Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Great location with access to shops, restaurants, and beach within walking distance. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

Family friendly and the outdoor area was excellent to play outdoor games

The bulding and location was nice we did not revive room service one of the days we where there . Bathroom wasn’t as clean as it should of been when we got there. But aside from that nice place

The staff are all friendly especially Rodger in housekeeping and all the waiters in the breakfast time. I don’t like the elevators- too slow and small.

Gladys is so kind and helpful. We really appreciated her!!

The people that worked there were wonderful. Rooms were too small Noisy air conditioner No hot water Shower lacked water pressure

I was very disappointed with this stay. Even though the amenities charge was discounted, the pool/hot tub was closed and has been for a while. There was no game room as advertised and I was told they have not a game room for some time. The check out process was very outdated and you had to stand in the same line as people checking in. The breakfast was terrrible. It closed at 8am and couldnt even get coffee. The property was old and the elevator service took forever. Would not recommend staying at this hotel

Pool and spa was closed- not disclosed at booking. Parking (limited) was $33 per day. Front desk not friendly. Cleaning/other was friendly.

I paid for full ocean view and only got partial at the end. They did not say pool was close before booking, until I arrived there. So no pool for us in the whole week we stayed there. it was really a disappointment since I go by you never go wrong with a holiday inn.

I like how the hotels open entrance is open to the outside had a warm home feeling patio or deck feel

It is wonderfully situated with Kalakaua and Kuhio junction.... with the Ala Wai so close. Open and airy lobby... so close to all the Waikiki spots in walking distance. The morning staff were amazing chipper and helpful, even at 6 am. The pool area was adequate... with the pandemic restrictions it was frustrating to not have any shade for the most of the pool users... only 4 cabanas available, and the put-put area was close. The room I had was oddly small for me... and I'm only 5'6" but especially difficult for the my companion who is 6'7"... he scraped his knuckes 2 times on the popcorn ceiling.. and hit his head on the ceiling fan light once..... just tiny.

The view was amazing from our room. We were able to see the ocean and the city since we had a corner room.

definitely small rooms. Amenities advertised were not available upon stay. I would probably pay for an upgrade next time for more space and different property.

Everything was really nice but rooms are slightly small and the hours on the pool hotel were too short couldn’t be at the pool pass 5pm 😓

Kuhio Avenue Honolulu HI

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Waikiki Beach Walk and Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Waikiki within a short walk of Royal Hawaiian Center, Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel is within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights such as Ala Moana Center. This 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 596 rooms and conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and a gym.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free full breakfast, served each morning from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

50-inch flat-screen TVs are available for entertainment, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers are also standard.


Property features

At Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel, guests enjoy an outdoor pool, a gym, and free WiFi in public areas. Self parking is offered for USD 45.00 per night. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with securing valuables, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a spa tub, a business center, and an arcade/game room.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Ocean View

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Partial Ocean View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, View (Waikiki View)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room (bed type not guaranteed)

1 King Bed | 2 Double Beds | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel

Everyone (27) Couples (13) Family (28)
5
Family Family with small children

Great location with access to shops, restaurants, and beach within walking distance. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

By on Jun 28, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 29, 2022

Tara, mahalo, for taking the time to post wonderful feedback about your stay at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki and for your perfect rating. We are thrilled to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed our fantastic location which was perfect for your plans and the outstanding service provided by our devoted associates. We appreciate you being our guest, and we can't wait to welcome you back. Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca, General Manager

4
Family

Family friendly and the outdoor area was excellent to play outdoor games

By on Jun 14, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 15, 2022

Vanesa, mahalo for taking the time to post such wonderful feedback about your stay at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, located at the gateway of Waikiki in Honolulu. It's nice to see that our outdoor area worked well for you and made your time with us perfect. We appreciate you for highlighting our family-friendly hotel. We hope you are already planning another vacation our way. Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca, General Manager

4
Family

The bulding and location was nice we did not revive room service one of the days we where there . Bathroom wasn’t as clean as it should of been when we got there. But aside from that nice place

By on Jun 7, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2022

Miesha, mahalo for staying with us, and for the feedback on your stay at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki. We appreciate you mentioning our location and are pleased you had an enjoyable time while you were here. However, we regret your disappointment with some of our services not being available on a regular basis during your stay due to the current circumstances. We appreciate your understanding and cooperation in these challenging times. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again during a future visit. Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager

4
Friends

The staff are all friendly especially Rodger in housekeeping and all the waiters in the breakfast time. I don’t like the elevators- too slow and small.

By on May 20, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 11, 2022

Marta, mahalo for choosing Holiday Inn Express Waikiki. We are glad to know how much you enjoyed our friendly service. We will surely share your compliments with Rodger and the servers of breakfast for a job well done. We value your comments regarding the elevators and have taken note of it. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager

5
Family

Gladys is so kind and helpful. We really appreciated her!!

By on Apr 28, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 29, 2022

Jennie, mahalo, for the positive review and for taking the time to recognize our hotel. We are delighted to know that you liked the excellent service provided by our staff. We appreciate you mentioning Gladys by name, and we will enjoy passing along your praise. We appreciate you being our guest, and we can't wait to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Waikiki! Maholo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager

5
Everyone

By on Mar 8, 2022

2
Family

The people that worked there were wonderful. Rooms were too small Noisy air conditioner No hot water Shower lacked water pressure

By on Feb 21, 2022

Review comment responded on Feb 22, 2022

Gilbert, we are sorry you had a poor experience at our hotel. We are sorry for the issues you experienced due to the A/C unit and shower. We will certainly share your concerns with our maintenance team to take corrective actions. However, we are pleased you liked the service provided by our staff. Mahalo for choosing us and we hope you will consider giving us another chance on your next trip to the area. Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager

4
Everyone

By , from Teaneck on Oct 22, 2021

2
Family

I was very disappointed with this stay. Even though the amenities charge was discounted, the pool/hot tub was closed and has been for a while. There was no game room as advertised and I was told they have not a game room for some time. The check out process was very outdated and you had to stand in the same line as people checking in. The breakfast was terrrible. It closed at 8am and couldnt even get coffee. The property was old and the elevator service took forever. Would not recommend staying at this hotel

By on Aug 30, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 31, 2021

Sharon, thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. We are sorry you had a poor experience at our hotel. Our team strives to make sure each guest has a pleasant stay, so we apologize for missing the mark. We appreciate you sharing details so we can take steps to prevent these issues in future. We encourage you to try us again in the near future. We are confident you will enjoy the exceptional stay you deserve. Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager

4
Everyone

By on Aug 1, 2021

Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel

2058 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Honolulu-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Waikiki,-an-IHG-Hotel.h7795-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Honolulu-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Waikiki,-an-IHG-Hotel.h7795-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Honolulu-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Waikiki,-an-IHG-Hotel.h7795-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions