Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The bed was terrible so uncomfortable

Excellent stay and perfect location - close to all of the museums. Free water throughout the hotel was really convenient especially during the humid summer months. Beds were extremely comfortable.

It was disappointing on many levels. Room service messed up our order multiple times. The pull out bed had an awful stain on it. There was not any sheets or blankets for the pull out. And when you order drinks that require a bottle opener, you should provide one…

I didn’t like that we were charged a resort fee for bottle water and a coffee pod system in our room

Expected more of a hotel like this...room facing back of a building depressing (was an executive one bedroom so expected more)! No basics in the room..even the glass was plastic...fridge not cleaned..mediocre...had to ask for a trash can for the bathroom..bath tub had some residues...and the worst part getting to the hotel with a car..blocked from every angle and too many sirens and police cars...very disappointing and wouldn’t recommend it especially for the location...way better and cheaper options all around...

A lot of false advertising and poor service. First, restaurant and lounge closed indefinitely but not indicated in property description. Someone's dirty clothes in the closet. No bath towels. Paid for "luxury" room with "city view", city view is building across the street and windows are filmed over.

The location is great if you would like to walk around.

Great location, rooms and hotel. Would stay here again for sure.

The location of the Sofitel is ideal. Close to the grounds of the White House, 15 minute walk (at most) to either the Washington Monument or the National Mall, everything is within reach.

Small room. Not enough storage space. I did like that shower was separate from tub. Saw a roach in shower one day that I killed. Never want or expect that in 5 star hotel.

The hotel was aesthetically pleasing and the location was great. However, the service was lacking. I called on three different occasions for bottled water and not one time did I receive it. On the second day, we did not have hot water to take a shower. Some basic amenities were missing from our room including an iron. I would have expected better from a 5 star hotel.

location was great...room was a little small but very nice overall.

Very helpful front desk, porters and restaurant staff. Great location in a “quiet” area of downtown.

15th Street NW Washington DC

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to White House and National Mall
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour business center

Located in Downtown Washington D.C., Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square is within a 5-minute walk of White House and within 15 minutes of other popular attractions like National Mall. This 237-room, 5-star hotel welcomes guests with a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and a 24-hour business center.


Dining

In addition to a restaurant onsite, there is also a bar where you can enjoy a drink. For your convenience, a to-go breakfast is served for a fee on weekdays from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

All of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square's 237 rooms are shared and have an array of amenities, including iPod docks, minibars, and coffee makers. 55-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with wired Internet and free WiFi. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Free local calls, safes, and ironing boards are also available.


Property features

Guests of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square enjoy access to free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a 24-hour business center. Valet parking is available for USD 55 per day, and there's also limo/town car service. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with securing valuables and luggage storage. Other amenities at this luxury hotel include a library, a terrace, and a porter/bellhop.

Room options

Junior Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Luxury Double Room, Multiple Beds, City View

2 Double Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Superior Double Room, 2 Double Beds

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, City View (Prestige)

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Everyone (21) Couples (7) Family (5)
3
Friends

The bed was terrible so uncomfortable

By on Sep 29, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 3, 2021

Bonjour Cuong, thank you for your review and taking the time to share the feedback about your recent stay. We will be sure to share it with our team to help address your concerns. We hope you will give us another try next time you are in DC.

5
Family

Excellent stay and perfect location - close to all of the museums. Free water throughout the hotel was really convenient especially during the humid summer months. Beds were extremely comfortable.

By on Jul 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 30, 2021

Thank you for your review and sharing your feedback about your recent stay. We will be sure to share it with our team! We hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel next time you are in DC!

2
Family Family with small children

It was disappointing on many levels. Room service messed up our order multiple times. The pull out bed had an awful stain on it. There was not any sheets or blankets for the pull out. And when you order drinks that require a bottle opener, you should provide one…

By on Jun 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 21, 2021

Thank you for your feedback and review. we am sorry to hear about the challenges you had during your stay. we will share your comments with our teams and we hope you will giver us another try next time you visit Washington DC.

3
Friends

I didn’t like that we were charged a resort fee for bottle water and a coffee pod system in our room

By on Apr 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 13, 2021

Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your feedback about the hotel. We hope that you enjoyed your stay apart from the fee and that hope to see you soon back at the hotel.

5
Everyone

By on Oct 19, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 20, 2020

Thank you so much for the great ranking!

2
Family

Expected more of a hotel like this...room facing back of a building depressing (was an executive one bedroom so expected more)! No basics in the room..even the glass was plastic...fridge not cleaned..mediocre...had to ask for a trash can for the bathroom..bath tub had some residues...and the worst part getting to the hotel with a car..blocked from every angle and too many sirens and police cars...very disappointing and wouldn’t recommend it especially for the location...way better and cheaper options all around...

By , from South Carolina on Sep 1, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 3, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

2
Business Business

A lot of false advertising and poor service. First, restaurant and lounge closed indefinitely but not indicated in property description. Someone's dirty clothes in the closet. No bath towels. Paid for "luxury" room with "city view", city view is building across the street and windows are filmed over.

By , from New Hampshire on Jul 18, 2020

5
Partner Couples

The location is great if you would like to walk around.

By on Jun 23, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 23, 2020

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5
Partner Couples

Great location, rooms and hotel. Would stay here again for sure.

By on May 18, 2020

Review comment responded on May 21, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. A bientot! -Karla Erales General Manager

4
Everyone

By on Mar 17, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one! A bientot! -Karla Erales General Manager

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

806 15th Street NW, Washington, DC 20005
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Washington-Hotels-Sofitel-Washington-DC-Lafayette-Square.h856597-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Washington-Hotels-Sofitel-Washington-DC-Lafayette-Square.h856597-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Washington-Hotels-Sofitel-Washington-DC-Lafayette-Square.h856597-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions