Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Extended Stay America - Jacksonville-Salisbury Rd-Southpoint

2.5 out of 5.0

Extended Stay America - Jacksonville-Salisbury Rd-Southpoint

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Everything was great at this location period...........

Staff was nice but the room was terrible. Not a place I'll ever stay at again

Staff was nice when we checked in. Also the breakfast at 6 am we went down at 615 until 6 30 there was only coffee and hot water for tea! Room smelled of ramen noddles and hallways smelled weird too. I understand the property is pet friendly this may be some of it not all of it. Price was great room was big a little updating would not hurt or carpet cleaning

Elevator was broken when we got there. I had an elderly person traveling with me who uses a wheelchair. The room originally assigned to us was on the third floor. The young lady at the front desk was very helpful, but the room given to us was smelly

Will folks you definitely get what you pay for. I came down to the area for an interview and was looking for a reasonably priced hotel close by. First off the receptionist really didn't seem helpful at all and was taking personal calls while she was checking me in. We went out and came back later and found that our toilet didn't seem to flush everything down. We tried contacting the front desk and the phone kept ringing. We eventually went down and it seemed that the receptionist was the only person working because she was in the laundry area folding towels and not answering the phone and talking to someone on her cell. We told her the situation and instead of saying that she would send someone up to look at it she just offered the plunger for me to actually fix the toilet. So I took the plunger and cleared the clog myself. I then remove the blankets to get settled in and noticed on the sheets there was about four or five what look like blood spots on the sheets that they attempted to possibly wash but you could still see them visibly. I decided not to even bother trying to call the receptionist and just put a towel over it and slept on the towel. The faucet in the kitchen, if you turn to full blast water starts spraying out of the back of the faucet itself. lastly the kitchen is not stocked in any way other than hand towels and ice cube trays. If you need anything you have to ask for it. If I have to come back down again I will definitely avoid staying here again.

THE CHAIR BED WAS VERY DIRTY IT HAD A LOT OF BROWN SPOTS

The room was not as clean as it could be. The toilet seat was falling apart. The tub wasn't clean. The breakfast is just coffee and little pre packaged muffins.

One of the worst hotel rooms we've ever stayed in. No maintenance and the room was supposed to be a non-smoking room, but filled with cigarette smoke.

Good location. Rooms were not as clean as we had hoped. Ammenities were lacking.

Front desk lady was rude. She was on a personal call while guests were waiting to check in. Had to ask for towels for the room since there were none in the room.

Never would stay there again. Room was creepy and smelled like curry. Was afraid to take off my shoes

Waited over an hour past check in before a room was ready and still didn’t have any wash cloths, Hair was on the bathroom floor. This was the noisiest motel I’ve every stayed at. Will never stay at this location again.

Pillows were not available for the sofa bed. Door to bathroom came off track. Only one person at desk so we had to get each item we were missing. Had to sleep without pillows because they were in the dryer. Over all miserable. Should have slept in car.

My first room had a sink drain issue. The team leader Clarissa stated she'd get to work on solving. That day everything was improved. My ignorance, I did not consider the couch sleeper could be a twin. Orbitz states 4 people could stay, but we say 1 full/queen bed & 1 twin sleeper. So, I wish the site told that. ...Brad

Convenience? Yes. Right off the interstate, close to restaurants. Free breakfast? Only the free part is true. Coffee, muffins, that was about it. When in a new city, you have no idea what channels belong to what stations. Solution? The guessing game; there was NO TV GUIDE!! I didn't realize there was such a thing as a Florida Noise Association; the members all convened above and around us, making sleep nearly impossible. Other than the generous interpretation of breakfast, the TV guessing game and violating the sounds of silence, it was OK.

First off I had to wait about 10 for someone to come to the front desk when i arrived. Once she got there she was rude. She had no kind of hospitable attitude. I asked for an extra pillow and was told there were none. As I went upstairs she was delivering one to another room. I got in my room and there were only 3 pillows but we had 4 guest so i called for an extra pillow and she bought one up. So that seems as if she lied. I asked an extra blanket and was told there were none as well. Then there were only 2 sets of towels in the room but we booked 4 guests. I didn't want to ask for extra so we dealt with it. The room was ok but the shower head and spout were dirty and moldy. I don't think I'd stay here again.

The motel wasn't that great. Could not get any work done because the Wifi did not work, there was lots of noise due to doors slamming. Did not matter which floor you were on you could here doors slamming beside you underneath you and above you all the time. No ice machine anywhere only one coke and snack machine all the way downstairs by the lobby. And a muffin in a package is not what I would consider a breakfast at all

Last minute outing for nice holiday weekend getaway within the city limits. Hotel met standards within surrounding area. Clean and comfortable room. Close to beaches and entertainment. We really enjoyed ourselves!

4693 Salisbury Rd Jacksonville FL

Hotel highlights

  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Baymeadows, Extended Stay America - Jacksonville-Salisbury Rd-Southpoint is within a mile (2 km) of sights such as Dog Wood Park of Jacksonville and Saint Vincent's Medical Center Southside. This 100-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free on-the-go breakfast, served each morning from 6 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 32-inch a flat-screen TV with cable channels. The pillowtop bed provides a full night's sleep and the bathroom offers hair dryers. Other standard amenities include a kitchen, a refrigerator, and a microwave. Weekly housekeeping is available.


Property features

Guests of Extended Stay America - Jacksonville-Salisbury Rd-Southpoint enjoy an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and coffee in a common area. There's free parking if you drive. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include laundry facilities, a TV in a common area, and barbecue grills.

Room options

Suite, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Studio, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 6

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America - Jacksonville-Salisbury Rd-Southpoint

Everyone (15) Couples (1) Business (2) Family (4) Other (1)
1
Everyone

By on May 21, 2019

5
Families

Everything was great at this location period...........

By on May 17, 2019

Review comment responded on May 18, 2019

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America and for the wonderful review. We are thrilled to know we met all your expectations and you had a great stay. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Families

Staff was nice but the room was terrible. Not a place I'll ever stay at again

By on Apr 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 11, 2019

Thank you for choosing us. Although you liked our courteous associates, we apologize for the inconvenience you had in your room. Your feedback is shared with our housekeeping team to inspect your room and ensure remedial action are taken. We hope the positive aspects of your stay will bring you back to us. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Family with small children

Staff was nice when we checked in. Also the breakfast at 6 am we went down at 615 until 6 30 there was only coffee and hot water for tea! Room smelled of ramen noddles and hallways smelled weird too. I understand the property is pet friendly this may be some of it not all of it. Price was great room was big a little updating would not hurt or carpet cleaning

By on Mar 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 6, 2019

Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America. We are glad to know you were impressed with our associates and that you found us to be a good value. However, we regret the inconveniences caused. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Everyone

Elevator was broken when we got there. I had an elderly person traveling with me who uses a wheelchair. The room originally assigned to us was on the third floor. The young lady at the front desk was very helpful, but the room given to us was smelly

By on Feb 13, 2019

2
Everyone

Will folks you definitely get what you pay for. I came down to the area for an interview and was looking for a reasonably priced hotel close by. First off the receptionist really didn't seem helpful at all and was taking personal calls while she was checking me in. We went out and came back later and found that our toilet didn't seem to flush everything down. We tried contacting the front desk and the phone kept ringing. We eventually went down and it seemed that the receptionist was the only person working because she was in the laundry area folding towels and not answering the phone and talking to someone on her cell. We told her the situation and instead of saying that she would send someone up to look at it she just offered the plunger for me to actually fix the toilet. So I took the plunger and cleared the clog myself. I then remove the blankets to get settled in and noticed on the sheets there was about four or five what look like blood spots on the sheets that they attempted to possibly wash but you could still see them visibly. I decided not to even bother trying to call the receptionist and just put a towel over it and slept on the towel. The faucet in the kitchen, if you turn to full blast water starts spraying out of the back of the faucet itself. lastly the kitchen is not stocked in any way other than hand towels and ice cube trays. If you need anything you have to ask for it. If I have to come back down again I will definitely avoid staying here again.

By on Jan 31, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 1, 2019

Joey, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are extremely sorry that you had a negative experience here, and we assure you that all of your concerns are being taken seriously. We have no excuses to offer, but we do extend our sincerest apologies and want you to know that we are making adjustments and working to deliver better hospitality going forward. Please consider staying at our hotel again in the future so you can experience the terrific service you should always expect from us, every visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Everyone

THE CHAIR BED WAS VERY DIRTY IT HAD A LOT OF BROWN SPOTS

By on Jan 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 8, 2019

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We know that a fresh, clean hotel sets the tone for a wonderful stay, and we regret this was not your experience. Our hotel is committed to ensuring cleanliness to all of our guests, and we are concerned that this did not occur. Your feedback has been shared with the housekeeping team to be more attentive in their work. We hope you will consider a future stay as we would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Everyone

The room was not as clean as it could be. The toilet seat was falling apart. The tub wasn't clean. The breakfast is just coffee and little pre packaged muffins.

By on Jan 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 4, 2019

Thank you for being our guest. We are sorry you were unhappy with our breakfast offerings and regret the issue you had in your room. Rest assured, your feedback has been shared with the housekeeping and maintenance team to address these issues immediately. Also, your feedback has been shared with our brand leaders to determine new breakfast choices. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Everyone

By on Jan 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 4, 2019

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We are disheartened to see the rating and sincerely apologize for not living up to your expectations. We value your business and truly hope you will give us another chance to prove that we are committed to providing an excellent experience. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Everyone

One of the worst hotel rooms we've ever stayed in. No maintenance and the room was supposed to be a non-smoking room, but filled with cigarette smoke.

By on Dec 26, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 26, 2018

Thank you for being our guest. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations with regard to your room while you were here and the inconvenience it caused to you. Your feedback is of utmost importance, so it has been discussed with our housekeeping and maintenance departments in an effort to improve our service and facilities moving forward. We would like to regain your trust and hope you will give us that chance in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management

Extended Stay America - Jacksonville-Salisbury Rd-Southpoint

4693 Salisbury Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32256