Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Southernmost Beach Resort

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Amazing hotel, in great location. Service was super attentive and friendly. Great pools and beach.

We were very pleased with the location and services provided. Located at the quiet end of Duval, it was an easy walk to restaurants and some of the must see sights such as the southern most marker. Friendly staff and charming decor made this a wonderful visit for us.

Our room was so small for the 6 of us that my legs are COMPLETELY bruised from ramming into the bed frames to get to the bathroom. They had no other bigger room to accomodate us so we asked for a cot which WE had to pay $20 every night. On our 2nd night, the hotel maid took our drinking glasses and we never saw them again. Called down at the desk to see if we could get a book of matches and our drinking glasses back and he said point blank, "We'll see what we can do" In all fairness our maids did tidy the room up, although we kept having to ask for toilet paper and more towels, as though they were paying for it. As far as the bar goes, Heather was the ONLY bartender that always went beyond to get us our drinks and actually remembered what we drank. The other bartender women were discriminating towards women.They would actually ignore serving me and my daughters because they thought we wouldn't tip like the rich high rollers they were really being so attentive to! I then started sending my boyfriend to get drinks and he was always served right away! Wow. I swear to you that I'm an EXTREMELY appreciative and easy going person, but this hotel was way over priced for the lack of customer services there were.

Only thing I found annoying was an added amenities charge for the use of beach chairs and other niceties. Otherwise the location can't be beat. Our room was one of their least expensive and I'd say it was perfect for us. I loved being so close to this end of Duval Street and walking distance to nearly everything. Wi-fi was good. Nice TV and delicious cold water available (sometimes with lemon) in the hotel lobby and near the pools. Three very nice pools including a smaller peaceful pool--reserved for adults. Staff was mostly friendly and helpful especially after a minor biking accident. Kaleb was the best! We ended up renting bikes from across the street where they rented for 24 hours as opposed to the end of that day.

My husband and I stayed here for four nights the week before Christmas for a little "babymoon". We arrived around noon and our room wasn't ready yet, but Luis at the front desk upgraded us so we could get into a room right away. We ended up on the third floor in building D and it was a partial ocean view...perfect! The room was very nice, bed was comfy and huge shower was a bonus. Our cable went out one night and the maintenance crew couldn't have been nicer and more professional. The grounds were clean and well maintained. There is a small beach adjacent to the property which we used one day. The hotel is on the quiet end of Duval, right around the corner from a few great places to eat. We walked to breakfast and lunch several times. We never ate on property, although if they had room service we may have. The only complaint was the rooster crowing at all hours of the night outside our building! This isn't the hotel's fault obviously. Overall, it was a great stay and we would definitely return!

Hotel staff was rude. The room was a deluxe king. It was stuffy and the only window was the front of the room which was situated like a motel. So it was uncomfortable to open the window.

The hotel and employees were wonderful. It was in a convenient location, close to many attractions. The pools, restaurant and private beach were great. We stayed in the gingerbread section and the only thing I would change is the runner rug going up the stairs to our room it was a little dingy, also the hallway leading up to our room wasn't really ventilated so when it would get hot it smelled a little muggy so I think there should be better air ventilation. Other then that the hotel was wonderful and I would definitely go again.

Average resort. A bit overpriced. Huge sprawling property. Close to southernmost point (obviously) but not walkable to much else.

I stayed there to work with the MOTM event, and it was work not pleasure , and I am planning to come back soon because I love the place.

Charged me twice for the same room and would not refund me once. Worst customer service, Keri is Terrible at her job and all around awful check in and experience. Filing dispute with my bank. EJ is a nice guy though

When we told them about our anniversary they gave us some comps.

Staff were very quick to respond to requests and were very professional. Loved everything this hotel had to offer. Most favorite part was opening our door and seeing the ocean! I would recommend everyone take advantage of renting their bicycles. We rented them for the week at a very low price. So many things to do: lots of water sports, poolside games, aqua yoga, fitness center, hammocks to sun bath on, several ocean side viewing spots, poolside bar and many wild chickens, lizards and iguanas roaming around! LOVED our experience!!

Well run and staffed, would recommend. nice restaurant and use of facilities including snorkeling gear and beach set up included

Probably the nicest hotel staff we've ever met on vacation or back home. The hotel itself was great too, great location, on the ocean AND three pools with bars. Even with all the amenities, it was quiet and relaxing too! We would definitely recommend this hotel To others and we're already talking about our next trip.

My husband and I absolutely love this resort and all its amenities. The pools are clean, bars are stocked, and rooms are pristine (and I'm a clean-freak). My mom had an issue with her room that was immediately rectified. Everyone from the front desk clerks, facilities management, to the housekeepers were very accommodating. The only thing I would change would be the pillows, as I like a firmer pillow, but may just be a personal preference. This is mostly a resort for adults but children are welcome here too; those that were here were very respectful. We will definitely be returning!

Very clean and staff is extremely accomadating. Great locating to be on the beach or quickly get to Duval Street. I would stay here again in a minute!

Absolutely not what I was expecting. I researched online and thought it was one of the nicer resorts in Key West. It is not. It is a giant property that looks like an apartment complex. It has 3 tiny pools. It is not a place to relax and enjoy. The drinks at the bars are so bad you will not want to stay poolside, if you can even find a chair. The front desk and housekeeping staff are very nice. The beach is a small square of sand outside of the resort area. You cannot walk down the beach and enjoy the ocean. It is on the opposite end of town where all restaurants are. You will have to walk very far every day to go eat or take a taxi. You will not want to stay on property to eat and drink.

We were in town for a friends wedding and we chose this resort based on location, beach Access and amenities. Would recommend to others.

The group of rooms that we stayed in were very nice, BUT they should let people know ahead of time that their aren't any elevators in this particular set of rooms. It was only one flight of stairs but with a bum knee it was painful every step. The POOLS were awesome. Its a good little hike to get to the hustle and bustle of Duval Street. This is at the quiet end of things. The little beach café was very convenient and had a nice array of great food, we liked everything we tried. The beach was small BUT beaches seem to be hard to come by within walking distance. Get their early for a good seat. We had a GREAT time. Can't wait to come back.

Laundry machine make a environment worse So We could not sleep well Somebody wash close until midnight

1319 Duval Street Key West FL

Southernmost Beach Resort places you next to South Beach and within a mile (2 km) of other popular attractions like Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park. This 261-room, 4-star hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers with 3 outdoor pools, a full-service spa, and a restaurant. Southernmost Point is 1.2 mi (1.9 km) from this centrally located Key West hotel.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Southernmost Beach Cafe, the hotel's onsite restaurant. Start each morning with cooked-to-order breakfast, available for a fee from 7 AM to 11:30 AM.


Rooms

The 261 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including refrigerators, coffee makers, and free local calls. Guests can expect flat-screen TVs with satellite channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and bathrobes, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. Other amenities include free bottled water, safes, and ironing boards.


Property features

Guests of Southernmost Beach Resort have access to a full-service spa, 3 outdoor pools, and a fitness center. Self parking is available for USD 21.50 per day. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Deluxe 1 King Balcony

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Pool View 1 King Balcony

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Superior Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Southernmost Beach Resort

Everyone (24) Couples (97) Family (20) Other (5) Friends (10)
5

best hotel in key west

Couples

Amazing hotel, in great location. Service was super attentive and friendly. Great pools and beach.

By on Mar 25, 2017

5

great location!

Everyone

We were very pleased with the location and services provided. Located at the quiet end of Duval, it was an easy walk to restaurants and some of the must see sights such as the southern most marker. Friendly staff and charming decor made this a wonderful visit for us.

By on Mar 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 25, 2017

Dear Traveler, Thank you for filling out a 5 Star review about your recent visit to the Southernmost Beach Resort. We would love to welcome you back soon for another wonderful stay. Always at your service, Matt Babich General Manager

2

overpriced and nothing great

Everyone

Our room was so small for the 6 of us that my legs are COMPLETELY bruised from ramming into the bed frames to get to the bathroom. They had no other bigger room to accomodate us so we asked for a cot which WE had to pay $20 every night. On our 2nd night, the hotel maid took our drinking glasses and we never saw them again. Called down at the desk to see if we could get a book of matches and our drinking glasses back and he said point blank, "We'll see what we can do" In all fairness our maids did tidy the room up, although we kept having to ask for toilet paper and more towels, as though they were paying for it. As far as the bar goes, Heather was the ONLY bartender that always went beyond to get us our drinks and actually remembered what we drank. The other bartender women were discriminating towards women.They would actually ignore serving me and my daughters because they thought we wouldn't tip like the rich high rollers they were really being so attentive to! I then started sending my boyfriend to get drinks and he was always served right away! Wow. I swear to you that I'm an EXTREMELY appreciative and easy going person, but this hotel was way over priced for the lack of customer services there were.

By , from Twinsburg, Ohio on Mar 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 12, 2017

Thank you Laurie for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Our rooms are only meant to accommodate 4 guests as the largest we equip them with are 2 queen beds. We do ask that each guest is registered with our front desk and would have asked you to reserve a 2nd room to ensure you were all comfortable in your stay. I also apologize that you receive inconsistent service with our housekeeping and pool bar service; our goal is for every guest to receive exceptional customer service. Please note, our rooms, patios, balconies and pool areas are all non-smoking, we encourage our smoking guests to refrain from these areas. We value our guests' feedback, both positive and constructive and appreciate you sharing your experience.

5

sprawling complex near duval and a beach

Everyone

Only thing I found annoying was an added amenities charge for the use of beach chairs and other niceties. Otherwise the location can't be beat. Our room was one of their least expensive and I'd say it was perfect for us. I loved being so close to this end of Duval Street and walking distance to nearly everything. Wi-fi was good. Nice TV and delicious cold water available (sometimes with lemon) in the hotel lobby and near the pools. Three very nice pools including a smaller peaceful pool--reserved for adults. Staff was mostly friendly and helpful especially after a minor biking accident. Kaleb was the best! We ended up renting bikes from across the street where they rented for 24 hours as opposed to the end of that day.

By , from New York on Dec 29, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 25, 2017

Dear Mom, Thank you for your sharing your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your trip. Spanning over 6 acres, we offer many different room types to accommodate a variety of preferences for everyone, I am glad we were able to find you a room that best suited your needs. I appreciate your kind words for our staff, especially Kaleb, and will be sure to share your comments with all. Thank you again for sharing your review and for your 5 star rating. I hope we will have the opportunity to host you again.

4

we had a great stay!

Everyone

My husband and I stayed here for four nights the week before Christmas for a little "babymoon". We arrived around noon and our room wasn't ready yet, but Luis at the front desk upgraded us so we could get into a room right away. We ended up on the third floor in building D and it was a partial ocean view...perfect! The room was very nice, bed was comfy and huge shower was a bonus. Our cable went out one night and the maintenance crew couldn't have been nicer and more professional. The grounds were clean and well maintained. There is a small beach adjacent to the property which we used one day. The hotel is on the quiet end of Duval, right around the corner from a few great places to eat. We walked to breakfast and lunch several times. We never ate on property, although if they had room service we may have. The only complaint was the rooster crowing at all hours of the night outside our building! This isn't the hotel's fault obviously. Overall, it was a great stay and we would definitely return!

By , from Cuyahoga Falls, OH on Dec 28, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 3, 2017

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Southernmost Beach Resort for your babymoon! We are honored to be part of your celebration. I am pleased that we met or exceeded your expectations in many areas. While our property is not structured to offer room service, we do have the benefit of offering our guests the convenience of an award winning beach café steps from the property. Hopefully you will give it a try if you return to us again. And I do agree, the crowing of a rooster can certainly jolt you in the night! We do our best to keep the island roosters to a minimum on the property; however, with the extensive landscaping and foliage can prove to be tempting for the chickens. We appreciate your comments and recommendation and hope we have the opportunity to host you again.

3
Everyone

Hotel staff was rude. The room was a deluxe king. It was stuffy and the only window was the front of the room which was situated like a motel. So it was uncomfortable to open the window.

By on Dec 22, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 25, 2016

Thank you for your review. I want to apologize that at any time did your receive less than exemplary service from any of our staff. Our goal is to provide exceptional customer service to every guest; it is disappointing that we failed to do this for you. We hope we will have an opportunity to make a future stay exceptional and turn your experience around.

4
Everyone

The hotel and employees were wonderful. It was in a convenient location, close to many attractions. The pools, restaurant and private beach were great. We stayed in the gingerbread section and the only thing I would change is the runner rug going up the stairs to our room it was a little dingy, also the hallway leading up to our room wasn't really ventilated so when it would get hot it smelled a little muggy so I think there should be better air ventilation. Other then that the hotel was wonderful and I would definitely go again.

By on Dec 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 3, 2017

Thank you for selecting the Southernmost Beach Resort and for your Key West destination. I love to read that you found the property, location and staff to be wonderful. I appreciate your comments about your guest room. If you would please share the room you were located in, we can take measures to correct these deficiencies immediately. I am happy that this did not taint your overall experience. We appreciate your words of praise and that you would definitely return again. We do hope we will have an opportunity to make a future stay exceptional. Thank you for your review.

4
Everyone

Average resort. A bit overpriced. Huge sprawling property. Close to southernmost point (obviously) but not walkable to much else.

By on Nov 21, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 25, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. . I am sorry our convenient location to the center of the action down on Duval Street did not meet your expectations. The Southernmost Beach Resort is located only 14 city blocks or a little over a mile walk, ride or drive from the busy end of Duval Street. I do hope you enjoyed the property's amenities and will consider staying with us again so we have the opportunity to make your next visit exceptional. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

5

work, not play

Everyone

I stayed there to work with the MOTM event, and it was work not pleasure , and I am planning to come back soon because I love the place.

By , from New Jersey on Nov 7, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 9, 2016

Thank you Vinnie for choosing us as your place to stay while you were working. We love the Parrotheads! We look forward to hosting you again when you can come back and kick back. Thank you again for your review.

1

charged me twice and would not refund me

Everyone

Charged me twice for the same room and would not refund me once. Worst customer service, Keri is Terrible at her job and all around awful check in and experience. Filing dispute with my bank. EJ is a nice guy though

By on Nov 1, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 5, 2016

Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were dissatisfied with your experience. We have reviewed your reservation. Please contact Heather, Guest Relations Manager, directly to discuss this matter.