Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The rooms where not ready at 3.30 pm and the front desk representative promised to send a text when the rooms are ready. Never happened. At 9.30 pm I went to take a shower , but no hot water. Nobody gave us any warning but when I called , they claimed that happen few minutes ago. When you search the property is showing restaurant in the premises but the restaurant it's closed. At the breakfast area the floor was not cleaned properly.

Great location, walking distance to bars and restaurants.

It is very convenient to shopping and places to eat and things to do. I did not like the staff's service at the front desk. We ordered delivery, the driver said he wasnt allowed to take it to the room, but they never called to let us know our food had arrived. We ended up waiting over 2 hours..for food that had already arrived. Cold pizza with no microwave in the room made for a lousy dinner for my children. Also, the bathroom door would not lock. The indoor pool was to cold to enjoy and had so much chemicals in it, that my sons eyes burned for 2 days and we smelled of clorine even after showering the rest of the trip.

Staff is friendly and very accommodating

The hotel was fine but my only problem is that every time we called the front desk for a housekeeping request they would never send the housekeeping lady up to our room and would not acknowledge or help us

Outstanding staff.

Everything was great aside from the water pressure in the shower. It was absolutely awful but other than that everything was great

The staff was great, location this free dash bus was convenient

Nice

Good location, staff very friendly, complimentary breakfast good.

Perfect spot to stay in Charleston historic district!

Incredible location - doesn't get much better than this for downtown/historic Charleston. Parking on site was super easy and the hotel's convenient location meant I didn't have to keep pulling my car out of the garage to park in other parts of the historic district.

Concealed entrance access from road and additional fee parking

Good location for nightlife

All good

Within walking distances to everything downtown

Room was not clean and didn’t have accessories, had to ask for it

Comforter they gave us wasn’t washed and has some spots on it. When you asked for bath towels 4 (we are four family members) they gave us only 2. Room was some kind smelly. Not vegetarian breakfast choice, and not hot vegetarian bf. Not even bread in breakfast. Also same bf everyday. Good thing cold water bottle water available.

Nice place & the location was great but parking was horrible. Hotel made us use valet parking. They said that self parking had been discontinued. To retrieve our rental car we had to wait for about 45 minutes each time we wanted to use it because everyone else was trying to retrieve theirs too. I even called the front desk about an hour before we wanted to leave but according to the valet the front desk did not relay the message to them. Plus....the hotel also did not clean our room the entire 5 days that we were there so we had to track down the cleaning crew for any supplies that we needed.....which was quite a pain in the a$$

Parking was convenient except for it being a public parking garage. Weekend it filled up quick. Price was high but what isn’t in Charleston.

King Street Charleston SC

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Indoor pool

Located in Downtown Charleston, Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District is adjacent to Upper King Design District and within a 10-minute stroll of Music Farm. This 191-room, 3.5-star hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like an indoor pool and a 24-hour gym.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is offered each morning. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge or visit the onsite restaurant for a bite to eat. You can get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/cafe.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 42-inch TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Other amenities include MP3 docks, sofa beds, and refrigerators. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Built in 2015, the brand new Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District offers an indoor pool, a 24-hour gym, and free WiFi in public areas. Valet parking is offered for USD 34 per day. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, securing valuables, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a conference center, a 24-hour business center, and a computer station.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Bathtub

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 6

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Bathtub

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Room, Accessible

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District

Everyone (16) Couples (13) Family (21)
2
Family

The rooms where not ready at 3.30 pm and the front desk representative promised to send a text when the rooms are ready. Never happened. At 9.30 pm I went to take a shower , but no hot water. Nobody gave us any warning but when I called , they claimed that happen few minutes ago. When you search the property is showing restaurant in the premises but the restaurant it's closed. At the breakfast area the floor was not cleaned properly.

By on Feb 2, 2023

Review comment responded on Feb 3, 2023

Bogdan, it is clear we missed several opportunities to ensure a comfortably perfect experience and for that, we sincerely apologize. We will speak to our team immediately to ensure better attention to detail moving forward. As we improve the areas you highlighted, we ask for a second chance to restore our trust.

4
Partner Couples

Great location, walking distance to bars and restaurants.

By on Jan 19, 2023

Review comment responded on Jan 20, 2023

Thank you for your positive feedback, Mohenda. Hurry back to Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District to take further advantage of our excellent location in town!

3
Family with small children

It is very convenient to shopping and places to eat and things to do. I did not like the staff's service at the front desk. We ordered delivery, the driver said he wasnt allowed to take it to the room, but they never called to let us know our food had arrived. We ended up waiting over 2 hours..for food that had already arrived. Cold pizza with no microwave in the room made for a lousy dinner for my children. Also, the bathroom door would not lock. The indoor pool was to cold to enjoy and had so much chemicals in it, that my sons eyes burned for 2 days and we smelled of clorine even after showering the rest of the trip.

By on Dec 11, 2022

Review comment responded on Dec 14, 2022

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Jennifer. While we are glad our location allowed you to explore Charleston with ease, it’s disappointing to learn that other aspects of your stay fell short of the excellence we strive for. Our team will review your feedback to ensure more responsive service from our front desk staff and to make the necessary adjustments to our pool chemicals. Hopefully, you will allow us a second chance to welcome you so that we can exceed your expectations in every way.

5
Family

Staff is friendly and very accommodating

By on Oct 30, 2022

Review comment responded on Oct 31, 2022

Lee Anne, we strive to provide warm, accommodating service to each guest we welcome, and we're delighted to know this was exactly your experience! Thank you for sharing your kind remarks and five-star rating. We can't wait to create another memorable stay for you next time at Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District!

3
Partner Couples

The hotel was fine but my only problem is that every time we called the front desk for a housekeeping request they would never send the housekeeping lady up to our room and would not acknowledge or help us

By on Sep 7, 2022

Review comment responded on Sep 10, 2022

Thank you for your review, Ria. It's disappointing to learn that we missed the opportunity to assist you with your housekeeping request, as we always strive to provide the attentive and helpful service that can make your stay complete. We will be discussing your feedback internally with our team to see where improvements are needed, and we apologize for your inconvenience. Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to make a better impression in the near future.

5
Family

Outstanding staff.

By on Sep 5, 2022

Review comment responded on Sep 6, 2022

Our team will be proud to hear that you recognized their exceptional hospitality, Lynn! Thank you for choosing Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District and sharing your wonderful compliments with us. All of us here would love to greet you again soon!

3
Family with small children

Everything was great aside from the water pressure in the shower. It was absolutely awful but other than that everything was great

By on Aug 8, 2022

Review comment responded on Aug 11, 2022

While we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay overall, Courtney, we do regret that issue with our water pressure affected your experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for any difficulties this caused. Our team will work to make the necessary adjustments, and we hope you will offer us another chance to truly win you over.

4
Partner Couples

The staff was great, location this free dash bus was convenient

By on May 5, 2022

Review comment responded on May 7, 2022

Thank you for the four-star review, Mary! We enjoyed having you with us and ensuring you had all the comfort and convenience you needed for a great stay. Your kind words will be shared with our entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back again next time!

5
Family with small children

Nice

By on Apr 1, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 5, 2022

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed a five-star stay, Ken! We loved having you as our guest at Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District and we hope it won't be long before we can welcome you again!

3
Partner Couples

Good location, staff very friendly, complimentary breakfast good.

By on Mar 20, 2022

Review comment responded on Mar 22, 2022

We appreciate your positive feedback, Kevin, and are delighted to know that our prime location, warm hospitality, and delicious complimentary breakfast were highlights of your experience! Please revisit us at Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District for an even better stay soon!

Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District

560 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Charleston-Hotels-Hyatt-Place-Charleston/Historic-District.h10519812-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Charleston-Hotels-Hyatt-Place-Charleston/Historic-District.h10519812-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Charleston-Hotels-Hyatt-Place-Charleston/Historic-District.h10519812-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions