Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Air conditioner did not work. Curtains did not close completely and block out streetlight mounted above room window. Red rust bacteria in the bathroom fan. SHOWER/BATH DID NOT WORK. It was visibly broken and rubber caulk attempt to hide was a failure. I had to wash in the sink. (6am I was in a hurry.) A property begging to be condemned by the city. Looking for information to demand a refund from Hyatt preferably through Orbitz. DO NOT BOOK THIS LOCATION.

It's run down. We had to check in at the Days Inn which was connected to the Travelodge, because Travelodge didn't have anyone working there. There were no outside lights working on the second floor, we didn't have a fridge in our room, or drawers on the dresser. We had to change rooms because the air didn't work at all, and only the fan worked in the new room. It was very disappointing

That was the worst hotel I have ever booked. The beds didn’t have sheets. The night stand and dresser draws were broken and on the floor. The room smelled awful, the air conditioner didn’t work and the TV was broken. Homeless people sleep better. Totally disgusting.

Property was run down with a toilet just being outside of the room I was given. Inside of the room, the bed was uncomfortable, woke up with back pain everyday day there.

There were bugs in our room. My husband had to kill them. And we did not sleep at all. He didn’t want to complain because he did not want to repack and unpack again.

Cable TV was not working. I complained but did not setup to fix it. Room was clean and well kept. No breakfast included.

Travelodge was responsive to my complaints and fixed the toilet and cleaned the carpet and secured electrical outlet.

Cockraoches in the tv.. No fridge microwave or blowdryer. Coffee taste like crap

We needed a place with a bed, no fancy amenities. Booking and check-in in went well. Room was old but clean. In morning, I discovered the room lacked a hair dryer. I called front desk -- no answer. I went to lobby -- no one there but a sign saying will be back in 10 minutes I waited 10 minutes. No one came. I went to adjoining hotel (which shares ownership) and was told the front desk person had an emergency. I asked for a hair dryer and was told housekeeping would bring one. 10 minutes later a housekeeper came to the room who spoke no English, had no hair dryer and was not sure why she was there. When we left, the person from adjoinin hotel was just leaving the lobby of this hotel and I told him we never got the hair dryer. He was leaving the lobby unattended again. I left with wet hair.

offered only a smoking room - requested non-smoking room during reservation room wreaked of tobacco smoke - disgusting & totally unacceptable considered sleeping in my car despite fatigue at end of travel - spent an hour looking for alternative hotel will not use this hotel or orbitz again

My stay was only for two days, so I cant give an extensive review. But what I did have was a room with pealing wallpaper, a cracked tub, faulty shower head, an out dated television set. It looked like my door was broken down once before. The shower looked like it was once a closet and there was poor ventilation in the room.

The hotel was only basic it met the needs of visitors looking for room at the inn. Basic and somewhat minimalist furnishing and amenities.

very convenient to busses, restaurants, and main roads, yet situated in a quiet area.

when I stayed here, it was a friend & I, it was in November & the weather was a bit chilly. In the room we had, the heater was running but the room was not warm. Other than being cold & the hotel room was an older room, it was ok. We stayed here because we were seeing Washington DC & also attended a concert nearby, so this hotel was for just one night & made do to be a place to sleep & shower. The parking lot was small, & it was hard to find a park when we arrived, & after finally seeing someone pull out of heir space, we grabbed it. The next morning as we were leaving, someone else was trying to find a park as well, & grabbed ours as soon as we drove off. We arrived late, & staff was friendly at both check in & out. This hotel worked as the purpose we intended it to, which was just to be there a few hrs.

This room was good if you'd just be staying for a night or two and not planning on being in the room much. I needed a room to sleep for the night within walking distance from the Fillmore. This room fit the bill. The room was clean, if a little outdated. Old paint, old style 19" tv. TV was fuzzy/snowy on a number of channels. It did have a mini fridge which was nice. No coffee maker, however. Staff at check in was OK. Took care of the basics, not very friendly, but not rude either. Overall, not a bad room for the price in the Silver Spring area. It fit the bill of what I needed at a decent price. I would stay there again for another concert in the area and just needing to have a place to sleep afterwards within walking distance.

I was there just to take a break from work and it's not far but far enough where I live the price alone is high but you are paying for location my room was kind of clean I had ants all over the room and roaches I went to the office the lady moved me immediately the other room was clean and I didn't see any bugs but I was paranoid the rest of my stay there

Everything was somewhat ok except out of the three rooms we reserved my room seemed to be the worst! I had no iron no microwave and the top it off I was all bitten up by fleas in my bed!! When I told the front desk they just made a note of it and did nothing to make it right!

We only stayed here for two nights and spent most of our days in DC, so we weren't here much. The walk to the hotel from the Silver Spring metro is pretty straightforward, a little confusing to find it (past the Days Inn coming from East-West highway) but not impossible. There's not much around, but there are a few restaurants along E-W Hwy, as well as a Subway on premises (they close at 9pm). Check-in was easy (we prepaid), and we found our room easily enough. We had room #404 on the second floor of the hotel. The room is decently sized, a bit worn out looking, but overall fine. The wifi (password written on your paper roomkey sleeve!) was surprisingly fast - we were expecting it to be virtually non-existant, but it kept up with us browsing multiple pages on one device rapidly. A few things I noticed after a few hours in the room: Even with the A/C on, I smelled a faint urine smell in the room, however our bathroom smelled fine, like a well-cleaned bathroom. Not sure if it was coming from another room or from the carpet, but it was kind of off-putting. Also, the walls are PAPER THIN, and you can hear everything your neighbors are doing. One neighbor was talking loudly on the phone, and we could even hear the person on the other end of the phone. There was a door adjoining these two rooms, which didn't help (and made me feel a bit uneasy). Another neighbor watched TV loudly and it was tolerable with the A/C on, but still distracting. BRING EARPLUGS IF YOU SLEEP LIGHTLY! One plus: The room stayed very dark, so if you need your room to be like a tomb, it's perfect. Never heard any noises from the street, so no issues there. The neighborhood didn't feel unsafe, per se, but there was NO ONE around, which felt dicey. I wanted to go to an Ethiopian restaurant a few blocks down, but it was after dark and wasn't keen on going out without knowing what was up. Checkout was easy, no issues there. Ddin't notice if they do a continental breakfast, jus saw they had a coffee setup on the back counter in the lobby. Overall it was a decent place to rest your head, don't know if I'd be back. Think I might choose a place closer to DC in the future.

13th St Silver Spring MD

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free uncovered self parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Business center

Located in Downtown Silver Spring, Travelodge by Wyndham Silver Spring is within a few miles (5 km) of sights such as Holy Cross Hospital and Rock Creek Park. This 59-room motel has a restaurant along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at Subway, the motel's onsite restaurant.


Rooms

Travelodge by Wyndham Silver Spring's 59 air-conditioned rooms provide coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 42-inch TVs with digital channels. Hair dryers are also standard.


Property features

Guests of Travelodge by Wyndham Silver Spring enjoy access to free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and coffee in a common area. If you decide to drive, there's free parking. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with luggage storage, and answer any questions about the accommodations.

Room options

Double Room, 2 Double Beds

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 5

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Standard Double Room, 2 Double Beds, Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 5

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Travelodge by Wyndham Silver Spring

Everyone (5) Couples (15) Business (23) Family (23) Other (20) Friends (8)
1
Business Business

Air conditioner did not work. Curtains did not close completely and block out streetlight mounted above room window. Red rust bacteria in the bathroom fan. SHOWER/BATH DID NOT WORK. It was visibly broken and rubber caulk attempt to hide was a failure. I had to wash in the sink. (6am I was in a hurry.) A property begging to be condemned by the city. Looking for information to demand a refund from Hyatt preferably through Orbitz. DO NOT BOOK THIS LOCATION.

By on May 5, 2022

Review comment responded on May 5, 2022

Thanks for your review not sure if this is our hotel. We will research this review. Thanks

2
Family with small children

It's run down. We had to check in at the Days Inn which was connected to the Travelodge, because Travelodge didn't have anyone working there. There were no outside lights working on the second floor, we didn't have a fridge in our room, or drawers on the dresser. We had to change rooms because the air didn't work at all, and only the fan worked in the new room. It was very disappointing

By on May 2, 2022

Review comment responded on May 4, 2022

We're sorry if you didn't enjoy your stay with us, know that I will share your review with my staff so that any issues can be solved.

1
Family

That was the worst hotel I have ever booked. The beds didn’t have sheets. The night stand and dresser draws were broken and on the floor. The room smelled awful, the air conditioner didn’t work and the TV was broken. Homeless people sleep better. Totally disgusting.

By on Sep 7, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 7, 2021

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

1
Everyone

Property was run down with a toilet just being outside of the room I was given. Inside of the room, the bed was uncomfortable, woke up with back pain everyday day there.

By on Jul 7, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 7, 2021

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at our property. Just know that we are clearing up any issues. Thanks for your review

1
Everyone

By on Oct 6, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 13, 2020

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. I will share your review with my staff so that we can improve on our service.

1
Everyone

By on Nov 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 13, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

2
Family

There were bugs in our room. My husband had to kill them. And we did not sleep at all. He didn’t want to complain because he did not want to repack and unpack again.

By on Sep 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 20, 2019

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Please know that I will share your review with my staff so that any areas mention will be reviewed and rectified Thanks for your review

4
Business Business

Cable TV was not working. I complained but did not setup to fix it. Room was clean and well kept. No breakfast included.

By on Sep 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 18, 2019

Thanks for your review

4
Family Family

Travelodge was responsive to my complaints and fixed the toilet and cleaned the carpet and secured electrical outlet.

By on Jul 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 10, 2019

Thanks for your review

1
Partner Couples Business Business

Cockraoches in the tv.. No fridge microwave or blowdryer. Coffee taste like crap

By , from Silver spring on Mar 29, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 3, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

Travelodge by Wyndham Silver Spring

8040 13th St, Silver Spring, MD 20910
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Washington-Hotels-Travelodge-by-Wyndham-Silver-Spring.h869552-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Washington-Hotels-Travelodge-by-Wyndham-Silver-Spring.h869552-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Washington-Hotels-Travelodge-by-Wyndham-Silver-Spring.h869552-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions