Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Positive: 1. The shuttle service is fantastic. 2. Restaurant offers good variety, easy to order before going to the city. Negative: 1. We booked a room with seaview, we confirmed the day before, we got there and we got a view to the street. When we complained, they said it was a "partial view". Our reservation clearly stated seaview, they confirmed it, but no room for us. 2. No soap in the bathroom, we asked for it, they replaced the shampoo container. We got stucked with small samples of liquid soap. 3. Wife wanted to get a bath, just to find out a tub with hair and mold under the soap holder.

I spent a 1/2 hour trying to check in and every credit card I gave them they told me was declined. I told them that it was impossible and sure enough, it was their equipment that was non functional. The telephone in my room wasn't working when I tried to call housekeeping, front desk or concierge. I had to go out into the hallway and use the house phone next to the elevator. There was no housekeeping available. Beds weren't made, room wasn't clean and I had to take a used wet towel off of the bathroom floor to dry myself after my shower. I was told that this was my fault because I didn't request housekeeping service in advance. The staff at the front desk was snarky when I finally complained about the lack of service the night before I checked out.

Nice outdoor area for relaxing. Room was a bit small with very uncomfortable sitting options. Limited eating availability due to covid, i think.

great facility

I liked everything about this property. The location is great by the harbor. They provide you with a free shuttle bus that takes you to the market to go shopping, and pick you to bring you back to the hotel. The dining in this hotel was great the food was amazing breakfast, and dinner.

Very nice, clean room, great view from pool deck and bar area. Lots of construction in area. Dehumidifier in hall full, but staff walked right by without a look. Safe was locked, so could not use.

I like that it was on the waterfront. Close to everything I wanted to be around.

Beautiful views of water

Very convenient location to downtown and amazing view over the inner harbor. Creaky floor above us and not much sound insulation between rooms made for a noisy night.

Not worth the money we spent

Due to the fear cleaning crew never entered room during stay, no trash removal, no beds made, no new towels. This will change once this insanity is over.

Property was filthy. Cigarette butts untidy patio and pool area no towels at pool and bird poop. I was charged to park and my room was dirty and fixtures broken. I had to ask for clean towels.

Locations

Close to MUSC

The property needs a refresh. Clearly paint, minor damage, wall paper and decor outdated. Was clean, but in need of upgrade. Hotel largely empty during week, slightly more filled on weekend. It’s largely “highway and river locked”, meaning it’s not easy walking to center city. Asked for a room with River view, but was told not available to online, non mariott, direct reservations. The hotel was nearly empty at the time. Suggest management fulfill requests like this when the place is vacant. Not a bad experience, staff was friendly and helpful.

Lockwood Drive Charleston SC

Hotel highlights

  • Close to College of Charleston and Medical University of South Carolina
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Downtown Charleston within a short walk of Historic Rice Mill, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront by Marriott is within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights such as Medical University of South Carolina. This 3-star hotel has 179 guestrooms and offers conveniences like a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and a 24-hour gym.


Dining

Explore the hotel and meet new friends over drinks at the bar/lounge, or enjoy a bite to eat at the onsite restaurant. Get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/cafe. Start each morning with cooked-to-order breakfast, available for a fee from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

Flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds are dressed in premium bedding. Refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers are other standard amenities.


Property features

At Courtyard Charleston Waterfront by Marriott, guests enjoy an outdoor pool, a 24-hour gym, and free WiFi in public areas. If you drive, self parking is USD 8.00 per day, and there's also an area shuttle for a fee. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with tours or tickets, luggage storage, and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include a spa tub, a 24-hour business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, City View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Room, 1 King Bed, View, Corner

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, City View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Courtyard Charleston Waterfront by Marriott

Everyone (13) Couples (11) Business (1) Family (11)
2
Family with small children

Positive: 1. The shuttle service is fantastic. 2. Restaurant offers good variety, easy to order before going to the city. Negative: 1. We booked a room with seaview, we confirmed the day before, we got there and we got a view to the street. When we complained, they said it was a "partial view". Our reservation clearly stated seaview, they confirmed it, but no room for us. 2. No soap in the bathroom, we asked for it, they replaced the shampoo container. We got stucked with small samples of liquid soap. 3. Wife wanted to get a bath, just to find out a tub with hair and mold under the soap holder.

By , from Stoughton on Feb 25, 2022

Review comment responded on Feb 25, 2022

Dear Juan, thank you for being our guest and for your valuable feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations regarding the room you requested. We do try to honor these requests; however, there are times when we do not have the room unoccupied and available. We do understand your frustration, and we genuinely regret disappointing you. We are also sorry for the cleanliness issue you encountered with your room and the inconvenience caused. We have shared your concerns with the housekeeping team to ensure this is not repeated. On a positive note, we are glad you liked our shuttle service the food we serve. Thank you again, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so that we can provide you with a much better stay experience. Sincerely, Robert Heilman General Manager

1
Business Business

I spent a 1/2 hour trying to check in and every credit card I gave them they told me was declined. I told them that it was impossible and sure enough, it was their equipment that was non functional. The telephone in my room wasn't working when I tried to call housekeeping, front desk or concierge. I had to go out into the hallway and use the house phone next to the elevator. There was no housekeeping available. Beds weren't made, room wasn't clean and I had to take a used wet towel off of the bathroom floor to dry myself after my shower. I was told that this was my fault because I didn't request housekeeping service in advance. The staff at the front desk was snarky when I finally complained about the lack of service the night before I checked out.

By on Oct 28, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 29, 2021

Dear Howard, thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is disappointing to learn of the issues you experienced with our front desk during check-in. We also apologize for the housekeeping items that were overlooked in your room. We will share your remarks with our team to ensure these types of concerns are not repeated. It was our pleasure accommodating you, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the hospitality you deserve. Robert Heilman, General Manager

4
Partner Couples

Nice outdoor area for relaxing. Room was a bit small with very uncomfortable sitting options. Limited eating availability due to covid, i think.

By on Oct 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 14, 2021

Dear Debra, thank you for your recent stay at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront! We are pleased to read that you had an overall great stay and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. However, we are disappointed that you had some concerns with your room. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope you will give us another opportunity the next time you are in the area. Robert Heilman, General Manager

2
Everyone

By on Oct 5, 2021

5
Family Friends

great facility

By on Aug 29, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 31, 2021

Dear Adam, thank you for choosing to stay at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are glad to know you enjoyed your overall visit with us, and you were especially pleased with our thoughtful amenities. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to your next visit. Robert Heilman General Manager

5
Family

I liked everything about this property. The location is great by the harbor. They provide you with a free shuttle bus that takes you to the market to go shopping, and pick you to bring you back to the hotel. The dining in this hotel was great the food was amazing breakfast, and dinner.

By on Aug 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 9, 2021

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent stay at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront and for sharing your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and that you particularly enjoyed our amazing location and delicious food. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Robert Heilman, General Manager

5
Family Partner Couples

Very nice, clean room, great view from pool deck and bar area. Lots of construction in area. Dehumidifier in hall full, but staff walked right by without a look. Safe was locked, so could not use.

By on Aug 2, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 4, 2021

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing Courtyard Charleston Waterfront and for your perfect rating. We are glad to know you were pleased with our comfortable rooms, magnificent view, and thoughtful amenities. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. Robert Heilman, General Manager

4
Family with small children

I like that it was on the waterfront. Close to everything I wanted to be around.

By on Jul 25, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 26, 2021

Dear Guest, thank you for sharing about your stay at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. As you mentioned, our location is unique because it is just minutes away from downtown Charleston where there are many restaurants, shopping choices, and beautiful views of the river and marina. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. Robert Heilman, General Manager

5
Family

Beautiful views of water

By on Jul 24, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 26, 2021

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We appreciate your comments about our convenient location minutes from downtown and our beautiful views of the river and marina. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to your next visit. Robert Heilman, General Manager

4
Partner Couples Business Business

Very convenient location to downtown and amazing view over the inner harbor. Creaky floor above us and not much sound insulation between rooms made for a noisy night.

By on Jul 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 2, 2021

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing to stay at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are glad to know you were pleased with our excellent location and magnificent view. However, we regret your disappointment with not meeting some of your expectations. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. Robert Heilman, General Manager

Courtyard Charleston Waterfront by Marriott

35 Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Charleston-Hotels-Courtyard-Charleston-Waterfront-by-Marriott.h41206-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Charleston-Hotels-Courtyard-Charleston-Waterfront-by-Marriott.h41206-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Charleston-Hotels-Courtyard-Charleston-Waterfront-by-Marriott.h41206-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions