Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Royal Kona Resort

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The resort itself was very nice, the check in was awkward. We arrived and I listened to the deskclerk say to the customers in front of us that he had been putting up with people from Washington for hours (we are from WA) so that set the tone for what was coming next, I stepped up to the desk and already feeling as if im going to be mistreated as he was clearly tired of dealing with people, proceded tp tell me they had no reservation in our name (I had made reservations weeks prior through Orbitz) after about 30 minutes they found our reservation number in the name of Brown from Texas for December. I patiently waited while they corrected their issue. Said little to nothing about standing around for 45 minutes at midnight. I felt luke they wanted it to be my fault, I was extremely disapointed in the spitit of Aloha we first experienced on the Big Island. Thankfully, our experience got better the next day, the staff at the bar and restaurant were awesome! Accomodating and and deserve to be mentioned. The rest of our time and check out was very nice. As an employer myself, I would suggest to management that the front desk help on Thursday June 28th at midnight staff find jobs where tourist from anywhere wont bother them, this was a tourist resort, after all, shame on him.

The Royal Kona is located at the end of the strip and is a great location. The resort is a little dated but is still a great place to stay.

Great location with nice lobby. Room need some upgrade. I like the garden middle of hotel. Delicious mango tree. Got a taste of the fallen mango.

i flew into Kona to go take care of business in Hilo, I had a late arrival so instead of driving across the island at night i got a room at the Royal Kona. I had been there with my parents in 1970 when it was the Hilton, it brought back great memories. still a cool hotel with great proximity to downtown Kona. room was in great condition, the only small complaint was the TV remote was difficult to use. i will stay there again.

Rooms are nice. Beds were comfy. Walking distance to restaurants and shops.

Hotel location is excellent. Lobby area is very nice. Hotel staff is not so courteous. Room decor is very ordinary. Linens are shabby looking. Bathroom condition is poor.

Great location, restaurants, shopping, and activities within easy walking distance. Had a corner room, the view was great and the roar of the surf is always there.

Hotel is old and needs a major refurbishment,great location , corner room had great outlook and comfortable

We chose the hotel based on it's amenities and location. It certainly delivered. Close to the beaches and restaurants; we could walk everywhere. Additionally, it's got a great oceanfront bar, pool, and sitting areas. Every employee was welcoming and friendly. I wish we booked longer. I mentioned that it was our anniversary, and they sent a bottle of champagne up to our room. Our standard room had a great ocean view. Don't miss the happy hour Mai Tais at the hotel bar! We also did the luau; the show was great and food was solid. Buy tix online ahead of time to get a good discount!

Great 1 nite stay after long flight from Md. We were awaiting entry day to our rental home in Kona area.

Good hotel, fair price. Great views and location. No complaints.

Forget bad reviews. This place has it all in a small to middize resort. ocean, verandas , pool open air restaurants . Just doesn’t have a real beach. There is however a private real ocean lagoon. I had the corner room “19” and the views are spectacular . Full wrap around balcony with room for a party. You even overlook the luau so you don’t really have to pay for it. Kits loud but over before 9pm and I’ve had this at other resorts . For the price I’ll be back.

Wonderful location. Private pool and lagoon were awesome. Also the greatest shampoo in the world (if u like coconut)!

Wanted a cup of hot water for our baby & was charged $4, didn’t expect it for free but can’t imagine what it would have cost for a cup of tea or coffee

We stayed here on our Honeymoon 30 years ago and were pleased to find it in excellent condition 30 years later! Many things were familiar, but upgrades had occurred - especially in the surrounding area. Our check-in experience was a little concerning when the staff person couldn't find our reservation. His co-worker found it right away, however (not sure why it didn't come up in the first place) and we were quickly checked in to our room on the 7th floor - partial ocean view. We stayed 3 nights, dining in the bar twice but not really using much else of the facility. Our room had a deck with a view of the ocean. The bar food was tasty and reasonably priced. We ate breakfast in a nearby oceanside open-air restaurant. Many dining and shopping options are within easy walking distance. Parking was an add-on charge, but at $12/day not unreasonable. My only complaint was that internet access was not included in the room rate. What??? This is 2018 not 1997. I can stay in a freeway motel anywhere in the country and get free wi-fi. How can a place that charges 5 times as much possibly justify any add-on charges? When I confronted them on this the reply was "we don't have a resort fee"? So what? "Resort fees" should be illegal as they are nothing but a scam anyway.

Very nice hotel in my original hometown for the price...however the prices go way up in the Winter months...I usually go during the Summer if possible... Decent restaurant and nice bar area!

Hey! It's Hawaii in winter. What else can I add?

The night staff took great care of us. When we had concerns about the noises from the next room at 4 am, which woke us up. The security was sent out quickly and took care of the problem. Our room was oceanfront. Had a very beautiful view and sound of the waves when we slept. Love the great private lagoon. Our kids swam and snorkeled there while we were tired from the other public beaches. We had a great stay and would recommend the hotel to everyone!

The hotel is okay. If you're just looking for somewhere to sleep where you won't leave with something you didn't come with this hotel will work. Do not expect any frills or extras though, it is an old and mediocre hotel but in a good location. I would not suggest the breakfast buffet though! We tried it one day, it's overpriced for what you get and every single item was cold and gross. Huggos beside the hotel has a much better breakfast!

To start we found a condom wrapper underneath our bed and even when room service came into our room (while we had the privacy sign hanging) they didn’t throw the condom wrapper away. Besides that the pool was freezing, no jacuzzi, and the pool and lagoon both closed at 8. The bar closed at 10 during the week and 11 during the weekend, that is understandable but I went to Hawaii for my 21st birthday and was looking forward to getting a drink until at least 1am. There was no free WiFi for guests ($45 for a week of WiFi). There was no shuttle. No continental breakfast. You had to pay for ANYTHING and EVERYTHING, nothing was complimentary. Ive paid less and received more from motels. For the amount we paid there should have at least been ONE complimentary service offer. The only good thing about the resort was that we felt safe and the security was very friendly. However, we would not stay here again or recommend it to any of our friends.

75-5852 Alii Dr Kailua-Kona HI

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Hulihee Palace
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa
  • Outdoor pool

Royal Kona Resort places you within a leisurely stroll of Hulihee Palace and Mokuaikaua Church. This 436-room, 3-star hotel has a full-service spa along with an outdoor pool and a fitness center. It's in the historical district and also close to Kailua-Kona Wharf and Kona Community Aquatic Center.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or have a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

Royal Kona Resort's 436 air-conditioned rooms provide lanais, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect WiFi and cable TV. Bathrooms offer deep soaking tubs, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Other amenities include safes, phones, and ironing boards.


Property features

Royal Kona Resort features a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. Self parking is available for USD 12 per night. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with securing valuables and concierge services. Other amenities at this spa hotel include WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a computer station.

Room options

Standard Room, Mountain View, Garden Area

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Partial Ocean View

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, Oceanfront

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Everyone (60) Couples (270) Business (22) Family (75) Other (50) Friends (31)
4

great place, but check in staff lacking in manners

Everyone

The resort itself was very nice, the check in was awkward. We arrived and I listened to the deskclerk say to the customers in front of us that he had been putting up with people from Washington for hours (we are from WA) so that set the tone for what was coming next, I stepped up to the desk and already feeling as if im going to be mistreated as he was clearly tired of dealing with people, proceded tp tell me they had no reservation in our name (I had made reservations weeks prior through Orbitz) after about 30 minutes they found our reservation number in the name of Brown from Texas for December. I patiently waited while they corrected their issue. Said little to nothing about standing around for 45 minutes at midnight. I felt luke they wanted it to be my fault, I was extremely disapointed in the spitit of Aloha we first experienced on the Big Island. Thankfully, our experience got better the next day, the staff at the bar and restaurant were awesome! Accomodating and and deserve to be mentioned. The rest of our time and check out was very nice. As an employer myself, I would suggest to management that the front desk help on Thursday June 28th at midnight staff find jobs where tourist from anywhere wont bother them, this was a tourist resort, after all, shame on him.

By , from Washington on Jul 4, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 6, 2018

Aloha, Thank you so much for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We apologize and will address this issue. We are happy that the rest of the staff showed you our true Aloha spirit. We hope you will consider us again the future, as we appreciate all guests no matter where they are from.

5
Everyone

The Royal Kona is located at the end of the strip and is a great location. The resort is a little dated but is still a great place to stay.

By , from Athens, Alabama on Jun 23, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 25, 2018

Aloha, Thank you for your wonderful and kind review. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay. We are older but do our best to over exceptional service. We hope you'll consider us again in the future.

4

hotel is in downtown. close by everything.

Everyone

Great location with nice lobby. Room need some upgrade. I like the garden middle of hotel. Delicious mango tree. Got a taste of the fallen mango.

By , from SF on Jun 22, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 25, 2018

Aloha, Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the resort. We are always working to improve our resorts, but we try to make sure all of our rooms are clean and comfortable for our guests. We hope that you will join us again in the future, to see our improvements.

4
Everyone

i flew into Kona to go take care of business in Hilo, I had a late arrival so instead of driving across the island at night i got a room at the Royal Kona. I had been there with my parents in 1970 when it was the Hilton, it brought back great memories. still a cool hotel with great proximity to downtown Kona. room was in great condition, the only small complaint was the TV remote was difficult to use. i will stay there again.

By on Jun 8, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 9, 2018

Aloha, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased that we could accommodate you and that we could help bring back precious memories. We are sorry about the remote, but we are glad that it will not keep you from visiting us again.

5
Everyone

Rooms are nice. Beds were comfy. Walking distance to restaurants and shops.

By on Jun 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 5, 2018

Aloha, We are happy to hear you enjoyed our resort and location. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

3

excellent location!

Everyone

Hotel location is excellent. Lobby area is very nice. Hotel staff is not so courteous. Room decor is very ordinary. Linens are shabby looking. Bathroom condition is poor.

By , from New Jersey on May 21, 2018

Review comment responded on May 21, 2018

Aloha, thank you for taking the time to apply your feedback as it provides helpful information to us. We are continuously working on improving the property. We will discuss your concerns that you have addresses within our team. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy the location and our lobby areas. We would love to be able to accommodate you again for future stays. Mahalo!

5

would stay here again

Everyone

Great location, restaurants, shopping, and activities within easy walking distance. Had a corner room, the view was great and the roar of the surf is always there.

By , from Kansas on Apr 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2018

Aloha, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are glad you enjoy the view. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Mahalo!

3

great location ,staff are polite and efficient

Everyone

Hotel is old and needs a major refurbishment,great location , corner room had great outlook and comfortable

By on Apr 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 16, 2018

Aloha, thank you for your review. We appreciate your input and value your patronage. We will look into what we can do better. Mahalo

5

great location for the start of vacation

Everyone

We chose the hotel based on it's amenities and location. It certainly delivered. Close to the beaches and restaurants; we could walk everywhere. Additionally, it's got a great oceanfront bar, pool, and sitting areas. Every employee was welcoming and friendly. I wish we booked longer. I mentioned that it was our anniversary, and they sent a bottle of champagne up to our room. Our standard room had a great ocean view. Don't miss the happy hour Mai Tais at the hotel bar! We also did the luau; the show was great and food was solid. Buy tix online ahead of time to get a good discount!

By , from Kennett Square, PA on Apr 2, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 3, 2018

Aloha Pat, thank you for your review! We are always thrilled to hear that our resort delivered and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

5
Everyone

Great 1 nite stay after long flight from Md. We were awaiting entry day to our rental home in Kona area.

By on Mar 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 3, 2018

Aloha! Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again! Mahalo