Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Me and my husband went for an overnight to Chicago and stayed at embassy suites nice hotel had fun and the breakfast was amazing. This is our hotel of choice it is amazing. Looking forward to next time.

The hotel is easy to get to, self-park is literally under the hotel and the location is good. I don't know if we were there during an abnormally busy time, but breakfast time was intense. The free breakfast was great but you'll need to set aside 45+ minutes to get in an get out if you have kids, especially if you want to get something special made. We had to wait in lines just to get drinks but were lucky to find seating right away each morning. The pictures of the pool are deceiving. It isn't nearly as big as it looks. It is about the width of a lap pool. The staff was very attentive and nice at all times of the day.

Our two day room was over eight hundred, by the time taxes and fees were added. For this, you could expect a clean, up-kept room. No quilt for the sofa bed, just a scratchy blanket, wall mounts not attached in the bathroom, and a faulty toilet flusher. The mini fridge was frozen up and needed defrosting. Don't blame this on the minimum wage housekeeping staff. They are not the ones in charge of quality control. Come on, people. You ask the big price, you need to produce quality appointments.

Close to river. Close to pier. Close to shopping. Plenty of restaurants. Great free breakfast & adult bevages during happy hour. Movie theater right beside hotel.

This hotel was great!!! The free breakfast and free evening drinks set it apart

The hotel was great and suited our family's needs for a weekend away. However, both nights we had different VERY loud neighbors which interfered with our sleep. The hotel staff was understanding and as acomodating as they could be but nevertheless, this impacted our stay and weekend. If you are going to stay at this hotel and you are planning to sleep, be prepared, just in case.

Food was good and hotel very nice and clean. Very busy lots of ppl

Excellent location and beautiful hotel at a great price! The location is right near Navy Pier and easily accesible to Michigan Avenue. Great breakfast but the lines get very long so be up early! Pool was kind of gross (water not clear) but we still swam and were fine. Decor is beautiful. Friendly staff.

Evening Reception and breakfast lines weee very long. Otherwise hotel was great in many other ways.

Friendly staff, super-clean (fairly new hotel), great breakfast as always at an Embassy Suites. Good location near shopping, garage parking is one of the lesser expensive in Chicago.

I always stay at Embassy Suites and have always been satisfied. There are 1,000 hotels to choose from. I choose ES because I like the breakfast and evening reception. Stay started when I handed over my HHonors card upon check-in. Front desk made sure I realized since I booked through Orbitz I received no points and no perks. Ok, no problem. But then he went on to tell me everything to which I was not entitled because I booked through a third party. Oh, but even though he shouldn't give me the WiFi password because I'm not entitled to it, he would as a courtesy but I shouldn't expect that in the future. Then the breakfast and drink tix. Never had drinks limited before and 4 is not unreasonable and I wouldn't drink 4 anyway, but he went over the tix and the rules. First night stopped at reception, drinks were tiny, asked for two...1 for me and 1 for guest. Nope, I was only allowed one. She'd have to come up herself. She was back trying to secure a much coveted table (another challenge). Why? We each have 4 drinks on our tickets. Why does it matter if I take 1 or 2 even if they were both mine? Then I learned, the drink line stretched across the hotel. Getting a second would surely be a 20-min wait. One drink each and we were done. Next night, stopped back at hotel just as reception was starting. Grabbed a table, yea! Had last night's partially unused drink ticket in my pocket with two punches left. Nope. Need a fresh ticket every night. Can't use that one. Ugh. Rules!

The rooms were large enough and quite modern.. The experiences I had that were very disappointing was due to the amenities that were listed. The eating area was blocked off by so many fences and gates that is was difficult getting around to where you wanted to be. Heard other guests complaining about it. It seemed that the area there was not nicely arranged for the convenience of the guests. The biggest and most dreadful situation came when the members of my party wanted to use the sauna. The sauna was not in working condition and when my party called for help the engineer came to look at it and said there was nothing he could do. My party said it needed the water to be splashed or available to put in for the sauna to work. One member heard the engineer on the phone asking for water and they also heard there would be no water as there was feces in the water for the sauna. HOW DEPLORABLE! WHETHER THIS WAS TRUE OR NOT I DO NOT KNOW HOWEVER IT SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN CONVEYED TO THE GUESTS! Also it was difficult to find a concierge on duty as such duties for him/her seemed to be limited.

Fabulous location right in the heart of downtown. Close to the magnificent mile, navy pier, trolley tour stop, food, entertainment, and more. The hotel breakfast and happy hour(s) just a great selection of food and beverages. The staff was very friendly and helpful during check-in. Our hotel room was clean, comfortable, and two great views of the city.

They have spacious rooms. It was a pleasant surprise to receive free drinks during dinner reception and the breakfast was fantastic

The hotel is in a great location.The suites are really nice - roomy and clean. The offer an amazing breakfast - made to order eggs, the have pancakes, yogurt, fruit, donuts, bacon, sausage, home fries, toast, bagels, coffee juice and milk. You name it the breakfast bar has it. They also did a wine, beer and snack each evening between 5-7. This is a great idea and the common space can be used to be social during this time. But note: the lines are super long for this "Wine & Cheese" hour/reception. They also have an indoor pool and sauna. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to friends. Only negative was waiting for an elevator but that is to be expected during the peak times.

It was overall near perfect! Quiet, big suites (perfect for traveling with kids), staff was accompanying, abs surprising extras - breakfast buffet abs cocktails in the evening for free! Will stay again!

Rooms are so big and clean. An amazing hotel - breakfast was delicious - drinks and nibbles of an afternoon were just what we needed

Very nice hotel with an excellent staff and very nice rooms. It's a bit confusing getting into since the lobby isn't on the first floor. But, once in, it's easy to navigate. The free, made-to-order breakfast is an excellent perk that more hotels need to offer. However, the opening time is delayed by an hour on the weekends. This is a bit inconvenient for those departing early in the morning on the weekends and results in long lines when it finally opens. I would suggest that it open at 6:30 every day. The staff was one of the nicest that I've encountered in any hotel. They all bent over backwards to make sure that my stay was enjoyable from check-in to check-out.

We were there for one night. Two moms and three teenagers. There are two sinks which is very helpful for getting ready all at the same time. Room was clean and plenty of space. Free breakfast in the morning was perfect.

We've stayed here several times before and had a great experience. In fact, we had our wedding reception there 13 years ago. The first night was a disaster. We had horrible neighbors the first night and heard despicable things through the wall. We called athe front desk at 1:45 am to ask for help. My 10yo in the bed next to me should have never heard what we heard. After 1/2 hour the music was turned down and then we listened the girl talk to a friend who obviously was drunk and got into a bar fight. They finally quieted down by 3-3:15. The staff said they were being evicted. The next morning our breakfast experience was a little disappointing. They were out of everything. It was a busy weekend, but they were severely understaffed. Our room never got fully cleaned that day. They only left clean towels, made the beds, but did not clean the surface areas or floors. The second night was much better. The staff was empathetic to our situation and did give us a small credit. However, it was not worth $400/night.

511 North Columbus Drive Chicago IL

Located in Near North Side, Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Tribune Tower and Wrigley Building. This 455-room, 4-star hotel has 2 restaurants along with conveniences like an indoor pool and a fitness center. Centrally located in Chicago, the hotel is also a short walk from John Hancock Center and Navy Pier.


Dining

Free cooked-to-order breakfast is included with your stay. This hotel is home to 2 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café.


All 455 recently renovated accommodations feature living rooms. Guests can expect to find WiFi and 32-inch LCD TVs with satellite channels and pay movies. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include sofa beds, microwaves, and refrigerators.

Rooms


At Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, guests enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna. Parking is available for USD 46 per night (USD 65 per day for valet parking), and there's also limo/town car service. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include WiFi in public areas, 17 meeting rooms, and a business center.

Property features

Guest reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Everyone (30) Couples (95) Business (36) Family (122) Friends (38) Other (12)
5

hotel by navy pier

Everyone

Me and my husband went for an overnight to Chicago and stayed at embassy suites nice hotel had fun and the breakfast was amazing. This is our hotel of choice it is amazing. Looking forward to next time.

By , from indiana on Apr 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 29, 2017

We look forward to providing our services once again next time you're in town. We're glad to hear that when it comes to hotels we are your choice! Thank you.

3

good, but not great

Everyone

The hotel is easy to get to, self-park is literally under the hotel and the location is good. I don't know if we were there during an abnormally busy time, but breakfast time was intense. The free breakfast was great but you'll need to set aside 45+ minutes to get in an get out if you have kids, especially if you want to get something special made. We had to wait in lines just to get drinks but were lucky to find seating right away each morning. The pictures of the pool are deceiving. It isn't nearly as big as it looks. It is about the width of a lap pool. The staff was very attentive and nice at all times of the day.

By , from Indianapolis on Apr 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 22, 2017

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing impression we have made in regards to breakfast. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your comments with our team. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

2

run down room

Everyone

Our two day room was over eight hundred, by the time taxes and fees were added. For this, you could expect a clean, up-kept room. No quilt for the sofa bed, just a scratchy blanket, wall mounts not attached in the bathroom, and a faulty toilet flusher. The mini fridge was frozen up and needed defrosting. Don't blame this on the minimum wage housekeeping staff. They are not the ones in charge of quality control. Come on, people. You ask the big price, you need to produce quality appointments.

By , from Kalamazoo, MI on Apr 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 22, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments after your recent stay with us Roxy. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations throughout your stay especially; with the condition of your suite you stayed in. I hope you had an opportunity to speak to our manager on duty while you were still here regarding your concerns and allowed us the opportunity to correct your issues and to make it right. Our goal is to always provide the best possible service our guests come to expect and deserve. We hope you will allow us future opportunity to serve you.

4

great location

Everyone

Close to river. Close to pier. Close to shopping. Plenty of restaurants. Great free breakfast & adult bevages during happy hour. Movie theater right beside hotel.

By , from PA on Mar 7, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2017

Scoot- We appreciate and thank you for your review. We're glad to find that our central location was perfect for your traveling needs while in Chicago. Thank you for choosing us!

5
Everyone

This hotel was great!!! The free breakfast and free evening drinks set it apart

By on Feb 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 8, 2017

Hello and thank you for review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary amenities and appreciate your feedback! Thank you again.

3

hotel is very affordable and centrally located

Everyone

The hotel was great and suited our family's needs for a weekend away. However, both nights we had different VERY loud neighbors which interfered with our sleep. The hotel staff was understanding and as acomodating as they could be but nevertheless, this impacted our stay and weekend. If you are going to stay at this hotel and you are planning to sleep, be prepared, just in case.

By on Jan 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 28, 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We understand that there are many options when selecting a hotel in downtown Chicago and we are very appreciative that you chose to stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to get a restful nights sleep. It is our goal to ensure that all of our guests have a memorable experience and a restful nights sleep. Should your travels bring you back to Chicago please allow us another chance to provide the experience you have come to expect from the Embassy Suites Downtown Magnificent Mile.

5
Everyone

Food was good and hotel very nice and clean. Very busy lots of ppl

By on Jan 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 10, 2017

Good afternoon and thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that even though the hotel was busy you still had an enjoyable time! Thank you for choosing us!

5

great stay

Everyone

Excellent location and beautiful hotel at a great price! The location is right near Navy Pier and easily accesible to Michigan Avenue. Great breakfast but the lines get very long so be up early! Pool was kind of gross (water not clear) but we still swam and were fine. Decor is beautiful. Friendly staff.

By on Dec 27, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 5, 2017

Good afternoon and thank your for taking the time to leave a comment for us. Much appreciated that you found our location to be ideal for all your traveling needs and that we could provide you with great amenities and a great price. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

4

great location

Everyone

Evening Reception and breakfast lines weee very long. Otherwise hotel was great in many other ways.

By , from wisconsin on Dec 20, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 5, 2017

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your most recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed most aspects of our hotel. Should your travels bring you back to Chicago we look forward to serving you!

5

great clean embassy suites

Everyone

Friendly staff, super-clean (fairly new hotel), great breakfast as always at an Embassy Suites. Good location near shopping, garage parking is one of the lesser expensive in Chicago.

By , from Elkhart on Dec 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 5, 2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review from your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us while here in Chicago. Should your travels bring you back to the Windy City we look forward to having you choose us again!