Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The hotel is average, but as soon as we entered, we were greeted by a couple of roaches and one large dead one by the toilet. We told the staff and they flushed it for us without an apology. We didn’t get an option to switch rooms or alternatives. We zipped up all our belongings and hoping none come with us.

Very convenient place. Walkable distance in almost anywhere within historic district.

The location was good and the hotel was ok but nothing that I would consider above average. I was not happy about the $17 parking fee- this is Charleston after all, and I would not have stayed there if I was aware of this.

Good continental breakfast, quiet room, easy walk to King Street, restaurants & shopping

Very nice hotel with free breakfast. Across the street from visitor center and lots of restaurants and shops just around the corner. Free trolley service takes you downtown and more shopping ...or you can walk 20-25min.

really good location, just across from free shuttles. hotel was nice and roomy. breakfast included was very convenient.

Great experience. Liked the fact that it was near the trolley.

We were in Charleston to celebrate our friends' anniversary and decided to stay a few extra days to see the city.

The Hampton Inn had not been our first choice when searching hotels online, but I'm glad our first one fell through because we really enjoyed our stay and it was in a good location! Right next door was some sort of theatre or playhouse. Though we didn't attend any shows, it would be so convenient to just walk next door to the hotel when it's over. Paolo's Gelato & Cannoli shop was just a few doors up. We thoroughly enjoyed that twice! On Saturday, at Marion Square (within walking distance), there was a small Farmer's market with great items and produce. As for the hotel itself, I loved the coffee and flavored creamers set out in the lobby (there was tea and hot chocolate as well). Thank you for having decaf so I could enjoy your amazing coffee at night, too! The fridge and microwave in the room was handy, and we liked the Neutrogena toiletries. The only two downfalls were the pool not being heated (my son was so disappointed and kept pointing at the pool), and the very limited time for the evening cookies - we never actually got any. My sweet tooth was bummed out. The breakfast was great though and our son had a banana more than once at random times of the day, so thank you for leaving those out! We would definitely stay here again if we make it back to Charleston. (Oh, I'm still unsure what types of children's activities you had available. In the description for the hotel it advertised family friendly (which it was) and activities...)

We recently stayed here while on a road trip to Charleston with kids. The hotel's location was perfect for us. It is right across the street from the Children's Museum, and from the trolley stops -- free trolleys everywhere around town! We took the trolley to the waterfront park, and to the aquarium, but also just walked back from the aquarium, it's not far. Also an easy walk to a touristy area with tons of restaurants. Our kids also enjoyed the pool. Parking at the hotel was very easy, and the breakfast included was actually really great. We enjoyed the hotel very much and hope to return.

Vacation visit - good location standard Hampton Inn ok breakfast but need better coffee

The hotel exceeded our expectations, outstanding service, cleanliness, breakfast was fresh and well prepared, location was excellent. I would stay at this hotel again.

Charleston is a great walking city!Loved being able to leave car in garage and walk everywhere

Great place to stay...convenient to walking to all the sights. Very comfortable accomodations. I've recommended it to friends staying in the area.

In town with family for a couple days of sightseeing. Hotel was beautiful but lacked some of the amenities of the many other Hampton Inns we have stayed at, no microwave or refrigerator in room. And the air conditioning did not keep up with the heat outside. Breakfast area was crowded and busy. Overall, an okay stay but overpriced for what it offers. Also had to pay for parking everyday.

The Hampton Inn historic district was perfect for us! We had the King study with sleeper sofa and 5 of us were very comfortable. The room was nice, clean, and quiet. No AC issues!!!! Breakfast was very nice with a large lobby/breakfast area and a variety of hot choices (eggs, sausage, gravy, waffles) as well as the usual continental fare with fresh fruit. 24 hr coffee and bottled water on request was nice too. The courtyard pool area is very nice with tables for breakfast or just sitting and relaxing. This hotel is on the northern end of about everything you want to walk to and is right across the street from the visitors center and public transportation. We walked to battery park, waterfront park, and all the shopping and restaurants we wanted to visit. We only got in the car to visit Magnolia Plantation (beautiful!) we never felt unsafe or like we got into the wrong area (unlike our San Francisco visit). Highly recommend this hotel for location, service, comfort and amenities!

This was a stop on a trip from Florida to Baltimore. We visited museums and other historical sites along the way.

My only complaint was that the drink machine on my floor (second) was not kept full and it took my $, too! The hotel location was wonderful -- right across from the Visitor's Center Breakfast good

We love Charleston and have had very good experiences with Hampton Inn so we combined them and it worked out great. Hampton Inn is the best of the affordable chains and the location put us right in the middle of the city with easy walks to shopping, restaurants, night spots. It was fantastic.

Hotel was nice overall, but very expensive. The same hotel can be booked everywhere else for about 1/2 the price. Parking also was not included and @ $16.00/day it adds up...

345 Meeting St Charleston SC

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to College of Charleston
  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Downtown Charleston, Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District is next to Joseph Manigault House and Charleston Museum. This hotel has 170 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. College of Charleston and USS Yorktown are also nearby.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is included with your stay.


Rooms

The 170 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including coffee makers, safes, and phones. Guests can expect free WiFi and TVs with pay movies. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Ironing boards are also included.


Property features

At Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, guests enjoy an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. Self parking is available for USD 17.00 per day. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a meeting room, a business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed (Study)

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Microwave

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Room, 1 King Bed, Microwave

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Everyone (7) Couples (48) Business (5) Family (29) Friends (15) Other (3)
1

roach infested

Everyone

The hotel is average, but as soon as we entered, we were greeted by a couple of roaches and one large dead one by the toilet. We told the staff and they flushed it for us without an apology. We didn’t get an option to switch rooms or alternatives. We zipped up all our belongings and hoping none come with us.

By on Oct 22, 2017

5

it was very convenient.

Everyone

Very convenient place. Walkable distance in almost anywhere within historic district.

By , from PA on Sep 27, 2017

3
Everyone

The location was good and the hotel was ok but nothing that I would consider above average. I was not happy about the $17 parking fee- this is Charleston after all, and I would not have stayed there if I was aware of this.

By on Aug 29, 2017

4

nice hotel, close to visitor center & free shuttle

Everyone

Good continental breakfast, quiet room, easy walk to King Street, restaurants & shopping

By , from Dunlap, Il on Aug 9, 2017

5

perfect location

Everyone

Very nice hotel with free breakfast. Across the street from visitor center and lots of restaurants and shops just around the corner. Free trolley service takes you downtown and more shopping ...or you can walk 20-25min.

By , from Long Island, NY on May 4, 2017

5

great location, very comfortable hotel

Families

really good location, just across from free shuttles. hotel was nice and roomy. breakfast included was very convenient.

By on Feb 2, 2017

4
Everyone

Great experience. Liked the fact that it was near the trolley.

By on Jun 24, 2016

4

nice hotel, walking distance to historic sights

Everyone

We were in Charleston to celebrate our friends' anniversary and decided to stay a few extra days to see the city.

By , from Florida on Apr 25, 2016

5

fun family weekend

Families

The Hampton Inn had not been our first choice when searching hotels online, but I'm glad our first one fell through because we really enjoyed our stay and it was in a good location! Right next door was some sort of theatre or playhouse. Though we didn't attend any shows, it would be so convenient to just walk next door to the hotel when it's over. Paolo's Gelato & Cannoli shop was just a few doors up. We thoroughly enjoyed that twice! On Saturday, at Marion Square (within walking distance), there was a small Farmer's market with great items and produce. As for the hotel itself, I loved the coffee and flavored creamers set out in the lobby (there was tea and hot chocolate as well). Thank you for having decaf so I could enjoy your amazing coffee at night, too! The fridge and microwave in the room was handy, and we liked the Neutrogena toiletries. The only two downfalls were the pool not being heated (my son was so disappointed and kept pointing at the pool), and the very limited time for the evening cookies - we never actually got any. My sweet tooth was bummed out. The breakfast was great though and our son had a banana more than once at random times of the day, so thank you for leaving those out! We would definitely stay here again if we make it back to Charleston. (Oh, I'm still unsure what types of children's activities you had available. In the description for the hotel it advertised family friendly (which it was) and activities...)

By on Dec 22, 2015

5

perfect location for travel with kids

Families

We recently stayed here while on a road trip to Charleston with kids. The hotel's location was perfect for us. It is right across the street from the Children's Museum, and from the trolley stops -- free trolleys everywhere around town! We took the trolley to the waterfront park, and to the aquarium, but also just walked back from the aquarium, it's not far. Also an easy walk to a touristy area with tons of restaurants. Our kids also enjoyed the pool. Parking at the hotel was very easy, and the breakfast included was actually really great. We enjoyed the hotel very much and hope to return.

By on Sep 30, 2015