Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort & Spa

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Close to Carlsbad Premi...
  • Free WiFi and wired Int...
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Recent guest reviews

Location, restaurant, gym, entertainment and staff.

Location was nice, but there was a camping ground directly in front of beach full of trailers.

Tucked away from high density area, quiet. The room was due for a makeover, beat up and needing repairs.

We didn't like the fact that the a/c unit for my room was not working when we arrived. It was 79 degrees in the room when we turned it on, and the temperature rose to 81 degrees as the unit seemed to simply blow hot air into the room. We were cooking in there as we thought we'd give the unit some time to work, but it never did so. We waited around in our hot hotel room for the "engineer" to arrive to check out the problem. Finally, we insisted on being switched to a different room to avoid wasting even more of our precious time for a maintenance problem that never should have occurred in the first place in my opinion (housekeeping or somebody else should've detected the a/c unit wasn't working before we arrived). A separate issue we had was with valet parking, which is severely understaffed in the morning (around 8:00 a.m.). There was only one employee manning the valet parking so it took longer than it should have to pick up my vehicle and then after I returned to the hotel to drop it off after getting breakfast offsite, I literally had to wait 10-15 minutes before the single valet worker showed up to take my car keys (he was busy bringing the vehicle of another guest).

Room was cold around 70F and the AC didn't work very well. We asked the staff for one extra comforter at 8PM and they said it would come soon. We waited until midnight but the comforter never came. During that time we called again twice and every time they replied it was on the way. One of my kids got cold. We complained on checkout, and they said they would waive the resort fee as apology. But it has been two weeks, and there's no refund of anything. Very disappointed and will never visit this hotel again.

Staff were awesome the rest of the hotel needs a facelift. Mini fridge in first room didn’t work moved rooms and the second one sounded like an airplane.

Excellent nice staff. The location is perfect and the sunset was a wonderful sight !!

Great place with many amenities. Food was awesome. Loved the beach vibe.

I this was my favorite Hilton property! The price is a little high but if you get the right package deal. It all works out.

Beautiful hotel and very nice staff. Would stay again. The only complaint was the valet charge of $29 a day when the parking was right across the street.

The hotel has a nice pool, which is gated. The place is in a nice location but it has it's issues. When we arrived, we waited 30 minutes because they only had 1 person doing check in, we check in to vale which was $29, and waited 45 minutes to get our things; I called once midway and was told they are on their way. We were told the place has a pool, heated to 80F. We really wanted to go to the warm pool, but 2 seconds in the empty pool at 9:45 pm I got out because it was not heated at all, it was cold and their was no one to help with the towels . After a poor experience and complaining to the staff, nothing was resolved. Later that night I asked for advil, and they had some to purchase, but the staff was nice and let me have them for free. The best thing about the hotel was that they have a shuttle service that can take you anywhere within 5 miles. When doing the checkout they charged a margarita to our room, but no one ordered it. The hotel was nice but I can't say I would recommend it to anyone. Your going to pay $150+$30 = ~$180 so for this price look for other hotels.

Professional staff, great views, clean and comfortable.

Great hotel but room service was not up to standard for Hilton. Took over an hour and 2 trips to the front desk and 3 calls to room service to get a cheese plate.

Hotel overall was beautiful but terrible customer service and unannounced construction made the stay horrid.

1 Ponto Rd Carlsbad CA

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Carlsbad Premium Outlets and Flower Fields of Carlsbad
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort & Spa places you within a mile (2 km) of popular attractions like Carlsbad Premium Outlets and Flower Fields of Carlsbad. This 4.5-star resort welcomes guests with 215 rooms and conveniences like a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a 24-hour fitness center.


Dining

Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite fine-dining restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service. Start each morning with cooked-to-order breakfast, available for a fee from 6:30 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

An LCD TV comes with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include an MP3 dock, a refrigerator, and a microwave.


Property features

At Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort & Spa, guests enjoy a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a 24-hour fitness center. Parking is available for USD 24.00 per night (USD 29 per night for valet parking), and there's also limo/town car service. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with dry cleaning/laundry, securing valuables, and tours or tickets. Other amenities at this beach resort include free WiFi in public areas, a conference center, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible (Mobility & Hearing, Roll-in Shower)

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Bathtub (Mobility & Hearing)

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible (Mobility & Hearing, Roll-in Shower)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Bathtub (Mobility & Hearing)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort & Spa

Everyone (36) Couples (5) Business (1) Family (6)
5
Everyone

Location, restaurant, gym, entertainment and staff.

By on Aug 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 19, 2019

Thank you for your 5-star review. We hope you will stay with us again.

5
Everyone

By on Aug 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 19, 2019

Thank you for your 5-star review.

5
Everyone

By on Aug 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 14, 2019

Thank you for your 5-star review.

4
Family with small children

Location was nice, but there was a camping ground directly in front of beach full of trailers.

By on Jul 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 2, 2019

Thank you for your 4-star review.

5
Everyone

By on Jul 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 22, 2019

Thank you for your 5-star review.

3
Families

Tucked away from high density area, quiet. The room was due for a makeover, beat up and needing repairs.

By on Jul 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 12, 2019

Thank you for sharing your experience at Cape Rey, we are happy to hear you enjoyed our peaceful location. We’re disappointed to hear the room condition you described does not live up to our standards. Please know that as part of continuing improvements, we are in the process of upholstering furniture. I hope you return to see the improvements.

2
Families

We didn't like the fact that the a/c unit for my room was not working when we arrived. It was 79 degrees in the room when we turned it on, and the temperature rose to 81 degrees as the unit seemed to simply blow hot air into the room. We were cooking in there as we thought we'd give the unit some time to work, but it never did so. We waited around in our hot hotel room for the "engineer" to arrive to check out the problem. Finally, we insisted on being switched to a different room to avoid wasting even more of our precious time for a maintenance problem that never should have occurred in the first place in my opinion (housekeeping or somebody else should've detected the a/c unit wasn't working before we arrived). A separate issue we had was with valet parking, which is severely understaffed in the morning (around 8:00 a.m.). There was only one employee manning the valet parking so it took longer than it should have to pick up my vehicle and then after I returned to the hotel to drop it off after getting breakfast offsite, I literally had to wait 10-15 minutes before the single valet worker showed up to take my car keys (he was busy bringing the vehicle of another guest).

By on Jul 9, 2019

3
Everyone

By on Jun 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 21, 2019

Thank you for the review. If there is anything we can do to ensure that your next stay with us earns all five of your stars, we always welcome feedback!

2
Everyone

Room was cold around 70F and the AC didn't work very well. We asked the staff for one extra comforter at 8PM and they said it would come soon. We waited until midnight but the comforter never came. During that time we called again twice and every time they replied it was on the way. One of my kids got cold. We complained on checkout, and they said they would waive the resort fee as apology. But it has been two weeks, and there's no refund of anything. Very disappointed and will never visit this hotel again.

By on Jan 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 22, 2019

Our more sincerest apologies on any inconvenience you experienced while at Cape Rey. If you haven't yet, please reach out directly to Peter Yerkes onsite to assure you you receive your refund. We certainly hope we can resolve this as soon as possible and that you will consider coming back to Cape Rey.

2
Everyone

Staff were awesome the rest of the hotel needs a facelift. Mini fridge in first room didn’t work moved rooms and the second one sounded like an airplane.

By on Dec 31, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 31, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that the staff was awesome during your stay. Cape Rey is currently undergoing renovations to our guest rooms, so we apologize that the mini fridges caused you any inconvenience. We do hope that you give us another chance and come back to see us again in the future.

Cape Rey Carlsbad Beach, a Hilton Resort & Spa

1 Ponto Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Carlsbad-Hotels-Cape-Rey-Carlsbad-Beach,-a-Hilton-Resort-&-Spa.h4772239-p2.Hotel-Reviews
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.