Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Showed up to check in and the entire hotel had been evacuated. Everyone was standing outside while an alarm was blaring until someone showed up to turn it off. Turns out it was from a broken sprinkler pipe in the garage. Finally was able to check in and within an hour of checking in the alarm goes off 2 more times and the hotel was evacuated again. The staff said it was nothing to worry about but another guest told us it also happened at 6am that morning as well. So finally in our room and notice that they stocked the room with only 2 towels when we had a family of 4 in our 2 Queen bed room. My husband went down stairs to get more but they did not have any at the moment and said they would bring some up. That didnt happen so he went downstairs again later and caught an employee coming out of the laundry room and was able to get 2 more towels. There were 2 elevators to go up to our 5th floor room, but unfortunately 1 was out of order so we had to take the stairs many times as the line for the one working elevator was always very long due to the Covid restrictions of limited guests per elevator. They charge 32.00 for valet parking but we used the meter outside instead since we werent going to be there that long. Breakfast was ok in the morning but they ran out of everything very quickly as there were so many guests piling up food and taking it back to their rooms in the Styrofoam containers they offered. The kitchen area offered a full size refrigerator which was nice.

Very nice place, very clean & close to everything we wanted to do. Would stay there again next visit

Nice hotel, very clean, friendly staff. Off site parking was affordable and right next to the hotel.

Very clean. Friendly staff. Walking distance to downtown Charleston. Very good breakfast.

Room was dusty and floors unswept. Do not stay here.

Beautiful rooms. Friendly and enthusiastic staff.

Breakfast and happy hour included. Friendly and helpful staff. New and modern decor. Good location as far as convenience, but the immediate surrounding area is obviously going through a transition.

Good stay overall. Would recommend adjusting breakfast options for those with dietary restrictions (i.e., offering eggs w/o cheese).

This would have been a good hotel, but the housekeeping was awful! We had to call the front desk five times because the person cleaning our room forgot to provide towels, take out full garbage cans, provide cleaning supplies for the kitchenette , etc. The hotel itself is in a great location and the hotel amenities were nice.

Darnell at the front desk was helpful and professional. He made out stay enjoyable.

This hotel was so nice and comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was good & fresh each morning.

Upon arriving for the weekend after long drive in found out my reservations had been cancelled as the card we used to book trip got declined. We had fraud in the account that week and our credit card company shut it down. No one tried to contact us to let us know! Scrambled to find a room for 4 on a holiday weekend. Last orbitz trip ever.

The hotel was kept very clean. The rooms have a lot of space and are also very updated. The breakfast was also very good, and I liked the fact that there was a security guard or police officer at night. My wife and I were very satisfied with our stay here. If we come back to visit Charleston again we will be staying here, no doubt about it.

Staff was amazing. Breakfast was good. Room and location was fabulous.

Nice new hotel, breakfast was just ok. Location was one block off from great restaurants but then on the other side was a bit sketchy.

Meeting Street Charleston SC

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to College of Charleston and Charleston Music Hall
  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Bar/lounge

Located in Downtown Charleston, Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Historic District is a leisurely stroll from popular sights such as College of Charleston and Charleston Music Hall. This 139-room, 3-star hotel has an outdoor pool along with a 24-hour fitness center and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is served on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM. Unwind at the end of the day with a drink at the bar/lounge, or chat with other guests at the free manager's reception on select days.


Rooms

All 139 accommodations feature kitchens and space to spread out with living rooms and dining areas. Guests can expect 42-inch TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds are dressed in premium bedding. Other standard amenities include coffee makers, free local calls, and ceiling fans.


Property features

Built in 2017, the brand new Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Historic District offers an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. Valet parking is available for USD 32 per day. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, securing valuables, and concierge services. Additional amenities include conference space, a 24-hour business center, and a free grocery shopping service.

Room options

Studio Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 6

Studio, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 6

Suite, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking (Hearing)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 6

Guest reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Historic District

Everyone (14) Couples (2) Family (10)
2
Family

Showed up to check in and the entire hotel had been evacuated. Everyone was standing outside while an alarm was blaring until someone showed up to turn it off. Turns out it was from a broken sprinkler pipe in the garage. Finally was able to check in and within an hour of checking in the alarm goes off 2 more times and the hotel was evacuated again. The staff said it was nothing to worry about but another guest told us it also happened at 6am that morning as well. So finally in our room and notice that they stocked the room with only 2 towels when we had a family of 4 in our 2 Queen bed room. My husband went down stairs to get more but they did not have any at the moment and said they would bring some up. That didnt happen so he went downstairs again later and caught an employee coming out of the laundry room and was able to get 2 more towels. There were 2 elevators to go up to our 5th floor room, but unfortunately 1 was out of order so we had to take the stairs many times as the line for the one working elevator was always very long due to the Covid restrictions of limited guests per elevator. They charge 32.00 for valet parking but we used the meter outside instead since we werent going to be there that long. Breakfast was ok in the morning but they ran out of everything very quickly as there were so many guests piling up food and taking it back to their rooms in the Styrofoam containers they offered. The kitchen area offered a full size refrigerator which was nice.

By on Apr 6, 2021

5
Family

Very nice place, very clean & close to everything we wanted to do. Would stay there again next visit

By on Mar 10, 2021

4
Family

Nice hotel, very clean, friendly staff. Off site parking was affordable and right next to the hotel.

By on Mar 1, 2021

5
Family

Very clean. Friendly staff. Walking distance to downtown Charleston. Very good breakfast.

By , from Virginia on Jan 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 14, 2021

I wanted to say thanks for your recent stay here at our hotel! I hope you felt at home. We can’t wait to welcome you home again soon!

1
Business Business

Room was dusty and floors unswept. Do not stay here.

By on Jan 5, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 5, 2021

I really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize that the hotel was not as clean as our standards demand. A clean room that has been prepared for our guests is basic for a good stay. I am sorry if this was not your experience. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were. Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

5
Family

Beautiful rooms. Friendly and enthusiastic staff.

By on Jul 30, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 23, 2020

Thanks for the great score and recommendation. We hope you come back soon!

1
Everyone

By on Jul 9, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2020

Thanks!

5
Friends

Breakfast and happy hour included. Friendly and helpful staff. New and modern decor. Good location as far as convenience, but the immediate surrounding area is obviously going through a transition.

By on Feb 25, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 28, 2020

I wanted to say thanks for your recent stay here at our hotel! I hope you felt at home. We can’t wait to welcome you home again soon!

5
Everyone

By on Jan 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 29, 2020

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope you have a wonderful day

5
Everyone

By on Jan 6, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 9, 2020

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We can't wait to welcome you home again soon! Have a wonderful year

Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Historic District

415 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Charleston-Hotels-Homewood-Suites-by-Hilton-Charleston-Historic-District.h19656443-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Charleston-Hotels-Homewood-Suites-by-Hilton-Charleston-Historic-District.h19656443-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Charleston-Hotels-Homewood-Suites-by-Hilton-Charleston-Historic-District.h19656443-p2.Hotel-Reviews