Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Southernmost Beach Resort

4.0 out of 5.0

Southernmost Beach Resort

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The layout is nice, but being on the ocean is unfortunate right now. The Oceanside restaurant is tough to eat at because of the terrible smell of rotting seaweed. This is a big problem for all the key islands right now.

Not at all a resort. This is a 3 star overpriced motel with a smelly beach - due to mother nature, yes - but they still charge you the hefty resort fee then you can't even breath peacefully. I do not recommend this hotel. The staff are nice and rooms are clean but I was literally dying to checkout it was so underwhelming. Showering every day is doable, if you can fit into the phone booth bathroom. You're also paying to park yourself when similar resorts have valet service. Oh also expect weird bugs to go into whatever you place on the motel room bathroom sink.

The only negative comment would be that they need to improve access to the beach. Other than that it’s a beautiful resort and would definitely recommend it.

Our stay was short but the stay was nice. It is close to all the shopping and dinning. Very clean and the staff were awsome. Check in was easy and fast. The only disappointing thing was th me beach was so full of seaweed and the water was so muddy. Thst is not the hotels fault of course. Good thing they have 3 pools.

The location was fantastic. I did not like that the resort is spread over about two city blocks so you have a good amount of walking if you want to go to a pool that's not in your building location. The room was nice. Beds were comfortable. Unfortunately we were on a ground floor room and you could hear a decent amount of noise from upstairs unit when people would be walking. We had two rooms reserved in two separate buildings on the property and both experienced noise from the upstairs units.

Location is great , right across from the beach and walking distance to main Duval Street

The beach was not very well taken care of and we didnt have room keys for a couple days. But they did work with us to try and make us happy.

Great location and staff! Highly recommend. Le Met house was amazing and LT is very knowledgeable about the history of the beautiful home.

Liked beach access and location, just a stone throw from Duvall Street.

Staff was very friendly and skilled. Facilities were great and obviously location. In house breakfast was little expensive and few light alternatives.

Pool service was slow. To many people at pineapple bar for one bar tender. At times waited 20 to 30 minutes for order.

1319 Duval Street Key West FL

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Duval Street and South Beach
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located in Key West Historic District, Southernmost Beach Resort is adjacent to South Beach and within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights like Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park. This 261-room, 4-star hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers with 3 outdoor pools, a full-service spa, and a restaurant.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Southernmost Beach Cafe, the hotel's onsite restaurant. For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 7 AM to 11:30 AM.


Rooms

A flat-screen TV comes with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and bathrobes. Other standard amenities include a refrigerator, a coffee maker, and free local calls.


Property features

Guests of Southernmost Beach Resort have access to a full-service spa, 3 outdoor pools, and a fitness center. Self parking is available for USD 26.88 per day. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, luggage storage, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this beach hotel include conference space, a 24-hour business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Oceanview 1 King

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

La Mer and Dewey Garden View Adult Only

King 1 | Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Southernmost Beach Resort

Everyone (145) Couples (102) Family (30) Other (5) Friends (10)
4
Families

The layout is nice, but being on the ocean is unfortunate right now. The Oceanside restaurant is tough to eat at because of the terrible smell of rotting seaweed. This is a big problem for all the key islands right now.

By on Jun 14, 2019

4
Everyone

By on Jun 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 16, 2019

Dear Traveler, Thank you for choosing the Southernmost Beach Resort for your recent getaway! I am glad you and your party enjoyed! We are excited to offer our Guests endless fun activities; beer and wine tastings, live music at the pool, Friday night movies, and so much more! There is one thing we know about a SOMO stay, it is impossible to fit it all in with one trip! You will have to hurry back to Paradise so you don’t miss a beat! Always at your service, Sarka Takovich General Manager

5
Everyone

By on Jun 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 16, 2019

Dear Traaveler, Thank you for your 5 star review! I am delighted you enjoyed all that the Southernmost has to offer! We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in Paradise! Always at your service, Sarka Takovich General Manager

3
Partner Couples

Not at all a resort. This is a 3 star overpriced motel with a smelly beach - due to mother nature, yes - but they still charge you the hefty resort fee then you can't even breath peacefully. I do not recommend this hotel. The staff are nice and rooms are clean but I was literally dying to checkout it was so underwhelming. Showering every day is doable, if you can fit into the phone booth bathroom. You're also paying to park yourself when similar resorts have valet service. Oh also expect weird bugs to go into whatever you place on the motel room bathroom sink.

By on Jun 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 16, 2019

Dear Traveler, Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to see that you did not find the value in our Resort. Although we do stay competitive in pricing with other great Hotels in our area; we are able to offer our Guests many amenities other Resorts can not. With 3 pools, 3 bars, and 2 beaches, we really have a special property on this Island. And how can you beat complimentary, beer and wine tastings, aqua yoga, ice cream socials and so much more! The Sargassam that Key West has experienced this year had absolutely been a challenge for the entire Island and Florida Keys. The southwind currents have brought a record amount of seagrass to the Atlantic shores of the Florida Keys. While our staff has been tirelessly fighting the never ending battle of removal, we understand this had impacted your stay. As this is not a year round occurrence, we encourage you to return to our resort and experience the clear blue waters of the Keys! Always at your service, Sarka Takovich General Manager

5
Families

The only negative comment would be that they need to improve access to the beach. Other than that it’s a beautiful resort and would definitely recommend it.

By on May 28, 2019

Review comment responded on May 29, 2019

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your recent stay with us! I apologize you were disappointed in our beach. With the south winds current, this time of year, Key West experiences an increase in the amount of sea grass that washes ashore. As a resort we do remove as much seagrass as possible in the early hours of the morning. We are very lucky to be able to offer our guests other options in our private beach as well as our tanning pier. We do thank you for your recommendation and look forward to showing your friends and family the same 5 star service! Always at your service, Sarka Takovich General Manager

3
Everyone

By on May 13, 2019

Review comment responded on May 15, 2019

Dear Traveler, Thank you for choosing the Southernmost Beach Resort for your recent getaway! I am disappointed to see that you found that your SOMO vacation did not meet your 5* expectations. Our beautiful resort spreads over 6 acres, so I am certain if you return to us, we can get you a room that is perfect for you and ensure that your trip is flawless. Always at your service, Sean Van Den Broeck Assistant General Manager

4
Everyone

By on May 9, 2019

Review comment responded on May 10, 2019

Dear Traveler, Thank you for your recent stay with us, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Key West has a beautiful, yet unique, coastline. We are one of the only Resorts on the Island to be able to offer our guest both a small public beach and also a raised tanning beach for solely our guests to enjoy. With breath taking sunsets, any restaurant you can imagine, and endless activities, we never run short of things to do here in Key West! I am certain if you return to our resort, we will be able to show you a true 5 star SOMO stay! Always at your service, Sean Van Den Broeck Assistant General Manager svandenbroeck@southernmostresorts.com

4
Partner Couples Business Business Travelers

Our stay was short but the stay was nice. It is close to all the shopping and dinning. Very clean and the staff were awsome. Check in was easy and fast. The only disappointing thing was th me beach was so full of seaweed and the water was so muddy. Thst is not the hotels fault of course. Good thing they have 3 pools.

By on May 8, 2019

Review comment responded on May 10, 2019

Dear Traveler, Thank you for your recent stay with us, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly have a special location nestled between the coastline and the famous Duval Street and we boast a team of friendly, happy and helpful staff here at SOMO. With breath taking sunsets, any restaurant you can imagine, and endless activities, we never run short of things to do here in Key West! I am certain if you return to our resort, we will be able to show you a true 5 star SOMO stay! Always at your service, Sean Van Den Broeck Assistant General Manager

5
Everyone

By on May 5, 2019

Review comment responded on May 6, 2019

Dear Traveler, Thank you for choosing the Southernmost Beach Resort for your recent vacation and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Key West has a beautiful, yet unique, coastline. We are one of the only Resorts on the Island to be able to offer our guest both a small public beach and also a raised tanning beach for solely our guests to enjoy. With breath taking sunsets, any restaurant you can imagine, and endless activities, we never run short of things to do here in Key West! Your 5* review means a lot to us, we hope to see you again soon for another amazing vacation! Always at your service, Sean Van Den Broeck Assistant General Manager

4
Families Families

The location was fantastic. I did not like that the resort is spread over about two city blocks so you have a good amount of walking if you want to go to a pool that's not in your building location. The room was nice. Beds were comfortable. Unfortunately we were on a ground floor room and you could hear a decent amount of noise from upstairs unit when people would be walking. We had two rooms reserved in two separate buildings on the property and both experienced noise from the upstairs units.

By on Apr 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 25, 2019

Dear Traveler, Thank you for choosing the Southernmost Beach Resort for your recent getaway! I am glad you and your party enjoyed! I agree, our location is fantastic, we have found a quiet little home nestled between the stunning coastline and the bustling Duval Street, a little something for everyone! With regards to noise, I am sorry you experienced this issue. We have a plethora of different room types and we always endeavor to help find guests the perfect room for their needs, wishes and budget. We do hope you choose to come back to us, we would love the chance to give you that true 5*stay! Always at your service, Sean Van Den Broeck Assistant General Manager

Southernmost Beach Resort

1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040