed before but this room was smaller and the bathroom was smaller. The shower doors had gaps between them which left a lot of water on the ground after showers and the bed collapsed because corner of the bed frame was not connected properly. Easy fix but that and the shower was a hassle. Okay room but not as great as our first stay which was amazing.

Needs refund Arrive last night at 9.30pm and they didn’t have my room.! Booked one month ago! The staff didn’t care less and was DRUNK !!!!! Need to book a 349$ hôtel to have a room at 10 pm??? Horrible Need refund ASAP

The hotel informed me only at the time of my arrival that my room was flooded and they had nothing for me and that it would be up to me to find alternative accommodations. This despite my being the first to check in at 9a. Apparently they aren't fans of loyal Orbitz customers.

Looks like a small apt than a hotel. Never used a code to enter the building, unique. Surrounding area has Starbucks, barber shop, Wells Fargo, Chase, BeMo, CVS Pharmarcy.

We arrived at 3am after a late flight and the night guy was funny creepy and strange! His instructions of how to find the room and open the door and use the elevator took about twenty minutes. Like “your room is 203. Once you get to the second floor you will see 201. Pass that room. Then you will see 202. Pass that room. And the next room you will see after you pass the hallway that leads to the window will be 203”.... Hilarious!!! We were laughing about this.

I arrived not expecting this place to blow me away, but to just be a place to sleep for the week. There were no amenities, lobby was bare bones, not even coffee offered in the morning. For the price, this is fine. Where I really was disappointed was the service. On my first I tried taking a shower and after getting in realized the soap and shampoo dispensers in the shower were empty. I went downstairs, hair wet still, and informed the person at the front desk. They provided no sympathy and just said “I don’t know how to fill them.” And it took me pressing further and telling them I started a new job in the morning and that I need to shower for them to even go look for more. All I was given was a big bottle of shampoo. I asked if they could take care of it tomorrow and was told “of course.” After SEVEN DAYS of staying here, my soap and shampoo dispensers were never filled and my room was only serviced once, even though I asked and had hung the sign on my door asking for service. The rooms were clean and the bed was fine. If you’re looking for a hotel that is only a place to sleep, this will do the trick. Just bring your own soap and shampoo and don’t expect anyone to help you with anything.

During my four night stay I requested, with the door hanger, to have my room serviced. Neither reqest happened. Having worked in the hospitality industry for most of life this is nothing short of unacceptable.

My husband and I needed a place to sleep so we could attend a weekend conference. We booked the signature room with a kitchenette and it was perfect for us. The room and bathroom were very clean, there were two windows which was nice, the desk and mini kitchenette provided plenty of counter space, and the small fridge and microwave were perfect for keeping our leftovers. It was also nice to have an extra sink besides the bathroom one. We had everything we needed in the room, including iron and hairdryer, and we liked the decor. I would recommend this place if you are a low maintenance and independent traveler. If you like 5 star hotels with lots of space, amenities and service, it would be best to go elsewhere. However, if you just need a private, clean and comfortable place to stay to access SF, this place works great. We walked to Fort Mason and Union Square/downtown. Great restaurants within walking distance :)

But They should not photo copy credit cards and licenses. Mine was used immediately for illegal purchases. Fortunately the credit card company shut it down. The attempted theft had to come from someone on the hotel staff.

Don't have high expectations and you'll enjoy the stay better.

We had a great stay. The staff were all very helpful, friendly, & accommodating. The room was right on a busy street, so while it could get noisy at night we were fine with it due to the convenience of being downtown. Our room was very comfortable & a perfect size for homebase while we were exploring San Francisco. There were quite a few restaurants & coffee shops within walking distance, everything else was just a short bus ride away.

Terrible experience. Not a real hotel facility. Looks like they converted an apartment building into a hotel. Rooms don't have keys, only key pads to lock and don't lock properly. Elevator is old & creepy. Would not recommend staying here. Have already called Orbitz asking them to discontinue their relationship with the place as they shouldn't put customers here.

Due to our flight coming into SFO being late, we missed our connecting flight and had to spend the night in the city. We booked this hotel for a same day stay, immediately we received a text & e-mail from staff with check-in instructions etc. This hotel is perfect for individuals and couples who would rather spend more time exploring the city than indulge in hotel amenities, because there isn't any. The rooms were clean, modern and the bed was extremely comfortable. Close to drug stores, shops, restaurants, gas stations...pretty much everything you would need. The only "con" was that the blinds wouldn't stay pulled down and the TV is in a weird location (above the headboard of the bed)

The two things that struck me the most were the comfort and cleanliness of the room. For 2 people the standard room is perfect. The location is also very central to get around SF being right off Vaness. It is a 10 minute walk to Union square and a short bus ride to Fort Mason, North beach, mission, or the embarcadero. Plenty of convenience shops and coffee shops around as well. Reasonably priced for a holiday weekend is the cherry on top of the cake.

1485 Bush Street San Francisco CA

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Van Ness Avenue and The Regency Ballroom
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Concierge services
  • 24-hour front desk

Located in Downtown San Francisco within a mile (2 km) of Lombard Street, Calista Organic Hotel is within 2 miles (3 km) of other popular sights such as Ferry Building. Each of the 28 rooms at this 3-star hotel includes a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a microwave.


Rooms

A flat-screen TV comes with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a microwave.


Property features

Guests of Calista Organic Hotel have access to free WiFi in public areas. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with tours/tickets and luggage storage.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Kitchenette

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Signature Room, 1 Queen Bed, Kitchenette (Wellness Room)

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Calista Organic Hotel

Everyone (16) Students (1) Family (1)
2
Families

Customer service was friendly and efficient...interior of room was small but looked modern. However, the window rattles, it provided no sound insulation so every bit of street noise can get in, the ceiling seems to be extremely thin because we can hear every footstep and even sounds from the TV of our upstairs neighbor. It was slightly chilly at night during our stay, but the radiator in our room didnt work

By on Feb 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 25, 2019

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback and for staying with us! We hope you enjoyed your stay!

3
Everyone

Welcoming check in, offered us cookies and apples and water. The room was nice, on the smaller side but it's San Francisco, you understand. The area is not bad despite what others say. We've stayed before but this room was smaller and the bathroom was smaller. The shower doors had gaps between them which left a lot of water on the ground after showers and the bed collapsed because corner of the bed frame was not connected properly. Easy fix but that and the shower was a hassle. Okay room but not as great as our first stay which was amazing.

By , from San Francisco on Feb 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 5, 2019

Dear Jo , thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We will always be glad to welcome you back at Calista Organic Hotel, San Francisco.

1
Everyone

Needs refund Arrive last night at 9.30pm and they didn’t have my room.! Booked one month ago! The staff didn’t care less and was DRUNK !!!!! Need to book a 349$ hôtel to have a room at 10 pm??? Horrible Need refund ASAP

By on Jan 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 29, 2019

Dear guest, we are sorry about the problem you experienced. We wish you had told us about the issue you had while you were here. Thank ou for your feedback!

5
Everyone

By on Jan 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 18, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We will always be glad to welcome you back at Calista Organic Hotel, San Francisco.

1
Everyone

The hotel informed me only at the time of my arrival that my room was flooded and they had nothing for me and that it would be up to me to find alternative accommodations. This despite my being the first to check in at 9a. Apparently they aren't fans of loyal Orbitz customers.

By on Jan 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 18, 2019

Dear guest, we are sorry about the problem you experienced. We wish you had told us about the issue you had while you were here. Thank ou for your feedback!

4
Everyone

Looks like a small apt than a hotel. Never used a code to enter the building, unique. Surrounding area has Starbucks, barber shop, Wells Fargo, Chase, BeMo, CVS Pharmarcy.

By , from covina, us on Jan 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 7, 2019

Dear Cai, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We will always be glad to welcome you back at Calista Organic Hotel, San Francisco.

3
Everyone

By on Dec 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 29, 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

5
Everyone

We arrived at 3am after a late flight and the night guy was funny creepy and strange! His instructions of how to find the room and open the door and use the elevator took about twenty minutes. Like “your room is 203. Once you get to the second floor you will see 201. Pass that room. Then you will see 202. Pass that room. And the next room you will see after you pass the hallway that leads to the window will be 203”.... Hilarious!!! We were laughing about this.

By on Dec 22, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 22, 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We will always be glad to welcome you back at Calista Organic Hotel, San Francisco.

4
Everyone

By on Dec 18, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 18, 2018

Dear Guesr thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We will always be glad to welcome you back at Calista Organic Hotel, San Francisco.

2
Everyone

I arrived not expecting this place to blow me away, but to just be a place to sleep for the week. There were no amenities, lobby was bare bones, not even coffee offered in the morning. For the price, this is fine. Where I really was disappointed was the service. On my first I tried taking a shower and after getting in realized the soap and shampoo dispensers in the shower were empty. I went downstairs, hair wet still, and informed the person at the front desk. They provided no sympathy and just said “I don’t know how to fill them.” And it took me pressing further and telling them I started a new job in the morning and that I need to shower for them to even go look for more. All I was given was a big bottle of shampoo. I asked if they could take care of it tomorrow and was told “of course.” After SEVEN DAYS of staying here, my soap and shampoo dispensers were never filled and my room was only serviced once, even though I asked and had hung the sign on my door asking for service. The rooms were clean and the bed was fine. If you’re looking for a hotel that is only a place to sleep, this will do the trick. Just bring your own soap and shampoo and don’t expect anyone to help you with anything.

By , from San Francisco, CA on Nov 4, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 4, 2018

Dear Steve, Thank you for your honest feedback, we work hard to make everyone's stay as good as possible. We'll make sure to address the issues you reported and use these as points for improvement.