Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Avalon Hotel

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Room was good. I am not sure if it’s orbitz or hotel when checking in we were told there is an additional 21 dollar a day resort fee. Definitely did not appreciate extra costs when I’ve already paid for the hotel. Either put it in the upfront price so if I’m paying x amount a night that’s part of my decision making when choosing a hotel.

I did not get to stay at the hotel. The room I reserved sleep six people but the hotel said they could not accommodated the six people I reserved the room for. I reserved a family suite that had two double beds and a sofa bed. When I searched for my room I searched for one room that accommodate six people. The hotel said my reservation was for two people. Which was not what I asked for. They wanted to charge me $30.00 per person for four extra people plus a extra room. I had to cancel my reservation.

Hotel, just ok. Could not regulate room temp. Not in a great area. Price to valet car too high. Hotel staff invisible. Not much in terms of amenities. Decent room / size , but would not choose this hotel again. Also, not many good restaurants close by the hotel.

Very clean, quiet and safe! Easy access to all the sights and amazing Asian food!

Good hotel in good location. At was very easy to get to most tourist attractions. Hotel was clean, staff was friendly.

The upgraded room was very nice. Excellent bathroom. Friendly staff. Great coffee machine in lobby. Lovely breakfast room. Very good value.

Boutique feel. Great staff. Very nice room. We were on the third floor, so not view to speak of, but the room was great.

I was under the impression that this was a great place to stay for my trip in NYC. While I was in bed I couldn’t help to notice a bed bug!!! I couldn’t believe it. Luckily it was my last night there and did not sleep on the bed that night. Will not be returning here.

The hotel is run down and in a seedy location. The lobby and elevators reek of smoke. The staff is unprofessional. The whole thing was a nightmare! My reservation said I had a non-smoking room but when I arrived I was told I was on a smoking floor. They upgraded me to a beautiful room but the elevator was rickety and tiny and the hotel was run down so I left and never stayed. I was charged for my entire stay anyway, 3 nights! I requested a refund an was denied. Beware of this hotel!! It's over-priced and needs remodeling. Buyer beware!

Arrived at jfk and took a taxi to the Avalon. The taxi was very convenient albeit a bit hair arising. We thought the taxi drivers in Rome, beijing etc were the worst but they have nothing on nyc taxi cabs:) At checkin (we arrived early)the room was not ready but the staff was very courteous and pleasant. The Avalon is a bit old but the junior suite was spacious and reasonably priced. We found the location to be great for us(Macy's, Times/herald squares, Empire State Building, NYC library, etc within easy walking distance) The 6 train stops at 33rd st station and is an easy ride uptown toward the Met and Guggenheim museums and downtown to Fulton station (WTC memorial). Going to the Statue of Liberty required catching the 6 train with a transfer to the 4/5 train at union square sta and was almost as easy. Rock center and the MOMA are about a mile away. We caught the f train out herald square and walked back (easier because it's mostly down hill back to the Avalon). Bread and Butter store was around the corner on 5th ave and was a good place for food when we were tired after sightseeing. Likewise Korean food on w 32nd st was pretty good and very convenient. There are a lot of good eateries, bars, convenience stores in the area. i can't say enough good things about the staff at the Avalon. The Avalon contributed greatly to our wonderful nyc experience.

Overall we were pleased with our stay. Location and staff were great except for the management. We paid 2 X for internet. Upon checkin I was told we would not be charged the resort free because of the promotion on Orbitz that included free premium internet. Upon check out, we were charged for it as the manager on duty did not support what his counterpart said upon checkin. Upon checkin we were told those charges had been removed. At check out they were back again and the manager on duty said he would followup but never did. Parking is also outrageous because crossovers that are the size of a sedan are charged as an SUV. But the rooms and location are nice. The bell men are helpful!

All the NYC glam, but at a reasonable price. Great location, close to a lot, but not in the heart of Times Square. Perfect for those looking to be away from the hustle of city and still be in the city.

This is the second time we have stayed at the Avalon in early December. You ate in a great central location just a block from the Empire State Building and 2 from Macys. The doorman is one of the nicest men I have ever met. Rooms are huge compared to other NYC hotels and aresorts very welcoming.

Updated rooms, wood floors, space heaters provided, two TVs, clean atmpsphere and vintage decor.

I travel a lot. This hotel needs some love. It is old and run down. I had a pillar in my room.. a bit strange. My keys wouldn't work twice on my 3 day stay. TV wouldn't work. Remote had no batteries. Toilet ran. Air Conditioner was very loud. The only thing really going for this place is its staff.

Most staff members I encountered were cold, rude, and not helpful, besides the bellman and the Asian man at the front desk. I was told multiple times I would get a call when my room was ready. They charged my card multiple times. The women front desk ladies were rude.

Good location. Huge rooms for NYC. Convenient to subway. Nice continental breakfast which is free for kids.

Excellent location, old but updated rooms. Beautiful bathroom with tub, shower, double vanity sink. Their continental breakfast was delicious too :) Cannot wait to come back to Manhattan to re-experience the hotel.

We have stated at the Avalon several times and have been pleased with the accommodations each time.

Great hotel experience in Midtown Manhattan. We spent 4 nights here and enjoyed our entire stay. The hotel is very clean, the room was very big, the staff was great, and the free specialty coffee machine got us on the right track each morning. I would definately recomment this hotel to others and would stay here again on our next trip.

16 E 32nd Street New York NY

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Empire State Building and Macy's
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Business center

Located in Midtown, Avalon Hotel is within a 5-minute walk of Empire State Building and within 15 minutes of other popular attractions like Macy's. This 100-room, 4-star hotel welcomes guests with in-room amenities like iPod docks, refrigerators, and minibars. Centrally located in New York, the hotel is also a short walk from New York Public Library and Grand Central Terminal.


Dining

For your convenience, a continental breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 7 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

Avalon Hotel's 100 soundproofed rooms provide iPod docks, refrigerators, and minibars. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries, and beds sport Egyptian cotton sheets. Safes, phones, and ironing boards are other standard amenities.


Property features

Avalon Hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and 4 meeting rooms. Valet parking is offered for USD 55.00 per day. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this boutique hotel include a business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and a computer station.

Room options

Deluxe Suite, 1 King Bed, Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Suite, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Suite, 2 Queen Beds, Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Executive Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Avalon Hotel

Everyone (17) Couples (16) Business (4) Family (12) Friends (8) Other (3)
4
Everyone

Room was good. I am not sure if it’s orbitz or hotel when checking in we were told there is an additional 21 dollar a day resort fee. Definitely did not appreciate extra costs when I’ve already paid for the hotel. Either put it in the upfront price so if I’m paying x amount a night that’s part of my decision making when choosing a hotel.

By on Jun 22, 2018

1
Everyone

I did not get to stay at the hotel. The room I reserved sleep six people but the hotel said they could not accommodated the six people I reserved the room for. I reserved a family suite that had two double beds and a sofa bed. When I searched for my room I searched for one room that accommodate six people. The hotel said my reservation was for two people. Which was not what I asked for. They wanted to charge me $30.00 per person for four extra people plus a extra room. I had to cancel my reservation.

By , from Pennsylvania on Jun 21, 2018

3
Everyone

Hotel, just ok. Could not regulate room temp. Not in a great area. Price to valet car too high. Hotel staff invisible. Not much in terms of amenities. Decent room / size , but would not choose this hotel again. Also, not many good restaurants close by the hotel.

By on Mar 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read that your stay did not live up to you, nor our, expectations. Thank you for your comments about your stay. In regards to the heating/A/C - we are only able to use one climate system at a time. I am not sure which amenities you were looking for, but we do have morning newspapers in our library, a fitness center, business center, continental buffet breakfast (at an additional cost), high speed wi-fi, and other. If there was something you were looking for in particular, please let us know. I have passed your comments on to our front office manager so he may follow up with you. We do hope you will give us a second chance. If so, please let us know. Warmest regards.

5

excellent choice for our family trip to nyc!

Families

Very clean, quiet and safe! Easy access to all the sights and amazing Asian food!

By , from Florida on Mar 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 17, 2018

Dear Chrisann Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel perfect for your needs while visiting New York City. Thank you for your comments about our accommodations and location. I will certainly share your kind words with our entire team. I hope your travel plans call for a return visit to New York. If so, please contact Carlos, our front office manager, and he will personally oversee your next reservation. Best Wishes

5

convenient hotel

Everyone

Good hotel in good location. At was very easy to get to most tourist attractions. Hotel was clean, staff was friendly.

By on Mar 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 6, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel perfect for your needs while visiting New York City. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I will certainly share your kind words on to everyone. Should your travel plans call for a return visit, please let our front office manager know. He will personally oversee your next reservation. Warmest regards

5

excellent small hotel with very friendly staff

Everyone

The upgraded room was very nice. Excellent bathroom. Friendly staff. Great coffee machine in lobby. Lovely breakfast room. Very good value.

By , from San Diego on Feb 24, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 25, 2018

Dear Barry Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel perfect for your needs while visiting New York City. Thank you for your comments about location and personnel. I will certainly share your kind words with our entire team. I hope your travel plans call for a return visit to New York. If so, please contact Carlos, our front office manager, and he will personally oversee your next reservation. Best Wishes

5

great hotel in a great location

Everyone

Boutique feel. Great staff. Very nice room. We were on the third floor, so not view to speak of, but the room was great.

By , from Tampa, FL on Dec 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 11, 2017

Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us. We were happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again! Happy Holidays.

2

stay here at your own risk!

Everyone

I was under the impression that this was a great place to stay for my trip in NYC. While I was in bed I couldn’t help to notice a bed bug!!! I couldn’t believe it. Luckily it was my last night there and did not sleep on the bed that night. Will not be returning here.

By on Nov 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 16, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Expedia about your recent stay with us. We were very concerned about what you found in your room. Since we do not have any way to identify how to get in contact with you so we may investigate your issue, we would appreciate it if you could reach out to our front office manager, Carlos Casanova, to discuss the matter.

1

buyer beware!!!

Everyone

The hotel is run down and in a seedy location. The lobby and elevators reek of smoke. The staff is unprofessional. The whole thing was a nightmare! My reservation said I had a non-smoking room but when I arrived I was told I was on a smoking floor. They upgraded me to a beautiful room but the elevator was rickety and tiny and the hotel was run down so I left and never stayed. I was charged for my entire stay anyway, 3 nights! I requested a refund an was denied. Beware of this hotel!! It's over-priced and needs remodeling. Buyer beware!

By , from Los Angeles on Oct 27, 2017

4

good location nice staff

Everyone

Arrived at jfk and took a taxi to the Avalon. The taxi was very convenient albeit a bit hair arising. We thought the taxi drivers in Rome, beijing etc were the worst but they have nothing on nyc taxi cabs:) At checkin (we arrived early)the room was not ready but the staff was very courteous and pleasant. The Avalon is a bit old but the junior suite was spacious and reasonably priced. We found the location to be great for us(Macy's, Times/herald squares, Empire State Building, NYC library, etc within easy walking distance) The 6 train stops at 33rd st station and is an easy ride uptown toward the Met and Guggenheim museums and downtown to Fulton station (WTC memorial). Going to the Statue of Liberty required catching the 6 train with a transfer to the 4/5 train at union square sta and was almost as easy. Rock center and the MOMA are about a mile away. We caught the f train out herald square and walked back (easier because it's mostly down hill back to the Avalon). Bread and Butter store was around the corner on 5th ave and was a good place for food when we were tired after sightseeing. Likewise Korean food on w 32nd st was pretty good and very convenient. There are a lot of good eateries, bars, convenience stores in the area. i can't say enough good things about the staff at the Avalon. The Avalon contributed greatly to our wonderful nyc experience.

By , from Maui on Sep 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 3, 2017

Dear Randy, Thank you for all your kind comments about our hotel and your stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to New York City. I hope we will see you again soon!