Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I was not happy with the extra charge for the "happy hour" one and cheese, POOL charge (which we didn't use) because it was cold, coffee/tea and water in the room, which was 1 bottle. That is not right! Shame on you..

Booked a suite for the night of my wedding and room wasn’t ready at check in even though we messaged the property beforehand that we were coming in one hour early. This would’ve been understandable except the staff was NOT empathetic AT ALL. We were downgraded to a junior suite because it was the only thing available and we were on a tight timeline. No price adjustments offered even though we paid for a larger room and stayed in a smaller one. I understand that we were a little early but if that was a problem #1) the property should’ve told us as we mentioned this months ago and #2) at least act like you care it’s my freaking wedding night. Room itself was bare. Phones didn’t work. We had to use our cell phones to call the public general number to get to front desk. When you walk across the room the dresses and tv shakes. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Marriot instead.

The room size was as expected and location was great. The ceiling tiles were damaged and unattractive and the A/C wasn’t working properly. We tried setting the temp to 64 degrees (its lowest setting) to cool down the room and it would only get as cool as 72 degrees. The morning of checkout, we had a flight to catch at 6am out of San Fran and walked to the front desk at 4am to settle our bill as there were expected valet charges. What wasn’t expected, was an “early checkout fee”. Apparently, if you’re checking out sooner than 11am of your checkout day, they will charge you a fee since they require someone to inspect your room prior to departure to make sure there are no damages to the room exceeding the $75 incidental fee. In all my years of traveling and staying at multiple establishments, I have never heard of such a ridiculous nickel and dime charge! I did not get charged the “early checkout fee”, but beware of this BS!

Clean and comfortable. Great location, a little bit dated but kept up nicely. Friendly staff, I enjoyed my stay and would book again while staying in the oakland area.

Property was pretty well kept. Our issue was mainly the check in. I felt the staff to be very confused about everything. And we didn't get to check in until about 4:30 to our room. We we're fortunate enough to have family staying there. Room service and food was good.

Front desk was welcoming, the property was clean . We had a great view of the water and the boats. I was especially happy that the window opened for fresh air. Happy and will return.

Perfect location in Jack London square. The floors in the front entrance were being redone the whole weekend so that’s why this rating is lower. Would recommend this hotel to out of town guests again

We booked our stay here at the waterfront hotel for our recent visit to Oakland. I was traveling with a co-worker and we booked a double queen room as her and I would not be sleeping together. Upon check-in, the very nice receptionist told us the room was over overbooked. We were upgraded to the penthouse at no extra charge! There was a bedroom with a queen bed and a full-size pull out in the living room. Very nice, right!? We were so pleased with her level of customer service. Unfortunately, there are two huge issues I have with our stay here, despite our free upgrade. First, while we were in the room preparing to head out for dinner, a COMPLETE STRANGER opens the front door! We called to the front desk to report this and she said „sometimes the owner will go in there if we didn’t tell him the room was booked“. Ok!? Not a good enough excuse, considering this is now a safety issue. We have no idea who has access to this room and our belonging are supposed to be left here. Very concerning. Secondly, upon returning to our room for the night, I unfold the pull-out bed, as I let my female co-worker take the bedroom. The sheets and blankets had not been changed in SO LONG there was black mold growing inside the filthy, DAMP covers. This also released the smell of mold into the living room. Very problematic, as I am extremely allergic to mold! I had to take an antihistamine to reduce the itching eyes, nose and hay fever. Horrible experience! Will be posting images!

i was charged a $147.31 cancellation fee although I stayed 2 nights. NOTHING the hotel could do to reverse the charge as they couldn't see it. I can see it on my credit card bill, shouldn't that be what matters? Jeff you didn't handle it as well as Lisa or Jenny. I"ll happily change the review if i get my money back.

My room was not clean when I got in there (hair in the shower, soap bar already opened, empty water bottle on the floor). It was so late in the evening, I didn't feel like changing rooms. When I mentioned the issues to the front desk the next day, the staff was apologetic but did not offer any remedy. Hopefully, they will give feedback to the cleaning staff to do an inspection of the room before saying it's ready for future guests.

Attractively situated and comfortable hotel is well located for Jack London Square restaurants and harbor activities. Quick and easy ferry access direct to San Francisco from the adjacent dock. Hotel is close to downtown Oakland, the Oakland Museum, BART, and Amtrak

For the price we payed we would have liked a waterfront view. A part from this the hotel is great and the location very very good!

Very nice size rooms. Quite spacious. Recently redone, so expect offgassing from new carpets in rooms.

Too close to railroad tracks. Very noisy with train whistle

Washington Street Oakland CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Jack London Square and Oakland Convention Center
  • Free in-room WiFi
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Jack London District, Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel is adjacent to Jack London Square and within a 15-minute walk of popular sights like Oakland Convention Center. This 143-room, 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, get a quick pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café, and mingle with other guests at the free manager's reception. For your convenience, a continental breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

All of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel's 143 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including iPod docks, coffee makers, and free newspapers. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. Other standard amenities include safes, phones, and ironing boards.


Property features

At Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel, guests enjoy features like an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and a sauna. Valet parking is available for USD 32.00 per day, and there's also a free area shuttle. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with tours or tickets, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include conference space, a business center, and express check-in.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds (Water View)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Balcony (Water View)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Junior Suite, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Everyone (27) Couples (59) Business (26) Family (35) Friends (6) Other (5)
4
Families

I was not happy with the extra charge for the "happy hour" one and cheese, POOL charge (which we didn't use) because it was cold, coffee/tea and water in the room, which was 1 bottle. That is not right! Shame on you..

By on Oct 21, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 7, 2019

Dear KB, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel. Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

3
Partner Couples

Booked a suite for the night of my wedding and room wasn’t ready at check in even though we messaged the property beforehand that we were coming in one hour early. This would’ve been understandable except the staff was NOT empathetic AT ALL. We were downgraded to a junior suite because it was the only thing available and we were on a tight timeline. No price adjustments offered even though we paid for a larger room and stayed in a smaller one. I understand that we were a little early but if that was a problem #1) the property should’ve told us as we mentioned this months ago and #2) at least act like you care it’s my freaking wedding night. Room itself was bare. Phones didn’t work. We had to use our cell phones to call the public general number to get to front desk. When you walk across the room the dresses and tv shakes. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Marriot instead.

By on Oct 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 10, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. I am sorry if you did not get the room you had intended to book. We are also sorry your room was not available early for you. We are at the mercy of the prior guest and when they check out the day of your arrival. Thank you for your comments and business as we will share your less than stellar experience with the rest of the staff.

5
Everyone

By on Sep 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 24, 2019

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel. Thank you for your rating and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

5
Everyone

By on Sep 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 24, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel. Thank you for your rating and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

2
Families Families

The room size was as expected and location was great. The ceiling tiles were damaged and unattractive and the A/C wasn’t working properly. We tried setting the temp to 64 degrees (its lowest setting) to cool down the room and it would only get as cool as 72 degrees. The morning of checkout, we had a flight to catch at 6am out of San Fran and walked to the front desk at 4am to settle our bill as there were expected valet charges. What wasn’t expected, was an “early checkout fee”. Apparently, if you’re checking out sooner than 11am of your checkout day, they will charge you a fee since they require someone to inspect your room prior to departure to make sure there are no damages to the room exceeding the $75 incidental fee. In all my years of traveling and staying at multiple establishments, I have never heard of such a ridiculous nickel and dime charge! I did not get charged the “early checkout fee”, but beware of this BS!

By on Sep 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 10, 2019

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I can assure you we are priced fairly with other like hotels in our market.Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope next time you are in the area you will give us another chance!

5
Everyone

By on Aug 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 30, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel. Thank you for your rating and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

4
Partner Couples Families

Clean and comfortable. Great location, a little bit dated but kept up nicely. Friendly staff, I enjoyed my stay and would book again while staying in the oakland area.

By on Aug 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 12, 2019

Thank you so much for staying with us! We hope to see you soon!

5
Everyone

By on Jun 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 28, 2019

Dear , Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel. Thank you for your feedback and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

4
Families Families

Property was pretty well kept. Our issue was mainly the check in. I felt the staff to be very confused about everything. And we didn't get to check in until about 4:30 to our room. We we're fortunate enough to have family staying there. Room service and food was good.

By on Jun 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 28, 2019

Dear Amber, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. I am sorry for the confusion at arrival and the late check in, Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

4
Partner Couples

Front desk was welcoming, the property was clean . We had a great view of the water and the boats. I was especially happy that the window opened for fresh air. Happy and will return.

By on May 11, 2019

Review comment responded on May 13, 2019

Dear EJ, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel and your view. Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

10 Washington Street, Oakland, CA 94607
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Oakland-Hotels-Waterfront-Hotel,-a-Joie-de-Vivre-Boutique-Hotel.h12381-p2.Hotel-Reviews