Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Southernmost Beach Resort

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

We have been to Key West before and like that the Southernmost is close to the beach. Also you can either take the Duval Loop Bus or walk into town. We are walkers so it wasn't a big deal to walk down Duval to either shops or night life.

RELAXING AND COMFORTABLE. STAFFF WAS HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY. FOOD AND DRINKS WERE GOOD AS WELL

A great location in beautiful Key West. We loved everything about it. We are already planning our next trip back to Key West and Southernmost Beach Resort!

Staff and amenities are great. Number 1 reason why I choose to stay at this location. Everyone is super friendly and helpful, and it's so nice to have 3 pools, 3 bars, a full restaurant and the beach all within shuffling distance.

Nice facilities, both the rooms and surrounding areas. Really great location, quite yet in walking distance from downtown party life.

We stay at the Southernmost Beach Resort each time we visit Key West. We have always stayed in the Partial Oceanview rooms with 2 queen beds. These rooms allow you to have a view of the ocean but just not the Oceanfront price! The rooms are very clean and the resort has everything for the whole family! You are close enough to Duval to enjoy that area when you want to.

Not what I was expecting for the price I paid. Our room door had a 1/4 inch gap, you could see daylight, the whole way around. On top of that we had to pay an extra $25 a night to park our car. The price I paid should definitely have included parking.

The staff was great Meghan at the front desk was awesome and so was Bryan!!

Nice place on the water-not much of a beach. We were in building B a partial view with balcony as that was all they had left. Was able to go to Ocean view building C which was not much of an upgrade. Rooms are very small and seem much poorer quality. Shower and toilet room is TINY. Food is good.

Everything was great but had to call at 3pm on a day or two to get my room cleaned.

Beautiful and huge resort. We were not pleased with our first room as it was located off the main lobby. We were traveling to Key West for our Babymoon so we were looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway and our “king with balcony” room was located just outside the main lobby where it was anything BUT peaceful. From all the bachelor parties and rowdy guests who were in town for spring break, we were not pleased. But we called to the front desk and explained our situation and Emily was super kind and helpful. She offered us an oceanfront upgrade at a discounted price. WELL WORTH THE PRICE! The ocean view was a complete game changer. Incrediblely comfy room with stellar views. It made our Babymoon that much more special to have the peaceful waves crashing as we slept and the spacious bathroom and floor plan to spread out. The resort Is super large with lots to do. The cafe was super yummy and it was nice to have ocean views while dining. The sand bar service was great. They were very speedy and genuinely nice. Key West isn’t known for great beaches so the beaches at Southernmost Beach Resort are great to get that private beach and ocean experience. Definitely will stay here again...but only with the ocean view upgrades.

The beach was very dirty. The only restaurant in the hotel was horrible and the beach side bar smelled like throw up. There was glass on by the shore. And you have to pay extra for every day amenities on top of your room price.

Our room was in a prime location, we loved everything about it. The staff was so nice, and the grounds were well maintained. The only minor flaw was the water for our shower was sometimes not very hot.

Perfect long weekend trip with my daughter. Room was comfortable and suited our needs. Large flat screen tv was a nice bonus - even though we spent most of the trip outdoors soaking up the sunshine. Pools were well kept and refreshing. Staff was very friendly, genuine and helpful. Definitely looking forward to a return trip.

The only thing that saddens me a little and concerns me a lot is the lack of recycling at this large resort. We were told by staff that they don't recycle. We found no recycling bins for our plastic water bottles that were left in our room daily. After visiting the Key West Aquarium and the Dolphin Research Center where we were told of the dangers of plastic, etc. to marine life, we were so disappointed to find that all those daily plastic bottles, etc. don't get recycled.

We had a blast ! Friendly staff, clean rooms and excellent customer service. We’ll definitely com again

They were very welcoming! They even surprised me with a birthday gift in my room. I highly recommend the service!

Had a great stay!had everything we needed close to everything I will definitely return

Good pool facilities and adjacent to pleasant public beach, including decent beach restaurant & bar. Room was unimpressive: one chair, limited lighting, faulty bathroom outlet, A/C never cycled off (faulty thermostat). Location is away from Duval Street nightlife and quiet, but an easy walk or bike ride to everywhere -- plus, free Duval Loop bus route stop on nearby corner.

Lovely place to stay. There are bikes to rent which adds a fun treat. The vista is exactly why this place is splendid.

1319 Duval Street Key West FL

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Southernmost Beach Resort places you next to South Beach and within a mile (2 km) of other popular attractions like Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park. This 261-room, 4-star hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers with 3 outdoor pools, a full-service spa, and a restaurant. Southernmost Point is 1.2 mi (1.9 km) from this centrally located Key West hotel.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Southernmost Beach Cafe, the hotel's onsite restaurant. For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 7 AM to 11:30 AM.


Rooms

The 261 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including refrigerators, coffee makers, and free local calls. Guests can expect flat-screen TVs with satellite channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and bathrobes, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. Other amenities include free bottled water, safes, and ironing boards.


Property features

Guests of Southernmost Beach Resort have access to a full-service spa, 3 outdoor pools, and a fitness center. Self parking is available for USD 26.88 per day. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a 24-hour business center.

Guest reviews for Southernmost Beach Resort

Everyone (74) Couples (97) Family (22) Other (5) Friends (10)
5

close to beach is a plus

Everyone

We have been to Key West before and like that the Southernmost is close to the beach. Also you can either take the Duval Loop Bus or walk into town. We are walkers so it wasn't a big deal to walk down Duval to either shops or night life.

By , from Virginia on Apr 18, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 20, 2018

Dear Dennis, Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am glad we could host your 5 star SOMO experience. Our 6 acre resort has found a quiet little home perfectly settled between Key West's stunning coastline and the famous Duval Street, a little something for everyone. We have the perfect location for all your exploring needs, but if your feet get a little tired from all the fun, stop by and see our concierge. A couple minutes with our Team, and you will be biking off into the sunset! We hope to see you again soon! Paradise is waiting! Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

5

awesome place to stay in key west

Everyone

RELAXING AND COMFORTABLE. STAFFF WAS HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY. FOOD AND DRINKS WERE GOOD AS WELL

By on Apr 17, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 17, 2018

Dear Traveler, Thank you for your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoy your trip as relaxing and comfortable. We are looking forward to your return to Southernmost Beach Resort. Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager mobabich@southernmostresorts.com

5
Everyone

A great location in beautiful Key West. We loved everything about it. We are already planning our next trip back to Key West and Southernmost Beach Resort!

By , from New Jersey on Apr 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 18, 2018

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I’m very happy to learn that you had such a nice time with us and had fun exploring Key West. We are looking forward to your next visit at Southernmost Beach Resort! Always at your service Matthew Babich General Manager mpbabich@southernmostresorts.com

5
Everyone

Staff and amenities are great. Number 1 reason why I choose to stay at this location. Everyone is super friendly and helpful, and it's so nice to have 3 pools, 3 bars, a full restaurant and the beach all within shuffling distance.

By on Apr 14, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 15, 2018

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your recent stay with us! I am delighted that you enjoyed your time. I am glad to see that the Southernmost Beach Resort was able to make our mark on your Key West memories. We like to think our staff and facilities really shine here on our sunny island. We hope to welcome you back to paradise again soon, there is another 5 star stay waiting for you! Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

5
Everyone

Nice facilities, both the rooms and surrounding areas. Really great location, quite yet in walking distance from downtown party life.

By on Apr 12, 2018

5

love the southernmost beach resort!!

Everyone

We stay at the Southernmost Beach Resort each time we visit Key West. We have always stayed in the Partial Oceanview rooms with 2 queen beds. These rooms allow you to have a view of the ocean but just not the Oceanfront price! The rooms are very clean and the resort has everything for the whole family! You are close enough to Duval to enjoy that area when you want to.

By on Apr 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 10, 2018

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for you kind review. I appreciate your feedback and tip on the room type. I hope you an your family continue to visit our lovely resort. We look forward to welcomeing you back soon. Always at your service, Matt Babich General Manager mpbabich@southernmostresorts.com

3
Everyone

Not what I was expecting for the price I paid. Our room door had a 1/4 inch gap, you could see daylight, the whole way around. On top of that we had to pay an extra $25 a night to park our car. The price I paid should definitely have included parking.

By on Apr 8, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 10, 2018

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am disappointed you did not find the value in our Resort. Although we do stay competitive in pricing with other great Resorts in our area, we are able to offer our guests great amenities that really set us apart. With three pools, 2 beaches, and endless activities such as, Beer School and Wine tastings - we really have a special property on this island. I do hope that you choose our Resort again in the future, I feel confident in saying we can host the 5 star SOMO experience our returning guests know and love. Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

5
Everyone

The staff was great Meghan at the front desk was awesome and so was Bryan!!

By on Apr 3, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 7, 2018

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am delighted Meghan and Brian were able to show you our exceptional customer service! We strive daily to create memorable experiences with our guests and it is great to see we made our mark! I hope we have another opportunity to treat you to a 5 star stay! Paradise is waiting! Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

4
Everyone

Nice place on the water-not much of a beach. We were in building B a partial view with balcony as that was all they had left. Was able to go to Ocean view building C which was not much of an upgrade. Rooms are very small and seem much poorer quality. Shower and toilet room is TINY. Food is good.

By on Apr 3, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 7, 2018

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your recent stay with us, it is great to see you enjoyed your Southernmost time! Although all of our room have been recently renovated, our 6 acres property boast many different room types and layouts to choose from. I am certain if you return to our Resort, we can get you the best room at the best price! Paradise is waiting! Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

5
Families

Everything was great but had to call at 3pm on a day or two to get my room cleaned.

By , from Milwaukee, WI on Mar 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 31, 2018

Dear Adam, Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed, but I regret to hear of the cleanliness issues you experienced. Although we wish every stay was flawless, I can assure you we use these opportunities to continue to improve our operation. I do hope that you chose our Resort again in the future. I feel confident in saying we do not repeat our mistakes, so there will be another 5 star experience waiting for you, without the 'hiccups!' Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager