Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Have stayed here many times for work over the last couple years and used to be great. But unfortunately I think I will have to find another place. This last time they gave my room to someone else and took 15 minutes to straighten in out and check in because of it, once it was figured out my bathroom was dirty. Tile in the lobby has been cracked and coming apart for months. Pool is seldom working. Lock to fitness room doesn’t work so you have to be let in “when they have time” to let you in. For some reason the snack shop is no longer stocked, shelves are bare. Too bad used to be a great value but not any longer.

Very friendly atmosphere, staff great, could use some updating of the building, food was great very good location

As I was checking in the girl was checking her phone in front of me. Later on in the evening we had called for an extra pillow and blanket, an hour or more had passed and we called back down and they said they were just terribly busy and hasn’t gotten to it, so we decided to wait a little longer, but then eventually walked down to the front desk to ask for it in person. Every single staff member on for the night shift (3) were standing in the back office chatting it up (super busy). We asked for the pillow and blanket, no pillows, but just had to grab a blanket off the shelf, which took 2 seconds. Ridiculous. Then, we went out Saturday evening and upon our return to our hotel at about 1/130 am, we were locked out of our hotel. Like, the grab bars to the front doors were locked. I had never experienced this before at any hotel ever. We had to bang on the door and yell until the hotel staff let us in, which it was a guy and a girl that came from a back room together. Overall, our room was nice and comfortable, the staff was terrible with no sense of customer service, pure laziness.

Conveniently located. Clean. Good breakfast. Definitely stay there again.

Stayed 1 night, room was clean, breakfast included , friendly staff

Have stayed here before. Room was great, bed comfortable. Breakfast was the disappointment this time. Bacon and eggs were cold; the heater had gone off and staff hadn't noticed. There were two people chatting away (staff persons) and I did not realize they were there to cook omlettes. They seemed oblivious to my presence. Finally I asked.....had to interrupt their conversation........"are you making omlettes?" So, yes, then their conversation ended and she cooked my omlette. Customer service is all about serving customers; seems this was lost on these two. Workout room was OK; needs free weights......TV remote not present; couldn't make the TV work. This was the second time I stayed here........was a little disappointed last time, more so this time. the accommodations and location are very good and the price is right. I really like staying here, but needs a few more finer touches to really make this a great value.

Wingate by Wyndham has become my new favorite hotel chain. The staff was very friendly. The location is good. My stay was very comfortable.

Have stayed a number of times and each time I have stayed either the pool or hot tub it not working and no notice when making reservation or checking in. Also the wifi is soooooo slow, each time I have stayed it has been like using dialup when using wifi.

From the staff to the room to the service, Everything was fantastic.

This was a disappointment. We stayed here last year and were very impressed because it felt like a new hotel. It has already become old and dirty. The housekeeping was minimal - no made beds, no cleaning bathrooms. Limited to empty waste baskets and bringing new towels. Our bathroom counter and floor had hairs, the bathtub had grunge and the vents (as in all hotels, I've found) was caked with dust. Further, the breakfast was terrible. We did not take advantage of the freshly made omelets, but the rest of the food was overcooked and the toaster didn't work and the coffee was horrible. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Very clean and new. Staff helpful and friendly. Great beds and pillows. Good breakfast. We would happily stay there again.

Room was very comfortable and hotel had excellent staff! Would recommend to a friend or family member.

I booked this hotel due to a last minute meeting in Bismarck. Since the meeting was last minute, and I was not scheduled in Bismarck for a long stay (also billing the client for the room), I choose a cheaper rate hotel. Normally, I don't stay in a hotel that has less than 3 stars, due to bad experiences (Wingate was rated 2.5), but I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, next time I am called to Bismarck. This hotel certainly mimics the 3.5-4 star hotels I've stayed at for half the price.

Loved my stay and would definitely stay there again!!

Very nice room at a reasonable rate with a great breakfast included.

The hotel is very nice, clean and quiet. Nice area to gather in the lobby area with a little bar.

This is a beautiful new hotel in Bismarck. Rooms and decor are excellent. Staff is friendly. Breakfast was great. Also the lobby business center is great. We were able to have a quick meeting at the conference table with access to the other business tools we needed. Great place. Great value.

Very clean and quiet. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very helpful and courteous.

VERY NICE AND CLOSE TO A KMART BREAKFAST WAS OFF THE WALL WITH HOMEMADE OMLETES MADE WITH LOVE THE BARTENDER GREAT GUY 10 OUT 10

We enjoyed our stay and the continental breakfast was fine.

1421 Skyline Blvd Bismarck ND

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool

Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck is located 2.9 mi (4.7 km) from North Dakota Heritage Center & State Museum and within a 10-minute drive of North Dakota State Capitol. This hotel has 84 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. Bismarck State College is also a short drive away.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is included with your stay.


Rooms

The 84 air-conditioned accommodations afford space to spread out with separate bedrooms and sitting areas. Guests can expect 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers.


Property features

Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck features an indoor pool, a children's pool, and a fitness center. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. A multilingual staff is on hand to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a spa tub, free WiFi in public areas, and 2 meeting rooms.

Guest reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck

Everyone (14) Business (6) Couples (5) Family (4) Other (1) Friends (2)
1

hotel going downhill

Everyone

Have stayed here many times for work over the last couple years and used to be great. But unfortunately I think I will have to find another place. This last time they gave my room to someone else and took 15 minutes to straighten in out and check in because of it, once it was figured out my bathroom was dirty. Tile in the lobby has been cracked and coming apart for months. Pool is seldom working. Lock to fitness room doesn’t work so you have to be let in “when they have time” to let you in. For some reason the snack shop is no longer stocked, shelves are bare. Too bad used to be a great value but not any longer.

By , from Bismarck on Dec 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 13, 2017

Hi Toby, I am so very sorry to hear about this experience. I have awarded 1,000 points to your rewards account and am also sending a free night stay to your address on file. I hope you will give us a second chance to make this right. Thank you for letting us know about this experience!

4
Everyone

Very friendly atmosphere, staff great, could use some updating of the building, food was great very good location

By on Nov 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 1, 2017

Thanks for the review!

4

nice hotel, terrible staff

Everyone

As I was checking in the girl was checking her phone in front of me. Later on in the evening we had called for an extra pillow and blanket, an hour or more had passed and we called back down and they said they were just terribly busy and hasn’t gotten to it, so we decided to wait a little longer, but then eventually walked down to the front desk to ask for it in person. Every single staff member on for the night shift (3) were standing in the back office chatting it up (super busy). We asked for the pillow and blanket, no pillows, but just had to grab a blanket off the shelf, which took 2 seconds. Ridiculous. Then, we went out Saturday evening and upon our return to our hotel at about 1/130 am, we were locked out of our hotel. Like, the grab bars to the front doors were locked. I had never experienced this before at any hotel ever. We had to bang on the door and yell until the hotel staff let us in, which it was a guy and a girl that came from a back room together. Overall, our room was nice and comfortable, the staff was terrible with no sense of customer service, pure laziness.

By on Nov 20, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 28, 2017

I am so sorry to hear about this experience. Please reach out to me at the property directly, I would like to get more details from you.

4
Everyone

Conveniently located. Clean. Good breakfast. Definitely stay there again.

By on Aug 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 31, 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5

really nice hotel

Everyone

Stayed 1 night, room was clean, breakfast included , friendly staff

By , from Chicago on Apr 9, 2017

4

business trip

Everyone

Have stayed here before. Room was great, bed comfortable. Breakfast was the disappointment this time. Bacon and eggs were cold; the heater had gone off and staff hadn't noticed. There were two people chatting away (staff persons) and I did not realize they were there to cook omlettes. They seemed oblivious to my presence. Finally I asked.....had to interrupt their conversation........"are you making omlettes?" So, yes, then their conversation ended and she cooked my omlette. Customer service is all about serving customers; seems this was lost on these two. Workout room was OK; needs free weights......TV remote not present; couldn't make the TV work. This was the second time I stayed here........was a little disappointed last time, more so this time. the accommodations and location are very good and the price is right. I really like staying here, but needs a few more finer touches to really make this a great value.

By , from Manhattan on Feb 22, 2017

4

on the road again

Everyone

Wingate by Wyndham has become my new favorite hotel chain. The staff was very friendly. The location is good. My stay was very comfortable.

By , from Manhattan on Jan 30, 2017

2

always something wrong

Everyone

Have stayed a number of times and each time I have stayed either the pool or hot tub it not working and no notice when making reservation or checking in. Also the wifi is soooooo slow, each time I have stayed it has been like using dialup when using wifi.

By , from fargo, nd on Dec 2, 2016

5

it was super good

Everyone

From the staff to the room to the service, Everything was fantastic.

By , from Bismarck, ND on Nov 21, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 28, 2016

Hi Jeffrey, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

2

no longer new

Everyone

This was a disappointment. We stayed here last year and were very impressed because it felt like a new hotel. It has already become old and dirty. The housekeeping was minimal - no made beds, no cleaning bathrooms. Limited to empty waste baskets and bringing new towels. Our bathroom counter and floor had hairs, the bathtub had grunge and the vents (as in all hotels, I've found) was caked with dust. Further, the breakfast was terrible. We did not take advantage of the freshly made omelets, but the rest of the food was overcooked and the toaster didn't work and the coffee was horrible. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

By on Jul 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 8, 2016

I do apologize on behalf of the staff for all the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. I will be bringing this to the attention of the staff directly. Thank you for your review and again I do apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced.