Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort

4.0 out of 5.0

Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Daycare was great pools were clean music was great beach was beautiful food was alright on some days but overall good

Very nice facilities, very little food, Buffett is very small and not enough selection. If you are eating healthy you’ll eat lots of veggies. That’s all they have. Barceló is known for their excellence, specially when it comes to the food they serve and this hotel does not represent the name Barceló. The restaurants are terrible. I was bored and hungry the whole time I was there. We had to leave the result daily in search of a good meal.

Very nice staff! Wonderfull pools! Room had problems with a/c unit and they relocate me without problems....Overall a Great experience!😊

i love this hotel is very convenient everything is close

staff was rude and not helpful. What was the worst of all there was bed bugs, so be aware!!!!!!!!!

Well kept facilities and foliage, food availability and seating were also convenient for this time of year (July). To be brief:Pros:Much less expensive compared to other Caribbean or Mexican destinations during this time. drinks and food were abundant and the bar staff we free pouring with the drinks and frequency. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The basic package is verrry similar to the first class/royal package so no need to upgrade for the easy to please traveler. Cons:drinks were waaaay bottom shelf and top shelf was not available and/or reluctantly given after a heavy bribe to the bartenders (only some bartenders would allow this), they really push the timeshare (which hey are calling a vacation package) so they make sure you feel it when you ask for something in the royal member package which dampens the trip feel. The timeshare demo was worth it if you know how to say no, you get to eat and drink in he royal side to determine if the value is there (it’s not.. for $500 a month/5 years entry price) but they give you $75 worth of hotel cash you can use to buy souvineers or larger mugs for the pool bar. Staff: bar staff fantastic. Front desk, and amenities staff, garbage. 1% of the entire staff spoke English so bush up on your HighSchool Spanglish, not a huge deal, but the staff uses this list in translation to their advantage, big time and especially if it is something you really need to make the stay more comfortable. im out of room...

The staff was very friendly and helpful..was not satisfy with the food servie..i expected a more traditional island menu,

We absolutely loved our stay at the Occidental Punta Cana this June 2018! All staff we dealt with was very friendly and very accommodating. The room was so spacious and bright and we loved to have a glass sliding door that opens into the nicest weather/beach! We are definitely going back! Super Recommend!

No English speaking workers what so ever. Everyday we asked for beer because we should have had a stocked mini bar and they told us yes, and it never came & they blamed It on the housekeeping but still never came. The walls have water stains on them because they’re apparently was a leak and they never thought to repaint it there was caulk all over the walls in the bathroom the drain doesn’t even properly drain there was dirt on the table or three days from when we got there that the housekeeping never cleaned up and there was tons of bugs in the room that were eating us alive but you couldn’t talk to anybody because nobody spoke English would never stay here again

The hotel was great. We experienced a little issues with our TV. They got me a new one and because of the inconvenience they send me a Romantic breakfast to our room. Multiple pools and tons of activities. We will be back.

Nice resort with great pools and beach area with plenty of beach chairs. Buffet food selection is limited and average. Dinner in the restaurants needs to be reserved in advanced even though most tables are empty. Our dinner in steak restaurant was terrible. Steaks were well done and salty with no choice for how the steak was cooked. Our dinner in sea food restaurant was excellent and good was good. The bars and mixed drinks selections are average. Some bartenders don't even know how to mix drinks so we sticked with the basic drinks like gin and tonic or pina colada with rum. Some staff don't speak English which makes it difficult. On our last day there was no water in the resort at 3:00 which we could not take shower or brush our teeth to leave for the airport. The exercise room is small with some equipment out of order. Service is average. In the buffet restaurants sometime we stacked up dirty dishes because no one pick them up. There are no servers on the beach and pools. Drinks are mostly ordered at the bars.

The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were very new and clean. The resort has numerous pools, restaurants, and bars which were all well staffed and good quality. The beach was kept clean and had many chairs available. They had activities for people of all ages and managed to keep a good balance of Spring Break students and families at the resort.

Me encantó el hotel, hermoso, piscinas espectaculares, comida riquísima y entretenimiento muy bueno.. Ya tengo planes para volver a finales de este año

The hotel and grounds were very well maintained. The food choices are excellent. The shows are fun. The wait staff and bar tenders were great. Had an amazing time.

I had a great time, good weather, nice beach and friendly people.

This hotel has potential for better ratings. The grounds are nice, but service is poor and food is mediocre. I would still recommend it, just lower your expectations regarding food and service in general. All the rest is very good.

The pool and beach were nice. The restaurants were so so. Housekeeping would only fix the bed. Not change the sheets. They wouldn’t give us new towels. Stood there for 6 days and not once did they change our towels or bed sheets. They only mop the floor and fix the beds nothing else. Some staff were rude. Some were okay. Not too thrilled with the service

Our stay during Christmas was very happy, great weather, close to beach, nice food, safe clean quiet and spacious room, friendly staff, many activities for different age groups The weakest link was reception desk, check in was veeery slow, they always buried their head busy on something, they tried to help you but just not result driven. Other than that our over all experience was great here.

There were a lot of discrepancies about pricing. I had a friend stay with me for a few nights. Initially, I es quoted a guest fee of $60 per night since I had already booked my room. Later, I was told it was $98 per night. Then when my guest arrived, I was told it was $87 per night but on the weekends days, it would be $95 per night. I felt cheated and ripped off. It seems like the representatives in the reception area all had a different answer. It was very confusing and frustrating. The food selection at the buffet was horrible. There wasn’t enough of a selection for the size of the resort. Occidental Caribe is better.

Hotel looks beautiful and the people and ambiance make it better. Just be prepared I traveled from the US and none of our cellphones worked. I have AT&T. The television in the room also didn’t work and the WiFi with purchase also wasn’t working

España Avenue, Bávaro Punta Cana La Altagracia

Hotel highlights

  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Marina
  • Spa

Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort places you within 2 miles (3 km) of White Sands Golf Course and Cortecito Beach. This 860-room, 4-star resort has 3 outdoor pools along with a marina and a full-service spa. Located centrally in Punta Cana, it's also near Aromas Museum and Los Corales Beach.


Dining

There are multiple options for onsite dining with 11 restaurants, including El Alcázar, which has pool views. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or make new friends at the free daily manager's reception.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find 32-inch a TV with satellite channels. Beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a balcony, a sofa bed, and a refrigerator.


Property features

Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort features a marina, a full-service spa, and 3 outdoor pools. There's free parking and a casino shuttle. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this all-inclusive resort include a nightclub, a children's pool, and a fitness center.

Room options

Superior Room - 3 Adults

King 1 | Full 2 | Sleeps 3

Superior Room Royal Level - 2 Adults & 1 Child

King 1 | Full 2 | Sleeps 3

Superior Room - 2 adults & 1 Child

King 1 | Full 2 | Sleeps 3

Superior Room Oceanfront - 3 Adults & 1 Child

King 1 | Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort

Everyone (29)
5
Everyone

Daycare was great pools were clean music was great beach was beautiful food was alright on some days but overall good

By on Oct 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 31, 2018

Dear Guest, Greetings from the Occidental Punta Cana ! Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know that the quality of our hotel met your expectations. There is nothing more important to us than to offer our guests a superior holiday experience. We have taken note of your comments regarding our food selection and guarantee to take the necessary steps to improving in this area. It would be a joy to be your host in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back. It was sincerely a pleasure to serve you. Cordial regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

1
Everyone

Very nice facilities, very little food, Buffett is very small and not enough selection. If you are eating healthy you’ll eat lots of veggies. That’s all they have. Barceló is known for their excellence, specially when it comes to the food they serve and this hotel does not represent the name Barceló. The restaurants are terrible. I was bored and hungry the whole time I was there. We had to leave the result daily in search of a good meal.

By , from Orlando on Oct 17, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 17, 2018

Dear Odette, Thank you for sharing feedback with us. We are, needless to say, saddened to hear that you weren’t fully pleased by our holiday offering. We are sorry that you have such a negative perception of our 11 restaurants on site. We would like you to know that we make every effort to provide each of our guests with an excellent holiday experience and meet their expectations, so we will do everything in our power to improve in this area. We truly hope that you choose to give us another chance in the future, so we have the opportunity to surpass your expectations on a future visit to Punta Cana. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

5
Everyone

Very nice staff! Wonderfull pools! Room had problems with a/c unit and they relocate me without problems....Overall a Great experience!😊

By , from Puerto Rico on Aug 7, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 7, 2018

Dear Miguel, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us at Occidental Punta Cana. We very honored to know you enjoyed a five star experience and that our team was able to solve the inexpected inconvenience. We will be glad to host you again. It was a pleasure to serve you. Best regards,

5
Everyone

i love this hotel is very convenient everything is close

By on Aug 3, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 3, 2018

Dear valued guest, Thank you for sharing your experience feedback. We are honored by the excellent rate you have given to our holiday offering. We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards,

1
Everyone

staff was rude and not helpful. What was the worst of all there was bed bugs, so be aware!!!!!!!!!

By , from New York on Jul 31, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 31, 2018

Dear Liliana, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry to know that this is the perception you took home regarding our resort, when our main goal is for guests to leave at least with an excellent memories of their stay. It also saddens us to learn that our staff assistance did not meet your expectations and to hear about the possible bed bugs is very concerning, principally because this is not an issue that has happen and we follow strict quality standards. We have certainly taken your comment as an improvement tool to avoid this type of situations in the future. We hope you find within yourself, the possibility of giving us the chance to host you again and provide you with the five stars experience that our guests are used to enjoy. Best regards,

3

avid carib travelers hon review. $1k/pp/ w/af 6day

Everyone

Well kept facilities and foliage, food availability and seating were also convenient for this time of year (July). To be brief:Pros:Much less expensive compared to other Caribbean or Mexican destinations during this time. drinks and food were abundant and the bar staff we free pouring with the drinks and frequency. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The basic package is verrry similar to the first class/royal package so no need to upgrade for the easy to please traveler. Cons:drinks were waaaay bottom shelf and top shelf was not available and/or reluctantly given after a heavy bribe to the bartenders (only some bartenders would allow this), they really push the timeshare (which hey are calling a vacation package) so they make sure you feel it when you ask for something in the royal member package which dampens the trip feel. The timeshare demo was worth it if you know how to say no, you get to eat and drink in he royal side to determine if the value is there (it’s not.. for $500 a month/5 years entry price) but they give you $75 worth of hotel cash you can use to buy souvineers or larger mugs for the pool bar. Staff: bar staff fantastic. Front desk, and amenities staff, garbage. 1% of the entire staff spoke English so bush up on your HighSchool Spanglish, not a huge deal, but the staff uses this list in translation to their advantage, big time and especially if it is something you really need to make the stay more comfortable. im out of room...

By on Jul 8, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 12, 2018

Dear Anonymus, Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to host you and for sharing your opinion. We are sorry that we have not been able to offer you a better experience, since the satisfaction of our guests will always be our main objective. I assure you that your comments will be taken into account, as is customary, to evaluate the necessary improvement measures. It would be an honor to welcome you again and be able to change this last experience. It will always be a pleasure to serve you. Best regards,   Alvaro Fontenla General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

3
Everyone

The staff was very friendly and helpful..was not satisfy with the food servie..i expected a more traditional island menu,

By on Jun 22, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 24, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the time taken to share your opinion about your stay here at Occidental Punta Cana. We are glad to learn that we were able to make your visit to our hotel, very pleasant. Rest assured that your comment will be shared with our Food and Beverage manager for a direct evaluation. We will be glad to have the chance of hosting you again, hopefully in the near future. Bets regards, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

5

paradise with private beach

Everyone

We absolutely loved our stay at the Occidental Punta Cana this June 2018! All staff we dealt with was very friendly and very accommodating. The room was so spacious and bright and we loved to have a glass sliding door that opens into the nicest weather/beach! We are definitely going back! Super Recommend!

By , from Massachusetts on Jun 14, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 14, 2018

Dear Renata, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. Leaving positive feedback does not only motivate our collaborators to continue offering a superior quality of service, but it also benefits other travelers when deciding on their holiday prospects. That said, we are delighted to have received such a stellar review on your behalf and, it goes without saying, that your recommendation is our greatest achievement. We reiterate our appreciation to you for having chosen to stay with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Best regards,

2

close to beach, non english speaking

Everyone

No English speaking workers what so ever. Everyday we asked for beer because we should have had a stocked mini bar and they told us yes, and it never came & they blamed It on the housekeeping but still never came. The walls have water stains on them because they’re apparently was a leak and they never thought to repaint it there was caulk all over the walls in the bathroom the drain doesn’t even properly drain there was dirt on the table or three days from when we got there that the housekeeping never cleaned up and there was tons of bugs in the room that were eating us alive but you couldn’t talk to anybody because nobody spoke English would never stay here again

By , from philadelphia pa on Apr 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 23, 2018

Dear Nikki, We appreciate the time taken to send us your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Occidental Punta Cana. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you might’ve experienced during your stay with us. We wish nothing more than to satisfy each guest’s expectations. However, we realize this is not always the case and it seems that we failed to do so in yours. We regret that certain aspects of your visit were not to your liking, but we do guarantee to make any necessary improvement in those areas, but please be aware that what is included in all our guests mini bar is water and soda, beers are included for specific agencies. I have forwarded your review to the management of the hotel, so the difficulties you faced are avoided in the future. It was our sincerest pleasure to serve you. Best Regards,

4

private beach

Everyone

The hotel was great. We experienced a little issues with our TV. They got me a new one and because of the inconvenience they send me a Romantic breakfast to our room. Multiple pools and tons of activities. We will be back.

By , from Fort Worth. TX on Apr 3, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 6, 2018

Dear Rachel, Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Occidental Punta Cana.To provide each and every guest with an excellent holiday experience will always be our main goal, which is why we are thrilled to hear that you were satisfied with the quality of service you received and feel glad that our team was able to address the unexpected tv issue properly. We will be glad host you again in the future. It was our pleasure to serve you. Cordial regards,

Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort

España Avenue, Bávaro, Punta Cana, La Altagracia 23301