Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Southernmost Beach Resort

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Enjoyed our stay. Staff was friendly, rooms clean. Resort is walking distance to many events, activities & restaurants

Fantastic old home charm (Dewey Inn) and pampering beyond our dreams. Just like a B&B, but with all the amenities of a big resort, beachfront, wonderful chef, and friendly staff hoping to please your every need. Privacy for adults only, and close to all activities...everything you could want. The only drawback was we had to go home. TY Tracy and Chef Jesse and Caraleene for a wonderful time. M&C

Friendly staff, and great hotel close to the beach.

nice rooms but place isn't like a resort. you're actually crossing streets and walking blocks to pools and beach. A.C. unit loud needed ear plugs. pictures advertised look nothing like it really is. staff is nice but so expensive. you can stay 3 nights at nice place for 1 night price there. NO ONE IS EVEN CHECKED TO SEE IF THEY'RE STAYING THERE. why pay 4-500 a night when anyone can enter any pool or beach. we met multiple people like we come here all the time. unbelievable

Staff were friendly and attentive. Facilities were clean and well-maintained. The room was too warm!

Accommodations are prestine and the staff works hard to provide a 5 star experience. It's location is close enough that you can walk to dinner, shopping, and entertainment. But it is far enough away that you can enjoy the peace and calmness of the ocean.

Had a great view from our ocean front suite. Very close to town and all Key West popular attractions and activities. All the oceanfront and pool staff including bartenders were very nice and helpful. The checkin process was slightly difficult for us, as they seemed to have lost our reservation. Oh well! They gave us a nice free upgrade! Overall a great place to stay.

Had a wonderful time at the Southernmost Resort. Very accommodating and friendly staff.

We stayed in the Dewey House (bed and breakfast) beachfront. The whole experience was special including the room, the great breakfasts, the beach & pool, and especially the inn keepers. Everyone was attentive which made for a very relaxing stay. Key West was great also with visits to the Truman White House, the Hemingway House, the butterfly conservancy, and the eco diversity center. I would certainly recommend the Southernmost Beach Resort.

When booking it shows it's a beach front property with a private beach. The catch is the property is large and there are rooms across the street which is where they had my room. Upon arrival I was very disappointed to find this out. I brought my mother & 90 yr old grandmother for Mother's Day, walking across to a beach obviously is a little challenging. Front desk was rude about the misleading Orbitz booking and told me my only option was to spend $60/per night to move to a room on the beach side. (Not ocean front) The beach is small and actually a public beach which was frustrating to find out as well. Rooms were very nice and clean and property was pretty and well maintained aside from my initial issues. At checkout the guy who checked me in obviously could see how frustrated I still was and offered to wave my parking and resort fees. I still find it very annoying that he couldn't be helpful from the beginning and let my whole trip and family be upset our stay.

Will stay here next time. Everyone was very nice and helpful.

My husband and I just returned from a 4-day stay at the Southernmost Beach Resort, and we couldn't have been happier! The location was PERFECT for us! We loved the fact that it was right on Duval Street but at the end. It has more of a "beach resort" atmosphere than the "crazy, loud, in-the-center-of-it-all" atmosphere you would get if you stayed right on Duval. After a fun night on the town, coming back to our beach resort always felt like coming home! The northernmost part of Duval is about a mile walk (so 2 miles up & back). The resort features 3 pools. One is near the beach with a view of the ocean. It has a pool bar and was the most "happening" of the 3. Another pool has a bar but is away from the beach and closer to the reception area. The 3rd one, the "Tranquility Pool," became our favorite. It was quiet and the least crowded with the most comfortable beach chairs I've ever lain in! There's no bar, but there is poolside service if you'd like someone to bring you a drink. There are plenty of umbrellas, so it's a good place to enjoy the gorgeous weather even if you've had enough sun for the day. I also can't say enough about the resort's Southernmost Beach Cafe. We went there at least 3 times during our stay- once for drinks & appetizers, once for brunch & once for dinner. All experiences were wonderful, but the dinner was the best surprise. It was among the best food we had during our trip, and it was right at our resort! (The Drunken Scallops are exceptional!)

We love Key West! This was our 4 th time there , can't wait to go back!

We stayed in the Dewey house, which is a more secluded part of the Southernmost Beach Resort. So charming, each morning waking up to an awesome breakfast. The four cheese and beer bread prepared by Chef Jessica was delicious. Every afternoon we had an awesome lunch, again every day a new adventure in delicious cuisine. They state that the afternoon is just snacks. Far from snack, it really is a great lunch. It was the charm and comfort of being in a quaint Bed and Breakfast, with all the amenities of being in a very elaborate 5 star hotel. Loved the beach right out the back door of the Dewey house. Felt pampered and serviced the entire time. Added bonus was that it was right at the end of Duval St., easy walking distance to all the area attractions and great restaurants and fun nightlife.

Great experience: You have to love a place at the bottom of the USA!

Amazing hotel, in great location. Service was super attentive and friendly. Great pools and beach.

We were very pleased with the location and services provided. Located at the quiet end of Duval, it was an easy walk to restaurants and some of the must see sights such as the southern most marker. Friendly staff and charming decor made this a wonderful visit for us.

Our room was so small for the 6 of us that my legs are COMPLETELY bruised from ramming into the bed frames to get to the bathroom. They had no other bigger room to accomodate us so we asked for a cot which WE had to pay $20 every night. On our 2nd night, the hotel maid took our drinking glasses and we never saw them again. Called down at the desk to see if we could get a book of matches and our drinking glasses back and he said point blank, "We'll see what we can do" In all fairness our maids did tidy the room up, although we kept having to ask for toilet paper and more towels, as though they were paying for it. As far as the bar goes, Heather was the ONLY bartender that always went beyond to get us our drinks and actually remembered what we drank. The other bartender women were discriminating towards women.They would actually ignore serving me and my daughters because they thought we wouldn't tip like the rich high rollers they were really being so attentive to! I then started sending my boyfriend to get drinks and he was always served right away! Wow. I swear to you that I'm an EXTREMELY appreciative and easy going person, but this hotel was way over priced for the lack of customer services there were.

Only thing I found annoying was an added amenities charge for the use of beach chairs and other niceties. Otherwise the location can't be beat. Our room was one of their least expensive and I'd say it was perfect for us. I loved being so close to this end of Duval Street and walking distance to nearly everything. Wi-fi was good. Nice TV and delicious cold water available (sometimes with lemon) in the hotel lobby and near the pools. Three very nice pools including a smaller peaceful pool--reserved for adults. Staff was mostly friendly and helpful especially after a minor biking accident. Kaleb was the best! We ended up renting bikes from across the street where they rented for 24 hours as opposed to the end of that day.

My husband and I stayed here for four nights the week before Christmas for a little "babymoon". We arrived around noon and our room wasn't ready yet, but Luis at the front desk upgraded us so we could get into a room right away. We ended up on the third floor in building D and it was a partial ocean view...perfect! The room was very nice, bed was comfy and huge shower was a bonus. Our cable went out one night and the maintenance crew couldn't have been nicer and more professional. The grounds were clean and well maintained. There is a small beach adjacent to the property which we used one day. The hotel is on the quiet end of Duval, right around the corner from a few great places to eat. We walked to breakfast and lunch several times. We never ate on property, although if they had room service we may have. The only complaint was the rooster crowing at all hours of the night outside our building! This isn't the hotel's fault obviously. Overall, it was a great stay and we would definitely return!

1319 Duval Street Key West FL

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Southernmost Beach Resort places you next to South Beach and within a mile (2 km) of other popular attractions like Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park. This 261-room, 4-star hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers with 3 outdoor pools, a full-service spa, and a restaurant. Southernmost Point is 1.2 mi (1.9 km) from this centrally located Key West hotel.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Southernmost Beach Cafe, the hotel's onsite restaurant. Start each morning with cooked-to-order breakfast, available for a fee from 7 AM to 11:30 AM.


Rooms

The 261 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including refrigerators, coffee makers, and free local calls. Guests can expect flat-screen TVs with satellite channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and bathrobes, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. Other amenities include free bottled water, safes, and ironing boards.


Property features

Guests of Southernmost Beach Resort have access to a full-service spa, 3 outdoor pools, and a fitness center. Self parking is available for USD 26.88 per day. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Deluxe 1 King Balcony

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Pool View 1 King Balcony

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Superior Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Southernmost Beach Resort

Everyone (39) Couples (97) Family (20) Other (5) Friends (10)
5

close to many activities

Everyone

Enjoyed our stay. Staff was friendly, rooms clean. Resort is walking distance to many events, activities & restaurants

By , from Sacramento, CA on Jul 19, 2017

5

beautiful inn on the beachfront-southernmost beach

Everyone

Fantastic old home charm (Dewey Inn) and pampering beyond our dreams. Just like a B&B, but with all the amenities of a big resort, beachfront, wonderful chef, and friendly staff hoping to please your every need. Privacy for adults only, and close to all activities...everything you could want. The only drawback was we had to go home. TY Tracy and Chef Jesse and Caraleene for a wonderful time. M&C

By , from Missouri on Jul 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 15, 2017

Dear Mike, Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am glad you found Paradise at the Southernmost Beach Resort. It is always a good sign when you have to try hard to think of something negative. We strive to make every stay flawless and I am glad to see we made our mark! The Historic B & B houses on property really are a special experience. I mean how often do you get a private chef? There seems to be a common sentiment when our guests check out, they all want more SOMO! Make sure to hurry back, I know Tracy and the Team would love to see you again! Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

5

friendly staff, and great hotel close to the beach

Everyone

Friendly staff, and great hotel close to the beach.

By on Jul 7, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2017

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your 5star rating and your kind words about our staff. Although partial, I'd have to say we have the nicest Team on the Island! As you pointed out our hotel has found a quiet little home perfect settled between Key West's beautiful coastline, and the famous Duval street. We have a little something for everyone to enjoy! If there is one thing we know about a SOMO stay, it is impossible to fit it all in on one trip, so we will look forward to your return to Paradise! Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

3

overpriced. nice rooms but not worth money

Everyone

nice rooms but place isn't like a resort. you're actually crossing streets and walking blocks to pools and beach. A.C. unit loud needed ear plugs. pictures advertised look nothing like it really is. staff is nice but so expensive. you can stay 3 nights at nice place for 1 night price there. NO ONE IS EVEN CHECKED TO SEE IF THEY'RE STAYING THERE. why pay 4-500 a night when anyone can enter any pool or beach. we met multiple people like we come here all the time. unbelievable

By on Jul 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 8, 2017

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your recent stay with us. I apologize you were disappointed in your experience. Our pool staff does constantly monitor our pool area to ensure our amenities are only being used by Resort guests, unfortunately it sounds like a couple people were able to fly under the radar. With your feedback we are able to look at this process and see where we can improve. We do offer amazing seasonal specials, so if you decide to give our Resort another try, I am certain we could show you a true SOMO stay! Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

5

staff and facilities

Everyone

Staff were friendly and attentive. Facilities were clean and well-maintained. The room was too warm!

By , from Kansas City MO on Jul 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 11, 2017

Dear Nancy, Thank you for your recent stay at the Southernmost Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! I apologize that your air conditioning was having trouble keeping up with our tropical heat! We always ensure all of our amenities are in top working order, so please know that I have sent our Engineering Team to look into this. If there is one thing we know about a SOMO stay, it always leaves our guests wanting more! There is another 5 star stay waiting for you in Paradise! Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

4

luxury hotel located at the quiet end of duval st.

Everyone

Accommodations are prestine and the staff works hard to provide a 5 star experience. It's location is close enough that you can walk to dinner, shopping, and entertainment. But it is far enough away that you can enjoy the peace and calmness of the ocean.

By , from Texas on Jul 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 11, 2017

Dear Girls Group, Thank you for your recent stay with us! I am glad you and the girls enjoyed! From your review it seems like you took full advantage of all the fun Key West has to offer. Our Resort sits on the quieter end of Duval, just steps away from all the shopping, restaurants, and fun! For all your biking and scooter needs, our Concierge has the best hook ups in town, just a couple minutes with them and you'll be pedaling off into the sunset! We look forward to welcoming you back for a 5 star SOMO experience! PS - Thank you for your beautiful travel photos! Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

5

great location!

Everyone

Had a great view from our ocean front suite. Very close to town and all Key West popular attractions and activities. All the oceanfront and pool staff including bartenders were very nice and helpful. The checkin process was slightly difficult for us, as they seemed to have lost our reservation. Oh well! They gave us a nice free upgrade! Overall a great place to stay.

By , from Toronto on Jun 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 3, 2017

Dear Chelsea, Thank you for your 5 star review! I am glad to see you found your Key West Paradise! From your review it looks like you took full advantage of all our Resort has to offer. Sorry to hear about the difficulty you had checking in, but I am glad our staff was able to resolve it quickly for you. Those ocean view rooms really are priceless! If you find yourself in need of a little rest and relaxation, we will be here to welcome you back with open arms! We hope to see you soon! Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

5

very convenient location.

Everyone

Had a wonderful time at the Southernmost Resort. Very accommodating and friendly staff.

By , from Herndon, VA on Jun 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 3, 2017

Dear Jim, Thank you for your recent stay with us and your gracious review. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. If there is one thing we know about a SOMO stay, it is impossible to fit it all in with one trip! We look forward to welcoming you back for another 5 star stay! Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

5

great hotel - great location!

Everyone

We stayed in the Dewey House (bed and breakfast) beachfront. The whole experience was special including the room, the great breakfasts, the beach & pool, and especially the inn keepers. Everyone was attentive which made for a very relaxing stay. Key West was great also with visits to the Truman White House, the Hemingway House, the butterfly conservancy, and the eco diversity center. I would certainly recommend the Southernmost Beach Resort.

By , from Atlanta, GA on Jun 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 1, 2017

Dear Bob, Thank you for your 5 star review! I am delighted we were able to host your "fantastic experience!" We are very lucky to be able to offer our guest our Historic B&B Houses. From your review it seems like you took full advantage of all our resort has to offer, that's great! We appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to showing your friends and family the same 5 star service. Make sure to join them so you don't miss our on all the fun and excitement Key West has to offer. Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

4

nice hotel but....

Everyone

When booking it shows it's a beach front property with a private beach. The catch is the property is large and there are rooms across the street which is where they had my room. Upon arrival I was very disappointed to find this out. I brought my mother & 90 yr old grandmother for Mother's Day, walking across to a beach obviously is a little challenging. Front desk was rude about the misleading Orbitz booking and told me my only option was to spend $60/per night to move to a room on the beach side. (Not ocean front) The beach is small and actually a public beach which was frustrating to find out as well. Rooms were very nice and clean and property was pretty and well maintained aside from my initial issues. At checkout the guy who checked me in obviously could see how frustrated I still was and offered to wave my parking and resort fees. I still find it very annoying that he couldn't be helpful from the beginning and let my whole trip and family be upset our stay.

By on May 18, 2017

Review comment responded on May 24, 2017

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your recent stay and review of our Resort. I would like to apologize for some of the challenges you had while staying with us. We try to be as upfront as possible with all reservation information and clearly we fell short. You have highlighted multiple areas of opportunity so for that I thank you. Your feedback was given to our Department Managers to see what we can do to prevent these instances from occurring in the future. Our guests are our eyes and ears and we would not be good at what we do if we were not here to listen and act. I assure you that your experience was not typical and I am confident if you choose to return to our resort, we will be able to show you a true 5 star stay! We hope to welcome you back soon! Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager