Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I stayed during the CoVID restrictions so there were many things that the staff and property could not do. not their fault and I have every certainty that things would have been amazing

Upon arrival I was greeted by the valet who assisted me out of my vehicle went to the front desk the young lady was very professional invited me to their wine and cheese spread went to my room it was clean Lots of room I would definitely stay again

We have stayed at the Waterfront several times in the past 3 years. We love staying there. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is helpful and friendly and the location is the best!

Great VIP benefits and friendly staff. The room had a great view and the location is great during the day. I didn't feel too safe walking at night.

Loved the ability to walk up and down the waterfront and the farmers market on Sunday

I was not happy with the extra charge for the "happy hour" one and cheese, POOL charge (which we didn't use) because it was cold, coffee/tea and water in the room, which was 1 bottle. That is not right! Shame on you..

Booked a suite for the night of my wedding and room wasn’t ready at check in even though we messaged the property beforehand that we were coming in one hour early. This would’ve been understandable except the staff was NOT empathetic AT ALL. We were downgraded to a junior suite because it was the only thing available and we were on a tight timeline. No price adjustments offered even though we paid for a larger room and stayed in a smaller one. I understand that we were a little early but if that was a problem #1) the property should’ve told us as we mentioned this months ago and #2) at least act like you care it’s my freaking wedding night. Room itself was bare. Phones didn’t work. We had to use our cell phones to call the public general number to get to front desk. When you walk across the room the dresses and tv shakes. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Marriot instead.

The room size was as expected and location was great. The ceiling tiles were damaged and unattractive and the A/C wasn’t working properly. We tried setting the temp to 64 degrees (its lowest setting) to cool down the room and it would only get as cool as 72 degrees. The morning of checkout, we had a flight to catch at 6am out of San Fran and walked to the front desk at 4am to settle our bill as there were expected valet charges. What wasn’t expected, was an “early checkout fee”. Apparently, if you’re checking out sooner than 11am of your checkout day, they will charge you a fee since they require someone to inspect your room prior to departure to make sure there are no damages to the room exceeding the $75 incidental fee. In all my years of traveling and staying at multiple establishments, I have never heard of such a ridiculous nickel and dime charge! I did not get charged the “early checkout fee”, but beware of this BS!

Clean and comfortable. Great location, a little bit dated but kept up nicely. Friendly staff, I enjoyed my stay and would book again while staying in the oakland area.

Property was pretty well kept. Our issue was mainly the check in. I felt the staff to be very confused about everything. And we didn't get to check in until about 4:30 to our room. We we're fortunate enough to have family staying there. Room service and food was good.

Front desk was welcoming, the property was clean . We had a great view of the water and the boats. I was especially happy that the window opened for fresh air. Happy and will return.

Perfect location in Jack London square. The floors in the front entrance were being redone the whole weekend so that’s why this rating is lower. Would recommend this hotel to out of town guests again

We booked our stay here at the waterfront hotel for our recent visit to Oakland. I was traveling with a co-worker and we booked a double queen room as her and I would not be sleeping together. Upon check-in, the very nice receptionist told us the room was over overbooked. We were upgraded to the penthouse at no extra charge! There was a bedroom with a queen bed and a full-size pull out in the living room. Very nice, right!? We were so pleased with her level of customer service. Unfortunately, there are two huge issues I have with our stay here, despite our free upgrade. First, while we were in the room preparing to head out for dinner, a COMPLETE STRANGER opens the front door! We called to the front desk to report this and she said „sometimes the owner will go in there if we didn’t tell him the room was booked“. Ok!? Not a good enough excuse, considering this is now a safety issue. We have no idea who has access to this room and our belonging are supposed to be left here. Very concerning. Secondly, upon returning to our room for the night, I unfold the pull-out bed, as I let my female co-worker take the bedroom. The sheets and blankets had not been changed in SO LONG there was black mold growing inside the filthy, DAMP covers. This also released the smell of mold into the living room. Very problematic, as I am extremely allergic to mold! I had to take an antihistamine to reduce the itching eyes, nose and hay fever. Horrible experience! Will be posting images!

Washington Street Oakland CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Jack London Square and Oakland Convention Center
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Business center

Located in Jack London District, Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel is adjacent to Jack London Square and within a 15-minute walk of popular sights like Oakland Convention Center. The 145 rooms at this 3.5-star hotel include iPod docks, coffee makers, and flat-screen TVs.


Dining

Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel's 145 rooms are heated and provide iPod docks, coffee makers, and free newspapers. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include safes, phones, and ironing boards.


Property features

At Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel, guests have access to a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. Self parking is offered for USD 25 per night. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a business center, express check-in, and express check-out.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible (Shower)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Junior Suite (2 Queenbeds & 1 Sofabed)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed (Water View)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Everyone (24) Couples (5) Family (11)
5
Friends Business Business

I stayed during the CoVID restrictions so there were many things that the staff and property could not do. not their fault and I have every certainty that things would have been amazing

By , from Mountain View, CA on Oct 8, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 9, 2020

Dear Mary, Thank you taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I am glad despite the current Covid situation you enjoyed the hotel. Thanks again for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon.

5
Everyone

By on Sep 11, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 19, 2020

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel. Thank you for your rating and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

5
Family

Upon arrival I was greeted by the valet who assisted me out of my vehicle went to the front desk the young lady was very professional invited me to their wine and cheese spread went to my room it was clean Lots of room I would definitely stay again

By , from Antioch Ca on Mar 17, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 23, 2020

Dear Carol, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel. Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

5
Everyone

By on Mar 4, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 23, 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel. Thank you for your rating and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

5
Partner Couples Family

We have stayed at the Waterfront several times in the past 3 years. We love staying there. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is helpful and friendly and the location is the best!

By , from Pacific Grove, CA on Feb 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 4, 2020

Thank You! Hope to see you again soon!

5
Business Business

Great VIP benefits and friendly staff. The room had a great view and the location is great during the day. I didn't feel too safe walking at night.

By on Jan 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 21, 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront hotel. As a urban property we do have our share of homeless. Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

4
Family

Loved the ability to walk up and down the waterfront and the farmers market on Sunday

By on Dec 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 29, 2019

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel and discovered the Sunday farmers market. Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

4
Family

I was not happy with the extra charge for the "happy hour" one and cheese, POOL charge (which we didn't use) because it was cold, coffee/tea and water in the room, which was 1 bottle. That is not right! Shame on you..

By on Oct 21, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 7, 2019

Dear KB, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel. Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

3
Partner Couples

Booked a suite for the night of my wedding and room wasn’t ready at check in even though we messaged the property beforehand that we were coming in one hour early. This would’ve been understandable except the staff was NOT empathetic AT ALL. We were downgraded to a junior suite because it was the only thing available and we were on a tight timeline. No price adjustments offered even though we paid for a larger room and stayed in a smaller one. I understand that we were a little early but if that was a problem #1) the property should’ve told us as we mentioned this months ago and #2) at least act like you care it’s my freaking wedding night. Room itself was bare. Phones didn’t work. We had to use our cell phones to call the public general number to get to front desk. When you walk across the room the dresses and tv shakes. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Marriot instead.

By on Oct 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 10, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. I am sorry if you did not get the room you had intended to book. We are also sorry your room was not available early for you. We are at the mercy of the prior guest and when they check out the day of your arrival. Thank you for your comments and business as we will share your less than stellar experience with the rest of the staff.

5
Everyone

By on Sep 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 24, 2019

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel. Thank you for your rating and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

10 Washington Street, Oakland, CA 94607
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Oakland-Hotels-Waterfront-Hotel,-a-Joie-de-Vivre-Boutique-Hotel.h12381-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Oakland-Hotels-Waterfront-Hotel,-a-Joie-de-Vivre-Boutique-Hotel.h12381-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Oakland-Hotels-Waterfront-Hotel,-a-Joie-de-Vivre-Boutique-Hotel.h12381-p2.Hotel-Reviews