Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Red Lion Jacksonville

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The staff was great. The first room they gave us was dirty, and supposedly an upgraded room. TO be honest, their older rooms are much nicer. But I've heard some things about this hotel that made me a bit concerned. But plumbing was a little finicky, and we could hear our neighbors clearly through the bathroom vent. The hotel staff did a good job cleaning the room we ended up in, and I could see them attempting to keep the place clean but they are remodeling so the hotel is often dirty and elevator is a bit uneasy.

We needed a few rooms to attend the southern women show in the Osborn convention center. The hotel was great for us. great breakfast, great crew. no issues. pretty close to any restaurant that you need (driving distance). I recommend to everyone to try to book at this hotel. It has a good rate and great location. We never used the pool even though it looked great!

I see that a housekeeper came in to take my wet towel but no one made the bed or straightened up. Also, neither of my beds elevated despite pushing for 10 seconds. When I told the woman as I was leaving she was completely disinterested other than to say "have a blessed day" when I left. I would not come back here.

Perfect for our business trip. Very centralized location.

room smelled weird ,carpet and chair stained need cleaning overall room okay for price

This was horrible. The floor had red stain the desk phone was missing button and the pull out bed had red blood on it. Than they move me in another room and the shower had stains in the shower. We didn't even wash . Horrible....DONT STAY

Nice affordable hotel. Some areas still under renovation. Decent breakfast was included, which was nice. Also, jax has road construction on nearby 202 which was a bit annoying but again not bad. Really happy with stay especially considering how cheap it was compared to other hotels and even air bnb.

I had a great stay but the wifi would not connect in the room only in the lobby for my laptop which made it very difficult.

My stay here roughly 16 times Europe. Anytime I travel to Jacksonville I go to the Red Lion. Best place to for the price they also allowing a late check in is nights I don't finish my work until about 3 a.m.

Nice room, friendly staff. Sleep number beds are terrible, wouldn't adjust up or down without great force on controls (probably played with too much) . No exhaust fans in bathrooms, but decor was relatively current. Rooms are less than "sound proofed", a little muffled would have been nice compared to the way they are now, VERY noisy.

Not 5 star but staff friendly and helpful. Short drive to Towne Center and not so far to the Beaches and JaX

The staff all around was awesome. (EVERYONE) the front desk goes out of there way to make it the best stay ever.. (Daniel, Danny, Jose, Cheryl) Being from PA they even map quest directions for us. As far as the rest of the staff rooms were cleaned daily, the kitchen staff (Marco, Terry) was on point with keeping the hot breakfast pans full. The maintenance guy fixed the clogged drain right away, his shift was over and he still came to the room. It was the best 8 day stay we ever did at any hotel. Thanks!

My second Red Lion stay.. no issues. The room was clean and comfortable. Sleep number bed although mine didn't work. Washer and dryer near elevators and the breakfast was excellent. Great staff too.

Quiet and nice. Nice & quiet. Had a chicken parm for dinner that was fantastic!

Checkin was super easy. They were waiting for us. We were very tired from a long drive and had a restful night.

I had a great stay at the hotel. The staff was courteous and professional. Great location.

Staff was good , when I was taking my luggage in the luggage rack upstairs a staff member told he will come get the rack. The cleaning staff She talk with me. My room was clean other than 4 spot about size of quarter in carpet in the room and hall. Smell overall was a clean (great). Three family standing at the elevators saying to ea.other this a great red Lion. One elevator wasn't working ( broken ), we had to wait for other one it was busy.

Everything else was out of order. They were receptive to correcting problems once they arose but I was there over a week and there seem to be lots of problems. They charge eight dollars for breakfast but it seem to be OK

Ran out of warm water on a Saturday morning. Fire alarm went off on a Friday afternoon. Only one working elevator. On a Friday Afternoon, there was an employee throwing a fit that she couldn't pick up her paycheck a couple hours early. Those were some hard obstacles to overcome. It's within walking distance of a Dave and Busters. Otherwise, it's not too close to anything - but, easy freeway access.

Decent price for what you get, there were several stains on the sheets and there were no sheets for the pull out sofa.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Accessible

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Red Lion Jacksonville

Everyone (26) Couples (22) Business (16) Family (13) Other (11)
3

"ok"

Families

The staff was great. The first room they gave us was dirty, and supposedly an upgraded room. TO be honest, their older rooms are much nicer. But I've heard some things about this hotel that made me a bit concerned. But plumbing was a little finicky, and we could hear our neighbors clearly through the bathroom vent. The hotel staff did a good job cleaning the room we ended up in, and I could see them attempting to keep the place clean but they are remodeling so the hotel is often dirty and elevator is a bit uneasy.

By , from CA on Nov 17, 2017

4
Everyone

We needed a few rooms to attend the southern women show in the Osborn convention center. The hotel was great for us. great breakfast, great crew. no issues. pretty close to any restaurant that you need (driving distance). I recommend to everyone to try to book at this hotel. It has a good rate and great location. We never used the pool even though it looked great!

By on Oct 27, 2017

2

poor service

Everyone

I see that a housekeeper came in to take my wet towel but no one made the bed or straightened up. Also, neither of my beds elevated despite pushing for 10 seconds. When I told the woman as I was leaving she was completely disinterested other than to say "have a blessed day" when I left. I would not come back here.

By on Oct 24, 2017

5
Everyone

Perfect for our business trip. Very centralized location.

By on Oct 17, 2017

3

okay for price

Everyone

room smelled weird ,carpet and chair stained need cleaning overall room okay for price

By on Oct 16, 2017

1

it was nasty don't stay

Everyone
Nasty

This was horrible. The floor had red stain the desk phone was missing button and the pull out bed had red blood on it. Than they move me in another room and the shower had stains in the shower. We didn't even wash . Horrible....DONT STAY

By on Sep 5, 2017

4

south jax

Everyone

Nice affordable hotel. Some areas still under renovation. Decent breakfast was included, which was nice. Also, jax has road construction on nearby 202 which was a bit annoying but again not bad. Really happy with stay especially considering how cheap it was compared to other hotels and even air bnb.

By on Aug 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 29, 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, but are sorry about the renovations around the hotel. We are remodeling the 6th floor right now, to provide newer rooms, and better amenities for our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

4
Everyone

I had a great stay but the wifi would not connect in the room only in the lobby for my laptop which made it very difficult.

By on Aug 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 29, 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback, Tiffany. We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, but would like to apologize again about the wi-fi. We hope this does not deter you from coming back, because we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

5

best for the price jacksonville

Everyone

My stay here roughly 16 times Europe. Anytime I travel to Jacksonville I go to the Red Lion. Best place to for the price they also allowing a late check in is nights I don't finish my work until about 3 a.m.

By on Aug 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 29, 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear that we are your choice hotel when you come to Jacksonville! That means a lot to us. As you stated, we do allow late check-ins, as there is an agent at the front desk 24 hours a day. We will see you next time!!

3

review

Everyone

Nice room, friendly staff. Sleep number beds are terrible, wouldn't adjust up or down without great force on controls (probably played with too much) . No exhaust fans in bathrooms, but decor was relatively current. Rooms are less than "sound proofed", a little muffled would have been nice compared to the way they are now, VERY noisy.

By on Jul 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 8, 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate your business, and your 3 star rating! We are sorry to hear that you had issues with your sleep number bed, and were unhappy with the noise from other rooms. We have replaced the majority of the beds in the hotel, but we have not replaced all of them. Please come back again, and give us a second chance. We would love to see you again.