Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt. Pleasant

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Nice hotel close to Patriots Point, beaches and downtown

Music at night at hotel entrance is too loud, otherwise all is fine

The room was bigger than expected and very clean and fresh.

This hotel is a cheaper alternative to staying directly in Charleston, South Carolina. The amenities are adequate and the complimentary breakfast wasn't bad. Some downsides to staying here: it's about ten to fifteen minutes away from Charleston (which isn't all that bad), the walls are paper thin (we heard loud door slamming, loud talking, and other things that aren't very approbate for younger children), one of our queen beds had hair all over the sheets and pillows, the sides of the toilet wasn't cleaned, the fans are pretty loud, the room was dusty, and the staff are okay. Overall, if you're looking for something cheaper and just staying for two nights then it isn't a bad place to stay (Mount Pleasant also have some very good restaurants, including Page's Okra Grill). If you're looking for something a little more quiet and upscale, then I'd recommend staying in Charleston.

Front desk staff were rude. I had to wait 1 hour before I was let known that my AC would not be fixed as there is no maintenance staff available for that day. I was told I will be provided with keys to another room. Another half an hour goes by. I call the front desk 10 times. No one answers. I go down and wait. This lady comes out in another 10 minutes and hands me keys. I asked what's going on, she says she was in rest room all this time and they don't have anyone else on site to get me my keys. I see Jason next to her but looks like he won't answer any of her calls in her absence even though the phone is right next to him. 10 calls to the front desk and no one answers? I lost my respect towards Holiday Inn. I will take my business to Hamilton Inn.

Jr suite was very spacious, beds were super comfy and the breakfast buffet was really good.

The air conditioning unit in the room 224 was very loud.

Good. Breakfast was good clean hotel. The only negative was the pool water was freezing

(Holiday Inn Express - Mt. Pleasant, S.C. This was not what I expected for $280/night. The room was designed as a handicap room and bathroom commode was nasty. The rep, Mike was absolutely indifferent and unconcern. After paying $280 we ended up leaving after 15 minutes and would like a full refund. The rep came in and saw the toilet and in a smug manner stated that he would file it, not have someone clean but file it. This hotel and the accommodations sucked and I will never use either of these services again. RAS

Tyler at the front desk was very friendly and helpful!

This was a great hotel stay. The front desk staff was kind and helpful. They were quick to bring up a cot when we called for one. The breakfast area was plentiful and clean. Very pleased. When booking I was nervous it might be too far from the historic area, but it was only about a ten minute drive. Not bad at all. Would definitely stay here again!

I couldn't be happier with our stay. Hats off to Brittney for hooking me up with extra blankets and good old southern hospitality.

We went with family to spend 3 nights. 1. The room: it was definitively not for 4 persons, as reserved initially sofa bed is terrible, as you can feel the springs entering your back/body. We asked for an additional bed, which was provided after 2 requests. 2. Room service: the room was only cleaned once, and not cleaned properly. We constantly had to ask for additional towels. 3. The front desk person was always out of her work place you tried to call and no answer you went downstairs and she was not there. Had to wait for her to come back.

Stayed here because all city hotels were either booked or way too expensive due to an event going on during the weekend. Was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very comfortable, the staff was amazing- even charting out a route to get me around the marathon. She even sought me out to get the info to me and explain what she had figured out! The location is great just over the bridge, 8 minutes to the heart of the city. Will definitely stay here again.

Good location, out of city. Comfortable bed and amenities were comfortable. Nice nice nice staff!!

Staff friendly and accommodating. Breakfast fair but quick & easy. Nice pool.

Hotel was far from downtown area. Area was not walkable, difficult getting around.

Fine location - close to Charleston Information Center,, good restaurants in the immediate neighborhood - good price, great staff, clean and pleasant facilities, Wi-Fi very sporadic and computer in business center very out of date so it was difficult to keep up with my work

The good news, nice hotel in a good location at a good price...The desk staff was very professional and friendly BUT...the daily room cleaning was more miss than hit. Ever day the room was not cleaned until after 3PM. Our coffee service was never, restocked. I had to ask for a TP restock, and I was locked out the room 4 times in 5 days as the electronic lock on the door failed and was not really repaired during the stay. This was the first time in many years that I refused to tip the room cleaners when I checked out. So, a conundrum...so much was well done yet a few basics were lacking.

The location of this hotel was perfect! We had rented a car so driving to the historic district took about 7 minutes, Isle of the Palms about 10-15, the airport about 20. It was perfectly located. The room was clean and comfortable, the shower was great (I am a shower snob and this had every element of a great shower!), nice bathroom. The included breakfast was a huge plus. Delicious and plenty to select from. We had to check out early before the breakfast started one morning and they let us help ourselves to whatever was out already. The staff was also great. I would recommend this hotel to a friend and will definitely be coming back for another stay.

350 Johnnie Dodds Blvd Mount Pleasant SC

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Located within a mile (2 km) of Shem Creek Park, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt. Pleasant is within 2 miles (3 km) of USS Yorktown. This hotel has 116 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and a 24-hour fitness center. College of Charleston and Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge are also close to this Mount Pleasant hotel.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free buffet breakfast, served each morning from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

All 116 air-conditioned rooms feature microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 42-inch flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include free local calls, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

Guests staying at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt. Pleasant enjoy an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. There's free parking if you drive. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a meeting room, a business center, and express check-in.

Guest reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt. Pleasant

Everyone (11) Couples (31) Business (4) Family (32) Other (5) Friends (6)
4

convenient location

Everyone

Nice hotel close to Patriots Point, beaches and downtown

By on Apr 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 5, 2018

We are delighted you took advantage of our convenient location and hope to accommodate you again some time. Sincerely, Drue Ford General Manager

5
Everyone

Music at night at hotel entrance is too loud, otherwise all is fine

By on Apr 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 5, 2018

Thank you for the review and feedback. We will certainly take the music down a notch! Come see us again some time.

4
Everyone

The room was bigger than expected and very clean and fresh.

By on Mar 31, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2018

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback on your hotel stay. We're glad you enjoyed the room and hope you return again.

3

an okay stay.

Everyone

This hotel is a cheaper alternative to staying directly in Charleston, South Carolina. The amenities are adequate and the complimentary breakfast wasn't bad. Some downsides to staying here: it's about ten to fifteen minutes away from Charleston (which isn't all that bad), the walls are paper thin (we heard loud door slamming, loud talking, and other things that aren't very approbate for younger children), one of our queen beds had hair all over the sheets and pillows, the sides of the toilet wasn't cleaned, the fans are pretty loud, the room was dusty, and the staff are okay. Overall, if you're looking for something cheaper and just staying for two nights then it isn't a bad place to stay (Mount Pleasant also have some very good restaurants, including Page's Okra Grill). If you're looking for something a little more quiet and upscale, then I'd recommend staying in Charleston.

By , from NC on Jan 6, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 7, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and feedback with us. We are glad you found our location convenient. We will use your feedback to continuously enhance our services. Please contact me if I can help in any way. We hope to accommodate you again in the future to showcase our improvements.

3

a/c not working. had to wait 1hr to get shifted.

Everyone

Front desk staff were rude. I had to wait 1 hour before I was let known that my AC would not be fixed as there is no maintenance staff available for that day. I was told I will be provided with keys to another room. Another half an hour goes by. I call the front desk 10 times. No one answers. I go down and wait. This lady comes out in another 10 minutes and hands me keys. I asked what's going on, she says she was in rest room all this time and they don't have anyone else on site to get me my keys. I see Jason next to her but looks like he won't answer any of her calls in her absence even though the phone is right next to him. 10 calls to the front desk and no one answers? I lost my respect towards Holiday Inn. I will take my business to Hamilton Inn.

By , from New York, NY on Sep 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 15, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry you experienced this interruption during your stay and will immediately address your comments with our team.

5

nice hotel close to downtown area.

Everyone

Jr suite was very spacious, beds were super comfy and the breakfast buffet was really good.

By , from spartanburg sc on Jul 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 10, 2017

We appreciate your review!

4

easy access to charleston, wild dunes & mt pleasan

Everyone

The air conditioning unit in the room 224 was very loud.

By , from Carolina Shores, NC on Apr 7, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 10, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad are location was suitable and hope you will return in the future. We apologize about the noise issue in your room and appreciate you bringing it to our attention so we can correct it promptly. Best wishes.

4

nice hotel. close to restaurants and shopping.

Everyone

Good. Breakfast was good clean hotel. The only negative was the pool water was freezing

By , from illinois on Sep 26, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 2, 2016

Hello Suzanne, We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our property. We hope our Solar Heated Pool wasn't too cold for you. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, David W, Hotel Manager

1

this hotel was absolutely terrible.

Everyone
Residual fecal matter around toilet bowl Un leaned toilet bowl Uncleaned toilet bowl

(Holiday Inn Express - Mt. Pleasant, S.C. This was not what I expected for $280/night. The room was designed as a handicap room and bathroom commode was nasty. The rep, Mike was absolutely indifferent and unconcern. After paying $280 we ended up leaving after 15 minutes and would like a full refund. The rep came in and saw the toilet and in a smug manner stated that he would file it, not have someone clean but file it. This hotel and the accommodations sucked and I will never use either of these services again. RAS

By , from Jaxksonville, Fla. on Aug 7, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 1970

Hello Robert, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. I know you had spoken to our night auditor initially that you were dissatisfied with your room type. Along with your dissatisfaction of the toilet in the room. We do have staff on property 24 hours a day willing to help just as our night auditor offered to do so. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into, and corrections will be put in place. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, David W, Hotel Manager

4
Everyone

Tyler at the front desk was very friendly and helpful!

By on Apr 24, 2016

Review comment responded on May 3, 2016

Thank you so much for recognizing Tyler. She truly is an asset.