Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

This place is not good for to go Food is disgusting I God sick

It was an awesome experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The beach gets a little crowded, but everything else was great! Would definitely recommend to anyone!

I have been to many other all-inclusives and was never told I could only make 3 reservations at a-la carte restaurants. This hotel is nice but this is a major issue not only that it was an awful task to eat at the restaurant of your choice. Not a good feeling, the staff was unwilling to help. When I ate at a restaurant, there were many empty tables. So the problem was not space. Another issue is towels, 7 days vacation, I was turned down for towels 5 out of those days. This hotel could really be great if they managed the staff better, and did not overwork the employees, which his clearly visible. The rooms are nice and clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are usually clean and smell good. The pools are nice and deep with swim up bars but the drinks are super. The beach is great with silky sand and clear waters. However it is very crowded because this hotel is 6 hotels in 1 sharing a small strip of beach. Needless to say, I will not go back for those compelling reasons.

Booked a king bed and received a double with attitude from the staff. They were mad i ask why I got a double. Poor communication among the staff. Blue taxi dropped me off and pick me up at the wrong hotel but they were nice apart from that. Hotel shower and lamps were dirty, found mold on my mat, very nasty. I used my own sheet and blanket.

This hotel was AMAZING, from the food to the room to the drinks. I loved every bit of my stay at Grand Bahia Principe. I had a few minor issues such as my room phone not working, but let front desk know andit was fixed asap. Ramon from the pool was very nice and as well as Lenni from the front desk.

When we checked in, we were greeted wonderfully. When we walked into the room I opened the drapes, when I touched them I had orange queso looking substance on my hand! I told housekeeping who was right outside & she didn’t even bother to offer to clean it. It was also on my sink & she just said it was a mixture to clean. The next day housekeeping took our towels, & didn’t leave any new ones. I called about 6:30pm to get new ones but never received them. The mini bar is supposed to get stocked everyday when housekeeping comes, we actually had a beer taken out of our fridge & did not get a replaced orange drink from the night before. One night, I had a question of where a restaurant was located & the response from the front desk was very rude! The beach towels ran out once on us. I really wish we had better service because the food is amazing! We may return just because my boyfriend loved the all inclusive bufffet so much! But if it was up to me I would not come back:( maybe we looked young? (21 & 25) but that still is not an excuse for rude service

We stayed for a week in early October. The property was well maintained. Seven Bahia Principe hotels are on site. The restaurants at the Punta Cana were clean, well staffed, and had a huge variety of foods. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. Our only complaint is that the room needed some maintenance, especially the beds. Both beds had broken supports across the middle so the box spring and mattress sagged. Overall the stay was better than expected for the price. We'll definitely stay on the property again, but may chose a higher end Bahia Principe next time.

Nice everything. Great food, room, staff, casino, multiple bars, multiple pools that have swimup bars, waterpark, free day care. Its seriously awesome.

We had an enjoyable stay. The food was about normal for resort food. There is plenty to do. Hotel staff were kind and accommodating. Rosaury at the front desk was WONDERFUL!!

Glad you asked, we stayed from September 18 till the 22nd and as you probably this was during the hurricane. So as a reasonable I knew that we would expierence some issues. But never did I expect to be sitting in a room for 24+hours with nothing to eat but cheese sandwiches and milk that wasn't refrigerated. The hotel seemed more concerned with their property than the guests themselves. We weren't updated about anything or how to proceed following the hurricane. We weren't even offered anything in compensation. We also lost out on dinner reservations. The last three days of our stay we couldn't get any fresh towels no type of room room or concierge services were available till the last day and even then services were limited. I am very aware that it was a crisis but as I sat in the airport speaking to other travelers and sharing stories about our stay other hotels were more prepared and accommodated their guests accordingly. At no point in the whole process were we given notice about anything the front desk stopped answering calls for a day we had to walk in the rain to get any information and the resorts lobby was a 10 minute walk in torrential downpour for any assistance.

Pool closes too early, bartenders at pool too overwhelmed, hard very hard to get restaurants reservations end more and moor

beatifull place and good food and many fun activities

The lobby is spectacular and all the activities are really nice. But the rooms need a lot of upgrades. The bathtub shower are VERY SLEEPERY, not safe for kids or older tourists. Only one sink, not acceptable for a family of 4. We were a big group and some days one or two of our rooms were not clean. Some days they left only 2 clean towers for a family of 4. Hardly never no facial towers. The food was good, but hard to make reservations on the gourmet restaurants. The staff was very friendly and trying their best to please us. They work very hard. Thanks to Benito, Yesenia, Jose, Angel, Amador and many others.

My family and I had a blast. Would definitely come again!!

The hotel overall was disappointing. It was clean. The services were horrible. The refrigerator and tv didn't work from we got there and we called to complain and no one came to resolve the issue. And when we went to the front desk, the lines were always so long to wait to speak to someone. The staff was great and friend though. We wasted a lot of time speaking about the issues we had more than enjoying ourselves. Not sure if I would want to go back to this hotel.

Our room had no a/c, no remote control, bath tub water kept clogging, outlet was broken so we couldnt charge our phone and had so many mosquitos inside of it. Complained several times and they never fixed it

Overall I had a Good expierence. I won't be back to Punta Cana. Nice pools, beautiful landscaping. Alcohol and food were lacking in taste. Lots of variety in food, but lacking in quality. Service in restaurants was hit or miss. Room was very nice,it looked like new. I was in villa 36. Mini bar restocked daily, plenty of clean towels, spa bath tub, king bed. The beach was very long, lots of seaweed that was constantly being raked up. Plenty of chairs at beach and pool. I think I was there at a slow time, and it helped make my ecpierence better

Overall a really enjoyable experience. The front desk staff wasn't very friendly or eager to help. The rest of the staff was excellent! Everyone was really nice, friendly and helpful with any questions. Relaxed and enjoyed the grounds for 5 days. Would love to return next time with our kids!

Nice resort, fantastic food choices, nice beach, great pools, excellent staff. Trolley for transportation, very handy. We were upgraded on room. Beach towels were not always available, sand flies or some bugs caused nasty bites, not sure where they came from. Fans in common areas would have helped, limit smoking to specific spaces, especially don't allow smoking directly outside the food areas. Casino and entertainment were fun. There were a variety of cute shops with good buys.

This is my third time traveling to Punta Cana. I have stayed at different four star resorts, so I think I know a thing or two about quality and customer service. This hotel definitely did not meet my expectations. When I first arrived check in alone took almost an hour. The room were not messy but down right dirty, strands of hair on smelly towels and that was just the beginning. The air conditioning in the room did not work in 95 degree weather. When I complained I was given lame excuses as if I did not know how to use an air conditioner. I was eventually told that air conditioner in Punta Cana do not get as cold as they do in America. Are you kidding me?!!! What kind of excuse is that?? The safe in The room did not work, after calling maintenance multiple times they eventually told me something was wrong with my room key on the third day of my stay. Everything that could have gone wrong in an all inclusive did. I could not reserve a table at any restaurant even though they were empty. I even called Orbitz requesting to switch hotels. The lady I spoke told me she get back to me in 48 hours which is when I would have checked out. So, no help there... Overall my experience was so dissatisfying that i was compelled to write this review. Travelers beware do not stay at Grand Bahia.

Arena Gorda - Macao Punta Cana La Altagracia

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located in Bavaro within 2 miles (3 km) of Punta Blanca Golf Course, Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana - All Inclusive is within a few miles (5 km) of Hard Rock Golf Club at Cana Bay. This 756-room, 4-star resort has 2 outdoor pools along with a full-service spa and 5 restaurants. It's in central La Altagracia and also close to Iberostar Golf Course and White Sands Golf Course.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is served each morning from 7 AM to 10 AM. There are ample dining options with 5 onsite restaurants, including Mikado, which specializes in Japanese cuisine.


Rooms

The 756 air-conditioned accommodations feature balconies and afford space to spread out with sitting areas. LED TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Pillowtop beds grant a restful night's sleep, and bathrooms offer jetted tubs, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Free minibar items, sofa beds, and free bottled water are also standard.


Property features

Guests of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana - All Inclusive have access to a full-service spa, 2 outdoor pools, and a nightclub. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with dry cleaning/laundry and concierge services. Other amenities at this all-inclusive resort include a children's pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub.

Room options

Junior Suite Superior

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Junior Suite Superior

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Junior Suite Superior

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Everyone (55) Couples (120) Family (91) Friends (44) Other (8)
1

very bed hotels

Everyone

This place is not good for to go Food is disgusting I God sick

By , from michigan usa on Feb 4, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 8, 2018

Dear Luan Fejziu, We are really sorry for not being able to fulfill your expectations with our services. We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration. Always your disposal, Luz Caraballo Grand Bahía Príncipe Bavaro Resort

5

great food, awesome beach and pools

Everyone

It was an awesome experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The beach gets a little crowded, but everything else was great! Would definitely recommend to anyone!

By , from Twin Cities on Jan 6, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 22, 2018

Dear Jake, We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed an awesome holiday thanks to our rich gastronomy as well as the amazing service from our employees. At Bahia Principe, our goal is to make your vacation become unforgettable experiences. Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again! Best regards, Victoria Balbuena Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

3

decent hotel, bad service and drinks.

Everyone

I have been to many other all-inclusives and was never told I could only make 3 reservations at a-la carte restaurants. This hotel is nice but this is a major issue not only that it was an awful task to eat at the restaurant of your choice. Not a good feeling, the staff was unwilling to help. When I ate at a restaurant, there were many empty tables. So the problem was not space. Another issue is towels, 7 days vacation, I was turned down for towels 5 out of those days. This hotel could really be great if they managed the staff better, and did not overwork the employees, which his clearly visible. The rooms are nice and clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are usually clean and smell good. The pools are nice and deep with swim up bars but the drinks are super. The beach is great with silky sand and clear waters. However it is very crowded because this hotel is 6 hotels in 1 sharing a small strip of beach. Needless to say, I will not go back for those compelling reasons.

By , from Boston, MA on Nov 29, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 21, 2018

Dear John, We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay. Regarding your comments about our customer service, we must say that we constantly monitor our employees through our Human Resources and Quality Department. We strongly believe that our guest’s satisfaction depends of their daily performance. We appreciated that you mention our nice room, great pool ´s swim up bar and amazing beach. Always at your

2

nice property, dirty room, poor staff

Everyone

Booked a king bed and received a double with attitude from the staff. They were mad i ask why I got a double. Poor communication among the staff. Blue taxi dropped me off and pick me up at the wrong hotel but they were nice apart from that. Hotel shower and lamps were dirty, found mold on my mat, very nasty. I used my own sheet and blanket.

By on Nov 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 20, 2018

Dear Guest, We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to. We regret not being able to fulfill your expectations. Warm greetings, Adriana Peguero Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

5

amazing

Everyone

This hotel was AMAZING, from the food to the room to the drinks. I loved every bit of my stay at Grand Bahia Principe. I had a few minor issues such as my room phone not working, but let front desk know andit was fixed asap. Ramon from the pool was very nice and as well as Lenni from the front desk.

By , from new york on Nov 6, 2017

3

on the beach, but service was bad

Everyone

When we checked in, we were greeted wonderfully. When we walked into the room I opened the drapes, when I touched them I had orange queso looking substance on my hand! I told housekeeping who was right outside & she didn’t even bother to offer to clean it. It was also on my sink & she just said it was a mixture to clean. The next day housekeeping took our towels, & didn’t leave any new ones. I called about 6:30pm to get new ones but never received them. The mini bar is supposed to get stocked everyday when housekeeping comes, we actually had a beer taken out of our fridge & did not get a replaced orange drink from the night before. One night, I had a question of where a restaurant was located & the response from the front desk was very rude! The beach towels ran out once on us. I really wish we had better service because the food is amazing! We may return just because my boyfriend loved the all inclusive bufffet so much! But if it was up to me I would not come back:( maybe we looked young? (21 & 25) but that still is not an excuse for rude service

By on Oct 15, 2017

4

great spot!

Everyone
Property Map

We stayed for a week in early October. The property was well maintained. Seven Bahia Principe hotels are on site. The restaurants at the Punta Cana were clean, well staffed, and had a huge variety of foods. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. Our only complaint is that the room needed some maintenance, especially the beds. Both beds had broken supports across the middle so the box spring and mattress sagged. Overall the stay was better than expected for the price. We'll definitely stay on the property again, but may chose a higher end Bahia Principe next time.

By , from California on Oct 14, 2017

5

very nice resort. it has everything you need!

Families

Nice everything. Great food, room, staff, casino, multiple bars, multiple pools that have swimup bars, waterpark, free day care. Its seriously awesome.

By , from Washington, DC on Oct 12, 2017

4

very enjoyable vacation

Families

We had an enjoyable stay. The food was about normal for resort food. There is plenty to do. Hotel staff were kind and accommodating. Rosaury at the front desk was WONDERFUL!!

By , from D.R. on Sep 24, 2017

1
Everyone
Had to improvise on the cheese sandwiches they provided

Glad you asked, we stayed from September 18 till the 22nd and as you probably this was during the hurricane. So as a reasonable I knew that we would expierence some issues. But never did I expect to be sitting in a room for 24+hours with nothing to eat but cheese sandwiches and milk that wasn't refrigerated. The hotel seemed more concerned with their property than the guests themselves. We weren't updated about anything or how to proceed following the hurricane. We weren't even offered anything in compensation. We also lost out on dinner reservations. The last three days of our stay we couldn't get any fresh towels no type of room room or concierge services were available till the last day and even then services were limited. I am very aware that it was a crisis but as I sat in the airport speaking to other travelers and sharing stories about our stay other hotels were more prepared and accommodated their guests accordingly. At no point in the whole process were we given notice about anything the front desk stopped answering calls for a day we had to walk in the rain to get any information and the resorts lobby was a 10 minute walk in torrential downpour for any assistance.

By on Sep 23, 2017