Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

We love everything can't wait until we can get back.

It was the perfect spot to experience an ocean view within walking distances to many fabulous eating places.

Me gusto mucho mi estancia ,, todo su personal muy atento y amable .. buena locacion ,

Our room was really noisy, and they charge extra for everything. Room was pretty minimalistic. There is not even a coffee machine in the room.

Was very nice, staff was wonderful, was very close to shops and eating places. The bar closes too early would be nice if it would stay open until 10 or 1030 pm so you could unwind and have a nightcap before retiring to your room

Poor experience

Location was the best. Balcony views were amazing. Don’t be in a hurry when you’re in the bar getting drinks and food, but the view makes up for any lack of speediness.

Good location on the ocean front, good customer service

I really like the lady who checked us in. She was sweet and also gave us a better room with an absolute gorgeous view of the ocean. Thank you!

The room is great! Very spacious. People are nice and welcoming. Views are beautiful! I fell asleep with the ocean wave.

Location

Pretty setting. Restaurant food for breakfast was good. Great staff

We liked the lagoon, but wish it was open later at night. There was no coffee maker in the room and we had to go down to get (and pay for) coffee, which was inconvenient.

We had an ocean view! Our desk clerk was so accommodating for our needs and wishes.

Love location ... beautiful resort ...lovely staff ...gorgeous ocean front room

Liked the free parking, friendly staff, and location.

75-5852 Alii Dr Kailua-Kona HI

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Kailua-Kona Wharf
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Hulihee Palace is a short stroll from Royal Kona Resort, and other popular attractions like Magic Sands Beach are within a few miles (5 km). This 436-room, 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Don The Beachcomber, the hotel's onsite restaurant. Full breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 6:30 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

The 436 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including balconies or patios, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer deep soaking tubs, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Other amenities include safes, phones, and ironing boards.


Property features

At Royal Kona Resort, guests enjoy a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. Self parking is available for USD 18 per night. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with concierge services and securing valuables. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a computer station.

Room options

Deluxe Room, Partial Ocean View

1 King Bed | 2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, Ocean View

1 King Bed | 2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, Oceanfront

1 King Bed | 2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Corner

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Everyone (59) Couples (17) Family (31)
5
Partner Couples

We love everything can't wait until we can get back.

By on Jun 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 18, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

5
Family

It was the perfect spot to experience an ocean view within walking distances to many fabulous eating places.

By on Jun 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 15, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful views! We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

5
Family

Me gusto mucho mi estancia ,, todo su personal muy atento y amable .. buena locacion ,

By on Jun 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 14, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff impressed with our friendly service! We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to the Big Island.

2
Partner Couples

Our room was really noisy, and they charge extra for everything. Room was pretty minimalistic. There is not even a coffee machine in the room.

By on Jun 10, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are very sorry to read that you had a noisy room. We do charge additional for parking - we have this posted on our website. We would have provided a coffee maker had we known that your room did not have one. All rooms come with a mini fridge and coffee maker. Should you return, we'd be happy to place you in a quieter area and ensure that all amenities are provided. We hope that you had a lovely time on the Big Island.

4
Family

Was very nice, staff was wonderful, was very close to shops and eating places. The bar closes too early would be nice if it would stay open until 10 or 1030 pm so you could unwind and have a nightcap before retiring to your room

By on Jun 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 8, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed our location and staff! We will share your feedback about having the bar open later with our restaurant staff. We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to the Big Island!

1
Family with small children

Poor experience

By on Jun 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 7, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and should you return we would be happy to ensure that your return is improved upon.

5
Everyone

Location was the best. Balcony views were amazing. Don’t be in a hurry when you’re in the bar getting drinks and food, but the view makes up for any lack of speediness.

By on Jun 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 7, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed the gorgeous oceanfront views from the room and at Don's! We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

4
Partner Couples

Good location on the ocean front, good customer service

By on May 27, 2021

Review comment responded on May 28, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are happy to read you enjoyed our oceanfront location and customer service! We hope to welcome you back again!

5
Partner Couples

I really like the lady who checked us in. She was sweet and also gave us a better room with an absolute gorgeous view of the ocean. Thank you!

By on May 14, 2021

Review comment responded on May 17, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed our service and that we were able to provide you with an upgraded room. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

5
Family

The room is great! Very spacious. People are nice and welcoming. Views are beautiful! I fell asleep with the ocean wave.

By on May 13, 2021

Review comment responded on May 13, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Kailua-Kona-Hotels-Royal-Kona-Resort.h25276-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Kailua-Kona-Hotels-Royal-Kona-Resort.h25276-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Kailua-Kona-Hotels-Royal-Kona-Resort.h25276-p2.Hotel-Reviews