Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

No air conditioning in South Lake Tahoe Dirty carpet Water low pressure at shower I'm never staying in this hotel again

The hotel is nice. the atmosphere is nice as well. but some rooms don’t have A/C.

The staff was not friendly and the family rooms are not family friendly, any small kid noise was a problem and we even had the staff call us about kid noise when we had a family room and the staff telling us the kids were walking too hard when we were on the 3rd floor with snow boots on and we couldn’t do anything about how that sounded on the bottom floor. Not the best family experience here.

It was a good hotel in a good area near the strip. One of the only issues that I had was one of the comforters had blood drops on them. I went and asked for them to get changed and I was told that they didn’t have any clean ones to replace them. No other effort was done to accommodate. All that I was told is that they would let house keeping know so they can remove them for whoever stayed there next.

The hotel staff was nice. I love their texting service to communicate, very efficient. My only complaint was that the Cafe barista was not wearing a mask (nor was her friend who was working on a laptop at the table w his daughter) so it felt inconsistent that the staff wore masks while the Cafe workers inside the same indoor reception (25ft away) did not

Honestly the rooms here are straight Motel 6 status. Definitely need some TLC nothing at all to sing praises about. Floor was filthy! Was extremely disappointed. I can see that the high ratings were because of their ‘Beer Garden’-or in other words their outdoor area where they have 2 fire pits (that were being used the entire time) and some picnic tables and shuffle board. I guess it would be fun for a different kind of crowd but unfortunately did not get to use it at all because each fire pit was full every time we checked. Great location if you’re there for the casinos which we weren’t but still centrally located which was nice. The staff was friendly enough, nothing extraordinary. King sized bed seemed smaller than normal king sized beds which was odd but comfy enough. The street outside our room smelt like sewage. With everything said & done not terrible but by no means great, we weren’t impressed & probably won’t be coming back ever.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The room was very nice and seemed newly updated. It was very hot during our stay and with no air conditioning it got somewhat miserable at night but we had a balcony so we just opened the slider to let air in. Otherwise you couldn't beat the price and the location.

Overall very good location to stay. The service, area, and staff were excellent. We came at a bad time considering a very problematic car show that used the hotel as a parking lot and hangout area.

The vibe of this place is awesome! It's big, and spread out. There are lots of cool spaces, like the lobby and on-site brewery. The rooms have this very cool feel to them as well. I've only ever stayed in the winter, but I can imagine it's quite the playground in the summer!

Not good value for families coming to skii. The walls are super thin. I read people’s reviews on thin walls for other hotels all the time, but this is the first time I feel it. I consider that to be pretty bad. Parking lot is difficult to maneuver. The room is very tight. Bathroom fan too loud.

Awesome stay. We loved the on site beer garden and Lawn games. Family had great time at karaoke night. Would definite stay again next time in area.

Room was as described and did not disappoint. Location is excellent being right next to stateline and across from the Heavenly gondola. The included breakfast was simple, but acceptable enough to allow us to skip eating breakfast at a restaurant, which saved our group $100. The only real con is everything shuts down at 10 (hot tubs, beer garden, outdoor fire) which seems very early for a motel right next to a casino that never sleeps.

Walking distance to everything. Love the fire pits and dog friendly.

Nice hotel, need a few more space heaters out by pub

I expected more from this hotel. I found the cleanliness in the room, the comfort of the bed, and the breakfast options to be lacking. I found a woman's earring by the nightstand and the room had only one hand towel and washcloth (double queen room which should hold 4 people). Breakfast was a disappointment: only bread, oatmeal, coffee and waffles were offered. That said, the common areas were fantastic. We enjoyed the fire pits, ping pong, and rooftop hot tub. It was the perfect place to unwind after a busy day hiking.

Cedar Ave South Lake Tahoe CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Casino at Harrah's Lake Tahoe and Heavenly Gondola
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located in Lakeside Park, Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Casino at Harrah's Lake Tahoe and Heavenly Gondola. This 74-room, 3.5-star hotel has a restaurant along with conveniences like a private beach and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or have a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

Basecamp South Lake Tahoe's 74 rooms provide iPod docks, refrigerators, and free local calls. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch LCD TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries, and beds sport premium bedding. Other amenities include ceiling fans, safes, and desks.


Property features

Guests of Basecamp South Lake Tahoe enjoy a rooftop terrace, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. Front-desk staff can assist with tours or tickets, securing valuables, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach hotel include coffee/tea in a common area, a meeting room, and a terrace.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Family Room

2 Queen Beds | 1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 6

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Everyone (23) Couples (3) Students (1) Family (6) Friends (2)
1
Family with small children

No air conditioning in South Lake Tahoe Dirty carpet Water low pressure at shower I'm never staying in this hotel again

By on Aug 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 12, 2021

We're sorry to hear that the lack of AC and low water pressure ruined your stay. I hope you let our staff know early on in your stay about the water pressure issues so we could have fixed it while you were there. Like many hotels in the Tahoe basin, we do not have AC so we hope you'll come visit again in the cooler season and have a more enjoyable Tahoe experience.

5
Everyone

By on Jul 27, 2021

3
Partner Couples

The hotel is nice. the atmosphere is nice as well. but some rooms don’t have A/C.

By on Jul 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your Basecamp experience with us! We always appreciate feedback that helps us improve our operations and hope your travels bring you back this way again soon!

5
Everyone

By on May 12, 2021

Review comment responded on May 24, 2021

Thank you for the rating! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Basecamp Hotels on your next trip to Lake Tahoe!

2
Family with small children

The staff was not friendly and the family rooms are not family friendly, any small kid noise was a problem and we even had the staff call us about kid noise when we had a family room and the staff telling us the kids were walking too hard when we were on the 3rd floor with snow boots on and we couldn’t do anything about how that sounded on the bottom floor. Not the best family experience here.

By on Feb 22, 2021

Review comment responded on Feb 22, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Being an older hotel, sound does seem to travel and we take our 10pm noise ordinance seriously, to ensure all guest receive a peaceful night's sleep. I apologize for the way our staff may have handled this situation, as it sounds like a complaint was received and they were doing their best to make sure all parties were satisfied with their stay. I do understand that the noise form the kiddos walking around is out of your control, and could have possibly been handled better. We hope you'll consider visiting us again and we strive to provide an experience that families can all enjoy. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again one day.

3
Family with small children

It was a good hotel in a good area near the strip. One of the only issues that I had was one of the comforters had blood drops on them. I went and asked for them to get changed and I was told that they didn’t have any clean ones to replace them. No other effort was done to accommodate. All that I was told is that they would let house keeping know so they can remove them for whoever stayed there next.

By on Feb 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Feb 23, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear about the issues you faced during your stay. I wish the situation would have been handled better and this will be a learning opportunity for us and our staff to ensure any time issues arrive in the future, they're handled promptly and efficiently. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and we hope you'll visit us again soon.

5
Partner Couples

The hotel staff was nice. I love their texting service to communicate, very efficient. My only complaint was that the Cafe barista was not wearing a mask (nor was her friend who was working on a laptop at the table w his daughter) so it felt inconsistent that the staff wore masks while the Cafe workers inside the same indoor reception (25ft away) did not

By on Feb 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Feb 12, 2021

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We always appreciate feedback from guests that can help us improve our operations. We're so glad you enjoyed the texting communications.. We love being able to easily answer your questions and accommodate your requests! We will make sure to speak with the cafe to ensure we're all following the same safety protocols. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future.

2
Family Family with small children

Honestly the rooms here are straight Motel 6 status. Definitely need some TLC nothing at all to sing praises about. Floor was filthy! Was extremely disappointed. I can see that the high ratings were because of their ‘Beer Garden’-or in other words their outdoor area where they have 2 fire pits (that were being used the entire time) and some picnic tables and shuffle board. I guess it would be fun for a different kind of crowd but unfortunately did not get to use it at all because each fire pit was full every time we checked. Great location if you’re there for the casinos which we weren’t but still centrally located which was nice. The staff was friendly enough, nothing extraordinary. King sized bed seemed smaller than normal king sized beds which was odd but comfy enough. The street outside our room smelt like sewage. With everything said & done not terrible but by no means great, we weren’t impressed & probably won’t be coming back ever.

By , from Central Valley CA on Nov 23, 2020

Review comment responded on Nov 23, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your recent stay at Basecamp. We always value feedback that can help us improve our operations. I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. While it is always our goal to create raving fans of Basecamp by providing amazing guest service in a great location, we missed the mark with your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail.

5
Friends

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The room was very nice and seemed newly updated. It was very hot during our stay and with no air conditioning it got somewhat miserable at night but we had a balcony so we just opened the slider to let air in. Otherwise you couldn't beat the price and the location.

By on Aug 25, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 26, 2020

Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed you room. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon!

4
Friends

Overall very good location to stay. The service, area, and staff were excellent. We came at a bad time considering a very problematic car show that used the hotel as a parking lot and hangout area.

By , from San Jose on Aug 16, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 17, 2020

Hi John, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review from your recent stay. It's unfortunate that your visit came at the same time as the car show, as this event was supposed to be cancelled and it appears everyone came anyway. The town of South Lake is just as disappointed in the behavior of these event guests as we are and I'm sorry that it interfered with your otherwise enjoyable visit. We hope you'll come visit us again when events like these aren't taking place!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/South-Lake-Tahoe-Hotels-Basecamp-South-Lake-Tahoe.h1086847-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /South-Lake-Tahoe-Hotels-Basecamp-South-Lake-Tahoe.h1086847-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/South-Lake-Tahoe-Hotels-Basecamp-South-Lake-Tahoe.h1086847-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions