Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The area was perfect and the room was nice and spacious. The only problem was that that they didn't clean the room in the 3 days I was there.

Love the experience at basecamp, definitely my first option for my mext trip to tahoe

3rd time staying and it was lovely as usual. I love that there is a full scale bar literally behind the hotel within footsteps. It has a great selection, great space, and plays live music!

The staff was wonderful! A few notes 1) update the tiny showers please please please 2) the reason for preordering breakfast is so it’s ready and it was only ready 1 of 3 days, the other two days the morning person hadn’t even started it yet saying she didn’t see the order. Delayed skiing by 30 mins both times.

No air conditioning in South Lake Tahoe Dirty carpet Water low pressure at shower I'm never staying in this hotel again

The hotel is nice. the atmosphere is nice as well. but some rooms don’t have A/C.

The staff was not friendly and the family rooms are not family friendly, any small kid noise was a problem and we even had the staff call us about kid noise when we had a family room and the staff telling us the kids were walking too hard when we were on the 3rd floor with snow boots on and we couldn’t do anything about how that sounded on the bottom floor. Not the best family experience here.

It was a good hotel in a good area near the strip. One of the only issues that I had was one of the comforters had blood drops on them. I went and asked for them to get changed and I was told that they didn’t have any clean ones to replace them. No other effort was done to accommodate. All that I was told is that they would let house keeping know so they can remove them for whoever stayed there next.

The hotel staff was nice. I love their texting service to communicate, very efficient. My only complaint was that the Cafe barista was not wearing a mask (nor was her friend who was working on a laptop at the table w his daughter) so it felt inconsistent that the staff wore masks while the Cafe workers inside the same indoor reception (25ft away) did not

Honestly the rooms here are straight Motel 6 status. Definitely need some TLC nothing at all to sing praises about. Floor was filthy! Was extremely disappointed. I can see that the high ratings were because of their ‘Beer Garden’-or in other words their outdoor area where they have 2 fire pits (that were being used the entire time) and some picnic tables and shuffle board. I guess it would be fun for a different kind of crowd but unfortunately did not get to use it at all because each fire pit was full every time we checked. Great location if you’re there for the casinos which we weren’t but still centrally located which was nice. The staff was friendly enough, nothing extraordinary. King sized bed seemed smaller than normal king sized beds which was odd but comfy enough. The street outside our room smelt like sewage. With everything said & done not terrible but by no means great, we weren’t impressed & probably won’t be coming back ever.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The room was very nice and seemed newly updated. It was very hot during our stay and with no air conditioning it got somewhat miserable at night but we had a balcony so we just opened the slider to let air in. Otherwise you couldn't beat the price and the location.

Overall very good location to stay. The service, area, and staff were excellent. We came at a bad time considering a very problematic car show that used the hotel as a parking lot and hangout area.

The vibe of this place is awesome! It's big, and spread out. There are lots of cool spaces, like the lobby and on-site brewery. The rooms have this very cool feel to them as well. I've only ever stayed in the winter, but I can imagine it's quite the playground in the summer!

Not good value for families coming to skii. The walls are super thin. I read people’s reviews on thin walls for other hotels all the time, but this is the first time I feel it. I consider that to be pretty bad. Parking lot is difficult to maneuver. The room is very tight. Bathroom fan too loud.

Cedar Ave South Lake Tahoe CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Rooftop terrace

Located in Lakeside Park, Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is within 2 miles (3 km) of popular attractions such as Casino at Harrah's Lake Tahoe and Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe. This 74-room, 3.5-star hotel has a restaurant along with conveniences like a private beach and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or have a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch LCD TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries, and beds sport premium bedding. IPod docks, refrigerators, and free local calls are also available.


Property features

Guests of Basecamp South Lake Tahoe enjoy a rooftop terrace, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. Front-desk staff can assist with tours or tickets, securing valuables, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach hotel include coffee/tea in a common area, a meeting room, and a terrace.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Family Room

2 Queen Beds | 1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 6

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Everyone (26) Couples (5) Students (1) Family (3)
5
Everyone

By on Jun 13, 2022

4
Family

The area was perfect and the room was nice and spacious. The only problem was that that they didn't clean the room in the 3 days I was there.

By , from Modesto on May 17, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 16, 2022

Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed texting us if you needed anything during your stay. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon!

5
Partner Couples

Love the experience at basecamp, definitely my first option for my mext trip to tahoe

By , from Dublin on Apr 18, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 24, 2022

Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon!

4
Everyone

By on Mar 21, 2022

5
Partner Couples

3rd time staying and it was lovely as usual. I love that there is a full scale bar literally behind the hotel within footsteps. It has a great selection, great space, and plays live music!

By on Jan 12, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 13, 2022

Hi Derek. Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're so glad to hear that you've chosen Basecamp as your go to hotel for your visits to Tahoe and enjoy your time at the brewery! We look forward to welcoming you back on trip #4!

4
Everyone

The staff was wonderful! A few notes 1) update the tiny showers please please please 2) the reason for preordering breakfast is so it’s ready and it was only ready 1 of 3 days, the other two days the morning person hadn’t even started it yet saying she didn’t see the order. Delayed skiing by 30 mins both times.

By on Dec 24, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 28, 2021

Thank you for the feedback T! We will share this with the team who manages the cafe in our lobby so they can continue to improve the guest experience! Hope you enjoyed your ski days with all this fresh snow!

1
Family with small children

No air conditioning in South Lake Tahoe Dirty carpet Water low pressure at shower I'm never staying in this hotel again

By on Aug 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 12, 2021

We're sorry to hear that the lack of AC and low water pressure ruined your stay. I hope you let our staff know early on in your stay about the water pressure issues so we could have fixed it while you were there. Like many hotels in the Tahoe basin, we do not have AC so we hope you'll come visit again in the cooler season and have a more enjoyable Tahoe experience.

5
Everyone

By on Jul 27, 2021

3
Partner Couples

The hotel is nice. the atmosphere is nice as well. but some rooms don’t have A/C.

By on Jul 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your Basecamp experience with us! We always appreciate feedback that helps us improve our operations and hope your travels bring you back this way again soon!

5
Everyone

By on May 12, 2021

Review comment responded on May 24, 2021

Thank you for the rating! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Basecamp Hotels on your next trip to Lake Tahoe!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/South-Lake-Tahoe-Hotels-Basecamp-South-Lake-Tahoe.h1086847-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /South-Lake-Tahoe-Hotels-Basecamp-South-Lake-Tahoe.h1086847-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/South-Lake-Tahoe-Hotels-Basecamp-South-Lake-Tahoe.h1086847-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions