Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The hotel is nice and clean, and the staff is friendly.. I am not so sure about the staff competence: I expected a fedex shipment of some important presentational material, but the staff claimed repeatedly that no such shipment had been received and caused me I do a lot of leg work: following up with the post office on the Gallaudet campus, checking FedEx. I already thought I had to get the package shipped again with rush service.... After 3 inquiries at the front desk they finally produced the package which had been sitting in somebody’s office all along. No apologies or any kind of statement of regret for a considerable inconvenience on my part....

Room and bathroom looked like someone had done some remodeling and hadn't bothered to finish. There were black holes in the ceiling along the window. Looked like mold at first until I realized that it must have been where the previous curtains hung from. The bathroom wall had large patches of spackle in it that hadn't been sanded or painted. I stayed in this hotel one year ago in a different room and had a similar experience. With a little work, it could be a nice stay but the rooms just seemed shabby.

I don’t know how I overlooked this hidde. gem in Washington, DC.

The location is a bit out of the way - set in the middle of a large college campus - a ten minute walk from the nearest metro station. But there is a free shuttle that runs from the campus to Union station throughout the day, which I found very useful. The room was spacious - well equipped - nicely decorated and quite comfortable. The Bistro restaurant has a decent breakfast - but not great for dinner. Just a short walk away is Union Market with a wide array of food choices - though closed on Mondays. Gallaudet college is the leading college in the country for deaf students- and those interested in educational services for the deaf. They run a number of model school operations on the campus. And so the hotel attracts family members and people attending conferences aimed at providing social services. As a frequent business traveler - I have never experienced a more pleasant - congenial group of people in and about a hotel. The atmosphere is quiet - peaceful and respectful in a unique way - that I found totally enjoyable.

The only draw backs were the limited parking which had to be in a garage that charged a lot of money. It should be free for hotel guests. I also wish nice hotels had great coffee pots. Tiny ones are terrible for such a nice place.

The hotel was very nice. The staff there was friendly. The scenery outside at the university grounds was beautiful. It's location near the Union Station was a bonus.

Why did I have to wait for late afternoon 4 pm! AW!!

The hotel on the campus of Gallaudet University was pleasant enough, although check-in was painfully slow. The hotel is in an interesting, changing neighborhood, near a red-line metro station that is just one stop north of Union Station, and across the street from Union Market. Room rates were quite reasonable, although breakfast was not included.

The shower did not work. I asked housekeeping staff for assistance, but they could not repair it. We were moved to another bathroom so that we could take a shower and the next day we were moved to another room. In compensation we were given free breakfast

University conference center beside Union Market with free shuttle to Union Station and short walk to H Street restaurants. On site cafe is very good (and kinder price than other local options).

Good to be out of the city. Enter and on campus is a welcome break. A Lille inconvenient but shuttles and cabs are good. Hotel management and rooms are a solid B+. Like the free breakfasts.

I booked 2 double beds, but the hotel just gave me a one bed room. They charged the deposits, but they have not refund to me.

A/C didn't work and hard to find on the university campus.

Advertised photos do not depict room. I completely understand that there will always be differences but this was more than differences. The room was extremely dirty, we found dirty glasses and socks in the drawers and the lamps didn't work. When we told front desk they said they couldn't do anything due to being at maximum capacity.

It is a nice place to stay at a reasonable price. There was no hair dryer in my room and the staff was unable to locate one to send up to replace. That was the only negative.

This hotel is very clean with very friendly staff. The campus is very quiet and close to Capitol Hill. We booked our rooms through Orbitz at a discount and took advantage of the hotel's shuttle to get us to our meetings on the Hill. Highly recommend and plan to stay there again.

We did not have hot water in the shower either in the evening nor the morning. I forgot to mention that at checkout because we were in a hurry, but would have been nice to get some sort of refund for cold showers.

Only negative was the $30.00 parking fees per day.

This stay was over the Christmas holiday and we nearly had the whole place to ourselves. Due to the holiday the breakfast bistro was not available and the semblence of a continental breakfast was minimal, but the price was lower than usual and the rest of the stay was top quality.

Check in had some issues.. but staff was very nice about it

800 Florida Avenue NE Washington DC

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour business center

Located in Gallaudet within 2 miles (3 km) of Supreme Court of the United States, Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University is within a few miles (5 km) of other popular sights such as United States Capitol. This 3-star hotel has 122 guestrooms and offers conveniences like a restaurant, a 24-hour fitness center, and free in-room WiFi. Located in central Washington, the hotel is also near Ford's Theater and White House.


Dining

Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite bistro, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. You can sip a beverage at the coffee shop/café. For your convenience, a buffet breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 7:30 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

All 122 air-conditioned accommodations feature sitting areas. Guests can expect to find free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Coffee makers, free newspapers, and ironing boards are also standard.


Property features

Renovated in 2015, Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University offers a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and 10 meeting rooms. If you drive, self parking is USD 30.00 per night, and there's also a free area shuttle. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include conference space, a 24-hour business center, and free newspapers.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Executive Club Queen

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University

Everyone (36) Couples (23) Business (18) Family (30) Other (7) Friends (7)
3

good facilities, not so sure about the staff....

Everyone

The hotel is nice and clean, and the staff is friendly.. I am not so sure about the staff competence: I expected a fedex shipment of some important presentational material, but the staff claimed repeatedly that no such shipment had been received and caused me I do a lot of leg work: following up with the post office on the Gallaudet campus, checking FedEx. I already thought I had to get the package shipped again with rush service.... After 3 inquiries at the front desk they finally produced the package which had been sitting in somebody’s office all along. No apologies or any kind of statement of regret for a considerable inconvenience on my part....

By on Nov 16, 2017

3
Everyone

Room and bathroom looked like someone had done some remodeling and hadn't bothered to finish. There were black holes in the ceiling along the window. Looked like mold at first until I realized that it must have been where the previous curtains hung from. The bathroom wall had large patches of spackle in it that hadn't been sanded or painted. I stayed in this hotel one year ago in a different room and had a similar experience. With a little work, it could be a nice stay but the rooms just seemed shabby.

By on Nov 8, 2017

5

great hotel

Everyone

I don’t know how I overlooked this hidde. gem in Washington, DC.

By , from Brooklyn on Oct 30, 2017

4

peaceful spot in the middle of a busy city

Families

The location is a bit out of the way - set in the middle of a large college campus - a ten minute walk from the nearest metro station. But there is a free shuttle that runs from the campus to Union station throughout the day, which I found very useful. The room was spacious - well equipped - nicely decorated and quite comfortable. The Bistro restaurant has a decent breakfast - but not great for dinner. Just a short walk away is Union Market with a wide array of food choices - though closed on Mondays. Gallaudet college is the leading college in the country for deaf students- and those interested in educational services for the deaf. They run a number of model school operations on the campus. And so the hotel attracts family members and people attending conferences aimed at providing social services. As a frequent business traveler - I have never experienced a more pleasant - congenial group of people in and about a hotel. The atmosphere is quiet - peaceful and respectful in a unique way - that I found totally enjoyable.

By , from Boston on Oct 30, 2017

4

hotel is in the center of the city

Everyone

The only draw backs were the limited parking which had to be in a garage that charged a lot of money. It should be free for hotel guests. I also wish nice hotels had great coffee pots. Tiny ones are terrible for such a nice place.

By on Oct 10, 2017

5
Everyone

The hotel was very nice. The staff there was friendly. The scenery outside at the university grounds was beautiful. It's location near the Union Station was a bonus.

By on Oct 5, 2017

3
Everyone

Why did I have to wait for late afternoon 4 pm! AW!!

By on Sep 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 8, 2017

We are sorry to know that our 4pm check in time was too late for your liking. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. We value all of our guests feedback!

3

nice hotel, interesting location

Everyone

The hotel on the campus of Gallaudet University was pleasant enough, although check-in was painfully slow. The hotel is in an interesting, changing neighborhood, near a red-line metro station that is just one stop north of Union Station, and across the street from Union Market. Room rates were quite reasonable, although breakfast was not included.

By on Sep 5, 2017

4

nice hotel, with free shuttle to the union station

Everyone

The shower did not work. I asked housekeeping staff for assistance, but they could not repair it. We were moved to another bathroom so that we could take a shower and the next day we were moved to another room. In compensation we were given free breakfast

By , from Córdoba, Argentina on Aug 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 1, 2017

Esteban, we would like to apologize for the issues with your guest room. Thank you for notifying our team of the issue. We greatly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us.

4

great value for ne d.c.

Everyone

University conference center beside Union Market with free shuttle to Union Station and short walk to H Street restaurants. On site cafe is very good (and kinder price than other local options).

By , from OKC on Aug 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 1, 2017

Thank you so much for your detailed description of our surrounding area! Its great to know that you were able to explore the nearby hot-spots while you were here. Both Union Market and H-Street are some of our staff members favorite places to go. We'd love to welcome you back for an even better stay one day soon! Cheers!