Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Southernmost Beach Resort

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

When booking it shows it's a beach front property with a private beach. The catch is the property is large and there are rooms across the street which is where they had my room. Upon arrival I was very disappointed to find this out. I brought my mother & 90 yr old grandmother for Mother's Day, walking across to a beach obviously is a little challenging. Front desk was rude about the misleading Orbitz booking and told me my only option was to spend $60/per night to move to a room on the beach side. (Not ocean front) The beach is small and actually a public beach which was frustrating to find out as well. Rooms were very nice and clean and property was pretty and well maintained aside from my initial issues. At checkout the guy who checked me in obviously could see how frustrated I still was and offered to wave my parking and resort fees. I still find it very annoying that he couldn't be helpful from the beginning and let my whole trip and family be upset our stay.

Will stay here next time. Everyone was very nice and helpful.

My husband and I just returned from a 4-day stay at the Southernmost Beach Resort, and we couldn't have been happier! The location was PERFECT for us! We loved the fact that it was right on Duval Street but at the end. It has more of a "beach resort" atmosphere than the "crazy, loud, in-the-center-of-it-all" atmosphere you would get if you stayed right on Duval. After a fun night on the town, coming back to our beach resort always felt like coming home! The northernmost part of Duval is about a mile walk (so 2 miles up & back). The resort features 3 pools. One is near the beach with a view of the ocean. It has a pool bar and was the most "happening" of the 3. Another pool has a bar but is away from the beach and closer to the reception area. The 3rd one, the "Tranquility Pool," became our favorite. It was quiet and the least crowded with the most comfortable beach chairs I've ever lain in! There's no bar, but there is poolside service if you'd like someone to bring you a drink. There are plenty of umbrellas, so it's a good place to enjoy the gorgeous weather even if you've had enough sun for the day. I also can't say enough about the resort's Southernmost Beach Cafe. We went there at least 3 times during our stay- once for drinks & appetizers, once for brunch & once for dinner. All experiences were wonderful, but the dinner was the best surprise. It was among the best food we had during our trip, and it was right at our resort! (The Drunken Scallops are exceptional!)

We love Key West! This was our 4 th time there , can't wait to go back!

We stayed in the Dewey house, which is a more secluded part of the Southernmost Beach Resort. So charming, each morning waking up to an awesome breakfast. The four cheese and beer bread prepared by Chef Jessica was delicious. Every afternoon we had an awesome lunch, again every day a new adventure in delicious cuisine. They state that the afternoon is just snacks. Far from snack, it really is a great lunch. It was the charm and comfort of being in a quaint Bed and Breakfast, with all the amenities of being in a very elaborate 5 star hotel. Loved the beach right out the back door of the Dewey house. Felt pampered and serviced the entire time. Added bonus was that it was right at the end of Duval St., easy walking distance to all the area attractions and great restaurants and fun nightlife.

Great experience: You have to love a place at the bottom of the USA!

Amazing hotel, in great location. Service was super attentive and friendly. Great pools and beach.

We were very pleased with the location and services provided. Located at the quiet end of Duval, it was an easy walk to restaurants and some of the must see sights such as the southern most marker. Friendly staff and charming decor made this a wonderful visit for us.

Our room was so small for the 6 of us that my legs are COMPLETELY bruised from ramming into the bed frames to get to the bathroom. They had no other bigger room to accomodate us so we asked for a cot which WE had to pay $20 every night. On our 2nd night, the hotel maid took our drinking glasses and we never saw them again. Called down at the desk to see if we could get a book of matches and our drinking glasses back and he said point blank, "We'll see what we can do" In all fairness our maids did tidy the room up, although we kept having to ask for toilet paper and more towels, as though they were paying for it. As far as the bar goes, Heather was the ONLY bartender that always went beyond to get us our drinks and actually remembered what we drank. The other bartender women were discriminating towards women.They would actually ignore serving me and my daughters because they thought we wouldn't tip like the rich high rollers they were really being so attentive to! I then started sending my boyfriend to get drinks and he was always served right away! Wow. I swear to you that I'm an EXTREMELY appreciative and easy going person, but this hotel was way over priced for the lack of customer services there were.

Only thing I found annoying was an added amenities charge for the use of beach chairs and other niceties. Otherwise the location can't be beat. Our room was one of their least expensive and I'd say it was perfect for us. I loved being so close to this end of Duval Street and walking distance to nearly everything. Wi-fi was good. Nice TV and delicious cold water available (sometimes with lemon) in the hotel lobby and near the pools. Three very nice pools including a smaller peaceful pool--reserved for adults. Staff was mostly friendly and helpful especially after a minor biking accident. Kaleb was the best! We ended up renting bikes from across the street where they rented for 24 hours as opposed to the end of that day.

My husband and I stayed here for four nights the week before Christmas for a little "babymoon". We arrived around noon and our room wasn't ready yet, but Luis at the front desk upgraded us so we could get into a room right away. We ended up on the third floor in building D and it was a partial ocean view...perfect! The room was very nice, bed was comfy and huge shower was a bonus. Our cable went out one night and the maintenance crew couldn't have been nicer and more professional. The grounds were clean and well maintained. There is a small beach adjacent to the property which we used one day. The hotel is on the quiet end of Duval, right around the corner from a few great places to eat. We walked to breakfast and lunch several times. We never ate on property, although if they had room service we may have. The only complaint was the rooster crowing at all hours of the night outside our building! This isn't the hotel's fault obviously. Overall, it was a great stay and we would definitely return!

Hotel staff was rude. The room was a deluxe king. It was stuffy and the only window was the front of the room which was situated like a motel. So it was uncomfortable to open the window.

The hotel and employees were wonderful. It was in a convenient location, close to many attractions. The pools, restaurant and private beach were great. We stayed in the gingerbread section and the only thing I would change is the runner rug going up the stairs to our room it was a little dingy, also the hallway leading up to our room wasn't really ventilated so when it would get hot it smelled a little muggy so I think there should be better air ventilation. Other then that the hotel was wonderful and I would definitely go again.

Average resort. A bit overpriced. Huge sprawling property. Close to southernmost point (obviously) but not walkable to much else.

I stayed there to work with the MOTM event, and it was work not pleasure , and I am planning to come back soon because I love the place.

Charged me twice for the same room and would not refund me once. Worst customer service, Keri is Terrible at her job and all around awful check in and experience. Filing dispute with my bank. EJ is a nice guy though

When we told them about our anniversary they gave us some comps.

Staff were very quick to respond to requests and were very professional. Loved everything this hotel had to offer. Most favorite part was opening our door and seeing the ocean! I would recommend everyone take advantage of renting their bicycles. We rented them for the week at a very low price. So many things to do: lots of water sports, poolside games, aqua yoga, fitness center, hammocks to sun bath on, several ocean side viewing spots, poolside bar and many wild chickens, lizards and iguanas roaming around! LOVED our experience!!

Well run and staffed, would recommend. nice restaurant and use of facilities including snorkeling gear and beach set up included

Probably the nicest hotel staff we've ever met on vacation or back home. The hotel itself was great too, great location, on the ocean AND three pools with bars. Even with all the amenities, it was quiet and relaxing too! We would definitely recommend this hotel To others and we're already talking about our next trip.

1319 Duval Street Key West FL

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Southernmost Beach Resort places you next to South Beach and within a mile (2 km) of other popular attractions like Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park. This 261-room, 4-star hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers with 3 outdoor pools, a full-service spa, and a restaurant. Southernmost Point is 1.2 mi (1.9 km) from this centrally located Key West hotel.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Southernmost Beach Cafe, the hotel's onsite restaurant. Start each morning with cooked-to-order breakfast, available for a fee from 7 AM to 11:30 AM.


Rooms

The 261 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including refrigerators, coffee makers, and free local calls. Guests can expect flat-screen TVs with satellite channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and bathrobes, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. Other amenities include free bottled water, safes, and ironing boards.


Property features

Guests of Southernmost Beach Resort have access to a full-service spa, 3 outdoor pools, and a fitness center. Self parking is available for USD 26.88 per day. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Deluxe 1 King Balcony

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Pool View 1 King Balcony

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Superior Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Southernmost Beach Resort

Everyone (30) Couples (97) Family (20) Other (5) Friends (10)
4

nice hotel but....

Everyone

When booking it shows it's a beach front property with a private beach. The catch is the property is large and there are rooms across the street which is where they had my room. Upon arrival I was very disappointed to find this out. I brought my mother & 90 yr old grandmother for Mother's Day, walking across to a beach obviously is a little challenging. Front desk was rude about the misleading Orbitz booking and told me my only option was to spend $60/per night to move to a room on the beach side. (Not ocean front) The beach is small and actually a public beach which was frustrating to find out as well. Rooms were very nice and clean and property was pretty and well maintained aside from my initial issues. At checkout the guy who checked me in obviously could see how frustrated I still was and offered to wave my parking and resort fees. I still find it very annoying that he couldn't be helpful from the beginning and let my whole trip and family be upset our stay.

By on May 18, 2017

Review comment responded on May 24, 2017

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your recent stay and review of our Resort. I would like to apologize for some of the challenges you had while staying with us. We try to be as upfront as possible with all reservation information and clearly we fell short. You have highlighted multiple areas of opportunity so for that I thank you. Your feedback was given to our Department Managers to see what we can do to prevent these instances from occurring in the future. Our guests are our eyes and ears and we would not be good at what we do if we were not here to listen and act. I assure you that your experience was not typical and I am confident if you choose to return to our resort, we will be able to show you a true 5 star stay! We hope to welcome you back soon! Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

5

love love love

Everyone

Will stay here next time. Everyone was very nice and helpful.

By on May 16, 2017

5

perfect accommodations, no matter your mood

Everyone
View from our room overlooking the resort's private beach

My husband and I just returned from a 4-day stay at the Southernmost Beach Resort, and we couldn't have been happier! The location was PERFECT for us! We loved the fact that it was right on Duval Street but at the end. It has more of a "beach resort" atmosphere than the "crazy, loud, in-the-center-of-it-all" atmosphere you would get if you stayed right on Duval. After a fun night on the town, coming back to our beach resort always felt like coming home! The northernmost part of Duval is about a mile walk (so 2 miles up & back). The resort features 3 pools. One is near the beach with a view of the ocean. It has a pool bar and was the most "happening" of the 3. Another pool has a bar but is away from the beach and closer to the reception area. The 3rd one, the "Tranquility Pool," became our favorite. It was quiet and the least crowded with the most comfortable beach chairs I've ever lain in! There's no bar, but there is poolside service if you'd like someone to bring you a drink. There are plenty of umbrellas, so it's a good place to enjoy the gorgeous weather even if you've had enough sun for the day. I also can't say enough about the resort's Southernmost Beach Cafe. We went there at least 3 times during our stay- once for drinks & appetizers, once for brunch & once for dinner. All experiences were wonderful, but the dinner was the best surprise. It was among the best food we had during our trip, and it was right at our resort! (The Drunken Scallops are exceptional!)

By , from Columbus, OH on May 10, 2017

Review comment responded on May 14, 2017

Dear LndsayMK, Thank you for your recent stay, we are thrilled we could host your 5 star experience. You gave some great travel tips for our future guests, thank you! I glad you found our location to be "perfect!" Our little Resort calls home to 6 acres right in the middle of Key West's beautiful coastline and the famous Duval Street! With the endless activities on property, its hard to find a need to leave. However, if you feel the need to explore, our concierge team can get you all set up with bike or scooter rentals! I am glad you and your party were able to 'take full advantage of all our resort has to offer! We look forward to hosting you next trip to Paradise! We hope to see you soon, there is more fun to be had! P.S. thank you for posting your beautiful photo! Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

5

beautiful resort on the beach, great pools!

Everyone

We love Key West! This was our 4 th time there , can't wait to go back!

By on May 4, 2017

Review comment responded on May 14, 2017

Dear Anonymous, Wow! Thank you for your loyalty! We love when our guest enjoy Key West and our Resort just as much as we do! With 3 pools, 3 restaurant/bars, and endless activities, it impossible to fit it all in! If there is one thing about a SOMO stay, we always leave our guests wanting more! We look forward to hosting your 5th stay! We guarantee it will be another 5 star experience! Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

5

perfect key west get away

Everyone

We stayed in the Dewey house, which is a more secluded part of the Southernmost Beach Resort. So charming, each morning waking up to an awesome breakfast. The four cheese and beer bread prepared by Chef Jessica was delicious. Every afternoon we had an awesome lunch, again every day a new adventure in delicious cuisine. They state that the afternoon is just snacks. Far from snack, it really is a great lunch. It was the charm and comfort of being in a quaint Bed and Breakfast, with all the amenities of being in a very elaborate 5 star hotel. Loved the beach right out the back door of the Dewey house. Felt pampered and serviced the entire time. Added bonus was that it was right at the end of Duval St., easy walking distance to all the area attractions and great restaurants and fun nightlife.

By , from Tampa, FL on Apr 29, 2017

Review comment responded on May 14, 2017

Dear The Newman's, I am so glad we could host your perfect Key West get a way! We feel very lucky to have our Historic B&B's on property, they really are a special experience! I mean how often do you get a private chef? Between the breakfast and the lunch spread, Chef Jessica puts a lot of thought into her offerings and she will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed! Our staff strives everyday to provide exceptional customer service to all of our guests and I am glad we made our goal! Next time your in need of a little rest and pampering, come back and see us! I know Chef Jessica and the rest of the Dewey house team will be excited to see you! Always at your service, Matthew Babich General Manager

5
Everyone

Great experience: You have to love a place at the bottom of the USA!

By on Mar 31, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 5, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for the kind review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Always at your service, Matt Babich General Manager

5

best hotel in key west

Couples

Amazing hotel, in great location. Service was super attentive and friendly. Great pools and beach.

By on Mar 25, 2017

5

great location!

Everyone

We were very pleased with the location and services provided. Located at the quiet end of Duval, it was an easy walk to restaurants and some of the must see sights such as the southern most marker. Friendly staff and charming decor made this a wonderful visit for us.

By on Mar 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 25, 2017

Dear Traveler, Thank you for filling out a 5 Star review about your recent visit to the Southernmost Beach Resort. We would love to welcome you back soon for another wonderful stay. Always at your service, Matt Babich General Manager

2

overpriced and nothing great

Everyone

Our room was so small for the 6 of us that my legs are COMPLETELY bruised from ramming into the bed frames to get to the bathroom. They had no other bigger room to accomodate us so we asked for a cot which WE had to pay $20 every night. On our 2nd night, the hotel maid took our drinking glasses and we never saw them again. Called down at the desk to see if we could get a book of matches and our drinking glasses back and he said point blank, "We'll see what we can do" In all fairness our maids did tidy the room up, although we kept having to ask for toilet paper and more towels, as though they were paying for it. As far as the bar goes, Heather was the ONLY bartender that always went beyond to get us our drinks and actually remembered what we drank. The other bartender women were discriminating towards women.They would actually ignore serving me and my daughters because they thought we wouldn't tip like the rich high rollers they were really being so attentive to! I then started sending my boyfriend to get drinks and he was always served right away! Wow. I swear to you that I'm an EXTREMELY appreciative and easy going person, but this hotel was way over priced for the lack of customer services there were.

By , from Twinsburg, Ohio on Mar 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 12, 2017

Thank you Laurie for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Our rooms are only meant to accommodate 4 guests as the largest we equip them with are 2 queen beds. We do ask that each guest is registered with our front desk and would have asked you to reserve a 2nd room to ensure you were all comfortable in your stay. I also apologize that you receive inconsistent service with our housekeeping and pool bar service; our goal is for every guest to receive exceptional customer service. Please note, our rooms, patios, balconies and pool areas are all non-smoking, we encourage our smoking guests to refrain from these areas. We value our guests' feedback, both positive and constructive and appreciate you sharing your experience.

5

sprawling complex near duval and a beach

Everyone

Only thing I found annoying was an added amenities charge for the use of beach chairs and other niceties. Otherwise the location can't be beat. Our room was one of their least expensive and I'd say it was perfect for us. I loved being so close to this end of Duval Street and walking distance to nearly everything. Wi-fi was good. Nice TV and delicious cold water available (sometimes with lemon) in the hotel lobby and near the pools. Three very nice pools including a smaller peaceful pool--reserved for adults. Staff was mostly friendly and helpful especially after a minor biking accident. Kaleb was the best! We ended up renting bikes from across the street where they rented for 24 hours as opposed to the end of that day.

By , from New York on Dec 29, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 25, 2017

Dear Mom, Thank you for your sharing your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your trip. Spanning over 6 acres, we offer many different room types to accommodate a variety of preferences for everyone, I am glad we were able to find you a room that best suited your needs. I appreciate your kind words for our staff, especially Kaleb, and will be sure to share your comments with all. Thank you again for sharing your review and for your 5 star rating. I hope we will have the opportunity to host you again.