Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Good location, comfortable room and convenient parking.

Coffee pot not cleaned found with old tea bags Swimming pool closed in middle of summer laminate flooring badly chipped

The pool was closed. There are no other amenities or services offered.

Sometimes you do not get what you pay for. Good: Rooms were cleaned. Cleaning staff are friendly, unobtrusive. Walking distance to coffee shops, fast food, gas stations. Front desk are friendly enough but kind of robotic. Homeless man no longer sleeping next to dumpster in next door parking lot. Parking lot is well lit. As a single male or thicker skin female who needs to be near this area of Alameda, you can pull it off and get your travel done with a good night sleep. Bad: Possibly some "business" going on. A few younger caucasian women appear to be living in rooms, and (Indian?) guys come knocking, close door and lock it behind them. It is an old building and smell of Marijuana occasionally along the walkways. Roughneck crowd of renters sometimes. Seemingly Long term residents in a few rooms. People asking for cigarettes. Prices are high for where I'm from, but I guess this is the bargain price for the bay area. Conclusion: I would rent again, only because It is the least expensive for this immediate area and the rooms are passable if you close the curtains and just enjoy the cable and comfortable bed.

I stayed one night. The room was really clean, modern and comfortable. The management was straightforward, not super friendly but not offensive. My only real complaint is the noise in the parking lot at night. Around 9 to 10 pm, I wasn't in the mood for Hip Hop Beats from someone's car, nor the noisy walking in the room above. There was also someone camped out by the Dumpster on the side of the building, but I didn't notice until I drove away the next day. Alameda has a homeless epidemic that they need to address. It is pretty bad with tent cities and slums along certain highway ramps. It reminds me of refugee camps in the middle east.

Great area of Alameda old town stores loved it! Centrally located to just about everything yet peaceful

People drinking smoking weed and fighting everyday in adjacent rooms not a good choice to save 20$ a night

This motel is very dirty. TV in the room don't work. I had to buy my own towels because theirs was filthy and brown. The sink was cracked and the room was very dusty. The seats were filled with brown almost black stains. Horrible place, you are better off sleeping in your car.

The room was dirty and rundown, smelled of cigarette smoke so bad that my clothes came home smelling of smoke. No amenities available. Expensive for a dive motel. Didn't give me a AAA discount, claimed it was already in price, but the price on internet for the night I was there was $60 cheaper then what I was paying! They wouldn't give me the lower price. Only came to service the room once during a four night stay. Sheets were dirty, written on, lipstick stains, etc. Bathroom was disgusting, needed to wear flipflops in the shower. Totally gross! Would never recommend this place.

Disappointed there was no breakfast as the room was being redecorated. Bedroom was clean, and I hope still being redecorated, needs to be finished. Parking lot not kept clean. However, for one night, price was right and it is convenient to San Francisco ferry, I would return.

We had a non-smoking room which was stinky with deodorizers when we got there but we aired it out. They did everything right with service issues and the pool was clean and ready to swim. I have no complaints.

Good location and not expensive. Pretty average hotel on the whole

I like this hotel it was in the heart of webster st so your near everything. Plus the staff members are all sweet hearts......

Got to room at night, went right to sleep. Got up in morning and saw dirty socks in the bed (no, not mine) and a used condom under the bed (no, not mine). My 5 year old daughter was with me. Complained to the manager and his response was 'sorry' . I wanted another room for the rest of the day. He said no. I said give me my money back, We are going to another hotel. He said 'sorry', 'no refund'. What a terrible room, what a terrible manager. Please take this hotel off your list.

This place is fairly dumpy. There seem to be semi-permanent residents that give it a strange vibe. You know you're in a semi-trashy motel when there's a bottle opener fastened to the wall of the bathroom. We got fresh towels every day, beds were made, and none of our stuff was stolen, so that's nice. But the place smelled. I anticipated this, and had brought a wall-plug air freshener. It was truly needed. You're very close to a lot spots that will help you forget where you're sleeping, like Starbucks, Walgreens, and several fast food joints (if you're into that). Seriously though. This place was pretty awful. Try finding something on the other side of the island if you need to stay in Alameda.

Towels were dirty. Smoking room when I asked for a non-smoking room. Rug was torn and dirty. Looks like someone had been paining a project on the floor. Felt more like Section 8 housing rather than a hotel stay. Bug in refrigerator!!

Pretty good value for the price. Room was clean . Seems like there are people who have long term residency there and I was a little concerned about them as they had people in and out, but they gave me no trouble.

I was expecting one notch above Motel 6. Way better than that. The room was very clean. Soap and shampoo for me (not expected). Coffee in the room. Breakfast was too simple. But Starbucks was across the street.

it was a place to sleep. price was better tthan in san francisco.

This place is one of the worst motels I have ever stayed in. The neighborhood is really bad. Drug deals in the parking lots and prostitutes are common. The bathroom was filthy & only one lamp in the room actually had a bulb that worked. The heater rattled like a battle tank with a bad transmission and the blankets had burn holes in them. Unless you are a drug buyer or looking to solicit a prostitute STAY AWAY FROM THIS DUMP!

Webster Street Alameda CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour front desk

Located in West Alameda, Rodeway Inn is within 2 miles (3 km) of popular attractions such as Jack London Square and Oakland Convention Center. This motel has 50 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like 2 restaurants, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Enjoy dining at one of 2 onsite restaurants including East Restaurant, which specializes in American cuisine. Get an energy boost at the coffee shop/café, or grab a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

All 50 rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and TVs with satellite channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include free weekday newspapers, free local calls, and desks.


Property features

Guests of Rodeway Inn have access to free WiFi in public areas. A stay here includes free parking. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Double Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Rodeway Inn

Everyone (5) Couples (7) Business (9) Family (11) Other (3) Friends (2)
4
Partner Couples Business Business

Good location, comfortable room and convenient parking.

By on Jan 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 9, 2020

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and rating your experience as positive. We appreciate it. We are glad that our location suited you, and it's nice to read that you found the room comfortable and our parking facility convenient. We also hope everything was in order, and you had easy access to your essentials. Please do let us know if there is anything that we can do to make the next experience even more enjoyable for you. We look forward to having you back soon for another pleasant stay during your next trip to the area. Best Regards, Customer Care Team

1
Business Business

Coffee pot not cleaned found with old tea bags Swimming pool closed in middle of summer laminate flooring badly chipped

By on Aug 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 17, 2019

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies that the guest room wasn't fully ready for your check-in. We will discuss your experience with our housekeeping staff to determine how to serve our guests better. Your satisfaction means everything to us. The next time you come to Alameda, California, please join us again so we can deliver the quality stay you deserve.

3
Family

The pool was closed. There are no other amenities or services offered.

By , from Fresno on Jul 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 23, 2019

Dear Jackie, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We apologize for the inconveniences that arose from the closure of our pool. Our staff is always on hand to help make your stay comfortable, and we encourage guests to reach out if we can help provide any additional missing amenities. Given the opportunity, we'd appreciate another chance to provide you with the relaxing stay you expected.

2
Everyone

Sometimes you do not get what you pay for. Good: Rooms were cleaned. Cleaning staff are friendly, unobtrusive. Walking distance to coffee shops, fast food, gas stations. Front desk are friendly enough but kind of robotic. Homeless man no longer sleeping next to dumpster in next door parking lot. Parking lot is well lit. As a single male or thicker skin female who needs to be near this area of Alameda, you can pull it off and get your travel done with a good night sleep. Bad: Possibly some "business" going on. A few younger caucasian women appear to be living in rooms, and (Indian?) guys come knocking, close door and lock it behind them. It is an old building and smell of Marijuana occasionally along the walkways. Roughneck crowd of renters sometimes. Seemingly Long term residents in a few rooms. People asking for cigarettes. Prices are high for where I'm from, but I guess this is the bargain price for the bay area. Conclusion: I would rent again, only because It is the least expensive for this immediate area and the rooms are passable if you close the curtains and just enjoy the cable and comfortable bed.

By on Dec 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 31, 2018

Dear Boltz, We appreciate your feedback. It's great to know that our clean, comfortable rooms met your needs and that you appreciated the well-lit parking lot and friendly staff. However, we apologize for any concerns about the behavior of other guests. Our staff is always available to assist with any concerns you may have. Should you be in the area in the future, we invite you to stay with us again.

4

comfortable rooms but noisy at night.

Everyone

I stayed one night. The room was really clean, modern and comfortable. The management was straightforward, not super friendly but not offensive. My only real complaint is the noise in the parking lot at night. Around 9 to 10 pm, I wasn't in the mood for Hip Hop Beats from someone's car, nor the noisy walking in the room above. There was also someone camped out by the Dumpster on the side of the building, but I didn't notice until I drove away the next day. Alameda has a homeless epidemic that they need to address. It is pretty bad with tent cities and slums along certain highway ramps. It reminds me of refugee camps in the middle east.

By , from Ill on Jan 8, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 17, 2018

Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Alameda during your trip to the Bay Area. We are pleased you found your accommodations clean and modern, as we are nearing completion of some exciting room renovations. Please accept our apologies for the noise issue you endured as well as any inconvenience caused by the homeless matter you mentioned. Our property is fully committed to our guests and looks forward to reviewing your notes thoughtfully. Thanks for allowing us to serve you, and please keep us in mind next time you return to town.

5

nice hotel walking distance to stores restraunts

Everyone

Great area of Alameda old town stores loved it! Centrally located to just about everything yet peaceful

By , from Los Angeles on Aug 31, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 5, 2017

Dear Frankie, It is a delight to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Rodeway Inn Alameda. We are so happy to hear you found the proximity of our hotel convenient to walk to surrounding stores and restaurants, yet in a peaceful, old town setting. Thank you for taking the time to provide our hotel with a five-star review, and we hope to see you again!

1

long term low income housing

Everyone

People drinking smoking weed and fighting everyday in adjacent rooms not a good choice to save 20$ a night

By , from m on May 7, 2017

1

very dirty place

Everyone

This motel is very dirty. TV in the room don't work. I had to buy my own towels because theirs was filthy and brown. The sink was cracked and the room was very dusty. The seats were filled with brown almost black stains. Horrible place, you are better off sleeping in your car.

By , from E on Feb 6, 2017

1

smelly and dirty

Other

The room was dirty and rundown, smelled of cigarette smoke so bad that my clothes came home smelling of smoke. No amenities available. Expensive for a dive motel. Didn't give me a AAA discount, claimed it was already in price, but the price on internet for the night I was there was $60 cheaper then what I was paying! They wouldn't give me the lower price. Only came to service the room once during a four night stay. Sheets were dirty, written on, lipstick stains, etc. Bathroom was disgusting, needed to wear flipflops in the shower. Totally gross! Would never recommend this place.

By on Sep 17, 2015

2

a quick stay

Family

Disappointed there was no breakfast as the room was being redecorated. Bedroom was clean, and I hope still being redecorated, needs to be finished. Parking lot not kept clean. However, for one night, price was right and it is convenient to San Francisco ferry, I would return.

By on Aug 26, 2015

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Oakland-Hotels-Rodeway-Inn.h41666-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Oakland-Hotels-Rodeway-Inn.h41666-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Oakland-Hotels-Rodeway-Inn.h41666-p2.Hotel-Reviews