Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This was our second stay at the Royal Kona Resort. Overall, I love staying here. The location is great to walk to the beach, to convenient shopping, and to find nice restaurants. My only complaint is that their fitness room is only open from 8 am to 8 pm and I like to work out early in the morning. Eight AM is a bit late to work out, especially if you have plans for the day. We will definitely be back in the future.

It was beautiful and so close to shopping and restaurants.

I really enjoyed my room and I especially enjoyed my breakfast the next morning,

Overall good

The view was great, room was clean, comfortable beds, well kept grounds, area felt safe and within walking distance to shopping, dining and farmers market on Wednesdays and Thursdays. The lagoon on the cove looks nothing like the pictures, it's dirty water that looks like green vomit I wouldn't put my feet there, and smelled rotten not like the sea in other areas. The front desk ladies are rude, never pick up the phone and when they do they put you on hold for an indefinite time. The little souvenir place downstairs doesn't handle cash. Highly recommend the fish tacos from the bar and the fish and chips, excellent taste and presentation. Hotel doesn't offer shuttle service and lyft is hard to come around so best to rent a car because you'll need it to get around if you want to venture out to do activitities like snorkeling. The Luau highly recommend it. Great view to dine in front of the sea. areas. .

Beautiful but not overdone decor throughout the resort

We had a day that water was shut off

Great location for the Kona “strip” and great set up for breakfast and evening entertainment at hotel. Parking was good but it will cost you. Evidently what you request for beds via Orbitz is not available obligatory by hotel. Had to “convince” them we were not taking 2 double beds when we paid for a King. It was resolved but only because we called them on it. We were not checking in too early ir late either. Orbitz and hotel need to get their processes synced.

The pool was small for such a big resort and no beaches within the resort

Will recommend to family and friends!

Easy first day after a long travel day. Close to eateries. Limited breakfast options, go find a different btreakfast spot.

I would choose Ocean front over Corner King for the money. Corner King was barely furnished and thelanai was lacking in any furniture that made you want to stay outside. Our view was blocked by trees. No clear sunset view .Lagoon building . Bathrooms need updated badly. Disappointing after several stays .

They charge us for meals that were not ours.

Location

75-5852 Alii Dr Kailua-Kona HI

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa
  • Outdoor pool

Hulihee Palace is a short stroll from Royal Kona Resort, and other popular attractions like Magic Sands Beach are within a few miles (5 km). This 436-room, 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Don The Beachcomber, the hotel's onsite restaurant. Full breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 6:30 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer deep soaking tubs, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Other amenities include balconies or patios, refrigerators, and coffee makers.


Property features

At Royal Kona Resort, guests enjoy a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a gym. Self parking is available for USD 25 per night. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with securing valuables and tours/tickets. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a computer station.

Room options

Deluxe Room, Partial Ocean View

1 King Bed | 2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, Ocean View

1 King Bed | 2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, Oceanfront

1 King Bed | 2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Corner

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Everyone (36) Couples (24) Family (43)
4
Family

This was our second stay at the Royal Kona Resort. Overall, I love staying here. The location is great to walk to the beach, to convenient shopping, and to find nice restaurants. My only complaint is that their fitness room is only open from 8 am to 8 pm and I like to work out early in the morning. Eight AM is a bit late to work out, especially if you have plans for the day. We will definitely be back in the future.

By on Jun 12, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 14, 2022

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback! We are so happy to read that you enjoyed our location and we appreciate your feedback regarding the fitness center hours. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

5
Everyone

It was beautiful and so close to shopping and restaurants.

By , from Reno on Jun 10, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 14, 2022

Mahalo for your positive feedback!

5
Everyone

I really enjoyed my room and I especially enjoyed my breakfast the next morning,

By on May 31, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 21, 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your breakfast too! We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to the Big Island.

5
Partner Couples

Overall good

By on May 24, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 23, 2022

Mahalo for your feedback!

3
Family

The view was great, room was clean, comfortable beds, well kept grounds, area felt safe and within walking distance to shopping, dining and farmers market on Wednesdays and Thursdays. The lagoon on the cove looks nothing like the pictures, it's dirty water that looks like green vomit I wouldn't put my feet there, and smelled rotten not like the sea in other areas. The front desk ladies are rude, never pick up the phone and when they do they put you on hold for an indefinite time. The little souvenir place downstairs doesn't handle cash. Highly recommend the fish tacos from the bar and the fish and chips, excellent taste and presentation. Hotel doesn't offer shuttle service and lyft is hard to come around so best to rent a car because you'll need it to get around if you want to venture out to do activitities like snorkeling. The Luau highly recommend it. Great view to dine in front of the sea. areas. .

By on Apr 22, 2022

Review comment responded on May 5, 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are sorry that you did not enjoy the lagoon and service at our front desk. We will share your feedback with our team for improvement. We hope that you had a lovely time otherwise and will consider joining us again in the future.

5
Friends

Beautiful but not overdone decor throughout the resort

By on Apr 13, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 14, 2022

Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and would love to welcome you again on your next trip to Kona.

4
Family

We had a day that water was shut off

By on Mar 27, 2022

Review comment responded on Mar 29, 2022

Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope that you had a beautiful time on the island.

5
Everyone

By on Mar 26, 2022

5
Everyone

By on Mar 15, 2022

5
Partner Couples

Great location for the Kona “strip” and great set up for breakfast and evening entertainment at hotel. Parking was good but it will cost you. Evidently what you request for beds via Orbitz is not available obligatory by hotel. Had to “convince” them we were not taking 2 double beds when we paid for a King. It was resolved but only because we called them on it. We were not checking in too early ir late either. Orbitz and hotel need to get their processes synced.

By on Mar 9, 2022

Review comment responded on Mar 10, 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Bedding at the property is based on availability and not guaranteed. This is stated when you book and on your check out page when selecting a bedding preference. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and will join us again in the future.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Kailua-Kona-Hotels-Royal-Kona-Resort.h25276-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Kailua-Kona-Hotels-Royal-Kona-Resort.h25276-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Kailua-Kona-Hotels-Royal-Kona-Resort.h25276-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions