Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Nice and the most relax place of the island

Loved the open Lani areas and the hotel nestled Along the water! Great view of the bay! Loved the lush green vegetation surrounding the hotel. Loved the aloha shown to my sister and I as we visited our Ohana in OceanView. We are originally from Kailua, Oahu and live on the mainland! Great to be back home!

Ocean view is awesome

Nothing spectacular about this place. OK but that’s about it.

Entrance & lobby were OK. Hallways need painting. Windows in my room were filthy dirty & water stained. Completely ruined the view. Tub was slippery; had to ask 2 times for tub mat!! Most employees were indifferent or just rude. NO ONE asked me about my stay at checkout. Never told that I needed to REQUEST! housekeeping for room. Enjoyed free coffee in lobby BUT only until 9AM; then $4/cup to go from restaurant. Very disappointed w/property in general. I will NOT stay there again. Overpriced and not worth the money. Indifferent staff. Needs much improvement.

Xxx

The view is the best part of this property. The property itself needs some work. The pool was freezing. The restaurant was just okay. The elevators kept breaking down.

Best Hotel in the industrial area. Love that there’s A Target store near by.

Property was extremely dirty. Loud noises constantly from unruly guests. Second time I experienced a false fire alarm after midnight. Will never stay there again.

Called for bell hop on more than one occasion and they never came. Fire drill in middle of night evacuated to rain with no direction from resort. Poor signage to locate amenities.

Great coffee

It is easily the best hotel in the Hilo area.

Ty

This property has a small store/gift shop that closes at 5:00PM. Not very convenient when check in time is 4:00PM. No liquor license so can’t get a beer in store. Restaurant in hotel will not let you charge to your room or take beer back to room. Otherwise hotel is just OK but expensive without those convenience’s.

The room was clean but fridge leaked, and light flickered.

I stayed at the Naniloa while I visited family in Hilo during the COVID 19 pandemic after inter island quarantine was lifted. Its a great location and very convenient. The service was great, and would like to see how it would be once full service is available again.

Staff was friendly and service was quick. Fire alarm went off one night and had to evacuate to a false alarm. But better safe then sorry. Due to the COVID crisis everything was not open or available Aqaba they usually are which is understandable. Love the location of this hotel and the remodeling they are doing. Would definitely stay here again.

The location is ideal for exploring Hilo and Hawai'i. There are plenty of opportunities on site to make a short or long term stay enjoyable. The airport is located nearby.

Banyan Dr Hilo HI

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Golf course

Located in Keaukaha within a short walk of Coconut Island Park, Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a Doubletree by Hilton is within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights such as Port of Hilo. This 379-room, 4-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like a golf course, an outdoor pool, and a 24-hour gym.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at Hula Hulas, the hotel's onsite restaurant. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service. For your convenience, a full breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 6:30 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

All 379 rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect 48-inch LCD TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Laptop-compatible safes, phones, and desks are also available.


Property features

Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a Doubletree by Hilton features a golf course, an outdoor pool, and a 24-hour gym. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, securing valuables, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this golf hotel include free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Lanai, Oceanfront (Mobility & Hearing, Bathtub)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible (Mobility & Hearing, 3x3 Shower)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a Doubletree by Hilton

Everyone (26) Couples (7) Family (15)
5
Everyone

Nice and the most relax place of the island

By on May 14, 2022

5
Family

Loved the open Lani areas and the hotel nestled Along the water! Great view of the bay! Loved the lush green vegetation surrounding the hotel. Loved the aloha shown to my sister and I as we visited our Ohana in OceanView. We are originally from Kailua, Oahu and live on the mainland! Great to be back home!

By on May 12, 2022

5
Family

Ocean view is awesome

By on Apr 18, 2022

3
Everyone

Nothing spectacular about this place. OK but that’s about it.

By on Apr 15, 2022

2
Everyone

Entrance & lobby were OK. Hallways need painting. Windows in my room were filthy dirty & water stained. Completely ruined the view. Tub was slippery; had to ask 2 times for tub mat!! Most employees were indifferent or just rude. NO ONE asked me about my stay at checkout. Never told that I needed to REQUEST! housekeeping for room. Enjoyed free coffee in lobby BUT only until 9AM; then $4/cup to go from restaurant. Very disappointed w/property in general. I will NOT stay there again. Overpriced and not worth the money. Indifferent staff. Needs much improvement.

By on Mar 24, 2022

4
Everyone

Xxx

By on Feb 6, 2022

2
Family Family with small children Partner Couples

The view is the best part of this property. The property itself needs some work. The pool was freezing. The restaurant was just okay. The elevators kept breaking down.

By on Feb 5, 2022

Review comment responded on Feb 28, 2022

Aloha Jenna, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Grand Naniloa Resort. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are addressing the pool temperature concerns. The elevators have been addressed. Your feedback is very important to us and will address your concerns. We strive to ensure that each of our guests have an outstanding experience. We hope that you will decide to return again in the future. Mahalo, Scott Pauli General Manager

5
Partner Couples

Best Hotel in the industrial area. Love that there’s A Target store near by.

By on Jan 24, 2022

2
Everyone

Property was extremely dirty. Loud noises constantly from unruly guests. Second time I experienced a false fire alarm after midnight. Will never stay there again.

By on Dec 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 21, 2021

Aloha K:, Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay. My apologies for the fire alarm, cleanliness issues, and loud noises. These issues can be addressed, and we welcome you to bring it to our leadership team to address it for you. I hope that you decide to give us another chance. We will ensure that you have a wonderful stay. Mahalo, Scott Pauli General Manager

2
Everyone

Called for bell hop on more than one occasion and they never came. Fire drill in middle of night evacuated to rain with no direction from resort. Poor signage to locate amenities.

By on Dec 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 21, 2021

Aloha Ruth, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. I apologize for the poor bell service, and the fire alarm going off at night. This is certainly not our service standards, and has been addressed. We look forward to having you return again, and will ensure that you have a great stay with us. Mahalo, Scott Pauli General Manager

Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a Doubletree by Hilton

93 Banyan Dr, Hilo, HI 96720
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Hilo-Hotels-Grand-Naniloa-Hotel-Hilo---a-Doubletree-by-Hilton.h9924-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Hilo-Hotels-Grand-Naniloa-Hotel-Hilo---a-Doubletree-by-Hilton.h9924-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Hilo-Hotels-Grand-Naniloa-Hotel-Hilo---a-Doubletree-by-Hilton.h9924-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions