Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Hotel is located near lots of places to see/eat/do. Our room was furnished nicely, however the bed was not the most comfortable to sleep in (very firm, low platform bed). However, despite the beds lack of plushness this room definitely served the purpose of a long day of sightseeing, and needing a simple, clean, safe, and nearby hotel to sleep at. I would stay here again. Hotel was doing a lot of renovations throughout the hotel, and saw some new mattress in the hallway... I would recommend you to book

The images online were misleading to say the least. The room was much smaller than expected but this was not the major issue. The telephone in the room did not work. There was a large gap between the door and the doorframe so we could see (and hear) out into the hallway- this was a major security issue for me! The window AC unit blew out dust and dirt particles. The shower was either boiling hot or ice cold- the dials did not assist with the adjustment of temperature at all- honestly the whole shower experience was a nightmare of trying not to boil the skin off my body. I will say that the bed was comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful but unfortunately the negatives far outweighed the positive.

small room , no odor extraction in the bathroom , bad acoustics you can hear everything happening on the corridor at level 1

This hotel is at best 2 stars and certainly shouldn’t be so expensive: I’ve been in nearby locations with far better facilities for a lot less money. They claim to be renovating this decrepit old building and need to stay closed until they finish. My room was dirty, the blind was missing a slat (no curtains), and I had no hot water this morning. Don’t be lured like I was by the Orbitz Deal of the Day. Stay away. Save yourself. Pay a little more money, if you can, so you can really enjoy your visit to this marvelous city.

My room heater took 12 hours to get warm I was out all day until 12am back. The window curtain was broke 1/4, I mean anyone can see what you doing since they close to other hotels. The hall way smell, it's was bad. I wouldn't recommend for anyone to stay.

The room was very small to where you can barely walk around the bed into the bathroom and smelled. The "city view" is just looking across the street at another building. Also had construction going on all night to where I wasn't able to sleep.

The location was great--right next to Time Square. The lobby and room were both very nice, but the hallways were a bit gross and moldy.

Outside picture which is listed on site should be updated as it does not match the hotel front at all. Staff was awesome and very helpful. Room was old, carpet patched in, not even matching, not sure the last time the carpet throughout the hotel was vacuumed. Pillows had an odor of old sweat.

I will think twice before ever booking with Orbitz again. I booked a queen and was given a double room that was tiny. The water in the shower was cold the next morning after a sleepless night. Awful experience all around.

We arrived about 4:30 PM on a Friday. Staff was accomidating and very helpful. Check-in was quick and easy.

Our first room smelled dangerously of mold and was the size of a walk in closet. We were moved to a slightly larger room, with an all night sound track from “NYPD Blue,” followed by garbage collection in the very early morning.

The hotel's location is wonderful. Walking distance to the major spots in Manhattan. The room is very small and in need of renovation. I cannot find a thermostat to regulate the room temperature. Amenities is very minimal. However, the room was very clean and the staff especially the check in staff was very helpful.

For the price and under the circumstances, this option was adequate. Looking forward to seeing it post-renovation.

Inexpensive hotel close to Broadway. Basic, clean, pretty comfortable.

Always a pleasant stay. Staff is friendly and helpful, though I don't need much help.

It was ok, excellent location, relatively clean, provide toiletries, but not so new/a bit musty. No free wifi in room.

bad, bad. bad, bad, bad, bad, bad, bad, bad, bad, bad, bad, bad,

We lived it here. We will definitely again. Location was amazing.

To small for the money. Hope they can do some readjustments!!!

The hotel was great and the location was fantastic but they charge $10 for the wifi if you want to get connected in your room but no charge if you use wifi in the lobby which is weird that's really the only down side and the hotel is under construction in some units which wasn't pleasing so I'll give it a 6 out of 10

226 W 50th St New York NY

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Ed Sullivan Theater and Broadway
  • Onsite dining
  • WiFi in rooms and public areas (fees apply)
  • Business center

Located in Midtown, Amsterdam Court Hotel is within a 5-minute walk of Ed Sullivan Theater and within 15 minutes of other popular attractions like Broadway. This 136-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like a restaurant, a business center, and concierge services. Centrally located in New York, the hotel is also a short walk from Rockefeller Center and Times Square.


Dining

In addition to a meal at the onsite restaurant, you can also enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. For your convenience, a continental breakfast is served for a fee from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM.


Rooms

All 136 air-conditioned rooms feature free newspapers, phones, and ironing boards. Guests can expect WiFi and TVs with cable channels. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Rooms also include desks.


Property features

Amsterdam Court Hotel offers WiFi in public areas and a business center. Self parking is offered for USD 40 per day. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage.

Guest reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Everyone (32) Business (44) Couples (82) Family (33) Other (44) Friends (25)
5

great location

Everyone

Hotel is located near lots of places to see/eat/do. Our room was furnished nicely, however the bed was not the most comfortable to sleep in (very firm, low platform bed). However, despite the beds lack of plushness this room definitely served the purpose of a long day of sightseeing, and needing a simple, clean, safe, and nearby hotel to sleep at. I would stay here again. Hotel was doing a lot of renovations throughout the hotel, and saw some new mattress in the hallway... I would recommend you to book

By , from CT on Apr 17, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 19, 2018

Dear timaree, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy you had a good time in Big Apple and enjoyed the accommodation and the hospitality our hotel and the staff provided. We are also glad you like our newly renovated room and would recommend to others. Look forward to seeing you again at Amsterdam Court! Best regards,

2
Everyone

The images online were misleading to say the least. The room was much smaller than expected but this was not the major issue. The telephone in the room did not work. There was a large gap between the door and the doorframe so we could see (and hear) out into the hallway- this was a major security issue for me! The window AC unit blew out dust and dirt particles. The shower was either boiling hot or ice cold- the dials did not assist with the adjustment of temperature at all- honestly the whole shower experience was a nightmare of trying not to boil the skin off my body. I will say that the bed was comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful but unfortunately the negatives far outweighed the positive.

By on Apr 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 7, 2018

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Our hotel is in the process of updating the guest rooms, bathrooms, and corridors to bring a fresh new look and make it more comfortable for the guests. We hope to have you back so we can change your experience. Best regards,

4
Everyone

small room , no odor extraction in the bathroom , bad acoustics you can hear everything happening on the corridor at level 1

By on Apr 2, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 4, 2018

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. As you mentioned, our hotel is in the process of updating our guest rooms, bathrooms and corridors to give the hotel a nice new look and make it more comfortable for the guests to enjoy. We look forward to seeing you return to experience a different Amsterdam Court hotel. Best regards,

2
Everyone

This hotel is at best 2 stars and certainly shouldn’t be so expensive: I’ve been in nearby locations with far better facilities for a lot less money. They claim to be renovating this decrepit old building and need to stay closed until they finish. My room was dirty, the blind was missing a slat (no curtains), and I had no hot water this morning. Don’t be lured like I was by the Orbitz Deal of the Day. Stay away. Save yourself. Pay a little more money, if you can, so you can really enjoy your visit to this marvelous city.

By on Mar 17, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2018

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is disappointing you did not enjoy your stay. I'd like to apologize for the dust and other inconvenience due to the renovation happened during your stay. We hope you can come back when the renovation is done and to experience a different Amsterdam Court hotel. Best regards,

2

smelly hotel, heater broke.

Everyone

My room heater took 12 hours to get warm I was out all day until 12am back. The window curtain was broke 1/4, I mean anyone can see what you doing since they close to other hotels. The hall way smell, it's was bad. I wouldn't recommend for anyone to stay.

By on Jan 21, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 17, 2018

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback on your recant stay. We are sorry to hear you have faced some inconvenience in your room. The Amsterdam Court is in the initial phase of a renovation of our guest rooms and public spaces which will improve upon the condition of our rooms and ensure the highest quality of guest satisfaction. I hope you consider staying with us in the future. Best wishes,

2

smelly hotel with extremely small rooms.

Everyone

The room was very small to where you can barely walk around the bed into the bathroom and smelled. The "city view" is just looking across the street at another building. Also had construction going on all night to where I wasn't able to sleep.

By , from New york on Dec 28, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 4, 2018

Dear Moe on Orbitz, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am sorry that you found the room too small. As with many of the NYC hotels that occupy classic Manhattan Buildings, the configuration and size of our guest rooms are dependent upon the location in the building. When we are informed the guests are having an unpleasant stay, we try to do everything in our power to turn it around, unfortunately, due to the holiday we were able to offer another room. I am pleased to hear you have enjoyed our prime location. It is ideal for travelers looking to explore Times Square, the Theater District and Midtown. I do hope you consider us again in the future. Best regards,

4

great location and nice room

Everyone

The location was great--right next to Time Square. The lobby and room were both very nice, but the hallways were a bit gross and moldy.

By on Dec 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 4, 2018

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback. We are going to start the project of hallway renovation, which the wall paper, carpet and light fixtures will all be replaced.We hope to welcome you back and experience the new hallways soon! Thank you again for sharing!!!

2

listing not matching actual

Everyone

Outside picture which is listed on site should be updated as it does not match the hotel front at all. Staff was awesome and very helpful. Room was old, carpet patched in, not even matching, not sure the last time the carpet throughout the hotel was vacuumed. Pillows had an odor of old sweat.

By , from Denver CO on Dec 12, 2017

1

booked queen and it was unavailable.

Everyone

I will think twice before ever booking with Orbitz again. I booked a queen and was given a double room that was tiny. The water in the shower was cold the next morning after a sleepless night. Awful experience all around.

By , from Texas on Dec 7, 2017

3
Everyone

We arrived about 4:30 PM on a Friday. Staff was accomidating and very helpful. Check-in was quick and easy.

By , from Pennsylvania on Nov 27, 2017