Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Apart from One employee which was in his early to mid 20's. I believe his name was Aaron. This entire facility and its employee's including housekeeping was a complete and utter disappointment. My room was never cleaned, towels were never replenished, requests were only ever fulfilled by said employee. All front desk attendants were always anywhere but at the desk, and when they were there they were blasting music at all hours of the night and streaming shows so loud I could hear them on the third floor through the elevator shaft. On multiple occasions I witnessed staff telling patrons "I have no idea, sorry. I can't help you". The asks were very much geared toward simple everyday questions such has temperature control in rooms, parking, ect.. Pool area is not a place I would recommend anyone take there kids. My daughter, along with my nephew and I became ill after being in the pool. The pool area also played host to many loud and crowded "parties" that had no control or supervision from management. All in all, I would not recommend staying here.

The Good: - The breakfast The Bad - There is a curry smell outside of the rooms that makes you have a headache. - You can hear everything from other rooms - The carpets and walls are dirty The worst - The staff. They are never at the reception, they look as messy as the hotel. The are mostly rude. The Truth: - For few more bucks you can get a much better hotel

Hotel was nice but they need more options on their breakfast menu.

When I got there, they could find my reservation, we had to wait about an hour to clear things up. The sofa bed had no linen and the mattress was dirty. Had no water for the coffee in the room. The overall feel was just odd. Breakfast was good, staff was attentive and kind.

This was a nice play to stay. My room wasn’t thoroughly cleaned as there were rings from cups from whoever had previously stayed there. Also, the parking lot was so full we had to make a parking spot but not sure how much that can be controlled especially during holiday or busy season. All employees were very nice.

It was SO gross that we left shortly after arriving!

I liked how clean the room was and very comfortable

Room with a jacuzzi(301). One night we had someone next door. They decided to use their jacuzzi at 12:30 at night. We heard their jacuzzi run for 30 minutes. Then they did it again at 4:00 am. A sound barrier would be great between these 2 room at the jacizzis. Other than that our was great. Wallet is a great asset to Best Western. He was very adamant about making sure customers were satisfied. I watched while he was doing his job. He helped the other staff and was making sure this were where it being and was organized and clean. Everyone was very helpful and informative. I wool be staying in the future while visiting family. And I will be recommending Best Western Plus Hill Country to others. Thank you for everything.

Hotel room was clean. I have no complaints about my stay.

Nice facility. Good crew. Great location near downtown

Good option in the San Antonio area.Nice and confi room, decent included breakfast.

We had a terrible experience staying at this hotel. They didn't clean the room for two days. We complained at the front desk and nothing happened, then we realized they only have one person to clean all the rooms. I'm not sure if this is the best way to make America great again...

I wish there was a sign somewhere about the construction going on in the hotel. Perhaps, they could have closed off a part of the hotel. There was dust on the carpet outside of some rooms where there was construction. The siding wasn't done on the stairs. There was boxes outside of the room doors, maybe material for the construction. There was a bellman/luggage cart outside of the elevator and no one ever moved it. It just felt uncomfortable. My room, specifically, had an odor coming from the AC/Heat unit/vent. It had a funky odor and we couldn't open any windows to air it out. It was really an uncomfortable stay. I had one day in which I got to lay out and their hot tub seemed murky. There was also a little cup that was floating around. Definitely not something you want to experience when trying to get away from home for some relaxation.

It was nice. It was good to get the room and find one that was nice and comfortable during Spring break.

Very nice and classy. In a great part of the city.

Easy check in, great staff, comfy bed and great continental breakfast! Plus, just the right distance from various attractions to make them all easy to get to. This was my second stay at this hotel, it's definitely become my go to when in San Antonio.

Great hotel. Very polite and friendly. Breakfast was filling and the rooms were clean and comfy.

We stayed there to attend our friend's wedding. The hotel is very nice, but it is difficult to get to and hard to see. We had to get off one highway and circle on to another highway, cross over the first highway and get back onto the first highway to be going in the correct direction to pull into the parking lot. Confusing huh? We thought so. We had no hot water so had to get dressed for the wedding with a cold shower. It was fixed when we returned from the wedding. It was an outdoor reception, so the extra shower was needed. The staff was awesome about directions, recommendations and very apologetic for the cold shower issue. It was a hotel wide problem. Overall we enjoyed the stay a lot.

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here. Nice room. The only complaint is that the room smelled of cigarrette smoke and it was a non smoking! But it was conveniently located near restaurants and shopping. 15 minute drive from San Antonio!

US Highway 281 North San Antonio TX

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Stone Oak within a short walk of Methodist Hospital Stone Oak, Best Western Plus Hill Country Suites is within a mile (2 km) of Texas Med Clinic. This 77-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is served each morning from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

Guests can expect 46-inch LED TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and bathrooms offer deep soaking tubs, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Sofa beds, sitting areas, and microwaves are also standard.


Property features

Guests of Best Western Plus Hill Country Suites have access to an outdoor pool, a gym, and free WiFi in public areas. There's free parking if you drive. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with concierge services, dry cleaning/laundry, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a spa tub, conference space, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Accessible, Bathtub (with Sofabed)

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 3

Standard Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, Non Smoking

3 Twin Beds | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking, Jetted Tub (with Sofabed)

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 3

Suite, Multiple Beds, Accessible, Kitchen (with Sofabed)

2 Queen Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Best Western Plus Hill Country Suites

Everyone (10) Couples (5) Family (12) Friends (1) Other (3)
1
Everyone

Apart from One employee which was in his early to mid 20's. I believe his name was Aaron. This entire facility and its employee's including housekeeping was a complete and utter disappointment. My room was never cleaned, towels were never replenished, requests were only ever fulfilled by said employee. All front desk attendants were always anywhere but at the desk, and when they were there they were blasting music at all hours of the night and streaming shows so loud I could hear them on the third floor through the elevator shaft. On multiple occasions I witnessed staff telling patrons "I have no idea, sorry. I can't help you". The asks were very much geared toward simple everyday questions such has temperature control in rooms, parking, ect.. Pool area is not a place I would recommend anyone take there kids. My daughter, along with my nephew and I became ill after being in the pool. The pool area also played host to many loud and crowded "parties" that had no control or supervision from management. All in all, I would not recommend staying here.

By on Jun 2, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 21, 2022

Thank you for your compliments on our Front desk agent Aaron. I am however disappointed to hear of your experience with the rest of our staff. I can assure you my front office staff as well as all other staff members wear multiple caps due to the nation wide employee shortage. They work tirelessly each day to meet and exceed guest expectations. We apologize if you felt we fell short of that goal. I would also like to apologize for your experience with our pool area. Unfortunately we do not restrict our paying guest from using our hotel facilities such as our pool area. During these summer months we experience 100% capacity and our pool area is very popular amongst families looking to cool down in this summer heat. We apologize that you did not appreciate other guest making use of our facilities.We will strive to provide a better experience and hope you will allow our brand another opportunity to better assist you.

1
Business Business

The Good: - The breakfast The Bad - There is a curry smell outside of the rooms that makes you have a headache. - You can hear everything from other rooms - The carpets and walls are dirty The worst - The staff. They are never at the reception, they look as messy as the hotel. The are mostly rude. The Truth: - For few more bucks you can get a much better hotel

By on Jun 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 12, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We Sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We will be sure to look into your concerns and address any issues we find. Unfortunately due to the shortness in staff this pandemic has caused us our staff member wear multiple caps. We apologize if our front desk agent was assisting other guest during this busy time or tending to other hotel matter at the time you visited the front desk

5
Everyone

By on May 2, 2021

Review comment responded on May 17, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience with us. We hope to see you again soon

5
Family

Hotel was nice but they need more options on their breakfast menu.

By on May 1, 2021

Review comment responded on May 2, 2021

Thank you for rating your experience. We sincerely apologize for the limited breakfast. This reduction is our breakfast selection has been due to COVID-19. Unlike most hotels in our industry we still offers a a hot breakfast with breakfast meat, eggs, biscuit and gravy. Along with yogurt, cereal, bagels, and occasionally offer waffles upon request. Our hotel wanted to offer our valued guest more then a grab and go breakfast bag with a granola bar and yogurt. Thank you for your breakfast feedback. We will look into options that will hopefully better our guest breakfast experience.

2
Family

When I got there, they could find my reservation, we had to wait about an hour to clear things up. The sofa bed had no linen and the mattress was dirty. Had no water for the coffee in the room. The overall feel was just odd. Breakfast was good, staff was attentive and kind.

By on Apr 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 22, 2021

We sincerely apologize for the error in your reservation. We are however thrilled that we were able to figure out the booking error listed under a different name. Unfortunately from time to time these errors can occur. Thankfully we were able to locate your reservation and make the necessary corrections with the help of online customer service.

4
Family

This was a nice play to stay. My room wasn’t thoroughly cleaned as there were rings from cups from whoever had previously stayed there. Also, the parking lot was so full we had to make a parking spot but not sure how much that can be controlled especially during holiday or busy season. All employees were very nice.

By on Mar 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 27, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review you experience. I will be sure to speak with my housekeepers regular ding your experience. We hope to be allowed the privilege of serving you in the future.

1
Family with small children

It was SO gross that we left shortly after arriving!

By on Mar 17, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2021

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.

5
Business Business

I liked how clean the room was and very comfortable

By on Mar 5, 2021

5
Family Family

Room with a jacuzzi(301). One night we had someone next door. They decided to use their jacuzzi at 12:30 at night. We heard their jacuzzi run for 30 minutes. Then they did it again at 4:00 am. A sound barrier would be great between these 2 room at the jacizzis. Other than that our was great. Wallet is a great asset to Best Western. He was very adamant about making sure customers were satisfied. I watched while he was doing his job. He helped the other staff and was making sure this were where it being and was organized and clean. Everyone was very helpful and informative. I wool be staying in the future while visiting family. And I will be recommending Best Western Plus Hill Country to others. Thank you for everything.

By on Dec 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 3, 2019

First id like to sincerely apologize for the noise issue you experianced. I am however pleased to hear Walker made a lasting impression on you and your family. We truly Value his employment with us. I will be sure to share your compliments with him.

4
Everyone

Hotel room was clean. I have no complaints about my stay.

By on Feb 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 8, 2019

Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Western Plus Hill Country Suites

18555 US Highway 281 North, San Antonio, TX 78258
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-Antonio-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Hill-Country-Suites.h876733-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Antonio-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Hill-Country-Suites.h876733-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/San-Antonio-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Hill-Country-Suites.h876733-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions