Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I paid for a city view room and I got a view of the side of a building and no refund. this is too bad because I was looking forward to staying here again.

They moved my hotel about 2 miles from my destination. Which I did have the option of cancelling, but where am I going to get a room on less than a weeks notice? I agreed to accept the relocated room, making sure to mention I had paid for a park view room upgrade. They put me in the smallest room possible with no view. I also had a terrible experience with Orbitz this time around. So I will not be using Orbitz, Julian or Essex Meridian.

Very nice hotel. The design of the hotel is beautiful. I loved the tile design. Close proximity to everything.

The hotel was very clean, organized, stylish, and affordable for being located right in the city. Due to COVID, there dine-in restaurant and bar was closed but the staff provided us a pamphlet of several other great restaurant and places that are in minutes walking distance to go to when needed. Highly recommend this place and will come back again on my next trip back into Chicago!

I had a wonderful time in Chicago, The Julian Hotel was perfect I would definitely come back to this hotel again and recommend this hotel to my friends etc. also that location was perfect and also the staff was great...

We loved our room- the pillows and bed are perfect to come home to and we loved having a nespresso machine for when we woke up. I loved having a gym onsite with so much equipment!

No on site parking. Parking was 2 blocks away, not a deal breaker. Hotel was really nice and clean. Great location.

Great experience! Clean room, comfortable beds, all necessary toiletries in the bathroom and very helpful at reception.

I’ve stayed at other similar hotels, but this one had the most beautiful bathroom design of them all!

Beautiful hotel, great location. With COVID-19, there were precautions taken: masks in all common areas, rooms not cleaned daily, etc. All understandable considering the circumstances. However, on the day we checked out, we asked them for either a late check out or baggage hold since we had a late flight that day and was disappointed with the service we received. We were given conflicting answers, and the person at the front desk seemed more dismissive then helpful. The communication definitely could have been more professional.

Clean and nice wonderdul staff.. the room we stayed in is awesome! Modern decor and the bathroom is spacious too.

HORRIBLE STAY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND. We booked 3 nights over the weekend. We didn't sleep at all the first night due to a strong smell of weed from next door and very loud partying (music and yelling). We called the front desk, but they made no attempt to remedy the situation. We called a couple more times insisting they do something. Finally someone came up to tell them to quite down, but the neighbord only slightly turned the music down. The staff was generally dismissive and unhelpful. The poor experience might not have been so horrible if the Staff would have seemed liked they cared about the situation at all. We ended up checking out the second night because the neighbors started smoking and playing loud music agian around 9pm. The front desk told us they were booked up and could not give a different room. We checked out and booked another near by hotel. Orbitz was wonderful during this process they called the hotel to give us a refund.

N Michigan Avenue Chicago IL

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Grant Park and Michigan Avenue
  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Fitness center

Located in Downtown Chicago, Hotel Julian is next to popular attractions like Grant Park and Michigan Avenue. This 218-room, 4-star hotel has conveniences like a restaurant, a bar/lounge, and a gym.


Dining

Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite steakhouse, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service. For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served for a fee on weekdays from 7:00 AM to 1:00 PM and on weekends from 9:00 AM to 1:00 PM.


Rooms

All 218 air-conditioned rooms provide refrigerators, espresso makers, and free local calls. 55-inch Smart TVs are available for entertainment, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Bathrooms have designer toiletries and bathrobes. Other amenities include laptop-compatible safes, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

A gym and free WiFi in public areas are features at Hotel Julian. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with concierge services and dry cleaning/laundry.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, City View (Vista King)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Premium Room, 1 King Bed, City View (Millennium King)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Elite Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Elite Double Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hotel Julian

Everyone (20) Couples (8) Family (14)
1
Family

I paid for a city view room and I got a view of the side of a building and no refund. this is too bad because I was looking forward to staying here again.

By on May 9, 2022

Review comment responded on May 10, 2022

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback!

3
Business Business

By on Mar 31, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 8, 2022

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback!

2
Business Business

They moved my hotel about 2 miles from my destination. Which I did have the option of cancelling, but where am I going to get a room on less than a weeks notice? I agreed to accept the relocated room, making sure to mention I had paid for a park view room upgrade. They put me in the smallest room possible with no view. I also had a terrible experience with Orbitz this time around. So I will not be using Orbitz, Julian or Essex Meridian.

By on Jul 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 2, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback!

5
Partner Couples

Very nice hotel. The design of the hotel is beautiful. I loved the tile design. Close proximity to everything.

By on Feb 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Feb 17, 2021

Thank you ever so much! We appreciate the feedback! Please enjoy your stay!

5
Family Business Business

The hotel was very clean, organized, stylish, and affordable for being located right in the city. Due to COVID, there dine-in restaurant and bar was closed but the staff provided us a pamphlet of several other great restaurant and places that are in minutes walking distance to go to when needed. Highly recommend this place and will come back again on my next trip back into Chicago!

By on Feb 4, 2021

Review comment responded on Feb 9, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback!

5
Everyone

By on Jan 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 27, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback!

5
Everyone

By on Dec 6, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 6, 2020

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5
Friends Family

I had a wonderful time in Chicago, The Julian Hotel was perfect I would definitely come back to this hotel again and recommend this hotel to my friends etc. also that location was perfect and also the staff was great...

By , from Pontiac, Mi on Sep 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 30, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback!

5
Everyone

By on Sep 24, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 24, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback!

5
Partner Couples

We loved our room- the pillows and bed are perfect to come home to and we loved having a nespresso machine for when we woke up. I loved having a gym onsite with so much equipment!

By , from Columbus ohio on Sep 22, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 23, 2020

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback! We would love to have you back sometime in the near future, we also hope that you have time to rate us on Tripadvisor. Be Safe!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Chicago-Hotels-Hotel-Julian.h26910691-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Chicago-Hotels-Hotel-Julian.h26910691-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Chicago-Hotels-Hotel-Julian.h26910691-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions