Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Everything was good i enjoyed my stay i always pick rivertown for the location amd the view and the nice price on the room

This is the rudest staff I have ever seen in my life. This hotel has NO heat, and NO blanket (yes, not a single blanket - just a sheet on the bed). It was 41 degrees. I the hotel manager told me that they do not have heat and no blanket, and that there is nothing they can do. This is unacceptable. I left that hotel and expect a full refund. The hotel is not clean (I wonder if they changed my sheet), and there are a lot of people who seem to live at the hotel, I did not feel safe (people were loud on the parking lot, gathering right next to my car).

It was very old and unkept. The tile was cracked and stained. The toilet continuosly ran

It was a horrible hotel, holes in the wall and under the air conditioning , which was so loud I had to turn it off to sleep, dry wall shedding on the floor, internet didn't work, phone didn't work, housekeeping never came to my room, deadbolt didn't work, tv only had 5 channels that came in clear, tons of shady people hanging out in the parking lot, free breakfast was a joke, a waffle maker, hard boiled eggs and a cheap danish. I have expensive luggage and I actually took it with me when I had to leave in the day. I complained to the front desk about all these things when I checked out, she nonchalantly said, "Thanks, I'll look into it". I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, ever. I made the mistake so you don't have to.

We arrived on a very busy week for Detroit. The one pro to this property is the shuttle they offer to anywhere in Detroit. They took us to Fishbones prior to the Tiger's game and picked us up at Cliff Bell's afterwards. Parking is also free. The rest is bad. The place is old and wear and tear is very present. The room was small and dated. Bathroom had new floors but the shower had a curtain held up by like three shower rings. Air conditioning unit in the room was old and the air in the hotel lobby did not work properly. There were some strange people just hanging out in the lounge most of the day. The staff was friendly but clearly overwhelmed as it looked like it was fully booked with people there for the game. We arrived at 3PM and our room was not ready for check in. After waiting about 30 minutes she switched rooms but communication must have been lost along the way as after we went into our room another person came in about 30 minutes later. They had accidentally assigned him to our room. Then our keys did not work. They straightened it out when I went to the front desk though. It is located within walking distance to the Detroit River. The place needs a lot of work and from the looks of it a lot of the guests it looks to be a spot that attracts a rougher element of clientele. We had no problems but it is not somewhere I would choose to stay again. On the plus side the back side of the property appeared to be under renovation.

I booked the hotel through Orbitz but my flight was cancelled due to bad weather in Denver. I informed the hotel early in the day as well as Orbitz, but the hotel was unwilling to refund any of the money for a two-day stay. This is a reminder to never pay hotels in advance. This hotel should not be listed on Orbitz!

You can’t control the temperature of the room... the place was filthy...

Basically no in-room internet. Lobby only. They go by stickers on "free parking". One minute before check out, I could have asked for a sticker. But in a span of 2 minutes, from one minute before check-out to one minute after check out, they refused to issue the parking sticker for the same day stay (leaving later, atually even before the 11:00 am check-out time. I checked out early in the morning, but I couldn't even park until 11:00 am on the day of check out because "I checked out already, earlier than required." It defied logic. Would not stay again in this property because of the stupidity they demonstrated.

Room was reasonably priced and the location of the hotel was great

The property is wonderful. However the rate I dhoukd have been charged. was $89 .00 but I was overcharged $113.00. I am requesting a refund of the difference. This was unfair.

Very run down facility. I would recommend people not book this hotel.

A little pricey, but comfortable. The room has many convenient amenities which makes the stay enjoyable, but the restaurant closes too early.

I couldn't stay. I had to leave and was told I wouldn't get a refund; I gladly told them to keep the money. The environment was dirty. The room had a funky smell. Sheets were rumpled, even had a cigarette burn. Microwave and fridge dusty, furniture looked old and dirty. It honestly did not feel safe. I would describe the room as one of those you see in movies like NCIS where someone was murdered. Literally!

Room not clean and smell like cigarette it looks like a no star and they keep on deactivating my key everyday. The staff was nice and parking is good. They do offer complementary breakfast. They have free bus shuttles service but it ends at 11:45pm and the take forever to pick you up. Overall I would not stay there again until they clean up there rooms. And the face bowl had crackes in it. Curtains had holes in it and smell like smoke. Towels had hair on it. Fitting sheet on bed did not look clean. They had only a sheet and light red decorative Cover on the bed , no blanket, floor was super dirty. All the mirrors was dirty.

VERY DIRTY!!! I would not recommend staying here!! The sink was cracked and stained, shower was gross... the carpet left my feet black!!! So gross!!!!!

It's a convenient location to everything. It's not a 5 star hotel but I was only there to sleep didnt spend much time in room due to being busy exploring! Short 3 minute walk to the riverwalk with festivals!!!! Staff was respectful and quickly checked us in. No complaints it's a little outdated but I only needed a safe place to sleep.

E. JEFFERSON Detroit MI

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Detroit Riverwalk and GM Renaissance Center
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Detroit Riverwalk is within a 5-minute walk of Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit while other popular sites like GM Renaissance Center are within a 15-minute stroll. This 3-star motel has 54 guestrooms and offers conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast. Enjoy a bite to eat at Clique, the motel's onsite restaurant. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit's 54 rooms provide microwaves, coffee makers, and free local calls. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Hair dryers and desks are also standard.


Property features

At Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas and laundry facilities. There's free parking and a free area shuttle. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready.

Room options

Double Room

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Single Room

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Double Room, 1 Double Bed, Refrigerator & Microwave

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit

Everyone (29) Family (2)
5
Family

Everything was good i enjoyed my stay i always pick rivertown for the location amd the view and the nice price on the room

By , from Detriot on Nov 26, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 1, 2020

We accommodate many guests each evening, and the principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to each of our guest. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy. Please accept my sincere apology.

1
Everyone

This is the rudest staff I have ever seen in my life. This hotel has NO heat, and NO blanket (yes, not a single blanket - just a sheet on the bed). It was 41 degrees. I the hotel manager told me that they do not have heat and no blanket, and that there is nothing they can do. This is unacceptable. I left that hotel and expect a full refund. The hotel is not clean (I wonder if they changed my sheet), and there are a lot of people who seem to live at the hotel, I did not feel safe (people were loud on the parking lot, gathering right next to my car).

By on Oct 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 5, 2020

Dear guest, We would first like to apologize on behalf of the staff for the unkind treatment you received as this is not acceptable and not tolerated. We will be sure to handle this accordingly. We would also like to apologize that you did not receive a blanket as they are available for all of our guests. The heat has not been turned on yet due to the weather changing between hot and cold. However we are working hard to change this and make sure heat is available as soon as possible. We also would like to apologize that you did not feel safe however, safety is our top priority and would like to ensure you our property is safe. We would like to resolve these issues please call the property at your earliest convenience so we may take care of this for you. Thank you.

1
Everyone

By on Sep 1, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 7, 2020

Dear guest, We apologize for any inconveniences you faced while staying with us. Please let us know how we may improve to ensure a better stay for next time.

2
Friends

It was very old and unkept. The tile was cracked and stained. The toilet continuosly ran

By on Mar 19, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2020

We accommodate many guests each evening, and the principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to each of our guest. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy. Please accept my sincere apology.

1
Everyone

By on Dec 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 20, 2019

Dear guest, We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please let us know how we may improve to make your stay more enjoyable with us next time. Thank you.

1
Business Business

It was a horrible hotel, holes in the wall and under the air conditioning , which was so loud I had to turn it off to sleep, dry wall shedding on the floor, internet didn't work, phone didn't work, housekeeping never came to my room, deadbolt didn't work, tv only had 5 channels that came in clear, tons of shady people hanging out in the parking lot, free breakfast was a joke, a waffle maker, hard boiled eggs and a cheap danish. I have expensive luggage and I actually took it with me when I had to leave in the day. I complained to the front desk about all these things when I checked out, she nonchalantly said, "Thanks, I'll look into it". I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, ever. I made the mistake so you don't have to.

By on Sep 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 10, 2019

Dear valued guest, Sorry to hear that you had a bad experience, I do apologize about the staff and you not receiving service during your stay that is unacceptable. our guest feedback helps us make our motel a better place.

2
Family

We arrived on a very busy week for Detroit. The one pro to this property is the shuttle they offer to anywhere in Detroit. They took us to Fishbones prior to the Tiger's game and picked us up at Cliff Bell's afterwards. Parking is also free. The rest is bad. The place is old and wear and tear is very present. The room was small and dated. Bathroom had new floors but the shower had a curtain held up by like three shower rings. Air conditioning unit in the room was old and the air in the hotel lobby did not work properly. There were some strange people just hanging out in the lounge most of the day. The staff was friendly but clearly overwhelmed as it looked like it was fully booked with people there for the game. We arrived at 3PM and our room was not ready for check in. After waiting about 30 minutes she switched rooms but communication must have been lost along the way as after we went into our room another person came in about 30 minutes later. They had accidentally assigned him to our room. Then our keys did not work. They straightened it out when I went to the front desk though. It is located within walking distance to the Detroit River. The place needs a lot of work and from the looks of it a lot of the guests it looks to be a spot that attracts a rougher element of clientele. We had no problems but it is not somewhere I would choose to stay again. On the plus side the back side of the property appeared to be under renovation.

By , from Jackson on Jul 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 22, 2019

Dear Traveling517, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us, as it allows us to continue to improve. Please know your concerns are being addressed with our staff so that future travelers will not have a similar experience. We are pleased you enjoyed our free shuttle service. We hope you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us in the future. Again, thank you for reviewing our hotel.

1
Business Business

I booked the hotel through Orbitz but my flight was cancelled due to bad weather in Denver. I informed the hotel early in the day as well as Orbitz, but the hotel was unwilling to refund any of the money for a two-day stay. This is a reminder to never pay hotels in advance. This hotel should not be listed on Orbitz!

By on Jun 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 19, 2019

We apologize for any inconvenience you have faced with trying to cancel your reservation however, because you have prepaid for your reservation we do not process that payment your booking agency does therefore we couldn't process your refund. We can however approve a refund once Orbitz gives us a call. Thank you.

1
Business Business

You can’t control the temperature of the room... the place was filthy...

By on May 12, 2019

Review comment responded on May 20, 2019

Thank you for your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the poor service you experienced. We take pride in delivering superb service to each of our guests, and we are very sorry that we fell short. We have already shared your feedback with our management team and we are taking immediate steps to ensure that problems of this nature do not occur again in the future. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you will give us another chance to demonstrate the excellent service that should have been provided to you on this visit.

2
Business Business

Basically no in-room internet. Lobby only. They go by stickers on "free parking". One minute before check out, I could have asked for a sticker. But in a span of 2 minutes, from one minute before check-out to one minute after check out, they refused to issue the parking sticker for the same day stay (leaving later, atually even before the 11:00 am check-out time. I checked out early in the morning, but I couldn't even park until 11:00 am on the day of check out because "I checked out already, earlier than required." It defied logic. Would not stay again in this property because of the stupidity they demonstrated.

By , from Bean Town on Apr 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 15, 2019

We are sincerely sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing stay at our hotel. Our staff works hard to ensure that each guest has an excellent experience, and we are very disturbed when we hear that guests did not enjoy their stay. We hope you can visit us again so we can make your stay an enchanting one!

Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit

1316 E. JEFFERSON, Detroit, MI 48207
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Detroit-Hotels-Rivertown-Inn-&-Suites-Downtown-Detroit.h1112132-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Detroit-Hotels-Rivertown-Inn-&-Suites-Downtown-Detroit.h1112132-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Detroit-Hotels-Rivertown-Inn-&-Suites-Downtown-Detroit.h1112132-p2.Hotel-Reviews