Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I loved the view and the property's proximity to the beach and outdoor activities. The front-desk people were friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable, and the room stayed cool with the air conditioner. Thank you! The room was a little weird, though, in not having a kitchen sink. Any time I needed to wash my hands or anything else, I had to use the bathroom sink. The TV didn't work well for watching shows, as it kept buffering, but the general WIFI worked well, so I could use my computer. Parking was EXTREMELY confusing. There are multiple parking spaces, for the different hotels on the block, and they are not clearly labeled. After parking in the wrong lot the first time (it was for the hotel next door), there were two possibilities for parking at Castle Waikiki. It was unclear which of the two I was supposed to park in. The first one looked really small and unlikely. The second one was actually labeled with the name of the hotel, so I thought that one was promising. It also had the garage door wide open for entry. When I tried to drive through it, the garage door was menacingly close to falling on the hood of my rental car. Luckily, I backed up just in time. It was pretty awkward to have to back up uphill, though. It turned out to be the other parking lot which goes uphill. Please communicate which parking lot to park in more clearly next time, perhaps even offer to stand next to the correct parking lot. Also, please have a 10-minute parking space out front. Thank you!

This hotel was very accommodating, even when Orbitz messed up our reservation!!! I’d highly recommend them!!!!!!!

that they cleaned the room when you leave. I dont need the bed sheets fixed daily. The bar was great as well as the sound proofing.

Observation deck was really nice for the views. Id like to point out that when we asked for a shuttle to pearl harbor but we were not informed of the cost. I guess we should have known that it would cost, but assumed that it was part of the hotel stay since the front desk did not say anything about how much it would be. A mistake on our part but it should have been mentioned. Started to feel sick after the first night, we believe it was due to the ac unit. The "change filter" light was on. I would take a look at that. No hotel staff on duty when we left for the airport (4:30 am) only one security guard. He did say he would inform the hotel staff that we had checked out when they started (6am) It was a pleasant visit but those are the things that could use improvement.

Location was great. Room was nothing like pics advertised. Very, very disappointing.

Had a great location, everything else was disappointing. Room was tiny, bed was about a comfortable as sleeping on the floor, pillows were worthless, sheets were scratchy, bathroom has a semi transparent glass to the bedroom so no privacy, and if someone gets up in the middle of the night you get the blaring light, tub took 30 minutes to drain from a 5 minute shower. Would not stay again.

I loved that is was walking distance from the beach

Nice location and nice view from the sundeck on the 10th floor. But this is the first hotel that i know that charges you check-out cleaning fee, but doesn't service your room on a daily basis. All the cleaning, laundry, changing towels and toiletries - is on you. You have to look for hotel staff to replace everything you need, or to buy a laundry soap to wash dirty towels. Sounds like not a big deal, but those little things make me choose different hotel next time

The view is gorgeous. They have a 136$ cleaning fee but dont clean your room unless you’re staying for a long period of time, they supposedly clean it every 3 days but only upon request. When I asked for my room to be cleaned after 3 days, they said it would be cleaned my checkout date. I stated that I really needed the sheets changed, and that’s literally all they did. No trash was taken out, and the floors were not swept or mopped. They complained when I asked for beached towels, stating I had exceeded my limit, but when I checked in they said I could have as many as I needed. I mean I booked a hotel on the beach for a reason. Literally terrible, would not recommend

Super close access to the beach and staff was very friendly.

The bed was not firm and the furniture needs to be replaced.

I really liked the hotel itself. It was pretty good for 3 stars. And I really liked the ocean view and the location. So many stores and food places around that you can choose. But the only thing I didn’t like is that they have limited parking so I had to park my car at zoo and pay $1 per hour every night.

Nice cheap place to stay for our honeymoon, except we paid for the kitchenette expecting it to be like the pictures, but it was old and outdated AND the stove top didn’t work and we had already bought all of our groceries!! Besides the kitchen, the rest of the room was okay, it was clean which was a plus! Front desk did work a little with us and give us half the cleaning fee back and a free mai tai coupon which we didn’t end up using.

Yea I forgot the lady’s name that works the hotel desk but she was very nice bodyboard towels beach chairs was all lent to me which made my trip a lot better mahalo and aloha to her and her staff

Can’t belive orbitz would use this DUMP on their list. Really, really bad room! Stuff super friendly but the room was a dump. Crappy air conditioner, tored, worn out furniture and crappy mattress.

Terrible rooms and staff.filty rooms..unorganized hotel.

Very disappointing experience. To start with, stay here if you like DIY projects during your vacation in Hawaii, because this is not a hotel. These are condos owned by private owners who pay a management company to run it. The tv in my room had no working TV and nobody could figure out how to fix it. I got a bag of coffee upon my arrival but there was no coffee maker. There were utensils but nothing to watch them with. They tell you when you arrive that they will NOT clean your room unless you request it. I asked them to do so in the middle of my stay and I left and never was cleaned. You have to beg the front desk for amenities like shampoo or soap or anything you need. It’s like a third world country motel. They even tell you to take the garbage to the chute!

Pros: the location was very convenient as it was right across the street from Waikiki Beach and close to shops and restaurants. The room had a decent sized refrigerator with dishes and pots available for use in case one wanted to cook. Staff was very polite and helpful. The WiFi speed was decent. Cons: The property is dated and the bed was a little too soft, uneven and flimsy. I was also sprung with an unexpected cleaning fee of $153 while checking in. Although Orbitz does say that hotels may charge additional fees, full disclosure of all fees upfront would be good for confidence in brand as this helps travelers to plan a vacation budget better. This fee really set me back unexpectedly. I don’t believe that the additional cost (unexpected at that) was justified given the aged condition of the room though not in terrible shape.

Kapahulu Avenue Honolulu HI

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Beach
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Nightclub

Located in Waikiki, Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel is within a 5-minute walk of Honolulu Zoo and within 15 minutes of other popular attractions like Waikiki Beach. This 25-room hotel has conveniences like a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge or visit the onsite restaurant for a bite to eat.


Rooms

All 25 air-conditioned accommodations feature dining areas. TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers.


Property features

At Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel, guests enjoy a nightclub, an outdoor pool, and free WiFi in public areas. Self parking is available for USD 17 per night. The front desk has multilingual staff that can help with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a terrace, laundry facilities, and an ATM.

Room options

Ocean View Hotel Room

1 King Bed | 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

City View Studio with Kitchenette

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 3

Sundeck Studio Deluxe Kitchenette

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 3

Ocean View Studio with Kitchenette

1 King Bed | 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel

Everyone (19) Couples (24) Family (11) Friends (4) Other (7)
4
Everyone

I loved the view and the property's proximity to the beach and outdoor activities. The front-desk people were friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable, and the room stayed cool with the air conditioner. Thank you! The room was a little weird, though, in not having a kitchen sink. Any time I needed to wash my hands or anything else, I had to use the bathroom sink. The TV didn't work well for watching shows, as it kept buffering, but the general WIFI worked well, so I could use my computer. Parking was EXTREMELY confusing. There are multiple parking spaces, for the different hotels on the block, and they are not clearly labeled. After parking in the wrong lot the first time (it was for the hotel next door), there were two possibilities for parking at Castle Waikiki. It was unclear which of the two I was supposed to park in. The first one looked really small and unlikely. The second one was actually labeled with the name of the hotel, so I thought that one was promising. It also had the garage door wide open for entry. When I tried to drive through it, the garage door was menacingly close to falling on the hood of my rental car. Luckily, I backed up just in time. It was pretty awkward to have to back up uphill, though. It turned out to be the other parking lot which goes uphill. Please communicate which parking lot to park in more clearly next time, perhaps even offer to stand next to the correct parking lot. Also, please have a 10-minute parking space out front. Thank you!

By , from Portland, OR on Mar 29, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 30, 2020

Aloha! Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay for the most part. We are sorry about the parking signage not being very visible. We are making larger and more visible signage. We are also sorry the T.V. cable kept on refreshing. We are checking on that immediately. We appreciate your feedback. Mahalo!

5
Partner Couples Family

This hotel was very accommodating, even when Orbitz messed up our reservation!!! I’d highly recommend them!!!!!!!

By , from Austin on Dec 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 11, 2019

Aloha Mel, Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel! It was a pleasure meeting you and we wish we could have tried to help fix these issues earlier. Glad we could help make your trip a better one! We look forward to your return! Mahalo!

5
Everyone

By on Dec 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 7, 2019

Aloha! Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel! We hope you enjoyed your stay, our friendly staff and our convenient location. We look forward to having you in the future! Mahalo!

5
Everyone

that they cleaned the room when you leave. I dont need the bed sheets fixed daily. The bar was great as well as the sound proofing.

By on Nov 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 25, 2019

Aloha Don, Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and Hula's Bar & Lei Stand! We apologize that the fees are not clearly stated "Check-Out Cleaning Fees". We do change towels and replenish amenities. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return. Mahalo!

4
Everyone

By on Oct 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 23, 2019

Aloha! Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel! We hope you enjoyed our staff, your accommodations and our convenient location! Mahalo!

3
Partner Couples Family

Observation deck was really nice for the views. Id like to point out that when we asked for a shuttle to pearl harbor but we were not informed of the cost. I guess we should have known that it would cost, but assumed that it was part of the hotel stay since the front desk did not say anything about how much it would be. A mistake on our part but it should have been mentioned. Started to feel sick after the first night, we believe it was due to the ac unit. The "change filter" light was on. I would take a look at that. No hotel staff on duty when we left for the airport (4:30 am) only one security guard. He did say he would inform the hotel staff that we had checked out when they started (6am) It was a pleasant visit but those are the things that could use improvement.

By on Oct 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 15, 2019

Aloha, Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel! We are very sorry about the miscommunication about the Pearl Harbor Shuttle costing money and not being complimentary. We are also sorry about not having staff on duty after hours to tend to the air conditioner. We appreciate your feedback. Mahalo

2
Partner Couples

Location was great. Room was nothing like pics advertised. Very, very disappointing.

By on Oct 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 15, 2019

Aloha, Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location. We are very sorry and will look into the photo representation of our rooms where you made reservation. We appreciate your feedback. Mahalo

2
Family

Had a great location, everything else was disappointing. Room was tiny, bed was about a comfortable as sleeping on the floor, pillows were worthless, sheets were scratchy, bathroom has a semi transparent glass to the bedroom so no privacy, and if someone gets up in the middle of the night you get the blaring light, tub took 30 minutes to drain from a 5 minute shower. Would not stay again.

By on Sep 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 30, 2019

Aloha, Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel! We are very sorry that the room appeared as you described. Please let us know if you would like to further discuss your stay as we would like to know so we can make the necessary improvements so these types of things to not happen. If you are still in house (we cannot tell since you show as anonymous) please let us know so we can try to move you to a better room and so we can know which room this is that needs said improvements. We appreciate your feedback. Mahalo

5
Everyone

I loved that is was walking distance from the beach

By on Aug 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 29, 2019

Aloha! Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel! We hope you are enjoying your accommodations as much as our convenient location. Thank you for your feedback. Mahalo!

3
Everyone

Nice location and nice view from the sundeck on the 10th floor. But this is the first hotel that i know that charges you check-out cleaning fee, but doesn't service your room on a daily basis. All the cleaning, laundry, changing towels and toiletries - is on you. You have to look for hotel staff to replace everything you need, or to buy a laundry soap to wash dirty towels. Sounds like not a big deal, but those little things make me choose different hotel next time

By on Jun 29, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 2, 2019

Aloha! Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Waikiki Grand Hotel! We are happy you enjoyed our location and the views! We are sorry that our services were misinterpreted. We do change out towels and toiletries on request, but not as a daily service. We appreciate your feedback. Mahalo

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Honolulu-Hotels-Castle-Waikiki-Grand-Hotel.h2352-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Honolulu-Hotels-Castle-Waikiki-Grand-Hotel.h2352-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Honolulu-Hotels-Castle-Waikiki-Grand-Hotel.h2352-p2.Hotel-Reviews