Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The rooms were a little run down and you could tell things were getting worn out. But it wasn’t dirty. The breakfast buffet was good and as a gluten free vegan I was able to eat fruit and potatoes and oatmeal. The only downside: other guests who came To breakfast in bare feet— gross. The fitness center was a typical hotel fitness Center and the pool was small but the kids said it was fine. I’d go back.

Short stat but hotel was clean, employees are friendly and efficient and a good location.

Very good experience with Front Desk staff. We had a few issues when we arrived, but they were handled quickly and to our satisfaction.

Pros: Well.. the room was clean, clean linens, breakfast was included which was decent and convenient. Cons: Staff never asked how our stay was at check out, had they asked we would have shared about our not so great stay. When we checked in we also weren’t told about the pool hours or extra details. We booked this hotel because of proximity to town and the hot tub as not many locations have one. The hot tub was dirty with stuff floating in it which was a huge disappointment! The hotel is across the street from the fire department rooms like 503 are right across the way- no to low sleep and no ear plugs are provided or even notification of this fact. The elevators are also either broken or getting old, they got stuck and loads of people and up waiting a long time to get on one. Today one was out of order.

Stayed 2 nights in September. Staff was friendly and efficient. Room was very clean and good size. Location of hotel was perfect to walk to many sights and quick uber ride to any others. Much shopping and dining close by. Only negative was no refrigerator or microwave in room (was room for it). Most Hamptons we've stayed in have had that. I didn't see that you could request but also didn't ask since short trip. PS all Chicago hotels charge an extra big fee per day for required valet parking. This one was no exception. $48 per day and our next trip in Oct shows $69!

Very lound with fire station next door. You can walk every where you need to. Moons Momma's restaurant very nice.

We loved this hotel. The kids loved the pool and we loved the location and room layout. The separate living room is amazing when traveling with kids.

Quality of coffee and black tea could be better. No fridge or microwave in room. Otherwise a good hotel.

Experience no problems but we stayed at this Hampton Inn downtown. They were very helpful supportive with happiness to get around then to see Chicago during such a busy time of year. Took a little time to get our cars when it was time for us to to leave but in the big picture that was fine. No complaints otherwise

Shabby, drab, depressing, uninviting. The peeling signs in the elevators and backwards welcome rug in the lobby are symbols of the lack of caring visible throughout the hotel, with the notable exception of the breakfast room.

This is a great spot for some experience of the downtown life, or a visit to the house of blues. We were here due to a concert at the United Center, and it worked out great.

It was a very nice hotel, close to the city activities.

I had a very nice stay here everything was perfect from to in until check out!

this motel is worth staying at just for their friendly customer service. They all work on that aspect of your stay.

We had a quick get away to the city. Great location!!

The location of this hotel is perfect to walking to restaurants and bars. We had a girls trip and the location was walking distance to everything. The room was nice and clean. The staff was friendly.

Had a great stay at this hotel. It is in a great location and great restaurants nearby. I would definitely choose this hotel to stay in Chicago again.

I chose this location because it is nearby many restaurants and bars. I ended up having a few people over and walking to a nearby bar with some friends for my birthday. The staff was very friendly and recommended great dinner options. My suite was AMAZING!

Great staff, quick check in, clean room and central location to all my business locations.

Close to a lot of bars and restaurants. Would definitely go for it again.

33 West Illinois Street Chicago IL

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Wrigley Building and Tribune Tower
  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining

Located in Near North Side, Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Wrigley Building and Tribune Tower. This 230-room, 3-star hotel has conveniences like an indoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and free in-room WiFi. Centrally located in Chicago, the hotel is also a short walk from Chicago Theatre and Ford Center for the Performing Arts Oriental Theatre.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning. Enjoy dining at Ruths Chris Steakhouse, one of 2 onsite restaurants. At the end of the day, unwind with a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

All of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown's 230 air-conditioned rooms provide coffee makers, free weekday newspapers, and free local calls. Guests can expect free WiFi and 37-inch LCD TVs with pay movies. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include ironing boards and desks.


Property features

At Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown, guests enjoy an indoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and a sauna. Valet parking is offered for USD 59 per night. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this family-friendly hotel include a rooftop terrace, free WiFi in public areas, and 6 meeting rooms.

Room options

Studio, One King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Suite, One King and One Sofa Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 3

One Bedroom Suite, Two Double Beds, Non-Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 6

Guest reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Everyone (12) Business (16) Couples (16) Family (20) Friends (16) Other (2)
4

it was all right

Everyone

The rooms were a little run down and you could tell things were getting worn out. But it wasn’t dirty. The breakfast buffet was good and as a gluten free vegan I was able to eat fruit and potatoes and oatmeal. The only downside: other guests who came To breakfast in bare feet— gross. The fitness center was a typical hotel fitness Center and the pool was small but the kids said it was fine. I’d go back.

By , from Milwaukee, WI on Feb 12, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 12, 2018

Thanks for the feedback! We have a renovation planned in November to update everything but until then, we pride ourselves in keeping everything as clean as possible and we are happy you recognized that. Also happy you had a good experience with us and we hope to see you back soon!

5
Everyone

Short stat but hotel was clean, employees are friendly and efficient and a good location.

By , from delavan wi on Jan 13, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 19, 2018

Thanks for the feedback. Glad you had a pleasurable experience with us!

4

better than expected

Everyone

Very good experience with Front Desk staff. We had a few issues when we arrived, but they were handled quickly and to our satisfaction.

By , from chicago on Jan 5, 2018

3

across from fire dept., dirty hot tub, clean room

Everyone

Pros: Well.. the room was clean, clean linens, breakfast was included which was decent and convenient. Cons: Staff never asked how our stay was at check out, had they asked we would have shared about our not so great stay. When we checked in we also weren’t told about the pool hours or extra details. We booked this hotel because of proximity to town and the hot tub as not many locations have one. The hot tub was dirty with stuff floating in it which was a huge disappointment! The hotel is across the street from the fire department rooms like 503 are right across the way- no to low sleep and no ear plugs are provided or even notification of this fact. The elevators are also either broken or getting old, they got stuck and loads of people and up waiting a long time to get on one. Today one was out of order.

By , from Michigan on Dec 18, 2017

5

perfect hotel and location

Everyone

Stayed 2 nights in September. Staff was friendly and efficient. Room was very clean and good size. Location of hotel was perfect to walk to many sights and quick uber ride to any others. Much shopping and dining close by. Only negative was no refrigerator or microwave in room (was room for it). Most Hamptons we've stayed in have had that. I didn't see that you could request but also didn't ask since short trip. PS all Chicago hotels charge an extra big fee per day for required valet parking. This one was no exception. $48 per day and our next trip in Oct shows $69!

By , from NWA on Sep 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 16, 2017

Thanks for the feedback. Glad you had a good time. All of our suites and wetbar rooms have fridges and microwaves and we do have them available upon request but apologizes that we didn't inform you of that. Thanks again. And just a heads up, our valet is $59.

3

location

Everyone

Very lound with fire station next door. You can walk every where you need to. Moons Momma's restaurant very nice.

By , from Gainedville, Fl on Aug 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Glad you found the restaurants to be very nice. We hope to see you again.

5
Everyone

We loved this hotel. The kids loved the pool and we loved the location and room layout. The separate living room is amazing when traveling with kids.

By on Apr 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 25, 2017

Great to hear your family enjoyed our hotel. We hope to see you again.

4

decent place to stay in downtown chicago.

Everyone

Quality of coffee and black tea could be better. No fridge or microwave in room. Otherwise a good hotel.

By , from St. Louis on Mar 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 27, 2017

Thank you for your feedback

5

great hotel

Everyone

Experience no problems but we stayed at this Hampton Inn downtown. They were very helpful supportive with happiness to get around then to see Chicago during such a busy time of year. Took a little time to get our cars when it was time for us to to leave but in the big picture that was fine. No complaints otherwise

By , from Chicago Il. on Dec 12, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 17, 2016

Thank you for the feedback. It is so great to see when a guest has a good experience with us. We hope to have you back and have a wonderful Holiday season.

2

not up to hampton inn standards

BusinessTravelers

Shabby, drab, depressing, uninviting. The peeling signs in the elevators and backwards welcome rug in the lobby are symbols of the lack of caring visible throughout the hotel, with the notable exception of the breakfast room.

By on Sep 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 23, 2016

Dear Traveler, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad to see that you were able to enjoy yourself. We do appreciate your feedback and I did want to mention that we will be going through a renovation soon. I hope you're able to visit us once it's complete. Best Regards, Luigi R Guest Experience Ambassador