Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Downtown

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

If you're black, you will have no problems. If you're white, be ready to be treated unfriendly. Called to ask if they had early check in, was informed they had full house night before so early check in wasn't available. Arrived at 230pm, check in is 3pm. Had my 10 month old grandson with me. Went to counter to see if they had any rooms ready, was told nothing was available until 3. Sat down in lobby, grandson fussing, but manageable. Watched black family arrive, go to desk, was told same thing at first, but watched as father of family talked to black desk clerk and 2 minutes later was handed a key to room. Asked desk clerk why him and not me, he said they had special circumstance, wife was tired. Racism at its finest. Will never stay there again

Nothing extra ordinary. The usual rooms, and room service. Check in not flexible to look up alternative room.

If downtown Detroit is on the way back, no better place to stay than the Courtyard. Great location, spotless, great personable staff.

Coffee pot missing parts two light bulbs burned out

This hotel has a great location, friendly staff, and spacious, well-equipped rooms. Within walking distance of many restaurants and the Greektown Casino. I recommend.

Very nice place. Close to Greektown & Casinos and Tigers/Lions stadium. Parking and arriving strange, could be more organized allowing people to park on their own. I could see an entire parking lot on the roof that was empty yet I was told to park across the street or use the valet.

The hotel is newly refurbished and very comfortable!! Staff goes out of their way to be polite and extremely helpful.

I stayed at the Courtyard because it was centrally located to Comerica Park and as I was working on Friday & Monday I was attending 3 Tigers games over the weekend. The walk is quite easy to the stadium (0.7 mile) or you can take the People Mover ($0.75 per person per ride) which brings you 2 blocks away from the stadium and is about a 10 minute ride. You do need to get specific coins which are available at the liquor store on premise. Greek town is only about a 5 minute walk as well. Their are several restaurants in the area as well to choose from. The hotel itself is in fine condition and this summer they are upgrading all of the rooms. We were on the 18th floor and had a nice view of Canada across the river. The cleaning lady was excellent and very thorough however I was disappointed by the TV (non HD) and the bathroom amenities (small soaps and the shower curtain always stuck to you). I always tend to stay at a Marriott affiliate to collect rewards points and this hotel is one of the better ones in general in downtown Detroit.

We were staying downtown for the weekend Country concert - Downtown Hoedown. This hotel is a hop skip and jump from the People Mover which made it really convenient to get to Comerica Park without a cab ride - saving us a few bucks! We just wish the happy hour in the bar lasted longer so we could have partaken in that. The staff and the room were great! Would definitely stay here again!

Comfortable and clean room. Location is ideal for all sporting events.

Went to a concert Saturday night and the Lions game on Sunday. Hotel was the perfect location for easy access to both events. People Mover stop is located right in the hotel. Excellent staff, clean rooms. Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed for the Eminem concert with my kids. Location is great, as the people mover comes directly into the hotel.

We booked the room for a stay downtown to attend the Eminem concert. Great location and the city was really alive that night. The staff was super fast getting us checked in and everything went smoothly.

Always a great experience in downtown Detroit. Staff is friendly and helpful. Easy access off highway .

Occasionally run up from Cleveland to Detroit for concerts and events. I've stayed at this particular Courtyard a few times., and they've been 100% consistent in terms of room cleanliness, readiness, and quick service, when needed. This Courtyard is close to all the concert and sports venues, all the Greektown and Bricktown restaurants, and has direct indoor access to the People Mover, and the GM Tower across the street. During winter, you can get halfway around Detroit before having to actually go 'outside'. Tons of taxis make getting out into the neighborhoods really easy (definitely worth a midnight ride to Honest John's!). The big, giant, pain-in-the-rear drawback to this place is the valet situation. Not only is the valet parking not included in your hotel stay (currently $23), but at afternoon check-in primetime - 3-6pm or so - the valet line fills up the covered parking area, and cars form a line down Jefferson Ave, waiting..... Definitely my preferred place to stay in Detroit, when I want to stay under $200 per night. But I may take an extra drive around the block next time to explore different parking options. All other aspects of this hotel are, however, a big Thumbs-Up!

Only 2 big towels for 2 of us. Need 3 for hair and body. No service on Christmas Day at all...bed not made, no restaurant open in Hotel or coffee in lobby. That would be fine if we were told ahead of time so we could plan. Check-in people and parking attendants were just great... friendly, timely, and upbeat. We were in Hotel for a week total and really needed the room vacuumed ore than just once. Thank you to Tanya and the sweet female parking attendant.

Upon arrival last in afternoon, no small towels in bathroom. Dry cleaning was delivered to us and was someone else's in hotel. There for 6 days and only vacuumed once. Last day there, did not clean our room. Staff is friendly and parking attendants are just great. Good location.

The staff was ingenious as the constantly provided options for "the Courtyard". They did not seem to know of any activities of the surrounding area. Once we made it up to the room it looked average the chair provided was filthy. Absolutely no pamphlets to describe the amenities of the hotel. The location was okay, however, the surrounding area seemed really run down and un safe in broad day light. Sleeping was awful as the furnace controller switched in the middle of the night to 79 degrees. It never cooled down after that causing one of the most miserable nights I have ever had. Staff seemed uninterested in my concern.

Great detroit hotel for downtown activities. Easy access to the people mover. Room was clean. Staff was polite

Comfortable, convenient to downtown activities. Very comfortable, good view, great workout facilities.

333 E Jefferson Ave Detroit MI

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to GM Renaissance Center and Ford Field
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Indoor pool

Located in Downtown Detroit, Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Downtown is adjacent to GM Renaissance Center and within a 5-minute walk of other popular sights like Saint Andrews Hall. This 3.5-star hotel has 260 guestrooms and offers an indoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and a fitness center. Centrally located in Detroit, the hotel is also a short walk from Campus Martius Park and Guardian Building.


Dining

Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service. Start your day off with buffet breakfast, available for a fee.


Rooms

Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Downtown's 260 rooms are recently renovated and provide microwaves, coffee makers, and phones. Smart TVs come with cable channels and Netflix, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include video-game consoles, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

Guests of Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Downtown have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. Valet parking is offered for USD 28 per day. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Executive Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Downtown

Everyone (3) Couples (13) Business (10) Family (9) Other (2) Friends (5)
1

courtyard by marriott detroit downtown

Everyone

If you're black, you will have no problems. If you're white, be ready to be treated unfriendly. Called to ask if they had early check in, was informed they had full house night before so early check in wasn't available. Arrived at 230pm, check in is 3pm. Had my 10 month old grandson with me. Went to counter to see if they had any rooms ready, was told nothing was available until 3. Sat down in lobby, grandson fussing, but manageable. Watched black family arrive, go to desk, was told same thing at first, but watched as father of family talked to black desk clerk and 2 minutes later was handed a key to room. Asked desk clerk why him and not me, he said they had special circumstance, wife was tired. Racism at its finest. Will never stay there again

By , from Detroit on Aug 28, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 19, 2017

Hello Bill and please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment with our check-in process. Please know that there are a number of variables that contribute to the decisions made by our front desk team, including medical issues, rewards status, convention access, etc. We truly apologize if you felt you were not accommodated properly and we do hope that you were able to speak with a member of our management team to get this addressed.

3

good location, pricey.

Everyone

Nothing extra ordinary. The usual rooms, and room service. Check in not flexible to look up alternative room.

By on Jun 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 18, 2017

Hello and thank you very much for visiting. We wanted to apologize personally for not creating a more memorable experience during your stay with us. It's always our goal to assure an amazing Detroit experience for all guests and we apologize for falling short in your case. Once again, we do thank you and we hope to see you again in the future.

5

great location, wonderful staff!

Everyone

If downtown Detroit is on the way back, no better place to stay than the Courtyard. Great location, spotless, great personable staff.

By , from Chicago on Aug 1, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 1970

Hello Tom and thank you for the glowing five stars! We appreciate you visiting and of course taking your time to post about the experience. Happy to hear that you enjoyed and we hope to see you again soon.

4

football weekend

Couples

Coffee pot missing parts two light bulbs burned out

By on Oct 25, 2015

5

great location

BusinessTravelers

This hotel has a great location, friendly staff, and spacious, well-equipped rooms. Within walking distance of many restaurants and the Greektown Casino. I recommend.

By on Oct 17, 2015

5

saturday stay

Singles

Very nice place. Close to Greektown & Casinos and Tigers/Lions stadium. Parking and arriving strange, could be more organized allowing people to park on their own. I could see an entire parking lot on the roof that was empty yet I was told to park across the street or use the valet.

By on Sep 22, 2015

5

mom's and daughter weekend

Families

The hotel is newly refurbished and very comfortable!! Staff goes out of their way to be polite and extremely helpful.

By on Sep 1, 2015

3

work & pleasure

BusinessTravelers

I stayed at the Courtyard because it was centrally located to Comerica Park and as I was working on Friday & Monday I was attending 3 Tigers games over the weekend. The walk is quite easy to the stadium (0.7 mile) or you can take the People Mover ($0.75 per person per ride) which brings you 2 blocks away from the stadium and is about a 10 minute ride. You do need to get specific coins which are available at the liquor store on premise. Greek town is only about a 5 minute walk as well. Their are several restaurants in the area as well to choose from. The hotel itself is in fine condition and this summer they are upgrading all of the rooms. We were on the 18th floor and had a nice view of Canada across the river. The cleaning lady was excellent and very thorough however I was disappointed by the TV (non HD) and the bathroom amenities (small soaps and the shower curtain always stuck to you). I always tend to stay at a Marriott affiliate to collect rewards points and this hotel is one of the better ones in general in downtown Detroit.

By on Jun 17, 2015

5

weekend in the d

Couples

We were staying downtown for the weekend Country concert - Downtown Hoedown. This hotel is a hop skip and jump from the People Mover which made it really convenient to get to Comerica Park without a cab ride - saving us a few bucks! We just wish the happy hour in the bar lasted longer so we could have partaken in that. The staff and the room were great! Would definitely stay here again!

By on Dec 30, 2014

4

great location and comfort

BusinessTravelers

Comfortable and clean room. Location is ideal for all sporting events.

By on Dec 8, 2014