Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hotel On Rivington

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

I was in NYC for business to attend the Architectural Digest Design Show and booked a room at the Hotel on Rivington for one night. My colleagues and I really enjoyed the staff and accommodations. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. Upon arrival, we were given complimentary coffee and wine tickets. Later in the night, we were pleasantly surprised when a knock at the door delivered complimentary cookies. My only complaints are more aesthetic issues. 1. The all black, window-less bathroom proved very hard to get ready in. I'm a low-key woman with a minimal make-up routine, but even I couldn't see my complexion properly in the dark room. Lighting was very poor. An alternative to this moody bath, would be placing a mirror (instead of the art) at the desk in the room, which is next to the window and therefore provides great lighting. As an interior designer, aesthetics are important, but functionality is of greater importance. 2. The sheets were a bit rough, starchy and did not breathe well. I kept overheating all night, thus waking up multiple times and feeling restless instead of rested in the morning. Overall, my stay was great and I would recommend the Hotel on Rivington to friends, family and colleagues.

PROS: Ceiling to floor windows in the room. Large room. Pretty decor. AMAZING french toast room service. CONS: A ceiling to floor window IN THE BATHROOM that could not be covered. You had to turn on the hot water and wait until it fogged up slightly in order to use the toilet or shower in privacy. Super weird and not at all environmental. Another con is that there was someone's half-eaten plate of food in the mini-fridge when we arrived. It was shoved in there since there was no room to actually use the fridge since it was filled with overpriced beverages. We would have liked to use the fridge. I also didn't like that the room didn't have a peep hole. Considering that guests don't have to use a key card to use the elevator at night, the security didn't feel so great. I recently moved from NYC, so I'm not a scaredy cat, but it's never smart to open your door without checking who's there. My final irritation is that the room service menu listed incorrect hours so on three separate occasions when I tried to order dinner or lunch they were CLOSED. It was really frustrating since I was traveling for business and just wanted to relax. All in all, this hotel could be great but it just needs to fix a couple of things.

I stayed in the high corner king balcony room. The view was fantastic. The room was great and the staff was wonderful. The bathroom was amazing the only thing that I didn't like was that when youre taking a shower, the people above you, if theyre on the balcony, they would be able to look down and see you showering which is very uncomfortable.

I stayed at the Rivington which is off Essex the last weekend of June. If you are coming from LaGuardia Airport and take a cab or service all you need to do is come via the Williamsburg Bridge and head toward the hotel. Don't let them drive you all over town. Without traffic it is about a 17 minute ride. Also the hotel uses a private car service and we used it on the return to the airport. It was $45.00 for two people and a tip, totally worth it!!!! Just ask the front desk or the doormen and they will get a car reserved for you. Or call head to reserve for a pick up from the airport. I can say that entire staff I encountered (General Manager, The Front Desk, Servers & Bartenders in the Restaurant/Bar, Doormen and Housekeeping) there were the most helpful, friendly and sweetest group of people in the industry that I have dealt with. I was blown away with the Customer Service I received. I had the opportunity to interact with the General Manager, Dan and he treated me with utmost respect and understanding. Additionally, he personally made sure that I received a 100 resolution to my problem. The room was clean and modern with plenty of room and closet space!! Just needs brighter bulbs in the bathroom. Daily you can get free coffee or tea in the morning in the lobby bar and from 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm they offer free wine as well. The breakfast in the restaurant was great, all cooked to order. In the late evening that area doubles as a nightclub. Not to worry, you do not hear a thing. We visited the bar in the evening and tried the appetizers and they were great and so were the drinks!! Take advantage of the rooftop there if you can, we tried but it was raining!! However the view is beautiful!!! Anything we asked for (extra towel, ice...) we received with in 5 minutes or less. Request the higher floors with the city view, it is beautiful. The much higher floors have terraces however they only have king size beds, no doubles. We had a higher floor, double, no terrace however beautiful views of the 1 World Tower/Observatory and the skyline. The hotel is in walking distance of many great places and things to see and do. If you like to walk, it is about a 4.2 mile walk to 9/11 Museum/Ground Zero. Walk through the neighborhoods and check out the shops and places to eat. We felt very safe. On Saturday for lunch we walked to Junoon, a great Indian Restaurant on West 24th Street and while walking there we passed Mario Batali's Eataly, check them out as well!! Great wine, great food, snacks and meals and you can eat on the patio!! Gall's is across the street from the hotel and they have good food for a quick lunch or dinner. There is Mexican Restaurant on Essex called Essex that was excellent. The chicken quesadilla's were huge, with nice flavorful chunks of chicken. Also visit the Economy Candy Store directly across the street from the hotel, very cute!! A great place to stay that I have been recommending to everyone!!

THE ROOM. We were surprised at how dark and narrow the hallways seemed. The room also seemed somewhat dreary to us. In a word, the room seemed soul-less. Perhaps we were expecting more roominess and brightness since we are from the midwest. THE UGLY. Our biggest shock came when we were curious about a door in the bathroom and opened it to find a VERY, VERY dirty, filthy furnace filter. We were NOT happy when we realized we were breathing such dirty air. We did report our find and hopefully the filter has been changed and everything has been cleaned. THE STAFF. The staff was amazing! Everyone was very courteous, helpful, friendly, and cheerful! They all seemed happy to be there! THE VIEW. We enjoyed being able to look out our windows and see the skyline of New York City. We were also able to see the sunset since our windows faced the west. CLEANLINESS. Everything was clean except the filter. Unfortunately, seeing the dirty filter is a huge factor in the way I will rate the hotel, and is not a reflection on the hard work done by the cleaning staff. If recommending this hotel to a friend, I would tell them to be sure and check the filter!

Perfect stay for me and my boyfriend. Views were breathtaking and the room was just perfect. Staff was very friendly, room included mini bar. Would stay here again and again

Very kind but weak wi fi. Other than that, I had no problems and had an excellent time. Great location

i recommend it anytime a friend is traveling to new york. staff is incredibly friendly, they have wine hours in the afternoon. perfect location.

Great place to stay in an amazing location. The rooms are beautiful and modern. The staff is super friendly and helpful. I highly recommend. The area is super vibrant with lots a great places to eat.

Feels like this was a great hotel once upon a time, but the details in the room were all past their prime, with small things falling apart, everything scratched or faded. Staff at check in was not very on the ball, though different people at the desk when we were leaving were much more professional. Overall, not nearly worth the money, I'm afraid. Until they do some more upgrades, I'd stay somewhere else.

We enjoyed our stay at the Rivington. It's conveniently located in the Lower East Side, an easy train ride to Midtown or Downtown. The hotel has a clean, modern feel. We opted for a 16th floor corner room and loved the view.

Great room, fantastic view of down Manhattan and the amenities in the bathroom are to die for. Best tub ever.

If you're at home in New York and feel comfortable around a hipper crowd and away from tourists, the downtown business crowd, chain restaurants, and major departments stores, this is the place for you. I was there just get out of my home city and visit friends. Rooms are modern, minimal and spacious with floor to ceiling windows and great dim-able lighting. Overall the hotel could use a little touching up, but everything is clean and comfortable. The accommodations, the staff, and the location make up for the little things that might need repair like a window latch. I dealt with a lot of staff, from the doormen to engineering, and everyone is helpful, friendly, and accommodating - normal people who to have normal conversations with, no scripts. Nightly turn-down service and yummy cookies! The hotel in conveniently located with easy walks to all the Lower East Side neighborhoods and easy access to the subway. Lots of local dining options and the Essex Market across the street. Car service can be easily arranged to the airport with the front desk. The mini-bar is nicely stocked, and one fun thing you might want to buy are the small binoculars to take in more of your view. Speaking of views, most rooms have them, and even if you're not on a high floor, you won't end up staring at a wall as often happens in Midtown.

We were on the 19th floor and the view of New York was absolutely spectacular! Well worth the additional cost. The staff were also delightful.

Hip, sleek and a great location. A little dark but I would recommend.

Upgraded to corner king with outstanding views of lower Manhattan

We stayed on the 14th floor corner king bed with balcony and small sitting area. The view was amazing and the bed was comfortable. Shower had great water pressure. Ordered room service and it was up in 20 minutes. The staff was friendly and the location was great. The only bad part about our room was the toilet....took several attempts to flush. I would stay here again.

Tempurpedic beds are amazing. The rooms are clean and spacious. Received free breakfast at the co-op. Only downside, a bit on the pricey side.

We were welcomed into the beautiful lounge, checked into our room two hours early. Room was huge and very comfortable. Lighting was so modifiable. Bathroom was large and spa like. This was the most comfortable hotel ever. Staff was very cool and friendly. The only thing was that our room faces the street and things didn't quiet down from nearby clubs and traffic, until the wee hours on a saturday night. That was annoying. The locations was awesome. Free full breakfast in the beautiful hotel restaurant. We will go back!

The rooms are very big and comfortable. Bathroom also particularly well done. Funky lobby w pool table and lounge with free coffee definitely a plus.

107 Rivington Street New York NY

Hotel highlights

  • Close to New York University
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Nightclub

Located in Lower East Side within a mile (2 km) of New York University, Hotel On Rivington is within 2 miles (3 km) of other popular sights such as Federal Reserve Bank of New York. This 110-room, 4-star hotel welcomes guests with a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and a fitness center. Located centrally in New York, it's also close to New York Stock Exchange and Brooklyn Bridge.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at Cafe Medi, the hotel's onsite restaurant. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning with full breakfast, available for a fee from 7 AM to 10:30 AM.


Rooms

All of Hotel On Rivington's 110 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including iPod docks, minibars, and free newspapers. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and wired Internet, plus flat-screen TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries, and Tempur-Pedic beds with Frette Italian sheets ensure a restful night. In-room massages are available, and other amenities include laptop-compatible safes and ironing boards.


Property features

At Hotel On Rivington, guests enjoy a nightclub, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. Valet parking is available for USD 70 per day, and there's also limo/town car service. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this boutique hotel include 2 meeting rooms, express check-in, and express check-out.

Room options

Corner King with Balcony

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Studio Suite, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Mobile Standard Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Mobile High Floor with Balcony

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Hotel On Rivington

Everyone (2) Couples (15) Business (4) Family (1) Other (5) Friends (6)
4

great hotel in les

Everyone

I was in NYC for business to attend the Architectural Digest Design Show and booked a room at the Hotel on Rivington for one night. My colleagues and I really enjoyed the staff and accommodations. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. Upon arrival, we were given complimentary coffee and wine tickets. Later in the night, we were pleasantly surprised when a knock at the door delivered complimentary cookies. My only complaints are more aesthetic issues. 1. The all black, window-less bathroom proved very hard to get ready in. I'm a low-key woman with a minimal make-up routine, but even I couldn't see my complexion properly in the dark room. Lighting was very poor. An alternative to this moody bath, would be placing a mirror (instead of the art) at the desk in the room, which is next to the window and therefore provides great lighting. As an interior designer, aesthetics are important, but functionality is of greater importance. 2. The sheets were a bit rough, starchy and did not breathe well. I kept overheating all night, thus waking up multiple times and feeling restless instead of rested in the morning. Overall, my stay was great and I would recommend the Hotel on Rivington to friends, family and colleagues.

By , from Philadelphia, PA on Mar 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 20, 2017

Hi Cherie and thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such thoughtful feedback. We use all our reviews to improve and I will certainly share your concerns (and compliments!) to our management. Ive requested our engineering team take a look at the lighting in the bathrooms of the room category you were in and hopefully we can brighten it up! Ive also forward your comments regarding the sheets to our Housekeeping manager and maybe we can adjust the starch! Very sorry to hear you did not have a restful night. That's the most important piece of what we offer. Thank you so much for the review and we hope to welcome you back to Hotel on Rivington soon. All the Best, Adam

2

not worth it.

Everyone

PROS: Ceiling to floor windows in the room. Large room. Pretty decor. AMAZING french toast room service. CONS: A ceiling to floor window IN THE BATHROOM that could not be covered. You had to turn on the hot water and wait until it fogged up slightly in order to use the toilet or shower in privacy. Super weird and not at all environmental. Another con is that there was someone's half-eaten plate of food in the mini-fridge when we arrived. It was shoved in there since there was no room to actually use the fridge since it was filled with overpriced beverages. We would have liked to use the fridge. I also didn't like that the room didn't have a peep hole. Considering that guests don't have to use a key card to use the elevator at night, the security didn't feel so great. I recently moved from NYC, so I'm not a scaredy cat, but it's never smart to open your door without checking who's there. My final irritation is that the room service menu listed incorrect hours so on three separate occasions when I tried to order dinner or lunch they were CLOSED. It was really frustrating since I was traveling for business and just wanted to relax. All in all, this hotel could be great but it just needs to fix a couple of things.

By on Dec 12, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 14, 2016

Hi there, thank you very much for staying with us and for leaving us your feedback. It is very helpful in our quest to always improve. There is no excuse for our lack of room service during the printed hours or some the minibar not being cleaned out. Very embarrassing and we apologize for these oversights. We do however require key card access to use the elevators after-hours as well as having a pretty tight security throughout all hours. I will followup with our Enginerring team regarding the peepholes, thank you for mentioning this. We do also provide privacy screens for the bathrooms and can gladly have them installed if you would consider visiting us again. We very much hope you will give us another chance! All the Best, Adam

4

great hotel

Singles

I stayed in the high corner king balcony room. The view was fantastic. The room was great and the staff was wonderful. The bathroom was amazing the only thing that I didn't like was that when youre taking a shower, the people above you, if theyre on the balcony, they would be able to look down and see you showering which is very uncomfortable.

By on Sep 9, 2015

5

june 25-28th visit to new york

GetawayWithFriends

I stayed at the Rivington which is off Essex the last weekend of June. If you are coming from LaGuardia Airport and take a cab or service all you need to do is come via the Williamsburg Bridge and head toward the hotel. Don't let them drive you all over town. Without traffic it is about a 17 minute ride. Also the hotel uses a private car service and we used it on the return to the airport. It was $45.00 for two people and a tip, totally worth it!!!! Just ask the front desk or the doormen and they will get a car reserved for you. Or call head to reserve for a pick up from the airport. I can say that entire staff I encountered (General Manager, The Front Desk, Servers & Bartenders in the Restaurant/Bar, Doormen and Housekeeping) there were the most helpful, friendly and sweetest group of people in the industry that I have dealt with. I was blown away with the Customer Service I received. I had the opportunity to interact with the General Manager, Dan and he treated me with utmost respect and understanding. Additionally, he personally made sure that I received a 100 resolution to my problem. The room was clean and modern with plenty of room and closet space!! Just needs brighter bulbs in the bathroom. Daily you can get free coffee or tea in the morning in the lobby bar and from 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm they offer free wine as well. The breakfast in the restaurant was great, all cooked to order. In the late evening that area doubles as a nightclub. Not to worry, you do not hear a thing. We visited the bar in the evening and tried the appetizers and they were great and so were the drinks!! Take advantage of the rooftop there if you can, we tried but it was raining!! However the view is beautiful!!! Anything we asked for (extra towel, ice...) we received with in 5 minutes or less. Request the higher floors with the city view, it is beautiful. The much higher floors have terraces however they only have king size beds, no doubles. We had a higher floor, double, no terrace however beautiful views of the 1 World Tower/Observatory and the skyline. The hotel is in walking distance of many great places and things to see and do. If you like to walk, it is about a 4.2 mile walk to 9/11 Museum/Ground Zero. Walk through the neighborhoods and check out the shops and places to eat. We felt very safe. On Saturday for lunch we walked to Junoon, a great Indian Restaurant on West 24th Street and while walking there we passed Mario Batali's Eataly, check them out as well!! Great wine, great food, snacks and meals and you can eat on the patio!! Gall's is across the street from the hotel and they have good food for a quick lunch or dinner. There is Mexican Restaurant on Essex called Essex that was excellent. The chicken quesadilla's were huge, with nice flavorful chunks of chicken. Also visit the Economy Candy Store directly across the street from the hotel, very cute!! A great place to stay that I have been recommending to everyone!!

By on Jul 31, 2015

3

our stay in new york city

Couples

THE ROOM. We were surprised at how dark and narrow the hallways seemed. The room also seemed somewhat dreary to us. In a word, the room seemed soul-less. Perhaps we were expecting more roominess and brightness since we are from the midwest. THE UGLY. Our biggest shock came when we were curious about a door in the bathroom and opened it to find a VERY, VERY dirty, filthy furnace filter. We were NOT happy when we realized we were breathing such dirty air. We did report our find and hopefully the filter has been changed and everything has been cleaned. THE STAFF. The staff was amazing! Everyone was very courteous, helpful, friendly, and cheerful! They all seemed happy to be there! THE VIEW. We enjoyed being able to look out our windows and see the skyline of New York City. We were also able to see the sunset since our windows faced the west. CLEANLINESS. Everything was clean except the filter. Unfortunately, seeing the dirty filter is a huge factor in the way I will rate the hotel, and is not a reflection on the hard work done by the cleaning staff. If recommending this hotel to a friend, I would tell them to be sure and check the filter!

By on Jul 10, 2015

5

amazing

Couples

Perfect stay for me and my boyfriend. Views were breathtaking and the room was just perfect. Staff was very friendly, room included mini bar. Would stay here again and again

By on Apr 18, 2015

5

awesome time and very pleasant staff

Singles

Very kind but weak wi fi. Other than that, I had no problems and had an excellent time. Great location

By on Apr 10, 2015

5

love this hotel

BusinessTravelers

i recommend it anytime a friend is traveling to new york. staff is incredibly friendly, they have wine hours in the afternoon. perfect location.

By on Apr 6, 2015

5

great location, staff and room

BusinessTravelers

Great place to stay in an amazing location. The rooms are beautiful and modern. The staff is super friendly and helpful. I highly recommend. The area is super vibrant with lots a great places to eat.

By on Apr 6, 2015

3

past its prime

Singles

Feels like this was a great hotel once upon a time, but the details in the room were all past their prime, with small things falling apart, everything scratched or faded. Staff at check in was not very on the ball, though different people at the desk when we were leaving were much more professional. Overall, not nearly worth the money, I'm afraid. Until they do some more upgrades, I'd stay somewhere else.

By on Mar 19, 2015